Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Your Waterfront Retreat!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 - 6 nights

About the property

A riverfront Mayberry, this home home adds Southern charm with modern amenities.

A Waterfront Haven! This stunning, custom built home,, nestled among cottages on the banks of the Potomac River will allow you to escape the hustle and bustle to truly relax. Enjoy the expansive views from the panoramic windows or the second floor deck.

With a bright, open floor plan, this fully-stocked home offers two kitchens, four bedrooms (two with water views), and three baths. Amenities include pool table, wine fridge, ice maker, three family sitting retreats and much more!

Enjoy lounging by the waterfall pool on the newly refurbished patio, try your hand at fishing or crabbing on the private dock, or simply walk among the tides on the beach.

More Details

Owner
William Garber
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, russian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2017

About William Garber

The owner is a fourth-generation Virginian, president of the local Regal/Stingray dealership, licensed 100 ton Sea Captain, father of two and proud grandfather of three. With immaculate attention to detail and cleanliness, he not only maintains, but upgrades constantly. Available for any issue, concern or question, you are welcomed!

William Garber purchased this house in 2004

Why William Garber chose Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck

Centered between Washington, DC and Richmond, this Colonial Beach gem is a hidden refuge that provides a quick getaway, yet a complete change of pace. Nicknamed the Playground on the Potomac, the town is a short walk or drive away with restaurants, the Pier, and the Riverboat Off Track Betting.

Full of history, George Washington was born near here at what is now the George Washington Birthplace National Monument. Alexander Hell maintained a summer home in Colonial Beach, the "Bell House." Sloan Wilson, author of "The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit," retired and died here.

Perfect for any season, nap in the hammock in the spring, swim, fish and grill in the summer, tour the fall foliage, and curl up next to the fireplace in the winter.

What makes this house unique

Little touches will give you big opportunities to make the most of your time here. Between the waterfall pool, swings, hammocks, outdoor cooking station with propane grill, retro refrigerator, and even imbedded lighted countertops will make you fall in love with this private refuge.

(P.S.- The sunsets are the best kept secret- don't tell!)

Amenities

Colonial Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Three (3) full baths- two (2) downstairs, one (1) upstairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • Large bed rooms , Two with private Bath and View of River. All Beds are 1- King, 1-Queen, 2 Doubles
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Your Waterfront Retreat!
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
5

Nice stay, good view

  • 5 of 5

Renting this home was a wonderful experience. The owner is very responsive and thorough. The upstairs in the home is nicely renovated and is new. The main floor is older but still functional. Both beds downstairs are said to be very firm so be sure anyone staying in those beds likes a firm mattress. Because the owner requires all sheets and towels to be washed and dried prior to departure, allow time to do this with the understanding that the washer and dryer are very small; you can fit one sheet set and a towel or two but you could not do two sheet sets at a time. Views are nice and there are plenty of this nearby to explore. We went for a walk on a beach nearby and to a playground in the town. Very nice that the grocery store is so near. The neighborhood is fine and the only drawback there is barking dogs who wake up early. Beautiful views and a very peaceful atmosphere overall!

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gainesville, VA
5

Colonial Beach Bike Fest 2016

  • 5 of 5

We rented during Bike Fest weekend. We loved the location as it was close to the action going on downtown but far enough away to not have the noise or traffic. The house was perfect! It had rained all day Saturday so having the pool table gave us hours of entertainment while we weathered the storm. The neighbors were actually really nice on both sides of the house. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a nice relaxing get away. We hope to go back during the summer when we can enjoy the pool and do some crabbing off the boat dock...thank you Bill!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I can not say enough nice things about these guests . Felt they are the type people ever home owner on homeaway went in there homes renting. Thank you Bill
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Additional Review

  • 5 of 5

Our Marine cousin wanted to add "the host will take care of you and have your back"

Another said "the owner sounded annoyed with the neighbor too every time SHE called"

Bottomline, Bill was a gracious host and we wish him all the best! Fabulous home, it was as if we were in Cancun, especially with the two palm trees :)

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I can not control neighbor level of too much noise . I can only convey there conserns to any renters using house. Have to keep the peace in neighbor hood. Other wise I tryed to be fair to every one. Once noise level was lowered everyone was happy. Thank you for your review Bill
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Labor Day Weekend

  • 4 of 5

Bill was a great host. His home is very lovely and proximity to the grocery store was a plus. We rented this home during Labor Day Weekend to celebrate our cousins end to serving in the USMC. So we were hoping for a fun filled and relaxing weekend. Initially, everyone in our party was ecstatic with the home and furnishings because it had everything we were hoping for; pool, large family room, and a dock to fish off of. In addition, the pool table was a hit. The home accommodated 8 people, but so much space for more. We ended up having two extra people show up at the last minute with a total of 10 and we barely used the upper level of the home. All we did was sleep and shower up there. We highly recommend this home if you are looking for a getaway from the big city. The view of the sun setting was AMAZING. We would love to come back, but only if his neighbors move or mind their own business. This is the 7th or 8th home we've rented and not once did we get a complaint or been charged for any damages. We always leave the home the way we found it, because we appreciate those that are willing to share their homes with perfect strangers. So imagine the unnecessary stress that was brought upon us when we were just trying to celebrate a Marines homecoming. First complaint was that we had 10 people and 5 cars. I understand the agreement said 8, so extra fees could've been taken out of the deposit. And why would we call during the holiday weekend to just inform the owner that " hey, we have two extra people show up at the last minute." I'm sure that's the least of his concern. If it wasn't for the neighbors tattling on us, I'm sure it wouldn't have been an issue at all. Then the next day, a complaint about us being too loud. Agreement said no loud noises after 9pm and it was only 5 or 6pm. In respect to the homeowner, Bill, and not his neighbors, we turned the music down before 9pm and on Labor Day weekend. We can't stress enough that it's a great home in a quaint location, but unless you want to be spied and reported on, a different home should be considered. Our only suggestion to the home owner is, from now on if your neighbors call to complain about what is going on - just ignore them. It seems to be a pattern of theirs to complain on those who are trying to enjoy themselves. Maybe it's due to jealousy? So glad they're not our real neighbors.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I do agree everyone should not have to worry about neighbors when renting a vacation home. My home is in a small town with small home lots. So when you rent noise must be keep to reasonable level day or night. I explained to the ladies when they were signing rental contract that noise level had to keep down. They agreed. Also they contracted for 8 people, not 10. So with limited parking and 5 cars showed up I did get phone calls from several neighbors. About noise and number of cars parked. Whith all this said, once I did call the noise level came down to a reasonable level. I did refund there complete security deposit even though I should have keep the amount for 10- people not 8 people they contracted for. There are two sides to every story, some where in the middle is the truth . I was not there to judge the level of noise, but 3 diffrent home owners call me about noise. No one was spying on them. This is in a private housing community not a resort where excess noise, people and cars would not be a issue, next time looking for a party house this is not what works in this area. That's why when you contract for 8 people and 10 show up, this house is not designed for that amount of people and partying.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Woodbridge, VA
5

GREAT, all the way around !

  • 5 of 5

House was great, view great, owners went out of there way to make sure everything was as shown on Home A Way. Cant say enough good things about

the house and the owners.

Loved the town and people. Everyone was so kind .

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

We spent the 4th of July weekend with a group in this wonderful home. The location is perfect - up on a bluff looking down at the river and across to Maryland. The home is lined up right in line with the sunset. Sitting up on the deck is the best location.

The downstairs has 2 bedrooms one with a bath and one bath in the hallway. There is a common room and a full kitchen there too. Upstairs will surprise you. It is open and so on point. The seashore details are wonderful. There are 2 bedrooms and a shared bath - both beautiful. The pool area with bar and bbq is a great location for your group. The dock and small beach area complete the package - we were able to drop in our paddle boards and go explore. Colonial Beach is a step back in time. No crowds - no real shopping - but great local seafood and fun beach bars. With a no traffic 90 minute ride from DC - I highly recommend this area. It is a winner!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glade you enjoyed our home. So kind of you to give such a nice review Bill Garber
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Captain Billy's Crab House
"Great Bay Sea Food"
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Washington Regan
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Hi Tides
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Light House
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Behind House / Colonial Beach
Car: recommended

Driving distance to Williamsburg VA, Richmond, Washington D.C. George Washingtons boy hood home. Civil War Battles, Fishing, crabbing,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Colonial Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall/Winter
Oct 31 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,300
 
 
Early Summer Rate
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
From
$325
Fri,Sat
$1,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$375
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$2,200
$8,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Propane, Pool and Clean $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $79
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.3%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers