Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Dawn's Cabin Is My Home Away From Home And It Could Be Yours Too.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom 1 Bath Sleeps 4 Adults

Dawn's Cabin is a cozy cabin in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, It's a great place to relax or get out on the town.

Dawn's Cabin has been is my family for 3 generations and I want to share it with you.

It has all the things you need to enjoy you're stay:

Cable TV/DVD Movies

Coffee pot

Microwave

Toaster

Board games

Bedding/Towels

Nearby Attractions:

Skiing/Snowboarding

Mountain biking

Hiking

Fishing

Boating

Water skiing

Gambling

(If I accept a pet) non-refundable fee of $100


Owner
Dawn O'Connor Permit # 008157 925 212-9980
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 10, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Lake Tahoe Airport
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lakeside, Regan,

Amenities

Sierra Tract Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Cable in Bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Dawn's Cabin Is My Home Away From Home And It Could Be Yours Too.
average rating of 4.84375 based on 32 reviews
5

Simply awesome!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay! It was so cozy! There's a heater and of course no need for air as the weather is usually cool! Had everything you need! We travel A lot and come to Tahoe all the time! We usually stay at hotels we have done a couple of cabins here but none that we stayed at for a second visit! However, Dawns was the perfect fit! It was only myself and my husband but, if we had brought our two sons it would of been enough room! They had every utensil you could need, it was clean, nice neighborhood, and very comfortable. My only negative is that we didn't book a longer stay! We will be back again though that is for sure!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy cabin, quiet neighborhood, close to everything in Tahoe

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful place to stay; exactly what we needed and expected. Everything we needed for cooking meals. Very relaxing!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Las Vegas, NV USA
5

Cute cabin, convenient location, perfect for couple or small family!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Dawn's cabin! It had everything we needed for a few days in South Lake Tahoe. The location is excellent if you plan to get out and explore, and it's located very close to restaurants, the Safeway grocery store, and a Rite Aid. The kitchen is stocked with what's needed for most meals. I suggest looking around before hitting up the Safeway, because I found several items in the pantry that I would have purchased if not already present like oil, coffee filters and seasonings. The cabin is small, so I wouldn't recommend more than three people occupy it, but it was big enough for my family of three. A few tips...bring your own beach towels. There are enough towels for three people to use for showering, but I was glad I remembered beach towels. Bring/purchase bug spray. I had to go buy some at Rite Aid because the mosquitos were out in force! If we stay at this house in the summer again, we will bring a fan or two, or plan to be elsewhere during the hottest part of the day, as it did get pretty warm in the house in the afternoon, and there isn't air conditioning or ceiling fans. There also isn't Wi-Fi, and our cell signal at the house was either weak or non-existent with Verizon, so be aware of that, but signal was just fine once we left the neighborhood. The lake is pretty high, and the beach closest to the house was almost entirely under water, which was initially disappointing, but we drove 10 mins away to Pope Beach and had a wonderful time. There is an $8 fee to Pope Beach, but I didn't mind as the beach was great. There was plenty of parking, it was clean, there were several restrooms, lots of shade trees and enough beach area to work with without feeling cramped. The creek/stream that runs adjacent to the neighborhood is also very high. We couldn't get to it because the water level turned the meadow into a marsh, so if you stay at this house in the near future, don't count on playing in the creek. Be bear aware! We saw a black bear walking down the street on our first morning. There is a house being built on the property next door, and the houses are really close together, so we did hear quite a bit of construction noise during the day, but the house looks nearly complete, so that shouldn't be an issue for much longer. I'd avoid this house for the next few weeks if you have a small child or baby who naps during the day. We will definitely be back to South Lake Tahoe, and Dawn's cabin will be the first place we look for. :-)

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for your review. I would like to address some of the points you made. First, there are spices and some basic things in the kitchen for your use. There are also some shampoos and hand lotions available in the bathroom. There are plenty of towels for showers for FOUR people, but we do not provide beach towels and we agree that you were wise to bring your own. In fact we think you would be hard pressed to find a cabin in Tahoe that did provide them, but then you probably knew that or you wouldn't have brought them. Second, yes the cabin is small, however it is comfortable for two couples. (4 people) or a family with up to three kids (if they are small). We have had three adolescent boys share the futon in the living room comfortably. It was a wet rain season this year which was badly needed. Yes the lake level is high, the meadow became swamped and there are some mosquitoes, but you do know that you are in a cabin in the woods right? Bug spray works although I would prefer to light some citronella candles instead, they keep the bugs away quite well and you don't have to spray nasty stuff on your skin. Tahoe does not normally get very hot and most people there do not have air conditioning. It has been a little hotter than average this summer but I would not really be too concerned about heat. You are welcome to bring fans but it is unlikely that you really need them otherwise they would be there. True there is no WiFi in the cabin and that is clearly stated on the Dawn's Cabin Homeaway page. I do not have Verizon, I use AT&T, it works very well there, additionally TMobile is also very good at the cabin. If your carrier has bad coverage, we think you should tell Verizon, maybe they will install another tower. Yes someone is building next door and it is nearly complete and in the meantime there is some extra noise but only during daytime working hours. This is normally a very quiet and peaceful neighborhood. You have said a lot here. We take very good care of the cabin for renters to enjoy. These complaints are about things we cannot control. The cabin was clean and as promised. We are unable to control the lake level or the service quality of your phone carrier.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Riverbank, CA
4

This is exactly what you'd expect.

  • 4 of 5

Charming, cozy, comfortable, casual. A great little cabin in a quiet residential of other cabins....

We had a relaxing time. Everything needed was there, [except wi-fi - but do we really need wi-fi on vacation? ;) ]. Bed was ok. Bring your own pillow. Perfect for a couple, or a dad&momχld. Easy/peasy check-in and out. We walked the neighborhood for exercise and saw a small bear looking for an open trash can, and a coyote who had lost his way. EXCITING!

Loved our stay in Dawn's cabin.....

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sylmar California
5

Just right

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here from 6-16-17 to 6-19-17. We drove up for the Rock Tahoe Half Marathon. Dawns Cavis provided what we needed for the weekend. Its a great place for 2 couples or a family of 4. Dawn answered all my questions and I had great communication. The price was right. we did not use the kitchen we wanted to try out the restaurants around.overall I was very happy with my stay and it was booked last minute and Dawn was great.

My final comments are Bring your own towels, also there is no Wifi.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, I always recommend bringing Beach towels & no wifi advertised on HomeAway link
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy quiet cottage close to state line

  • 5 of 5

Dawns cabin was perfect for our trip. My friend and I wanted to go snowboarding at Heavenly and hit up the casinos near state line last weekend and Dawns cabin was exactly as advertised. It is in a quiet neighborhood a few miles from state line and the drive to Heavenly was short and easy. The cabin sleeping arrangements were perfect for the two of us as there was a pullout sofa and I believe full bed. The cabin is clean, comfortable and feels like home. I would definitely recommend for the right trip.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $50
Pet Fee $200
Tax Rate 12.0%

Call me 2 days before your stay for lock box code #
925 212-9980

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties