Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Secluded lake cabin on 2 acres with sandy swimming beach, dock and sauna

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Quaint rustic log cabin on Horseshoe Lake. Private and peaceful. Great swimming beach and fishing right off the dock. Property is loaded with blueberries and wooded on all sides, very private. Perfect for a romantic getaway or time with the family.

2 bedrooms and a loft.

Bedroom 1 - Queen size log bed

Bedroom 2 - bunk bed with full size on bottom and twin on top

Loft - Queen and twin bed

Barrel Sauna

Cable TV

Full kitchen (no stove) but has convection oven and microwave

Grill/Smoker

Bonfire pit

Split Wood for the fire

2 Horseshoe Pits

Please note: cabin was built in the 40's. Has bathroom, kitchen, comfortable beds and cozy living room but it is a rustic log cabin. Floors are not level. It is not modern. I spend weeks up here with my kids every Summer and they love the rustic feel. There is a pellet stove for cold nights and window AC units if you get hot but to be honest have had very little need for either.

More Details

Owner
Lisa Whitsell
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

Amenities

Gwinn Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Noon / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

4/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

0% Complete
100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded lake cabin on 2 acres with sandy swimming beach, dock and sauna
average rating of 4.0 based on 2 reviews
4

Cozy Cabin on a Nice Little Lake

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay at this Gwinn cabin on Horseshoe Lake. The cabin is very cozy with lots of rustic charm. It still has its original stove (non-functional) and central stone chimney. I was a little worried about cooking there because the cabin description says it has a convection oven but no stove; however the kitchen was well stocked with electric burners, electric griddle, blender, 2 coffee pots, crock pot, and plenty of pots/pans/plates/utensils etc. The beds were very comfy! Cell phone reception was a little weak at times, but definitely available.

There is a nice wicker table and chairs set out back. The lake was great--there was a wade-in swim area with a nice sandy bottom where my boys spent most of their days. We also enjoyed the kayaks--my older son learned how to kayak alone. We had a nice outing on the paddle boat too, unfortunately it is a little old and leaky--we ended up sinking it! Luckily we were close to the dock. Bailing out and swimming home was one of my sons' favorite memories of the trip. I think it just wasn't intended to hold 4 people. It would probably be fine for 2 people for a shorter trip. We also enjoyed the sauna.

This is a rustic "camp cabin" which is exactly what we were looking for. If you are looking for luxuries like dishwashers and washer/dryer, this will not be the place for you. It is not exactly close to much to do, but Gwinn is close with groceries, pizza, and great ice cream. Stay at the cabin and relax!

There were only 2 issues with the cabin:

1. The floor plan gives "open" a whole new meaning--there were no doors anywhere except on the bathroom. The bathroom was so tiny that it was almost impossible to change clothes in, and there was no privacy anywhere to do so. This could have been easily fixed by at least hanging curtains over the bedroom doors--we ended up moving the closet curtain to cover the bedroom door temporarily. This took care of the privacy, but sound definitely carries. If you have a mix of early risers and late sleepers it may be an issue.

2. The windows are all original and the screens/storm windows were randomly placed. In the master bedroom, there was a window with a broken pane (the owner had told us she hadn't had a chance to fix it). This wouldn't have been a problem had there been a screen. The other window had a screen in it but no way to open it. Without air conditioning we would have like to to open more windows for some fresh air.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback! I'll definitely look into doors or something for the bedrooms and new windows are already on order : ) Glad you had fun!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice rustic getaway.

  • 4 of 5

Property was as described. Clean, but rustic.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $75

No smoking and no pets

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties