check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Private WV Cabin/Chalet Mountain Get Away

14 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Bloomery Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Loft + couch, 1 Bathroom, (Sleeps 4-5)

A Fun Place to spend your vacation! A Quiet Place for newlyweds to spend their honeymoon! The Perfect Place for anyone wanting to 'get away from it all'! Black Bear Chalet is a recently renovated log-sided A-frame cabin situated in the heavily wooded mountains of Eastern West Virginia. Spend the weekend at the Black Bear Chalet and relax while watching the various wildlife, reading a book on the elevated deck, or just hiking around the property. Escape to the land of no wi-fi, no cell phone, just peace, relaxation and nature.

Standard minimum rental is 2 nights. However, for time frames involving a federal US holiday, then a three night minimum stay is required. Check in time is 2PM on arrival day, check out time is 11AM on departure day.

Keywords: cabin, chalet, private, mountain, wooded, forest,

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About The Owner

We are a husband/wife owner team who love WV and the mountain cabin experience.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2005

Why The Owner chose West Virginia

We love the WV cabin life, you will too! We just wanted to have a place to get away from the rat race of life and unwind. You will rediscover peace, quiet and tranquility.

What makes this cabin unique

Sit on the deck and listen to the birds and wildlife. Relax by walking around the heavily wooded forest property. Get away from all the stress of modern 24/7 busy life.

Driveway can accommodate two vehicles.

Reviews

4.7
based on 14 traveler reviews

Private WV Cabin/Chalet Mountain Get Away
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
Baltimore, MD
5

Anniversary Weeken

  • 5 of 5

We were looking to get away and celebrate our one year anniversary and the Black Bear Chalet was the right place.

When we arrived we found the cabin to be in excellent shape, and everything in its place. The instructions were easy to follow and we didn't have to waste anytime before turning off our phones and not touching them again until we left. The porch was a great place to enjoy meals and watch the birds. The property was large enough to explore and find some spots to sit and soak in the surroundings. Other than some cars going past, we didn't see anyone else and that's exactly what we we wanted.

All correspondence with the Webers was prompt and courteous. They provided detailed instructions regarding the cabin and things to do in the surrounding area. We didn't venture out on this trip by design - other than the Paw Paw Tunnel on the way home - but next time we plan to take advantage of their suggestions of things to see and places to go.

We definitely want to return before too long to unplug and recharge. The only thing we'd do differently is maybe add an extra day.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review, we are very glad you had a great time. Like you, many of our clients are looking for this type of time away from the constant interruptions of the modern digital age and we are glad our Chalet met the need. It is truly nice just to sit on a deck and look out into the trees and watch birds and other wildlife. Happy 1st anniversary. We know a great place for your 2nd anniversary also! Come back and visit with us again soon and please tell your friends about us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newport News, Va
5

A wonderful weekend

  • 5 of 5

My dad and I went there for Father's Day weekend, and had an excellent time! My dad really enjoyed being able to get up into the woods and away from everyday life; the cabin really lived up to its "get away from it all" promise. It was clean, well appointed, and overall very pleasant!

10/10 would recommend.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the nice review. We are very proud of the Black Bear Chalet and we are glad you and your father had a wonderful Fathers Day stay. Please come back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Somewhat disappointing....

  • 2 of 5

My husband and I arrived to the cabin late at night, ready for a wonderful trip. But, once we walked into the cabin, we realized that it was dirty in the bathroom and kitchen areas. Even my husband wouldn't venture into the bathroom other than what was absolutely necessary! We tried to run the (brown) water as directed, and we still didn't get any hot water during our short stay. The bedroom and living room were very cute, and the spot on mountain was very idyllic. As a whole, we realized that you get what you pay for. We left our vacation early, and I don't think we will be venturing to West Virginia again.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These comments truly befuddle us, as one can see by the other reviews, this is certainly not the experience of others who have visited the Black Bear Chalet. In fact, we have some customers that return year after year and we would not expect they would return if they did not enjoy their visit or find the cabin dirty or something not working. What is odd is that I remember the specific day my daughter and I cleaned the cabin prior to your visit (we had a truck load of shale delivered that afternoon we needed to fix some spots on the driveway damaged due to the recent heavy rains) and after showing your comments to my adult daughter, we cannot figure out what we did or did not do any differently from the 300+ other times we have cleaned and prepared the cabin for the next guest but obviously, we are sorry if we somehow missed something but we are scratching our heads for sure. Regarding the water heater, it works just fine after about an hour after the circuit breaker is turned on (per the instructions when you arrive). Yesterday I checked it personally. I also checked with some guests that visited prior to your visit as well as some guests that visited after you did. Everyone reported plenty of hot water. The mountains of WV are a wonderful place for a vacation, we are sorry you did not have a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3
5

Peaceful, clean, unique

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful place to "get away from it all." Rustic, but clean, and the beds were comfortable.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice comments about the Black Bear Chalet. We are very proud of our little cabin in the woods. We are glad you had a nice time and we appreciate your business.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Philadelphia
5

Great little cabin

  • 5 of 5

Great little cabin.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are pleased you liked the Black Bear Chalet. Come back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wilmington DE
4

Great family getaway! Great communication.

  • 4 of 5

My brother and I rented the Black Bear Chalet and each brought our son with us for a guy's weekend. We were not disappointed. The cabin was clean when we got there, and the boys loved the loft. There was lots of room to hike and search the property, TV for them to watch movies and play games and a super cozy fire to keep warm. The kids were never bored and it gave my brother and I a lot of quality time to catch up. While we had an issue trying to get the hot water on at first, Mike and Ann were unbelievably responsive. They ensured that we had everything we needed for a fantastic trip. We even forgot some items in the cabin and Mike and Ann were kind enough to send them back to us. We'll likely be back again!

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike - Many thanks for the kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come again. We are especially happy to hear the boys liked the cabin and the area, its well suited for active kids of all ages. We are glad we could mail back the items to you that were left, that is no problem at all. About a week or so after your visit, we noted some rather large black bear tracks in the snow not far from the cabin. Animal tracks were all over the ground going in every direction. We don't call it the Black Bear Chalet for nothing! Thanks again and please visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

10 miles to the C&O canal's famous Paw Paw tunnel, 25 miles to the Potomac Eagle Scenic Railway, 90 minutes to various ski resorts, 25 miles to Berkley Springs area

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bloomery Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$90
$520
$2,080
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

Note: Standard minimum rental is 2 nights. However, for time frames involving a federal US holiday, then a three night minimum stay is required.

Check in time is 2PM on arrival day and check out time is 11AM on departure day.

Payment in advance via credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover) direct with owner. Sorry but we do not accept cash, checks or any other form of payment.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bloomery Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 560 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Bathroom has toilet, sink, small shower, mirror, baseboard heater and vent fan. We also have a small hair dryer there.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Loft - 2 twin/ single
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 5th person can sleep on couch
  • One Queen size Bed in bedroom on the main level. Couch in the living room (main level). The loft has two twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
Notes:
Cabin does NOT have air conditioning but with three ceiling fans and 2 floor fans and cool mountain air, you won't miss it. Limited to NO cell phone coverage in area, visitors are requested to bring long distance calling card in order to call out on the land line telephone. We do NOT have a hot tub. We do NOT have a grill but you are welcome to bring one of your own as long as you use it on the gravel driveway and not on the deck. Fishing and boating activities are available in the greater Hampshire County area. Sorry but NO outdoor fires permitted.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties