Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Gorgeous farmhouse-style cottage in Acadia/Bar Harbor area!

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Fireplace


About the property

3/bedrooms +loft, 2.5 bathrooms, sleeps up to 10

What could be nicer for your family to vacation at a gorgeous restored farmhouse surrounded by beautiful fields and your own mountain with 10 private hiking trails? Spottsbrooke provides just that! This wonderful 35-acre property, bordered by Acadia National Park land on two sides, is located on the western side of Mount Desert Island, about 15 minutes to Southwest Harbor and 20 minutes to Bar Harbor. Deer visit the fields daily, to feed on the apple trees. Pond's end at Long Pond is just a mile away for kayaking and swimming!

On the first floor the cottage features a lovely living room with cathedral ceilings and gorgeous granite woodburning fireplace. The large elegant kitchen has a 6-burner stove and a separate wok burner (lobster cooker). The dining table seats 8. Also on the first floor is the master king bedroom and bath with large steam shower with benches.

The 2nd floor features an open loft with a queen bed and sleep futon (double size) and wall-mounted flat screen TV. There is also a king bedroom, a bedroom with two twin beds and a full bathroom.

The lower (basement) level opens to the backyard and features an amazing home theater (seats 5) with reclining chairs and 60' screen, blue ray, surround sound and an old fashioned popcorn machine! There is also a 1/2 bathroom.

The lovely wrap-around porch provides beautiful vistas of the fields, and mountain. Private, peaceful and a vacation unto itself, Spottsbrooke is a very special vacation property!

Amenities include washer/dryer, dishwasher, WIFI, satellite TV (two), local telephone, microwave, gas BBQ, outdoor seating, home theater, firepit and outdoor campfire area!

More Details

Property Manager
Rebecca, Miles & Tom/Bar Harbor-Acadia Cottage Rentals, Inc.
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
May 28, 2017


Mount Desert Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen bed & Sleep futon in Loft area
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Mount Desert Island, Bar Harbor and Acadia National offer a variety of activities, including swimming, boating, hiking, biking, fishing, sightseeing tours by land or sea, kayak tours, shopping, dining, whale watching.There's also easy access to golf courses, public tennis courts, water park, miniature golf, horseback riding, petting zoo, and oceanarium!


4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Gorgeous farmhouse-style cottage in Acadia/Bar Harbor area!
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews

Fabulous Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here in early May 2016, a bit before the busy season. Never had a better vacation in my life. Acadia was open and nothing was crowded. This property was absolutely stunning. Most amazing kitchen I've ever seen, tons of wildlife in the fields and hiking trails on the premises. Just having morning coffee looking out all the windows was a joy. So relaxing and peaceful. I'll be booking another trip next year -- again early in the season -- and will definitely ask for this property again.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family fun on MDI!

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a wonderful week here August 22-29, 2015. Acadia National Park is one of our nation's treasures and staying in this home on the quiet side of the island really made this trip the best vacation we've had in years! The setting was peaceful. The grounds are beautiful - scenic like a postcard of a farm in New England. The house very comfortably sleeps 10 with 3 bedrooms and a loft. The kids really loved the loft with the flat screen TV and enough floor space for board games and lego projects. The kitchen was fabulous. We took advantage of the lobster pot and special burner to cook lobster dinners two different nights. We picked up the live lobsters at Beal's Lobster Pound in Southwest Harbor and pies from Island Bound Treats, simply the best on the island (we sampled lots). Everyone enjoyed the open floor plan and the huge table allowing for lingering conversation after meals. The TV room in the basement was a nice addition for the one day it rained. We will definitely be returning on our next trip to Maine. We look forward to adding to the great memories created in this special place!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great get away from it all!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed in the house for the week of Thanksgiving tor some "get away from it all" family bonding. The house is definitely beautiful - kitchen is nicer than our kitchen at home! We found the bedrooms to be comfortable and cozy and the linens to be of good quality. We enjoyed the theater room as well as the theater popcorn machine. We had lots of fun outdoors as the property is beautiful even in the winter. We got some unexpected snow, which allowed use of the small hill behind the house for sledding. Nothing else could have topped how we ended each day - in front of a crackling fire in the granite fireplace. Our time in this lovely home was really all that we expected and more. Can't wait to return in warmer weather!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Oakland, NJ

This is not a four bedroom home

  • 1 of 5

This home is falsely advertised as a four bedroom home. It is actually a three bedroom home with an additional room in the basement that does not meet local fire codes. There are no windows and no exit from this "bedroom." Additionally, the room is located next to an unfinished part of the house with exposed insulation and has a terrible musty odor. The upstairs level is nice but the house comfortably sleeps only 8. The kitchen is big and accommodates large families well however, there is no microwave oven and not even the basic spices including salt and pepper are included. The house was also not properly cleaned upon our arrival. The upstairs bathroom had not been cleaned and was full of hair on both the floor and in the tub. The local caretaker was notified as well as the rental company and the owner and noone made any attempts to address our concerns.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As a rental agency representing Spottsbrooke Cottage, we were dismayed by the review this party made about the property and are sorry they weren’t satisfied with their stay (we were not contacted by them while they were staying at the property). However, I would like to address these comments, as I feel they were made somewhat unfairly. The comment concerning the room in the lower level with a bed was taken into consideration and has since been corrected. The lower level room with no window no longer has a bed in it, and the area with insulation is no longer accessible to guests. This feedback was helpful. The cottage still comfortably sleeps up to 10, with 3 bedrooms and a loft bedroom (where there is a queen bed and a sleep futon). The other issues mentioned in this review, however, are either not true or were not addressed to us (the rental agency) while they were at the property, as they should have been. First, there is a microwave oven (I can happily provide a photo of one). Second, no cottage we represent provides consumable food items like spices. Most guests don’t want to use condiments left behind by the owner or other guests. We instruct owners to remove any left-behind food items. Third, if ever we are notified that a property is not properly cleaned we immediately address the issue with the owner, often having the property re-cleaned. If this guest contacted the caretaker (as I’m told they did on the 4th day of their stay) and got no response they should have then contacted us. We would have made sure action was taken. Our agency never received a call on this matter so we were unable to address it while the guests were occupying the property. In fact, we never heard from these guests about any issue until after they left. And ironically, the owner informed me that these guests left very nice comments in the guest book at the cottage. So all of this is a bit confusing. It is our goal and the goal of all the owners we represent to provide a positive rental experience and that all expectations are met. If there’s a problem we want the opportunity to correct it. I am disappointed that we had an unhappy guest at this property, but we and the owner will continue to work hard in the future to make sure our guests have an enjoyable experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Kebo Valley Golf Course
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Echo Lake Beach
Car: necessary

Enjoy 10 private hiking trails on property's 35 acres!


Rates & Availability

Mount Desert Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 27 2017 - Jun 23 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Early Peak
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Peak Season
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Late Peak
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
Sep 2 2017 - Oct 31 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 8.0%

50% of entire rental amount is due within 10 days, via personal check. The balance is due 30 days before the rental date.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties