Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

VILLA FORTUNA The Very Best of Indoor/Outdoor Living at Rio Mar

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Chic Poolside Mediterranean Villa With Gorgeous Ocean And El Yunque Views

We first encountered this villa, situated on the grounds of the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, the summer of 2013 after we purchased our first villa in Cluster II. Every day we would spend time at the Cluster's private pool, and look up at a beautiful villa overlooking the pool. It was perfect and had everything you would ever want--a gorgeous view, excellent light, and an expansive terrace. But it had no life; it was always closed. We joked that we should buy it--if only to breathe new life into it. That joke soon became reality. We found the owners, and shortly thereafter we owned this unique property. What followed was an intensive restoration phase. No surface was left untouched; the original, authentic Mediterranean design was lovingly preserved and we updated all appliances and systems to modern standards that discerning guests expect. We absolutely love spending time in this gorgeous villa and look forward to sharing this unique property with others.

Villa Fortuna is a perfect getaway destination for uncompromising families who require both proximity to amenities for family or friends as well as a chic environment for the adults. We're also a great solution for two couples traveling together who appreciate a fun yet refined vacation experience.

We have meticulously restored this villa in the Mediterranean style and original spirit of Rio Mar and its architecture. To that end, Villa Fortuna is truly a place to disconnect from the daily grind and reconnect with nature and the vibrant natural scene of Puerto Rico. All rooms have a commanding ocean view and look out over the community's private pool and the Rio Mar Ocean Golf Course. Guests will notice that the villa is cooled by the natural trade winds that bless the island as well as ceiling fans in every room. For guests who need to stay connected, high speed internet is available, as is a Bose stereo system and a 50 inch flat screen TV.

VILLA FORTUNA IS PART OF THE COLLECTION AT RIO MAR

Please see our other properties in Rio Mar's Cluster II:

VILLA DELFINA A sophisticated 2 bedroom villa with a serene garden view: homeaway #888752

VILLA PADILLA TRICE A beautiful 3 bedroom villa with two terraces and gorgeous views: homeaway #3656150

More Details

Owner
Rodrigo and Elliott
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 13, 2017

About Rodrigo and Elliott

Professionals in the design and beauty industries, Rodrigo and Elliott spend their time between New York City and Rio Mar.

Rodrigo and Elliott purchased this villa in 2014

Why Rodrigo and Elliott chose Rio Mar Cluster 2

Historically the second home community of Puerto Rican families, Rio Mar has always been known across the island as an exclusive retreat for Puerto Rican professionals that resorts built later have tried to replicate. The architecture of the villas across the property conforms to the rolling shape of the hills, making each villa unique and the grounds feel organic. A native of Puerto Rico, Rodrigo spent his teenage years at Rio Mar, and dreamed of owning a property here while growing up. Living in New York City crystallized the need to have a retreat to relax and recharge. At Rio Mar, we've found the perfect villa to do just that.

Map

Nearest Airport
24 Miles
SJU
Nearest Beach
400 Metres
Rio Mar Beach
Car: recommended

The villa is located in Cluster II of the Rio Mar Resort. On the Rio Mar property guests have access to the cluster's private pool and to the private Rio Mar Residents' Beach Club, which also has a large pool, beach chairs for your relaxation and food and drinks on the weekends. Two award winning golf courses (Ocean and River), as well as an extensive tennis center featuring Har-Tru courts are available for sports enthusiasts. The Wyndham Rio Mar resort on the property also features a wide variety of restaurants and a casino.

The villa's location makes it a great launching point to see the sites outside of the property as well. El Yunque Rainforest is a five minute drive away, Old San Juan is only about 40 minutes away. Laguna Grande, one of only five bioluminescent bays in the entire world, is nearby for an evening excursion, the beautiful islands of Culebra and Vieques are easy day trips as well. (See map above for location of the villa and locations of these places.)

Amenities

Rio Mar Cluster 2 Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Resort
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Shower window with fantastic views. Feels like outdoors!
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 2nd floor
    2nd Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1st floor; twin bed is in loft in the bedroom
    Mezzanine with twin size convertible chair - 1 twin/ single , Mezzanine is situated at top of stairs
  • All bedroom have great views of the ocean, golf course and pool.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
6% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
VILLA FORTUNA The Very Best of Indoor/Outdoor Living at Rio Mar
average rating of 4.878788 based on 33 reviews
5

Amazing views

  • 5 of 5

Loved how spacious the villa was and the kitchen was fully equipped - normal sized washer dryer was a big hit too!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful Villa and great location

  • 5 of 5

I traveled to Villa Fortuna with my husband and three kids. The villa accommodated our family perfectly. The beds are incredibly comfortable and all the linens were top quality. We needed extra beach towels and the house manager delivered them very quickly.

The beach is a quick walk, about 4/10 of a mile, or you can drive. It was very seculuded and one day there weren't even any other people on it!

The villa is close to the rain forest and a wonderful local dining neighborhood. It is also convenient to walgreens and a lovely supermarket.

I highly recommend this Villa. It is clear the owners have taken a lot of thought into their guests and their experience.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michelle--thank you so much for your kind words. We were delighted to welcome you and your lovely family to our villa and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again soon!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
North Canton, Ohio
3

Overall stay just OK....Wish we would have been informed of the pool renovation

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at Villa Fortuna during Spring Break week (March 25-April 1). The owners communicated very well leading up to our stay which was comforting. Upon entering the condo, we quickly learned that the condo doesn't have air conditioning as the air was stagnant and very humid. Throughout the week we found that at night and in the morning it was very, very warm in the unit. I guess I didn't realize that in the description where it says the place is meant to be open, that literally means your source of airflow. Another issue with the windows open all of the time are the extremely loud birds that wake you up every morning at 5am along with the golf course lawnmowers. Also we were disappointed that the unit has no microwave, no DVD player, and doesn't really cater to how a family with children. However, my biggest issue with the unit/communication was that during our entire week the oceanside owners' pool was closed for renovation. As we have two children, this was probably the single most reason we chose this property over others. Having a pool with restrooms adjacent to the beach was a huge bonus. However, we were never told by the owners that the pool area would not be available during our stay. This was extremely disappointing to us.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ben-- Thank you for your review. We strive to ensure that each of our guests have a wonderful visit, so we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. With regard to the pool at the Residents Beach Club being closed for renovations, we actually did not know it was being renovated. The Rio Mar Residents Association did not communicate anything to residents in advance of the renovation or even while the pool was being worked on. (I just put a call in, and understand that the work is now complete. It's great that they are continuously improving the resort, but not great that they don't communicate that it is happening.) Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. Please note that the pool directly outside of your villa was open during your stay, but we totally understand your position. Had we known that the Residents' Beach Club pool would not be available to your family, we certainly would have done something in advance as compensation. We really wish that you had raised this with us when you discovered this so that we could have had an opportunity to address your concern while you were visiting. Please note: I will be contacting you momentarily to make this right. As for your other concerns, we're sorry that the open air experience was not to your liking. We have no interest in our guests having an experience contrary to what they desire, and always steer guests away from this villa or to our other villa with the same floor plan that does have A/C if it is clear that the guest absolutely must have A/C. We do not advertise that the villa has A/C and guests who choose this villa tend to want to experience the villa cooled by ocean breezes (with screened windows and ceiling fans) and love the charm of going to sleep to the sound of coquis and waking up with the birds. As for not catering to families with children, we host primarily families with children and this is the first review we've received suggesting that this villa is not child friendly. We are proud to welcome many return guests with children and look forward to welcoming families with children in the future. As noted above, I will be contacting you shortly to address the issue you raised about the Residents' Beach pool. Sincerely, Elliott Trice
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A lovely charming villa in a beautiful quiet resort!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at this charming Mediterranean style villa. From the very start of booking it, the experience was so positive. Elliot was responsive to my enquiries and then directed me to Lydia, the property manager who was incredibly helpful with all of my questions. Elliot reached out just before we arrived to make sure we were all ready. What I really appreciated was they sent us an information package that included how to get to the villa, nearby restaurants and grocery stores and things to do, even a great little tapas restaurant in Old San Juan which we ate at. We referred to it many times! We were warmly greeted by Lydia when we arrived with fresh fruit, flavoured water and a bottle of wine on ice. Lydia was really responsive while we were there as well The villa itself was so charming with nicely appointed furniture and art. Loved the two levels with the little reading nook, the balcony with the doors that opened out completely, the view from the balcony, I think one of the best situated properties in the cluster. The bedding was so comfortable, towels nice and fluffy and great beach towels. Great pool right in front of the villa and beach nearby. Damaris who coordinated our excursions was also great to work with and very helpful. We've rented through VRBO before but what really impressed me were all the extras that made our vacation really enjoyable. Thank you to Elliot, Lydia and Damaris for a great vacation! I'd highly recommend choosing Villa Fortuna for your next vacation in Puerto Rico.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Su, thank you so much for your kind words. We're so delighted you were able to take advantage of all of our recommendations and that you appreciated everything we do for our guests. We'd love to welcome you and your family back soon so please stay in touch!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Best Stay Ever!

  • 5 of 5

We have been going to Puerto Rico for 4 years now. We accidentally came across the Rio Grand Mar Resort on our first visit when our Old San Juan lodging didn't work out. The first 2 years were spent at the hotel and the third at an ocean villa. Obviously we love the location, but Villa Fortuna was our absolute favorite stay yet! A beautiful space with attentive owners/manager. Lots of room, amazing views and a short walk to the beach. We highly recommend renting this property. And want to thank the owners for taking such wonderful care of us. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay. It's also wonderful to have such lovely guests as yourselves! We look forward to welcoming you back very, very soon!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great Spot in Puerto Rico!

  • 5 of 5

Our condo was very nice, clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed for our family for the week. The location was perfect-with the pool right off our terrace and the ocean view on the horizon. We even enjoyed the fireworks from our balcony on New Year's Eve! The beach was fantastic and just a short walk away and the tiki bar area with swimming and outdoor games was a nice spot to relax with the kids. We loved being so close to El Yunque and the Bio-Bay. What a great vacation we enjoyed here!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying at Villa Fortuna. We enjoyed meeting you and your family and are delighted that you had such a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Insurance $99

***STAY 6 NIGHTS, AND GET THE 7TH NIGHT FREE!!!***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.