Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Imagine a Place to Rebuild Strength for Your Spirit...

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Fireplace

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths, Sleeps 10

Reidar's Retreat contains a rustic cabin, comfortable and cozy, set in a secluded North Carolina mountain setting. Not a bit of drywall to be found, just all natural wood, stone and earth from the bottom up.

The cabin and a pavilion are nestled in the middle of eleven acres which was carved out of the side of a mountain. The surroundings offer a view that captures all the senses of serenity, revealed to visitors from the comfort of two rocking chairs on the the covered porch.

Hiking paths and all the natural settings are there to give way to God's friends that parade around in their own neighborhood without fear or obstruction.

Every retreat in this environment seems to lead to a discovery of one's inner secrets, implemented by some form of creative display of art. I have labeled this 'one's find'. There are some on display in the front rock garden and along the porch deck.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 10, 2017

Amenities

Spruce Pine Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
Notes:
Other Activities: Waterfall hiking, gem mining

Reviews

1/5 -
(1 traveler reviews)

Imagine a Place to Rebuild Strength for Your Spirit...
average rating of 1.0 based on 1 reviews
1

Extremely Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

I felt that the listing was misleading - it would be very difficult to fit 10 people in this house; photos make the place appear much larger than it is; living room space and kitchen table are not big enough for 10 people; also, kitchen table slants on both sides from the center so items will roll. While technically there are places for 10 people to sleep, the lack of space to store suitcases and hang clothes is problematic.

The listing says the house is wheelchair accessible -- that is not the case. It was hard to get my mother's motorized scooter (she is handicapped) over the bump at the front door; there is no room on either side of the bed in the master bedroom on the 1st floor so she could not access that bed. She had to go to the room with bunkbeds (the beds are very uncomfortable). The bathroom is not outfitted for wheelchair accessibility.

The stairs are very steep & difficult to navigate; the 2nd floor has very low ceilings so hard to walk upright; and there was a stench outside (smelled like perhaps a septic issue).

My mother had a serious health issue while there and my father took her to the emergency room. This house did not register on GPS and is rather remote so that is a concern if you have an emergency. She later had a heart attack at the hospital and was transferred to a hospital in Asheville where we all re-located. I called the owner to ask about whether a partial refund could be given as my parents were renting the place from July 2-30, 2011 and there were still 1 1/2 weeks left on the rental.

The demeanor of the owner turned rather quickly to rude, combative and increasingly sarcastic. I noted that there was a lack of accessibility for my handicapped mother and I was definitely angry at this point because he was so rude and totally insensitive to the fact that my mother had just had a heart attack. He then hung up on me. There were many sarcastic and mean-spirited things that the owner said but the space here is limited. Suffice it to say that I was taken aback by how he conducted himself. I was not going to press the issue of a refund, I was merely inquiring. A much better approach on his part would be to express some empathy and then say simply that he cannot do any refunds due to policy (or whatever reason). I would easily have accepted that position.

Given the overall nature of this rental plus the owner's rude, abusive, and sarcastic demeanor, I cannot recommend this rental to anyone.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that this vacation became a nightmare because of the serious medical issues that arose. We are very sympathetic to the family. However, the rental inquiry came from the writer's mom and we had a number of conversations with her. The cabin was discussed in detail and questions answered. Our cabin is a rustic mountain retreat in the woods, not a luxury home in a gated community. She was told what the sleeping arrangements were. We were not informed of the medical emergency until after the rental term was over and the news was relayed by a neighbor who informed us of what had happened and also stated that some of the party had remained in the cabin not departing until a few days prior to the end of the agreed rental term. Our renter's daughtrer called several weeks later asking for a refund. She was indignant, rude and used foul language. My husband was unable to reason with her so he hung up. Had the medical issues occurred prior to their arrival and we could've have rented the cabin, we would have gladly given a refund and probably would have given a partial refund even if we did not have new renters because we are compassionate people. Since the cabin was occupied for almost the entire month by someone, a refund was not realistic. We are terribly sorry for the medical emergency. It is very frighteniong to watch someone you love be so seriously ill. But that occurrence, as unfortunate as it was, had nothing to do with us or the cabin. This rental occurred last summer. Yet here we are, almost a year later, receiving these scathing, angry comments. No one has ever, in the last five years, had anything but positive feedback. Our renters have loved our cabin and the peace and serenity they experience. Our guestbook has been filled with nothing but praise. We are in shock over this writer's negative comments. However, we do empathize with the serious medical issues her mother went through and wish the family God's blessings.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 5

Map

Other Activities: kayaking, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, shopping

Photos

Rates & Availability

Spruce Pine Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Owner Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties