Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Unbelievable Value! Our Cozy, Comfy, & Clean Condo Sleeps 6-8

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,475 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

We now offer much improved gigabit wireless internet service. We also offer complimentary use of a PC which provides access to our iTunes library as well as to Pandora web radio and any other streaming music site. FM radio is limited in the Tahoe area so if you enjoy music, you may really appreciate this amenity.

Our condominium consists of three levels as follows:

The first level includes a large master bedroom with a king-size bed, cable TV/DVD, and private deck. There is also a second bedroom with queen bed, flat screen TV and DVD player. This level contains a full bath as well as a brand new full-size washer and dryer.

The second level includes an open kitchen with seating for three at the counter as well as a dining area with a table that comfortably seats six. The kitchen includes a ceramic cook-top and oven, a new microwave, and dishwasher. Small appliances include a coffeemaker, toaster, blender, griddle, wok, fondue pot, and mixer. The kitchen is very well equipped with pots, pans, utensils, and dishes. The family room includes a wood burning fireplace with gas starter and vaulted ceiling with overhead fan. The entertainment center in the family room includes cable TV/DVD/CD/VHS. There is also a deck on this level with a new propane barbecue and dining table. This floor also features a second full bath as well as a small gaming area that hosts a TV with “old school” Nintendo and Sega gaming systems and games (a real walk down memory lane) ... bring your PlayStation or XBox if you like and you can connect. We also provide access to our Mac which allow you to enjoy music from our personal iTunes library or access Pandora web radio or other streaming services. Internet access is both wired and wireless.

The third level is a loft that overlooks the family room and includes two twin beds as well as two portable futon mattresses. We suggest you bring sleeping bags if you plan to use the futons.

Our condominium is located within Kingswood Village in Kings Beach and is just five miles southeast of Northstar Ski Resort. It's just over half a mile from the Lake Tahoe beach as well as a 24 hour Safeway in Kings Beach. It is centrally located to 12 ski resorts in the Tahoe area and just 10 minutes from the North Shore casinos.

Kingswood Village offers a large pool and wading pool built in 2001 as well as three tennis courts, a small exercise room, and a dry sauna. Kingswood Village is one of the best-kept complexes in the Tahoe area and has numerous tall pines and cedar trees that remind you that you are in alpine country. Additionally, we are located on the lower edge of the complex adjacent to a cul-de-sac that has a trail head leading to an extensive trail system popular with hikers and mountain bikers. You can be on the trail in less than 2 minutes from our front door.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Gail Barrington
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 13, 2017

About Gail Barrington

Hello, I'm Gail Barrington and I've lived in Rocklin, CA located in the Sacramento Valley for over 30 years. My husband, Joe, a transplant from the San Francisco Bay Area, has enjoyed more than 28 years in Rocklin and is retired after 35 years with Hewlett Packard. Our son Michael and our daughter Nikki are in their 20's. Michael is a Test Engineer with Intel in Folsom and Nikki is a Med student at Chicago Medical School - Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science. We've all enjoyed spending time at our home away from home in the beautiful Lake Tahoe Basin.

Gail Barrington purchased this condo in 2004

Why Gail Barrington chose Lake Tahoe North Shore

In 1991, when our daughter was just 6 months old and our son was 2, we purchased a pop-up tent camper. We enjoyed 13 years of camping with our kids and their buddies on the California coast near Santa Cruz and at Sugar Pine Point, Lake Tahoe. After years of searching for just the right Lake Tahoe property, we purchased our condo in Kingswood Village, Kings Beach CA. We love the beautiful and well kept tree covered property as well as it’s many amenities and accessible location.

What makes this condo unique

Kingswood Village is less than an hour from Reno and the Reno-Tahoe International Airport. Our condo is less than 10 minutes from NorthStar and in close proximity to several other winter resorts as well as North Tahoe casinos and their showroom entertainment. Our condo is less than a mile from the beach, a boat launch, and numerous restaurants, as well as groceries at the 24 hour Super Safeway. Whether summer or winter, the Lake Tahoe basin is absolutely gorgeous. So, if you’re in need of some quiet rest and relaxation including reading by the fire with a cup of tea or glass of wine or ready to enjoy the slopes or the beach, head for our home-away-from-home, the BARRINGTON FAMILY CONDO in Kingswood Village!

Guestbook comments from the owner

It was fabulous. I skied in thigh to waist high powder for 3 days. My quads are still complaining. I did ski yesterday and literally lost sight of the fall line from all the powder. The groomers skied like they were topped with baby powder. Needless to say it was extraordinary.



The condo was great once again. We’ve developed a tradition of having fondue on the last night and it was perfect. The services there are great as well. We had deep snow two mornings and each day the plow ran early. I appreciated that as I was out early to be on first chair of the day (yes, love those first tracks).



I-80 was closed all day Thursday and didn’t open until noon yesterday. What could I do but ski that morning? We had to leave in single line convoys but, it only took an extra hour overall. Not bad as I have spent an extra three or four hours in similar conditions.



Thank you again. It was perfect. Okay, maybe Jane and the girls being there would be better. Then again, no one else here really ~gets~ powder.



Parker
Mar 2011
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Kings Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1475 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Macintosh Computer
  • PC
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Two new portable futons
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(67 traveler reviews)

Unbelievable Value! Our Cozy, Comfy, & Clean Condo Sleeps 6-8
average rating of 4.9850745 based on 73 reviews
Sunnyvale, CA
5

Best unit I have ever stayed in within this Entire Kingswood Village complex!

  • 5 of 5

This condo exceeded our expectations. First of all, the owner Gail, is extremely prompt and responsive to all inquires and questions. She goes out of her way to make your stay extraordinary.

We were 2 families of 4 and we never felt crowded.

In addition, this is the most well equipped and functioning unit we have ever stayed in. We have stayed about 7 other units within the Kingswood Condos over the past 15 years, and this one had everything we could ever think of and more. This unit is very clean and extremely organized. Everything is labeled and where it should be. Complete set of cookware and bakeware. Well functioning and maintained kitchen appliances and bathroom showerheads. Complete set of towel sets for all. Down to the details of Kleenex in every single room of the house, coasters on all the nightstands, and paper towels in the bathrooms. The bathroom counters are low enough that little ones could access sinks without a stool. If you happen to forget some condiments or dressing or need some hot chocolate, it is all there.

I usually bring my my own frying pan, spatula, cutting board, and kitchen prep knives on trips, but this kitchen was so complete and more than adequate. Things there are efficient, well thought out, well laid out and all necessary supplies ample

Check out is basic and simple. No hard rules of starting the loads of linen laundry or emptying out ashes.

Plow service is onsite and great!

The kids made a giant snow fort in front of the house and had snowball showdowns with another family of kids from across the parking lot in their own fort.

My kids loved their stay and cannot wait to go back in March!

Thank you for opening up your wonderful condo to share with others. It truly felt like my "home away from home"

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We greatly appreciate your thoughtful and detailed response. Prior to owning our condo and websites such as this, we had a terrible experience when renting a Lake Tahoe cabin. When we were fortunate to find ourselves the owners of a vacation rental property, I was determined that none of our guests would have such an experience but would find our condo to be their "home away from home" as well. Your review indicates we've met our objective! Thank you and we look forward having your family visit again next month. Happy trails.....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing host and great Condo

  • 5 of 5

This was out first stay at the condo (4/13-4/16) and we loved it. Very well stocked and spacious condo. It was perfect for our party of 7. Owner Gail was amazing and very well organized. Due to closure of I-80 on the night of our arrival we had to spend one night in Rocklin. We informed Gail that we will reach a day late and much to our surprise she refunded one nights stay. We will definitely be back. Thank you Gail for making our stay great experience

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Roseville, CA
5

Great condo!

  • 5 of 5

2nd time we've stayed a this condo and we've loved it both times. It is very well stocked, comfortable and easily accommodated our family of 5. Great location too as it's very near King's Beach and Northstar. Gail (the owner) is also very easy to work with. Tons of snow but the maintenance folks kept things well cleared. We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kinds words. Our goal is that all of our guests feel OUR home away from home is also THEIR home away from home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Rosa
5

Wonderful Stay, Close to Everything...

  • 5 of 5

My family of 5 stayed here between Christmas and New Years', and we had such a great time. We had plenty of space, and enjoyed the well-stocked kitchen for making our meals at home. Safeway is less than a mile away. This condo is quiet and peaceful (lovely fires in the fireplace, lots of space to do jigsaw puzzles and read) but near everything we wanted to do. Northstar is nearby, and was great for skiing. The kids loved the zip line park and went there twice. The owner, Gail, is so helpful and professional in all of her communications, and has thought of every detail to make this feel like a 'home away from home'. This vacation rental is a fantastic value, and we can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, Deb. Our goal is that each of our guests feel our condo is their home away from home, too!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Roomy but cozy, very well stocked kitchen/bath ... and reasonable rental rate.

  • 5 of 5

This condo is one of the most fully stocked rental place we've ever been to! The kitchen is stocked with everything you can think of and the bathrooms look like a hotel setup with the way they stock the towels.

A very roomy 3-floor condo and I must say, the pictures on the site doesn't do the place justice! We'd seen pictures from many rental places that were actually smaller in person than they'd look in pictures. So, with that expectation, we were blown away by how much roomier and nicer it was in person.

We had a party of 6 and were very comfortable with the sleeping arrangement: 2x queen beds (1 in each bedroom) and 2x twin beds in the loft. We didn't use the sofa bed, so not sure how comfy it is, but in a pinch, it could accommodate another 2 persons.

Everything was really clean and you can tell they put a lot of thought in each room. Thank you Gail for a pleasant stay!

We will definitely come back for a ski trip in the winter (hopefully snow condition is good at North Star :-).

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Al, we appreciate your thoughtful response. We take great pride in providing a wonderfully warm and convenient home away from home environment for all our guests. Our goal is to ensure our condo is the best it can be and enriches our guests vacation experience. We look forward to your next visit. Yes, let it snow, let it snow, let it snow! Happy trails......
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Good location, clean, and well stocked

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for the resort/hotel style experience, look elsewhere, but if you're looking for a place that you can feel like you're at home, then this condo should be on your list. Its well stocked and efficiently organized.

The master bed is a bit on the firm side. The Queen in the second bedroom is more plush. There's plenty of extra blankets and pillows if you need them.

The kitchen is fully stocked, and the refrigerator had condiments, and jams which was nice. The pantry had a few left over items as well which guests are free to use, as well as syrups and cooking oils for breakfast lovers to use. There's plenty of paper towels and tissues as well.

There's clear, detailed information for driving directions, check-in/check-out procedures, entertainment setup etc. etc. The wifi worked well, except my wife had some difficulty maintaining a reliable connection to her work VPN. Not sure if this was a bandwidth issue or something else.

BTW, the TV in the living room area has been upgraded to a flat panel. It took us a few minutes to figure out the remote controls were in the fake Novel on the coffee table. hehe. The stereo wasn't properly hooked up to the TV/DVD player (didn't work like the instructions stated), probably due to a previous guest re-configuring the cables (ignoring the request not to do this), and not restoring the proper configuration.

There was a small plumbing issue that I had to contact Gail, which she immediately resolved the same day.

The only thing that could have been handy would have been a small first-aid kit when I nicked a finger shoveling snow in the morning.

All in all, a good vacation stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ike, thank you for your thoughtful and thorough review. I can't believe I didn't previously consider the need for a first aid kit in the condo! Your comment is the only time the need for a first aid kit has come to my attention. I will certainly provide a first aid kit with our next trip to Lake Tahoe. We appreciate your support and hope you will come again one day. With appreciation, we wish you and your family….Happy trails!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Reno, Nevada
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Jason's Bar and Grill
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Tahoe City
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Brockway
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Truckee
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
267
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Lanza's
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
North Star
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Kings Beach

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Boating, Parasailing, Cross Country Skiing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling, Wildlife Viewing, Basketball Court, Miniature Golf

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kings Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2017
Apr 1 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
4th of July 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
Winter 2017
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
Xmas 2017
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Housekeeping $115 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

EXTENDED STAY PROMOTION: If you rent 6 nights, the next night is free! Call or email to confirm pricing.

IMPORTANT CANCELLATION POLICY NOTE: VRBO does not allow owners to create or clarify specific cancellation policy verbiage in the cancellation policy section. Outlined below is our policy, which aligns with the VRBO MODERATE cancellation policy described inn the Owner's cancellation policy section of this listing. This additional detail is offered as clarification to avoid any mis-understandings should a cancellation become necessary.
- Cancellation of your reservation prior to 30 days of your scheduled arrival date will result in a full refund of funds paid to date.
- Cancellation of your reservation less than 30 days but at least 14 days before your scheduled arrival date will result in a cancellation penalty that will be the equivalent of 50% of the reservation rental amount (penalty not calculated on deposit, cleaning fee or taxes). Examples: A 4 night stay with rent, deposit, cleaning fee and taxes already collected would result in a 2 night penalty if cancellation was received within 14-29 days prior to the arrival date. Further, 2 nights would be refunded along with deposit, cleaning fee and taxes less any Visa/Master Card processing fee if applicable. Using this same example, if the cancellation notice was received any time between 13 and 0 days prior to the scheduled arrival date, the cancellation penalty would be 100% of the reservation rental amount; again - excluding deposit, cleaning fee and taxes which would be refunded.
- The cancellation penalty will be deducted from the funds that have been collected up to the date of the cancellation notification and the remainder of the funds will be mailed within 15 business days.
- Poor weather or poor ski conditions do not void the cancellation penalty. Consideration will be given in the event highway access is closed by Cal Trans or CHP (limited to I80, SR267, SR28, SR89).

PAYMENT TERMS: Visa or Mastercard or personal check if lead time allows. $300 deposit required upon securing reservation. Payment in full required 30 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties