check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, Japanese

Special!! $600 --for a week for 2 people

15 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Milolii House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Sun Tracks Across the Water ---

Sun Tracks Cross the Water

Beautiful panoramic sunset views across the curvature of the earth. Close enough to watch whales, away from crowds and the beaten tourist path, your vacation starts here. This brand new custom vacation house is 600 feet (about 200 meters) elevation and in the most comfortable climate in the Hawaiian islands and probably in the world.

After spending a day fishing, hiking, golfing, driving, sightseeing or shopping, you come back to this tranquil home. Having a glass of wine on the lanai, you enjoy the sun gradually setting over the horizon or the moon rise casting a column of light cross the water.

This 2 story house sits on one acre

This 2 story house on one acre offers 2 bedrooms and one bath. Bamboo cabinets surround a custom kitchen/dining area. It is fully equipped for your comfort and convenience. We think that cooking and eating are a part of vacation, so we purposely attached a custom dining table to a gas range/oven. You can cook and eat among enjoyable conversations and wonderful views a the same time.

Keywords: house, romantic, peaceful, country, views, close to ocean and beach,

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, Japanese

About The Owner

We built this house. We wanted to build a house where we would like to spend our times.

The Owner purchased this house in 2011

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 traveler reviews

Special!! $600 --for a week for 2 people
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
5

What a beautiful house and tranquil location!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 3 stayed here for 9 days in February and the accommodations were perfect. The house is spectacular. I can just repeat the comments below like 'the well equipped kitchen has everything you need to make gourmet meals' but will just say you will not be disappointed in any way. The view of the ocean from the lanai will blow you away! Get back before the sun sets and you will be in for an incredible view. The road to the house from highway 11 was indeed a curvy couple of miles but it became part of our excellent adventure for our first trip to the Big Island. It's a nice location point for most of the locations you WILL want to see. Thank you Naomi and Paul for sharing your wonderful place with us!

PS: I was going to email you on our last day to say we were not going to leave and you would have to personally have to drag us out :) Hard to leave but all good things have to come to an end.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A beautiful, quiet home-away-from-home

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying in this rental for the entire month of January 2015. We found it to be a wonderful home with breathtaking views of the ocean. It is situated on the side of the mountain about half way down to the ocean from the belt road. Being raised off ground level the home enjoys cooling breezes off the ocean during the daytime and a down slope breeze off the mountain overnight. The home was obviously built with much care as the craftsmanship is evident everywhere. We suspect that the owners poured heart and soul into this home while building it. It is quiet and the lanai lends itself to hours of whale watching (during season) and relaxing. The location--south of busy, touristy Kona is perfect for exploring the island. It's around the half way point between Kona and Hilo. During our stay, it was just the two of us but the house would easily accommodate 4 or 5 people. We hesitate to say too many more nice things about this place as we would like to return sometime in the future. The owners are great people who will be happy to assist you in feeling right at home. They are as involved as you want them to be --available for assistance and island suggestions or they will respect your privacy and leave you alone. This was our 8th trip to Hawaii and by far our favorite rental.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Beautiful Sight, Inside & Out!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Hawaii and when researching places to stay, my boyfriend came across this listing. We knew instantly that this was where we wanted to stay while on our vacation. We stayed for 8 nights. Once we arrived, (the 2.5 mile drive down the road involves several curves and turns on a narrow 1 1/2 lane road) we were blown away at how spectacular the house was! It was very clean and cozy, and when we entered, we felt very much "at home". Naomi and Paul are very friendly, courteous, helpful people and made sure we were settled in before they left. The view is amazing and often we simply sat outside, admiring our surroundings. A must stay if you are visiting this beautiful place.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Yakima, WA State
5

Beautiful Place!

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful 2 bedroom home is located about 1/2 way between Kailua Kona and Hilo which allows you to be in a central location from which to explore the Big Island. Now that the price of fuel has dropped to $2.99 per gallon (Dec 2014 at CostCo) exploring this beautiful island is much less expensive. The view from the large lanai is unbelievable at 180 degrees and at about a 600 foot elevation one can see 20 miles up and down the coast. The neighborhood is quiet and there is usually a refreshing breeze which keeps everything cool. They have a great internet connection and satellite TV and it was nice to be able to use the garage in the basement. The quality of construction of this home is unsurpassed and it was a pleasure to enjoy the home for the entire month. Paul and Naomi are excellent hosts, very pleasant people and willing to help in any way they can yet not intrusive. We attended The Painted Church (Saint Benedict's) during the month and were warmly welcomed each Sunday and were invited to a potluck meal on Christmas Day! What sweet and gracious people! We hope to return soon. Thank you Paul and Naomi for making such a beautiful home available in such a wonderful place.

Vic and Linda

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

The Pictures on VRBO don't do this house justice!

  • 4 of 5

The manager was unable to meet us upon our arrival, but everything was just as she said in our contract as well as other correspondence. The house is very well stocked with all the kitchen amenities you would need for your time there. It is quite the distance to town for groceries so make sure you buy a few staples before you arrive. Once there you'll be presently surprised at what was left from the previous guests. So don't buy the big jar of mayo until you survey what's there. Then make your grocery list.

INSIDE: Loved the openness of the kitchen and living room. Nice size bedrooms. Enjoyed how the breeze came in the windows and cooled the whole house off. Didn't need to have an air conditioned house while we were there. Very comfortable! Enjoyed having all the large windows in the main part of the house, couldn't stop looking out of them. We were glad for the washer and dryer, so we didn't have to bring as many clothes.

OUTSIDE: Absolutely loved sitting on the deck. One day we sat outside all day and didn't leave. We really liked the reclining lawn chairs on the deck and thought they were comfortable. Hope to find some back here in CO. Got to enjoy seeing the whales. One day someone started ringing a bell from another house and we were wondering what that was all about and then realized it's the bell ring for the whales. I guess when that neighbor sees a whale he lets the surrounding area know there is one in the ocean. How thoughtful! Enjoyed taking the hike to the black sand beach, very beautiful and secluded.

Didn't want our vacation to end. Hope to come back some day.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dayton, Ohio USA
5

Beautiful Place! Beautiful View! Whales Whales Whales!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home for our friends who were coming to spend some time with us while we were vacationing on the Big Island. Our friends just loved it! The woodwork and floors were beautiful and everything looked and smelled new. The balcony had a wonderful view of the bay and whales could be seen from the balcony. We went over one night and had dinner with our friends and the kitchen was so well equipped...if you wanted to do some gourmet cooking...everything was there that could be needed. Thanks for sharing your lovely home with our friends!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that your friends enjoyed the house. We are also glad that you were able to watch whales. Mahalo nui loa for choosing our Milolii house. Hope to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Motorway
2.4 Miles

Other Activities: whale watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Milolii House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 13.25%

If the house is left clean, the cleaning fee of $100 will be refunded.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Milolii House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1) beautiful bamboo bedroom set, Double Beds (1) captain's bed allows more floor space
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties