expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Imagine a Place to Rebuild Strength for Your Spirit...

Spruce Pine, NC, USA
  • Cabin1594 sqft
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • Bathrooms3
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay3 nights

4 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths, Sleeps 10

Reidar's Retreat contains a rustic cabin, comfortable and cozy, set in a secluded North Carolina mountain setting. Not a bit of drywall to be found, just all natural wood, stone and earth from the bottom up.

The cabin and a pavilion are nestled in the middle of eleven acres which was carved out of the side of a mountain. The surroundings offer a view that captures all the senses of serenity, revealed to visitors from the comfort of two rocking chairs on the the covered porch.

Hiking paths and all the natural settings are there to give way to God's friends that parade around in their own neighborhood without fear or obstruction.

Every retreat in this environment seems to lead to a discovery of one's inner secrets, implemented by some form of creative display of art. I have labeled this 'one's find'. There are some on display in the front rock garden and along the porch deck.

Owner

Gil & Fran Carlson

Member Since 2011
Response rate:
90%
Response time:
within one day
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Nov 30, 2017

Amenities

    • Air Conditioning
    • Accessible
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
        • 2 king beds, 1 queen, 2 twin beds, 2 sets of bunk beds

        Bathrooms

        • 3 Bathrooms
        • Bathroom 1
          toilet, shower
        • Bathroom 2
          toilet, shower
        • Bathroom 3
          toilet, shower

          Meals

            • Guests provide their own meals

              General

                • Air Conditioning
                • Clothes Dryer
                • Fireplace
                • Heating
                • Iron & Board
                • Linens Provided
                • Living Room
                • Parking
                • Towels Provided
                • Washing Machine

                  Kitchen

                    • Coffee Maker
                    • Cooking Utensils
                    • Dishes & Utensils
                    • Kitchen
                    • Microwave
                    • Oven
                    • Refrigerator
                    • Stove
                    • Stove

                      Dining

                        • Dining Area
                        • comfy seating for 8 people

                          Entertainment

                            • Books
                            • DVD Player
                            • Television
                              no cable or satellite but we have dvd players
                            • Video Library

                              Outside

                                • Balcony
                                • Deck / Patio
                                • Golf
                                  Nearby in Spruce Pine
                                • Lawn / Garden
                                  large mowed yard
                                • Patio
                                • Wood Deck

                                  Suitability

                                    • wheelchair accessible
                                      ask owner

                                      Attractions

                                        • museums
                                        • restaurants
                                        • zoo

                                          Leisure Activities

                                            • antiquing
                                            • horseback riding
                                            • sight seeing

                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                • fishing
                                                • golf
                                                • hiking
                                                • hunting
                                                • mountain biking
                                                • rafting

                                                  Notes

                                                    • Other Activities: Waterfall hiking, gem mining

                                                      House Rules

                                                      Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                      Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                      Cancellation Policy

                                                      100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                      2 Reviews

                                                      1.5/5

                                                      Latest reviews

                                                      Very Disappointing.

                                                      Carol E.

                                                      The listing indicated satellite TV. There wasn’t any. My husband and two sons were very disappointed because they couldn’t watch football. It also listed a gas grill. There wasn’t one. There is a sewage issue. The first two days could not use the bathroom off of the kitchen area. There was a horrible smell coming from it and was nauseating. The third day the master bathroom had the sewage smell and on the day we left, there was no water in the upstairs bathroom. The front door lock didn’t work properly. Breaker kept tripping due to the wiring and too many portable heaters that are there for heating the house. We took this vacation to relax and enjoy the mountains and the problems took away alot of the enjoyment. We won’t return to this property

                                                      Extremely Disappointing

                                                      Shana D.

                                                      I felt that the listing was misleading - it would be very difficult to fit 10 people in this house; photos make the place appear much larger than it is; living room space and kitchen table are not big enough for 10 people; also, kitchen table slants on both sides from the center so items will roll. While technically there are places for 10 people to sleep, the lack of space to store suitcases and hang clothes is problematic.

                                                      The listing says the house is wheelchair accessible -- that is not the case. It was hard to get my mother's motorized scooter (she is handicapped) over the bump at the front door; there is no room on either side of the bed in the master bedroom on the 1st floor so she could not access that bed. She had to go to the room with bunkbeds (the beds are very uncomfortable). The bathroom is not outfitted for wheelchair accessibility.

                                                      The stairs are very steep & difficult to navigate; the 2nd floor has very low ceilings so hard to walk upright; and there was a stench outside (smelled like perhaps a septic issue).

                                                      My mother had a serious health issue while there and my father took her to the emergency room. This house did not register on GPS and is rather remote so that is a concern if you have an emergency. She later had a heart attack at the hospital and was transferred to a hospital in Asheville where we all re-located. I called the owner to ask about whether a partial refund could be given as my parents were renting the place from July 2-30, 2011 and there were still 1 1/2 weeks left on the rental.

                                                      The demeanor of the owner turned rather quickly to rude, combative and increasingly sarcastic. I noted that there was a lack of accessibility for my handicapped mother and I was definitely angry at this point because he was so rude and totally insensitive to the fact that my mother had just had a heart attack. He then hung up on me. There were many sarcastic and mean-spirited things that the owner said but the space here is limited. Suffice it to say that I was taken aback by how he conducted himself. I was not going to press the issue of a refund, I was merely inquiring. A much better approach on his part would be to express some empathy and then say simply that he cannot do any refunds due to policy (or whatever reason). I would easily have accepted that position.

                                                      Given the overall nature of this rental plus the owner's rude, abusive, and sarcastic demeanor, I cannot recommend this rental to anyone.

                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                      We are very sorry that this vacation became a nightmare because of the serious medical issues that arose. We are very sympathetic to the family.

                                                      However, the rental inquiry came from the writer's mom and we had a number of conversations with her. The cabin was discussed in detail and questions answered. Our cabin is a rustic mountain retreat in the woods, not a luxury home in a gated community. She was told what the sleeping arrangements were.

                                                      We were not informed of the medical emergency until after the rental term was over and the news was relayed by a neighbor who informed us of what had happened and also stated that some of the party had remained in the cabin not departing until a few days prior to the end of the agreed rental term.

                                                      Our renter's daughtrer called several weeks later asking for a refund. She was indignant, rude and used foul language. My husband was unable to reason with her so he hung up. Had the medical issues occurred prior to their arrival and we could've have rented the cabin, we would have gladly given a refund and probably would have given a partial refund even if we did not have new renters because we are compassionate people. Since the cabin was occupied for almost the entire month by someone, a refund was not realistic.

                                                      We are terribly sorry for the medical emergency. It is very frighteniong to watch someone you love be so seriously ill. But that occurrence, as unfortunate as it was, had nothing to do with us or the cabin. This rental occurred last summer. Yet here we are, almost a year later, receiving these scathing, angry comments.

                                                      No one has ever, in the last five years, had anything but positive feedback. Our renters have loved our cabin and the peace and serenity they experience. Our guestbook has been filled with nothing but praise. We are in shock over this writer's negative comments. However, we do empathize with the serious medical issues her mother went through and wish the family God's blessings.

                                                      Location

                                                      Spruce Pine, NC, USA

                                                      Other Activities: kayaking, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, shopping

                                                      Availability

                                                      Additional information about rental rates

                                                      Tax Rate
                                                      9.75%
                                                      $130avg/night
                                                      Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                      For booking assistance, call 888-829-7076

                                                      Property # 379970

                                                      x