check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Andre

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

MountainView: Stunning Mountain & Valley Views, on 19 Acres with Pool & Hot Tub

10 Reviews
Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Ryder Lake Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description

7 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Activity Room (Sleeps up to 20)

Spectacular mountain retreat that feels a world away from it all, yet is only 20 mins to everything! Rest your body, refresh your mind and restore your spirit. Even one night here does wonders. Sleeps up to 20 people.

Reconnect with nature and each other. Do nothing at all or hike through the 19 acres or to the top of the world on famous Mt. Thom just minutes away. Marvel at the millions of stars sparkling against a perfectly black night sky.

Enjoy long nature walks - you might even be able to snowshoe and cross-country ski in the winter.

Relax in the outdoor heated pool and hot tub, or read by one of the wood burning fireplaces. Gather around the fire pit for an evening to remember.

Play some pool, shuffle board, video or card games.

Grill to your heart's delight on the outdoor barbecue!

World-famous salmon and sturgeon fishing is only a 20-25 minute drive away! Salmon fishing on the Chilliwack Vedder River is available with only a 20 minute drive.

Rafting, kayaking, boating, water-skiing, canoeing, and enjoying a beach on a lake is also only a short drive away! The Elk-Thurston hiking trail is a 3 minute drive from the property!

Plan your next group / family holiday or retreat / meeting. Catered meals are available for an additional charge.

Great all year round. Take time to enjoy nature and ease your mind at this mountain view retreat destination!

***Please note that the quotes display in US dollars

Keywords: Away from it all, close to amenities, nature, mountain view, retreat, private, hiking, vacation rental, retreat centre, Vedder River, Chilliwack River, piece of heaven, lots to do, romantic, great family vacation, Cultus lake waterside, fishing, rafting, country house, family holiday, group vacation, group accommodations, swimming pool, hot tub.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Andre (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About Andre

We love having guests from France, to Japan to New York who have enjoyed visiting our mountain top retreat and guest house. There are four of us who have been friends for decades, together we take care of MountainView so you can have a wonderful experience here.

Andre purchased this chateau / country house in 2006

Why Andre chose Chilliwack

Chilliwack is the Summer recreation capital of B.C. Our guests refer to it as Whistler East since the house is above the snow line and the view is every bit as amazing as Whistler.

We have an activity room with pool table, foosball, shuffle board, flat screen and video games.The outdoor area includes a fire pit, pool and hot tub and large decks with amazing, panoramic mountain views just 20 minutes from world class fishing in Vedder River, Cultus Lake watersides, Chilliwack River, shopping, movie theatres and great dining.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Amazing, panoramic mountain views.

Serenity.

Clean, fresh mountain air.

Reconnecting with nature.

Swimming pool.

Hot tub.

Fire pit.

19 acres of great walks and hiking in rain forests.

Large decks.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our group of 9 women (old high school friends) rented this home for a weekend getaway and visit. It suited us perfectly. There were enough bedrooms (obviously some sharing) and having "only" two bathrooms didn't seem to be a problem for us. The kitchen is large enough to accommodate several people doing several things at once; all appliances worked well. The view from the great deck is lovely, and even though it was cool when we were there, we enjoyed the deck and the propane fireplace a lot. The pool area appears to be new, with great seating. We didn't venture into it (given the weather!), but a few of us enjoyed the hot tub. It is a long, windy (10 - 15 minutes) drive up the mountain, so you need to make sure you have what you need with you. The dining room seating area managed to accommodate all of us, and the living room was quite comfortable. We were "warned" about the house being on a well, but we didn't encounter any difficulties with volume. The water had a slight smell, but not noticeable in coffee. (We did bring bottles of water, and were glad of this.) All in all a great place. We're planning a return trip next year.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

4.3
based on 10 traveler reviews

MountainView: Stunning Mountain & Valley Views, on 19 Acres with Pool & Hot Tub
average rating of 4.3 based on 16 reviews
Vancouver, Canada
5

Great Place, Amazing Views Highly Reccomended

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 14 people stay at this location for a weekend. Once you arrive there is easy access to the house and as soon as you open the door you feel relaxed and right at home. Everything you need to make meals for large groups of people are included in the kitchen and while you are cooking you can enjioy the beautiful views this house has to offer.

One of my concerns when renting this house was alot of places say they can sleep a large amount but you feel like you are on top of people. This place had enough rooms, beds and linens thast very comfortable and clean for everyone in our group plus some.

I would also like to mention that we rented this house and even though it is 15 minutes up into the mountain we were very close to the action. We had a river rafting trip booked and we were only 25 minutes away which was a bonus.

My group and I loved the place and I will definateley be booking here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
Vancouver
5

A great weekend experience!

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 12, stayed there for one weekend in early November.

It was a lovely house with an outstanding view of mountains; it really deserves the name MountainView! Lots of rooms and almost everything you need is already there. We couldn't use the pool because of the season, but the hot tub was great.

The owner, Sandra was also really helpful and responsive.

All in all, I really recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
ILE DE FRANCE
5

French Group

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic 2 weeks there, we were a sport group of more than 20 people, anxious being there because we were not sure to be able to have space for so many people.

And it was amazing ! exactly what was explained on website, fantastic place to be, superb view, all necessary stuff inside to stay for two weeks. Having parties (a lot of teenagers in our group) without disturbing neighbors ... the place to be !

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
14 0
Vancouver, BC, Canada
5

Great for a little retreat of 10 people

  • 5 of 5

We came here mid-April for a two day spiritual retreat and it was perfect for us. There are plenty of rooms and bunkbeds for 15 total, but we were 10 people. Had a BBQ on fantastic patio; enjoyed the hot tub; went for a hike at nearby Mt. Thom; enjoyed the large open kitchen and living room space; appreciated that there was a stash of boardgames and pool table. Truly a gorgeous mountain view from the patio. Weather was perfect in mid-April.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
18 2
Bonnyville Alberta
4

A true mountain view!

  • 4 of 5

We were a family of 17 (and for a couple of days 19) who spent 6 days celebrating grandma's 70th birthday with a family reunion. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this spacious, beautiful house. Some reno's still in final stages of completion, but the house has a pool table, lots of movies, an amazing hot tub, huge kitchen which was very well supplied, internet access, decks overlooking the valley with absolutely stunning mountain views, and room enough for 17 people to stay very comfortably. No cell phone reception, but perhaps that was the biggest benefit of this house! The owners Sandra and Andre were absolutely amazing to deal with. We had some appliance issues and Andre went above and beyond to get it fixed very quickly. The house was spotlessly clean and most linen seemed brand new. Could have used more double beds instead of doubling two twin beds (which did not work well to create a queen).

Wish we had a few more days to enjoy this retreat, but I guess we will just have to go back in the summer!

Thank you for providing us with beautiful memories!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
21 0
Seattle, WA
3

Great View, Great Pool, Rental House

  • 3 of 5

We spent one week at this property in August,2014. We were 3 families. The view is great, the pool and hot tub are great, the house is in need of a lot of repairs. The property has been rented out a lot and there are many broken or patched pieces in most rooms. There is one double bed upstairs and one downstairs (this is different than what is on the web site). If you are okay with rustic this is the place for you.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was our busiest June to August in 3 years and we were booked almost every single day.Yes, by the end of the season the house was tired and in need of some TLC. We have repaired everything that need repairing, gutted 2 bathrooms and are making them brand new, all new stainless steel appliances in the kitchen, new tiles on floor, new paint in some areas of house, new games/meeting room, new comforters and better mattresses. All beds will be singles convertible to king beds when requested ( like on cruise ships). We have taken a few weeks off from bookings so contractors can get it all done by November 26th. New pics and video tour will be posted then.
Did you find this review helpful?
24 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Abbotsford Airport
Nearest Barpub
15 Miles
Milestones
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Hwy #1
Nearest Restaurant
15 Kilometres
Wendys
Nearest Beach
15 Kilometres
Cultus Lake
Car: recommended

One amazing perk to this mountaintop property is that it is about a 3 minute drive to the trailhead for Elk-Thurston Trail! This trail features panoramic views of the Fraser Valley and Chilliwack River Valley. It is very convenient to access this trail from the property.

A short drive (15-20 minutes) takes you to either the Chilliwack-Vedder River or the Fraser River. The Chilliwack River is known for its salmon and steelhead fishing as well as rafting & kayaking. The Chilliwack River Valley is a well-known hiking area, featuring numerous hiking trails. The Fraser River features amazing salmon and sturgeon fishing.

Circle-farm tours, corn maze, and a haunted house are other features of the Chilliwack area.

Cultus Lake is roughly a 20-25 minute drive from the property and is known for boating and as a family recreational area.

Chilliwack Lake and Foley Lake are also accessible although they are a further drive.

Harrison Hot Springs is roughly a 25-35 minute drive from the property.

Othello Tunnels, Hell's Gate, and Skagit Valley Regional Park are attractions that are a bit further away.

Cultus Lake Waterslides and Bridal Falls Waterslides are great for family fun in the summer.

Other activities/features include: Archery, cross country skiing, and snow shoeing.

Prepare yourself for organic fruits and vegetables to be grown on the property in the spring.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ryder Lake Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mid Season
Sep 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$608
 
 
Low Season
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$547
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$760
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$547
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $380
Tax Rate 5.0%

50% of the booking amount is due at time of booking; the remaining balance along with a $500 refundable damage deposit is due 14 days prior to your stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ryder Lake Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking
  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Convertible - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 double
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
  • See above. All singles can convert to King beds.
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Shuffle board, pool table, video games walks on the property, amazing hiking trail 2kms away!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties