check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lois Johnson

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Charming 2 Bedroom Condo in Historic Cathedral Hill

85 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Summit - University House Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5-6

Charming, designer renovated one level condo in the heart of historic Cathedral Hill district. Walking distance to Excel Energy Center, Antique Shops, Restaurants, Museums, Historical Center, Garrison Keller's Bookstore, Fitness Center and Coffee Shops.

Large trellis covered patio overlooking the historic Blair House is perfect for entertaining, grilling or relaxing with a glass of wine.

Keywords: Condo

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Lois Johnson (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Lois Johnson

I am a semi-retired interior designer and enjoy all aspects of creating lovely surroundings. I have children and grandchildren in my neighborhood and we all enjoy this area. I enjoy meeting people and I believe I am friendly and easy going.

Lois Johnson purchased this house in 1997

Why Lois Johnson chose St Paul

I have always enjoyed turn of the century architecture and seeing wonderful structures renovated and brought back to their original grandeur.

What makes this house unique

You will be within walking distance of wonderful shops, fine restaurants, downtown St. Paul, fitness center, coffee shops, bookstores. Strolling down beautiful Summit Avenue (blocks of lovely Victorian homes) is a lovely way to end the day.

Reviews

4.9
based on 85 traveler reviews

Charming 2 Bedroom Condo in Historic Cathedral Hill
average rating of 4.894118 based on 85 reviews
5

Charming Style

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location to wander the charming streets of the Catherial Hill neighborhood and State Capitol. Since we're avid walkers we averaged about nine miles a day exploring the architecture of the lovely surrounding neighborhoods and people watching.

The rental is decorated in a style that makes you feel you stepped back in time while still enjoying the digital world.

You're just a four minute walk from several very nice restaurants and can easily stroll to the Grand Avenue restaurant district in about 10 minutes.

This is the perfect location to just park your car for days at a time, slow down and live in a vibrant friendly neighborhood.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfectly lovely

  • 5 of 5

This property was even more lovely than the photos of it. The apartment was clean, cool, neat and well appointed. We especially loved the deck/pergola space that looked out onto the beautiful yard. It was very quiet and private and peaceful even in an area with so much going on! Lois couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. She let us store our bikes in her locked shed. Parking worked best for us on the street and was mostly easy. We walked to eateries, coffee shops, exercise in the park, yoga studios, Grand Ave. and grocery. We biked the bike lanes and greenway out to Lake of the Isles area. It was a short walk to James J. Hill house, St. Paul cathedral, MN History Center, and the 21 bus (1 block walk to bus stop) got us downtown for Farmers Market, CHS stadium for a Saints game, and Music on Mears. The light rail to Minneapolis is only 6 blocks away.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 6-week stay and would definitely recommend (have recommended!) this lovely spot to friends. Thank you Lois!!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint and charming.

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful location. Great, clean, and beautiful accommodations.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a Wedding Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We chose to stay in Lois's charming Cathedral Hill condo due to it's proximity to a wedding we would be attending at Summit Manor Reception House, which is within walking distance. The condo was was not only as pictured and described...it was better! Yes, the kitchen is small and the parking spot is tiny, but we only prepared one meal in the kitchen and never had a problem finding street parking within half a block. The beds were comfortable, there is ample seating, the kitchen is the best stocked rental I've been to, and the DirectTV and free wireless Internet make up for the lack of square footage in the kitchen and driveway.

The porch in the back of the house is so relaxing and the yard was an extra touch considering we had a rambunctious four-year-old with us. The various vines growing around the porch added nice shade over the 90+ degree weekend we had. Another nice thing for families is that the condo is two blocks from a park that has nice playground equipment. It's also within walking distance to a number of restaurants, bars, and shops. It was easy for us to get to various events surrounding the wedding without having to jump on the interstate, which we very much appreciated!

One thing I want to point out about our stay is that we happened to leave a somewhat pricey piece of electronic equipment on the kitchen counter accidentally as we were leaving. By the time we realized, which was about two hours later, and called Lois, she had been to the condo and found the item. She was very kind in going out of her way to send the item back to us, which is something I've never been able to successfully have a hotel do for me. I think this reason alone is why you should consider staying in one of Lois's rentals instead of a hotel next time you are in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Angela for a great review! I'm sorry it took awhile to send your notebook. I ended up working and not able to post it. Thanks for visiting.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved our little home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

We were thrilled to find this sweet home in such a beautiful St. Paul neighborhood. We appreciated being around the corner from downtown businesses and restaurants, but the immediate neighborhood was quiet and relaxed. Since we didn't have a car, we took advantage of the Nice Ride Bike system which was also just a couple blocks away. The very best part was the incredible backyard garden and deck. We enjoyed several summer meals on the quaintly lit deck. I'd definitely come back to this home away from home!

Becky

Sandpoint, Idaho

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We rented Lois' property for 3 nights in May. The property was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the outside deck, and ate several meals there. The kitchen was fully functional, and it was nice to have a washer and dryer. Great location, and Lois was a pleasure to deal with. If you choose to rent this property, you will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
MSP
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Red Cowl
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
Interstate 94
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Salt Cellar
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Afton Alps

Science Museum-St.Paul library-Como Park & Zoo-Children's Museum-Ordway Theatre

Xcel Energy Center

Landmark Center

Minnesota History Center

Photos

Rates & Availability

Summit - University House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$135
Sun
$890
$3,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $15

Rates for up to four guests- $135 per night. - additional $25 for each added guest
Holiday rates - $135 per night
Pet-$20 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Summit - University House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties