Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bahama Breeze Beachfront Tropical Idyll

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms. Additional charge for more than 2 adult guests.

Beautiful beachfront cottage located directly on Hoopers Bay with beautiful deck providing great views of the ocean. Also boasts private walkway to the beach. It is almost as having your own private beach. If you are looking to get away from it all, this is the perfect location for you and your family/loved ones.

Hoopers Bay boasts clean, clear, calm turquoise water. It is ideal for swimming, snorkeling or simply taking long walks. We are close to the airport, local groceries, restaurants and the capital Georgetown.

Gary Matheson
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Five Stars!!! What a wonderful beach house! The house is in great condition for a beach vacation. My husband, two kids, mother -in-law and myself stayed there for a week and absolutely loved our stay. A beautiful deck has been added onto the beach side of the house and is lovely to sit and eat meals on. The property was very clean and exactly as described - complete with beach towels, a kayak to use, and a gas grill! Hoopers Bay is a great location - very calm waters and quiet. There is a colony of sea turtles that lives steps away from this house. I hope that we are able to come back to Exuma and stay in this house again! Gary (the owner) and Flo (the care-taker) were both easy to work with and very helpful.
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 1


Exuma Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , Sleeps 2
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Sleeps 2
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Bahama Breeze Beachfront Tropical Idyll
average rating of 4.75 based on 25 reviews

Perfect Villa on Hoopers Bay Beach

  • 5 of 5

Bahama Breeze was exactly as described and is a perfect vacation paradise. The hosts and property manager were very nice and accommodating, and kind enough to be flexible when our initial flight was canceled. We arrived later in the evening and they had stocked up on breakfast essentials for us - this was much appreciated and such a kind gesture. The kitchen had everything needed to prepare every meal at home if you want to. The villa was clean and had plenty of room to stretch out. The patio area at the back of Bahama Breeze was our favorite area - from morning coffee to evening BBQs - this patio calls you out to relax and enjoy the amazing weather. And the view from the patio, well it just can't be beat. A few steps down a natural path and you're right on the Hoopers Bay beach. Being directly on a beach/water was the most important thing on our vacation list and this property knocked that out of the park! This beach is very private, you'll likely have it to yourself on most days. We love to explore when we travel so we rented a car and were able to explore all of Exuma and Little Exuma from this location. We will definitely return to Bahama Breeze if we travel to Exuma again.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great holiday

  • 5 of 5

My husband I stayed in this home Dec 2nd to Dec 16th, I can't express enough how great the outdoor space is here! It is very private. Very large deck and the beach area is the best on the beach!!! The house is basic but has everything you need. The very nice BBQ was a plus also. We only took carry on's to save time travelling so having laundry was great. We personally don't like air conditioning but it is there if you want it. There is plenty of windows to open and at night it is cooler anyway. We have been all over and that has been the best beach area so far. A special thanks to Flo! We got in late on Saturday and asked to have a few things in the fridge for us. She was there to meet us at the house, everything we asked for was in the fridge. She was quick to answer any questions we had or anything we needed during our stay. I would like to thank Gary and Vee for sharing their home with us.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta GA


  • 5 of 5

Bahama Breeze lived up to the pictures and more. The house was clean, plenty of towels (beach & other), sheets & kitchen supplies.

Getting down to the beach was a bit treacherous (but the description did say it was not accessible) and walking sticks made it a bit easier. Once there, we never wanted to leave. We had the beach to ourselves. We floated for hours.

At night, the stars were glorious & we slept like babies.

The pictures made me fall in love with the place & being there was everything we could have hoped for and more.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the cottage and location was ideal for you. I would like to comment on the beach access as I am a bit puzzled by your description. I hope the following will provide a clearer and more accurate description of the beach access. The pathway is definitely private and and located on the property itself. The stairway leads directly from the deck outside the cottage to the beach below. The stairs are wide natural stone and run along the property wall. It is not accurate to describe it as treacherous. It is a clear, easily accessible and manageable stairway that leads to the beach. We thank you for staying with us and hope that you we are able to host you in the future. Cheers.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montreal, Canada


  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 stayed at Bahama Breeze cottage from Aug. 12th to the 19th. We had a fantastic time and would love to repeat the experience. The cottage is well located in Hoopers Bay, 10-15 minutes from the airport and almost same distance from George Town. It is spacious and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 teenagers, the kitchen is well equipped and Florence, the property manager, was extremely helpful and very responsive to all our questions and inquiries. Access to the beach is perfect and the beach itself is out of this world; nicest beach we've visited so far having been in Bermuda, the West Coast, Cuba and South America. Daily temperatures were between 32C and 36C which made us spend most of our time near the ocean. The water is calm and refreshing and once in a while you catch a glimpse of a beautiful large turtle or some majestic sting rays swimming by. We highly recommend this place as it was key for our vacation on Exuma to become a total success.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Carlos. We are very happy to hear that you and you family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your staying with us again in the future. Vee
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mansfield Texas

Great location!..... House is outdated!

  • 2 of 5

We were very pleased with the location and the proximity to the beach. If you are looking to lounge around and spend time at the beach this is the place to be. Hoopers bay is magnificent!! But that's only because we requested that the broken lounge chairs be replaced and the beach area be cleaned from past guests. The house internally could use some upgrades the wicker furniture was VERY uncomfortable, The couch sat so low to the ground, we literally felt like we were sitting on the floor The cushions had no support. To make matter worse they have maybe a 22-24 inch TV that is mounted very high on the wall for it's size, it was a neck killer. There was not ONE comfortable place to sit or lay in the entire house! On about day 4 we moved all the furniture out and brought in the old rusted loungers from the deck and put the cushions on them for some comfort. The one bedroom had a queen size mattress it was extremely soft and had a huge dip in the middle, the other bedroom had a double size mattress that was so hard that it killed our backs you can feel every spring! Needless to say we all slept like crap for the two weeks that we were there. The shower in the 2nd bathroom in the addition, had a very squishy floor and felt very unsafe we quit using it in fear we might fall through. The kitchen was ok the inside the cabinets were dirty and the drawers on the island where barely hanging on the hindge! All the appliances worked fine. We absolutely loved Exuma! We will return and stay on Hooper's Bay again and if a few upgrades were completed we would definitely stay again at Bahama Breeze just because of the location. On another note if you notice that there are not very many current reviews on this property, I feel it is because the owners are supposed to send a link on check out day to leave a review, since I complained to them during our stay we never got the link until we got Homeaway involved 2 weeks later.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Melissa & Percy, We are always striving to ensure that our guests have a first rate experience at our cottage and we are sad to hear that you did not have such an experience. We invite and welcome all feedback as it helps us to make necessary improvements. It would have been best had you mentioned that you were not happy with the cottage at some point during your stay. If we had received your list of your concerns then, you can be assured that we would have moved you to another location in an effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. With that said, your review should be balanced by our property manager's prompt and efficient response to the concerns you mentioned to her, namely the mattress and the beach chairs. As you are aware, a new mattress was promptly delivered and set up for you and the beach chairs were also promptly replaced. Our cottage is located on the beach front and so we do have the effects of the salt on outside furnishings. Having said that, we do replace these furnishings as required. Upgrades to the cottage are on an ongoing basis. The nature of the business requires this and we are fully aware and committed to maintaining a certain standard which would ensure a positive experience and repeat guests. Hoopers Bay is an idyllic location. It is also a public beach and unfortunately we have been informed that our gazebo (the only one on the beach) has been used by people who are not our guests. Having said this we have never encountered garbage on this beach. It is pristine with calm, clear, clean waters. We pride ourselves on providing excellent client service and being very responsive to our guests’ needs, beginning with the initial enquiry and up until our guests leave. At the same time, we do recognise it is not possible to please everyone. We also strive to maintain our cottage and its environs in an optimum condition for our guests’ enjoyment. It is never our intent to mislead our guests, therefore, the cottage it is exactly as advertised. Our aim is for our guests to enjoy their stay and to discover what a beautiful island Exuma is and what it has to offer. Having unhappy or uncomfortable guests would be neither to our guests’ benefit nor to ours. Our guests' enjoyment and comfort is our uppermost concern. After all a happy guest is more likely to leave a wonderfully positive review. We are glad that despite your review that you would choose to stay with us again. Sincerely, Vee
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Very nice clean villa with everything you need to have a comfortable vacation. Excellent location

  • 5 of 5

Great beach with great swimming and beautiful villa not 1 negative thing to say about beautiful paradise villa. Many towels and pillows too. The only thing needed is a spatula as the handle broken on the one at villa not a big deal but I got burned a few times. Pure paradise and we will return.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Georgtown International
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Palm Bay
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Palm Bay
Car: recommended

Beach Cottage is conveniently located, close to the airport (4.4 miles away), Georgetown (capital), restaurants and groceries. Ideally located on arguably the best beach on the island. The beach is calm, clear and clean. It is almost as having your own private beach. It is ideal for swimming and snorkeling.




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 10.0%

Upon arrival you will find the following basics complimentary: tea, coffee, sugar, water cooler, soap, toilet paper, garbage bags, dish washing detergent and paper towels.

For more than 2 guests, there is an additional charge of $25.00 USD per person per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties