Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming 2 Bedroom Suite in Point Grey

Sleeps6
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 180 nights

Overview

About the property

Lovely Point Grey fully furnished 2-bdrm/1bth garden-level self contained suite

Escape to Vancouver and enjoy this private getaway.

2 double beds, 1 is a bunkbed - top bunk is a single) - 1bath. Super clean, new paint! Translink Customer Service or for public transit info. Minutes to UBC, Anthropology Museum, Gas town, downtown, beach, 10th Ave, Pt. Grey shops, Kitsilano & transit to airport. Free in-suite laundry, pvr, wireless Internet, cable & parking incl. This one is good! Family/pet friendly. Lovely Point Grey fully furnished 2-bdrm/1bath garden level in house with a separate entrance. In-suite laundry ,high speed internet, wifi (shaw on demand movies available just let me know as shaw will bill me), cable and unlimited street parking. Non-smokers and well behaved pets welcomed.

Super family friendly - we even have a trampoline and treehouse for the wee ones in a safe, fenced yard. ! Near beaches and UBC. Easy to get to downtown, Granville Island and approx 2 hour drive to Whistler.

Please respond with your email and contact numbers.

Of course, the essential coffee machine and french press await your arrival! Heaps of free parking.

Great summer camps at UBC, St. Georges School and West Point Grey Academy.

Typical outing - take a bus to Granville Island. There is a "kids only" area (of course adults go too). You can feed ducks, play area for kids, gourmet food market, arts and crafts stores, etc. From there; take the Aqua Bus to downtown and walk to English Bay (beaches). For a view of the city; visit Harbour Center ((website hidden)).

Walk to nearby 10th Ave or 16th Ave. (the suite is located on 14th Ave) to a bus stop and ask the Bus Driver how to get to your destination. If you go to 10th (near Safeway) there are coffee shops, gelato (check out Pane de Formaggio)..it's good but pricey!

Trimble park is a 10 minute walk - great for kid with all kinds of play structures and a kiddy splash pool in the summer.

Walk to the beach, feed the wild bunnies at the Jericho Sailing Center, they have kayaks and paddleboards there to rent. Grab dinner (pub food) from the Sailing Center - it's gorgeous, right on the water.

As much or as little communication as you like!

Best neighborhood in Vancouver -lush forests! Known for 2 Beaches - Jericho and Spanish Banks. Great for watching the sunset, over English Bay and the mountains. Point Grey village has many independent owned businesses that contribute to the village-like atmosphere.

Easy/close public transportation...easy to get to around the city.

Map data ©2014 Google

Terms of Use

Map

Satellite

500 m

Car: not necessary

House On Dunbar is well located in the Dunbar area. The location is quiet but yet central to many of the tourist sites. UBC is 5 min away and 10 min will take you to the beaches, 15 min to downtown.

DRIVING TIME TO:

UBC 5 min

Beach: 5 min

Museum of Anthropology: 7 min

Downtown: 14 min

Granville Market: 14 min

Convention Centre: 20 min

Stanley Park: 20 min

Airport: 25 min

Capilano Suspension Bridge: 30 min

Grouse Mtn: 35 min

Whistler: 2 hours

More Details

Owner
Jamie Stewart
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2017

About Jamie Stewart

I have 14 years of local Real Estate experience. I attended Simon Fraser University and later received a diploma in Marketing Management from BCIT. I have been a resident of the city for over 26 years. I live in West Point Grey with my family and work every day to enusre I'm living the life I love. I'm a foodie and love exploring new cities - travelling is the only way I seem to take a day off.

I would be a great guest as I am a home owner myself and take the best care of your home while staying there. Check out www.jamiestewart.net to see more about me.

Jamie Stewart purchased this house in 2012

Why Jamie Stewart chose Vancouver

It's a cute house in one of Vancouver's best neighborhoods! Escape to Vancouver and enjoy this private getaway.

2 double beds, 1 is a bunkbed (bottom bunk is a double and top bunk is a single) - 1 bath. Super clean, new paint! Translink Customer Service (website hidden) or (phone number hidden) or for public transit info. Minutes to UBC, downtown, beach, 10th Ave, Pt. Grey shops, Kitsilano & transit to airport. In-suite laundry, wireless Internet, cable & parking incl. This one is good! Family/pet friendly.

2 bedroom (3 comfy beds).

Lovely Point Grey fully furnished 2-bdrm/1bath garden level in house with a separate entrance. In-suite laundry, wifi (shaw on demand movies available just let me know as shaw will bill me), cable and unlimited street parking. Non-smokers and well behaved pets welcomed.

Super family friendly - we even have a trampoline and treehouse for the wee ones in a safe, fenced yard. ! Near beaches and UBC. Easy to get to downtown, Granville Island, local ski mountains and approx 2 hour drive to Whistler.

Please respond with your email and contact numbers.

Of course, the essential coffee machine and french press await your arrival! Coffee and tea are also stocked in the kitchen.

Other amenities include 5 minute walk to a grocery store, butcher, banks and coffee shops. You will find lots of restaurants and fashionable shops nearby.The suite is close to most Vancouver attractions.

I take your vacation very seriously and do everything in my power to ensure your stay is fantastic.

The suite is cleaned very thoroughly between each guest and the linens are replaced very frequently and are always white/cream to prove cleanliness.

While you are here I make myself available for any issue or question you might have. I am confident you will not be disappointed. I look forward to hosting you.

Come explore our beautiful city!

We love our home and neighborhood and want to ensure you're comfortable.

Suite is self contained.

What makes this house unique

Good quality linens are always and are always white/cream to prove cleanliness.

While you are here I make myself available for any issue or question you might have. I am confident you will not be disappointed. I look forward to hosting you.

Come explore our beautiful city!

We love our home and neighborhood and want to ensure you're comfortable.

Suite is self contained with access to TV, cable and internet, full sized washer and dryer. Kitchen has stove, fridge, microwave. Bedrooms have luxury linens and towels. All kitchen utensils are provided - just ask if there's something you need!

There is also a chaise lounge for a young one to sleep on if needed.

Contact me via Email or texting is great!

Have been receiving great guest reviews (on another site - I'm new here) and will continue to work hard at providing an exceptional guest experience each and every time.

Beautiful tree lined and quite neighborhood. Beaches, restaurants, shopping, Spirit Park all within short walking distances.

Easy/close public transportation...easy to get to around the city.

Amenities

West Side House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • stand up shower with hot/cold running water, bathroom sink and toilet
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 6
  • 2 x bedrooms that can sleep 5 people in beds and 1 person on a chaise lounge. Check out https://www.airbnb.ca/rooms/2867899 for reviews.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
33% Complete
3% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Charming 2 Bedroom Suite in Point Grey
average rating of 4.3703704 based on 27 reviews
Portland, Or
5

Cozy hide away in perfect UBC neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. The cozy little hide away is in a high end neighborhood very close to UBC. We walked the neighborhood and the commercial district on 10th. We enjoyed the Anthropology Museum on UBC campus. Loved the Lord Byng pool (+-4000 14th Ave),--sauna, and whirlpool baths (cheap). Took buses into Gas Town. Loved Deep Cove. Perfect location! Great bargain. Good kitchen. Very helpful owner.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for visiting! Would love to host you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Good for a short stay

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at this property for 4 nights. As with any property there are good points to talk about and not so good ones. Since this review is written to benefit future guests, I will make it as objective and truthful as can be. People make their selection of property by the pictures mostly, so actual experiences might benefit others.Here are a few observations about the place:

First the not-so-good ones:

1) this suite is a dark basement where one essentially has to turn on all the lights even at high noon

2) a note to tall guests..the ceilings are, at their highest, 6 feet and if you happen to be a tall person, you might bang your head here and the, especially in the bathroom, which has the lowest ceiling in the suite, something you won't easily see in the photos.

3) the top bunk is basically unusable with about 10 inches clearance to the ceiling. Even a kid has to try hard to get in the bed. If you are a family of 3 this place will work. Couch is not suitable to get a good night's sleep on it.

4) Wi-Fi is sketchy at best, drops off every now and then, and a very weak signal, as the router is not in the suite but upstairs.

5) TV - there is an annoying and unbearable humming or static noise coming from TV on every channel. So we ended up not turning it on.

6) Couch is not comfortable as you sink into it and hurts you back if you sit for too long

The next 3 points are minor observations - not on-going concerns throughout the stay:

7) creaky floors; as it is a very old building, when someone walks on the main floor, you can follow the person along with the footsteps.

8) When the washer is in spin cycle upstairs, you hear the banging from the out-of-balance machine

9) When people talk you can hear them downstairs (and I am sure other way around too)..

Some additional minor comments:

10) The hosts did not say hi or welcome. They don't return voice messages. Texting is the only communication means. (However they responded quickly to our wi-fi issues). Of course, this might be desirable on part of some guests.

11) it would be nice to have a few lawn chairs and table for guests to use the backyard. the owners have their chairs but no cushions and we did not feel comfortable enough to use their backyard

Now the good:

1) pictures reflect the actual furniture

2) clean and plentiful linen, bedsheets, etc.

3) appliances work well- kitchen is well stocked with utensils, plates, etc.

4) location is great/text msg returned fast

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Stoughton, Wisconsin
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Great location for exploring Vancouver. Unit is clean and well kept.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice neighborhood, clean basement unit

  • 2 of 5

I assumed I would be using the front door of the house that is pictured in the ad. The unit is actually below ground. I'm 5'2" and could easily touch the ceiling. There are windows at the ground level so it does get some light. The bed is only a full, not a queen, but it was a comfortable mattress and nice sheets. Only 2 bath towels were provided but there is a washer and dryer in the unit so you can wash them. Also, the chairs pictured at the table are not the ones in there. The actual chairs a cheap, plastic chairs. My biggest complaint, however, is that there was construction going on at the house while we were there. So it was very loud. My husband and I were traveling with our 2 dogs and we were disappointed to find the fenced back yard was no longer fully fenced due to the construction. There is a TV but it buzzed loudly when you turned it on. The positives are the location, the cleanliness and the beds are comfy.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. The bed is advertised as a comfy double bed. There are lots of extra sheets and towels in the master bedroom I'll have the tv looked at ! Wish you would have communicated and I could have helped out! Take care,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our two nights home away home

  • 5 of 5

Our two nights stay at Jamie's place was pleasant. We had a lovely time and enjoyed our time at the beach. Jamie was quick in getting back to us. Would stay again. Thanks Jamie:)

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Close to UBC. We were visiting our grandson.

  • 3 of 5

A queen bed would be nice.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Stanley Park
Granville Island
Granville Island Public Market
Gastown
Vancouver Art Gallery
Chinatown
Gastown Steam Clock
Canada Place
Library Square
Japadog (Burrard & Pender)
Yaletown
English Bay Beach
Vancouver 2010 Winter Games - Olympic Cauldron
Naam Restaurant
Vanier Park
Sunset Beach
VanDusen Botanical Garden
Vij's Restaurant
Provence Mediterranean Grill
Safeway
Car: recommended

Near UBC...great location for family and friends to stay while visiting UBC student. 15 min walk to Jericho Beach. Great shopping and cool coffee places in neighbourhood.

Typical outing - take a bus to Granville Island. There is a "kids only" area (of course adults go too). You can feed ducks, play area for kids, gourmet food market, arts and crafts stores, etc. From there; take the Aqua Bus to downtown and walk to English Bay (beaches). For a view of the city; visit Harbour Center ((website hidden)).

Walk to nearby 10th Ave or 16th Ave. (the suite is located on 14th Ave) to a bus stop and ask the Bus Driver how to get to your destination. If you go to 10th (near Safeway) there are coffee shops, gelato (check out Pane de Formaggio) good but pricey!

Jethro's Fine Grub is known for breakfast it's on Dunbar which is a 7 minute car ride away. Many good restaurants, grocery stores, theaters, liquor stores etc on Dunbar as well.

Trimble park is a 10 minute walk - great for kid with all kinds of play structures and a kiddy splash pool in the summer.

Walk to the beach, feed the wild bunnies at the Jericho Sailing Center, they have kayaks and paddleboards there to rent. Grab dinner (pub food) from the Sailing Center - it's gorgeous, right on the water.

Best neighborhood in Vancouver -lush forests! Known for 2 Beaches - Jericho and Spanish Banks. Great for watching the sunset, over English Bay and the mountains. Point Grey village has many independent owned businesses that contribute to the village-like atmosphere.

Easy/close public to get to around the city.

Photos

Rates & Availability

West Side House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
June 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
$4,552
 
 
Winter Holiday
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$318
 
 
My Standard Rate
180 night minimum stay
$2,069
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $39.79
Damage Deposit $198.93

Check-out is 10am and Check-in is 3pm.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties