Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bahama Breeze Beachfront Tropical Idyll

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms. Additional charge for more than 2 adult guests.

Beautiful beachfront cottage located directly on Hoopers Bay with beautiful deck providing great views of the ocean. Also boasts private walkway to the beach. It is almost as having your own private beach. If you are looking to get away from it all, this is the perfect location for you and your family/loved ones.

Hoopers Bay boasts clean, clear, calm turquoise water. It is ideal for swimming, snorkeling or simply taking long walks. We are close to the airport, local groceries, restaurants and the capital Georgetown.


Owner
Gary Matheson
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Five Stars!!! What a wonderful beach house! The house is in great condition for a beach vacation. My husband, two kids, mother -in-law and myself stayed there for a week and absolutely loved our stay. A beautiful deck has been added onto the beach side of the house and is lovely to sit and eat meals on. The property was very clean and exactly as described - complete with beach towels, a kayak to use, and a gas grill! Hoopers Bay is a great location - very calm waters and quiet. There is a colony of sea turtles that lives steps away from this house. I hope that we are able to come back to Exuma and stay in this house again! Gary (the owner) and Flo (the care-taker) were both easy to work with and very helpful.
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Exuma Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , Sleeps 2
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Sleeps 2
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Bahama Breeze Beachfront Tropical Idyll
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 23 reviews
Atlanta GA
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Bahama Breeze lived up to the pictures and more. The house was clean, plenty of towels (beach & other), sheets & kitchen supplies.

Getting down to the beach was a bit treacherous (but the description did say it was not accessible) and walking sticks made it a bit easier. Once there, we never wanted to leave. We had the beach to ourselves. We floated for hours.

At night, the stars were glorious & we slept like babies.

The pictures made me fall in love with the place & being there was everything we could have hoped for and more.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the cottage and location was ideal for you. I would like to comment on the beach access as I am a bit puzzled by your description. I hope the following will provide a clearer and more accurate description of the beach access. The pathway is definitely private and and located on the property itself. The stairway leads directly from the deck outside the cottage to the beach below. The stairs are wide natural stone and run along the property wall. It is not accurate to describe it as treacherous. It is a clear, easily accessible and manageable stairway that leads to the beach. We thank you for staying with us and hope that you we are able to host you in the future. Cheers.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montreal, Canada
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 stayed at Bahama Breeze cottage from Aug. 12th to the 19th. We had a fantastic time and would love to repeat the experience. The cottage is well located in Hoopers Bay, 10-15 minutes from the airport and almost same distance from George Town. It is spacious and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 teenagers, the kitchen is well equipped and Florence, the property manager, was extremely helpful and very responsive to all our questions and inquiries. Access to the beach is perfect and the beach itself is out of this world; nicest beach we've visited so far having been in Bermuda, the West Coast, Cuba and South America. Daily temperatures were between 32C and 36C which made us spend most of our time near the ocean. The water is calm and refreshing and once in a while you catch a glimpse of a beautiful large turtle or some majestic sting rays swimming by. We highly recommend this place as it was key for our vacation on Exuma to become a total success.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Carlos. We are very happy to hear that you and you family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your staying with us again in the future. Vee
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mansfield Texas
2

Great location!..... House is outdated!

  • 2 of 5

We were very pleased with the location and the proximity to the beach. If you are looking to lounge around and spend time at the beach this is the place to be. Hoopers bay is magnificent!! But that's only because we requested that the broken lounge chairs be replaced and the beach area be cleaned from past guests. The house internally could use some upgrades the wicker furniture was VERY uncomfortable, The couch sat so low to the ground, we literally felt like we were sitting on the floor The cushions had no support. To make matter worse they have maybe a 22-24 inch TV that is mounted very high on the wall for it's size, it was a neck killer. There was not ONE comfortable place to sit or lay in the entire house! On about day 4 we moved all the furniture out and brought in the old rusted loungers from the deck and put the cushions on them for some comfort. The one bedroom had a queen size mattress it was extremely soft and had a huge dip in the middle, the other bedroom had a double size mattress that was so hard that it killed our backs you can feel every spring! Needless to say we all slept like crap for the two weeks that we were there. The shower in the 2nd bathroom in the addition, had a very squishy floor and felt very unsafe we quit using it in fear we might fall through. The kitchen was ok the inside the cabinets were dirty and the drawers on the island where barely hanging on the hindge! All the appliances worked fine. We absolutely loved Exuma! We will return and stay on Hooper's Bay again and if a few upgrades were completed we would definitely stay again at Bahama Breeze just because of the location. On another note if you notice that there are not very many current reviews on this property, I feel it is because the owners are supposed to send a link on check out day to leave a review, since I complained to them during our stay we never got the link until we got Homeaway involved 2 weeks later.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Melissa & Percy, We are always striving to ensure that our guests have a first rate experience at our cottage and we are sad to hear that you did not have such an experience. We invite and welcome all feedback as it helps us to make necessary improvements. It would have been best had you mentioned that you were not happy with the cottage at some point during your stay. If we had received your list of your concerns then, you can be assured that we would have moved you to another location in an effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. With that said, your review should be balanced by our property manager's prompt and efficient response to the concerns you mentioned to her, namely the mattress and the beach chairs. As you are aware, a new mattress was promptly delivered and set up for you and the beach chairs were also promptly replaced. Our cottage is located on the beach front and so we do have the effects of the salt on outside furnishings. Having said that, we do replace these furnishings as required. Upgrades to the cottage are on an ongoing basis. The nature of the business requires this and we are fully aware and committed to maintaining a certain standard which would ensure a positive experience and repeat guests. Hoopers Bay is an idyllic location. It is also a public beach and unfortunately we have been informed that our gazebo (the only one on the beach) has been used by people who are not our guests. Having said this we have never encountered garbage on this beach. It is pristine with calm, clear, clean waters. We pride ourselves on providing excellent client service and being very responsive to our guests’ needs, beginning with the initial enquiry and up until our guests leave. At the same time, we do recognise it is not possible to please everyone. We also strive to maintain our cottage and its environs in an optimum condition for our guests’ enjoyment. It is never our intent to mislead our guests, therefore, the cottage it is exactly as advertised. Our aim is for our guests to enjoy their stay and to discover what a beautiful island Exuma is and what it has to offer. Having unhappy or uncomfortable guests would be neither to our guests’ benefit nor to ours. Our guests' enjoyment and comfort is our uppermost concern. After all a happy guest is more likely to leave a wonderfully positive review. We are glad that despite your review that you would choose to stay with us again. Sincerely, Vee
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very nice clean villa with everything you need to have a comfortable vacation. Excellent location

  • 5 of 5

Great beach with great swimming and beautiful villa not 1 negative thing to say about beautiful paradise villa. Many towels and pillows too. The only thing needed is a spatula as the handle broken on the one at villa not a big deal but I got burned a few times. Pure paradise and we will return.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Ideal home....perfect location

  • 5 of 5

Bahama Breeze is everything that you could ask for! This was our second trip to Exuma, and we know for sure that Hooper's Bay is the best location. The water in front of the house is ideal for relaxing, enjoying some water play or just sitting and listening to the waves. The cottage is perfect for a couple or even a family of four. The house has two bedrooms, each with a full size bed, then upstairs in the loft, there is plenty of room for few air mattresses if you planned to bring those yourself. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking, and the entire house is impeccably clean. The house manager, Flo, is wonderful and helpful - she clearly cares a great deal about upkeep and maintenance of the home. We loved the back deck and could have spent all our days out there - relaxing in the sun and using the grill. Only two very small things could have improved the stay - a new spatula for the kitchen (the one there is broken) and a clothes line outside to hang up wet suits. Literally everything else was perfect!

Thank you to Gary and Vee - this house is excellent!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing Secluded Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5

My fiancee and I had a wonderful time staying here. Couldn't have asked for anything better. The home is just as described. Quite, quant, with a beautiful view of the ocean and basically a private beach. We spent almost every evening down on the sand and only saw one other family WAY off in the distance. Supposedly there are sea turtles in the area but we didn't find them. The beds were comfortable (not too firm) and the AC was a huge plus - the place will be an ice box if you want it to be. The back deck is huge and could accommodate a large family if needed. There are plenty of beach toys like snorkels, fins, and a kayak. The location is great. Just about 2 miles from George Town and not to far from the airport. There is a deli and a market a short walk down the highway which will cover all of our needs while you are there. We had initially planned on going without a car during our trip, but walking to George Town is a little far. We ended up renting a scooter ($50/day) which was a lot of fun. We also recommend renting a boat from George Town and cruising around the harbor and going over to Stocking Island. Thank you again to Gary and Vee for the accommodations. They even gave us a bottle of wine to celebrate our anniversary. We look forward to our next trip to the Bahama Breeze Cottage.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Georgtown International
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Palm Bay
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Georgetown
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Sandals
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Palm Bay
Car: recommended

Beach Cottage is conveniently located, close to the airport (4.4 miles away), Georgetown (capital), restaurants and groceries. Ideally located on arguably the best beach on the island. The beach is calm, clear and clean. It is almost as having your own private beach. It is ideal for swimming and snorkeling.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $250

Upon arrival you will find the following basics complimentary: tea, coffee, sugar, water cooler, soap, toilet paper, garbage bags, dish washing detergent and paper towels.

For more than 2 guests, there is an additional charge of $25.00 USD per person per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties