check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Juliana

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Shingle-style Lake Michigan Cottage

11 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Cedar Grove House Rental Photos and Description

5 large bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, sleeps 10-12

This architect designed 'green' home is on 41/2 acres with 150 feet on Lake Michigan. The house is on a private drive at lake level on a beautiful sandy beach with a shallow sandy entry. The lake views to the east are equaled by the private western views over a native prairie and wooded bluff. The house has beautiful perennial gardens and a swing set play area for children.

This three story shingle-style 3500 square foot home has huge banks of windows, private porches on every level, a screen porch and patio on the west and deck on the east. There is a gourmet kitchen and open plan dining and cathedral ceiling sun room, as well as a sunken living room with a natural fireplace. There are five large bedrooms as well as a large third floor room with a ping pong table.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Juliana (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Shingle-style Lake Michigan Cottage
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews
5

A lovely and unique home

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home for a women's wellness and yoga retreat. Everyone loved it. The house is creatively designed to incorporate the beauty of the natural surroundings. The furnishings were tasteful and comfortable. The layout feels very spacious yet warm. Beautiful beach, great firepit area, quiet and peaceful. Overall the place has a great atmosphere! It was hard to leave! The owners were very helpful and accommodating as well.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Awesome place!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a short retreat/getaway for a few days. The house has terrific views of Lake Michigan from all three floors. Feels like you are enveloped in natural lush forests of the Lake Michigan coast line. We had five people and there was plenty of space, bathrooms, and bedrooms. Kitchen had everything we needed to make some very nice meals together. There were some blemishes here are there that others mentioned, but nothing terrible. It is a tight parking spot right in front of the house, but there is some overflow parking at the end of the driveway. My only complaint was the weather, rained most of the time we were there, but the ping pong table made for great indoor entertainment and we did get one run along the beach.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely, peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful retreat was just the getaway I needed! Time dissolved as I settled into the sun-streamed third floor bedroom. Lake Michigan waves were a soothing ambiance for restful sleep. Yoga in the living room and meditation on a private porch. Meals were easy to prepare in the spacious, abundantly equipped kitchen. I look forward to my next opportunity to escape to this lovely sanctuary. Next time with my group!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Brief But Lovely Visit

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely home on beautiful Lake Michigan! The minute you walk in the front door you get the indoor, outdoor feel of the house. Large windows, skylights and good lighting make for a warm, inviting experience. My husband and I loved the three different environments surrounding the house: natural prairie in front and forest and beach front in back. Inside the house the kitchen opens to a comfortable seating area, the dining area and wonderful nature views. So you can be cooking and still easily connect with friends and the outdoors. The bedrooms are spacious and have open windows and/or doors so you can be lulled to sleep by the sound of waves. I highly recommend this home for anyone that wants a laid back, comfortable lake front vacation or retreat!

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wellness defined

  • 5 of 5

I've been around the world a few times and experienced several great "re-treats." This is one of my top picks stateside. We had a few days to escape the city and I was skeptical about what the Lake Michigan shore could deliver. We were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful wild flowers, the fantastic architecture, fire pit and beach front beauty. I had a "top 10" night of sleep in this slice of heaven at the beach listening to the waves serenade me.

The property could easily handle 10 for a fantastic family reunion or wellness retreat - two ideas I am contemplating as I come away from this secluded treasure north of Milwaukee.

I will happily take a weekend a year here for a wellness recharge.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Illinois
3

Needs some TLC

  • 3 of 5

It is with regret that we only gave this house 3 stars! The house has some nice features but it is in serious need of some TLC and a good handyman. To start the property is overgrown to the point that our vehicle was getting scratched from overhanging branches on the driveway. Parking is limited, and we made a point to ask about this ahead of time knowing we drive a Sprinter & pull a trailer, but Julianna assured me it would be ok, not the case! Sidewalks & path to the beach are the same. When we opened the front door the inside handle fell off and the back door next to the laundry doesn't lock. Electrical is a bit of a mess; scorched outlets in the master bathroom, missing ceiling fixture in den next to kitchen with exposed wires still hanging there, oven controls don't light up or show the temp., several burnt out light bulbs, most bothersome was in the master shower (so get your shower in before dark). Shower heads need to be upgraded, so corroded and filled with lime they don't work properly (3rd floor shower was only a mist & unusable). House has no A/C which shouldn't be a problem on the lake however with the overgrown vegetation very little breeze comes threw. They do have several fans but so many window screens have holes or rips you are limited to which ones can be left open at night! I would also suggest curtains on the south side of the house to help control the heat from the sun, because the 3rd floor bedroom gets very warm. Overall our 1st impression was disappointing especially the beach which looks nothing like the pictures! I understand they can't control the lake levels but they should update their photos and clear off the two broken wood chairs next to the fire pit. We booked this home based on the photos and spoke with Julianna several times nothing was said about the lack of beach until the Monday before our arrival! We enjoy walking the beach and that isn't possible with the limited access. At one time I'm sure this home was beautiful and if the above items don't bother you by all means book it, sadly we would not return!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always welcome comments and suggestions. Our goal is for all of our guests (friends, family, renters…) to have an enjoyable stay. We would like to respond to this review so future visitors will have our perspective on our home. As noted by the reviewer we sent an email to all summer visitors in advance of their stay that the Lake Michigan water level has risen in record amounts in the last two years and specifically how this has impacted our property and everywhere along the lake front this year. The beach is actually always changing. Fortunately, we still have lots of sand, and a shallow sandy entry. To clarify our parking, we have a 34ft by 44ft cement parking area in front of the garage that comfortably parks four cars. We have additional parking at the end of the driveway to accommodate extra parking needs as well as along the driveway. The driveway has a curve and may be difficult backing in an over sized vehicle or trailer. In recommendation from the reviewers we have trimmed up along the drive for over sized vehicles. We have asked our housekeeper to pay extra attention to any areas of concern such as the two light bulbs that were burned out. As with the shower flow that was restricted on the third floor from hard water sediment, we have a plumber, handyman and carpenter available to call if we had been notified by our guests when they first noticed any problem. As to the electrical concerns, we had an electrician come out and there was one plug with slight discoloration that he said was fully functional and not a safety hazard in any way. The same is true for the cord that is 14 feet above the floor in the sun room that is not live and awaiting a new fixture that is being handmade. We checked all 45 screens in the house and did not find any holes and tears. The screen door on the outside screened in porch door is pulled away on the edge that is in need of repair and will be cared for during routine maintenance. As for the wooden beach chairs, they were totally functional as far as we knew and we assume it was normal wear and tear and we assume they were not purposely broken. Finally, we would like to say that the house is designed to blend in with its natural surroundings. We love our landscaping, the lawn and prairie views to the west and lake views to the east. There are lovely perennial gardens surrounding the house that are on the edge of cultivated and wild.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Mitchel International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
HW D
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Lake Express Ferry
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I43 Exit #107
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Bada Bing Pizza, Cedar Grove
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Lake Michigan

This beach front property home on lake Michigan is less than 45 minutes north of Milwaukee on a private drive not shown on the google map. It is 15 minutes north of picturesque Port Washington and 15 minutes south of Kohler/Sheboygan. It is close to PGA championship golf course Whistling Straights, the Kohler American Club's Blackwolf Run, Erin Hills, the Bog and other great golf courses. It is between two beautiful and naturally distinct State Parks on Lake Michigan; Harington Beach and Kohler Andre.

Golf: This lovely beach front property on the shores of Lake Michigan is close to many award winning golf courses including PGA tournament course Whistling Straits and Kohler/American Club Black Wolf Run. It is also near the Bog, Erin Hills and many more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cedar Grove House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 10 2016 - Sep 16 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,200
$12,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $250
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

Depends on time and size of group- during summer for more than 8 people there is an additional $75 per person charge, per week.
Please e-mail the owner. The rates depend on the time of year and size of group

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Cedar Grove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - outdoor shower
  • Downstairs bathroom and shower are all slate. Master bath is limestone with large skylights in the shower and over the jetted tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , master suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , first floor near bath for no stairs
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
  • All 5 bedrooms are large with lots of windows and light. There is a futon couch on the third floor near the ping pong table.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Sand Box
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 11 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Our house has many energy efficiency features. There is an on demand hot water heater which provides unlimited hot water but only supplies one hot shower at a time. We also have radiant solar panels, super insulation, triple glazed windows, and a ground source heat pump.

Partner Offers