check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Affordable Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor

9 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 nights


Paquera Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

Bungalow, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This affordable rustic beach bungalow is octagon shaped with a tropical hardwood deck that overlooks a coconut tree lined yard and bay. Tie a hammock between two trees and spend the afternoon reading a book in the shade. Our bungalow is perfect for those who wish to escape TV, traffic and polluted air. We do have air conditioning. 6 people maximum. Main floor is an open floor plan with 1 queen bed. Private bathroom on the main floor. Small kitchen with appliances. Ladder up to loft. 2 queen beds in loft. Having a car is recommended. Activities such as surfing, hiking, zip lines, river rafting and fishing nearby. 1 week maximum stay.

NOTE: Our neighbor is a dog lover and has rescue dogs from the area.

We do not provide a washer and dryer for guest use. Guests can have clothes washed in town.

Keywords: Beach front, cabin, bungalow, house, casita, water front, Playa Tambor, Pochote, Tambor, Costa Rica, house on the beach, beach house, Cental America, safe, casa, Puntarenas, affordable house rental

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 26, 2016
Call Owner


based on 9 traveler reviews

Affordable Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews

Nice house but terrible location

  • 1 of 5

BARKING DOGS - the next door neighbor has 9 dogs. They bark 24/7. If you like to be woken up 5 or 6 times a night, this is your place! The 1st night the neighbor came over to say hello and we instantly had 9 dogs on our porch. Later that night one jumped the fence and knocked some dishes off the outside table, scared us to death. The house is really fun, but being totally un-insulated, made the dogs sound like they were barking in the same room. We left 2 days early, just so we could get a full night sleep. Renter beware!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My property manager told me that when she delivered dinner to your group (after I had spoken to you and spoken to her about this issue) she was told that the reason that you were leaving early was because you wanted to go to a casino. Just so reader know, there is a fence around the property and also another gate to get up to the deck so if the both of the gates are closed, dogs should stay out.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Exshaw Alberta

Nice basic beach house

  • 5 of 5

The property care takers were really friendly and helpful. The house is well equipped and was clean. The beach is really nice and great for swimming, it is very calm waters in Pochote. You have neighbors on either side, but they are friendly. The house does have a few bugs and lizards inside ( pretty normal for the area ) and the AC is not very effective with the house not being insulated. For the price this place was a great value and we will stay there again!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful view, but serious plumbing problems

  • 2 of 5

So let me start with this- the view is absolutely incredible. It was completely breath-taking.... And the hammocks out front really make things that much better! The locals were friendly and even the man next door- while a bit obnoxious- was friendly!

Now, the house itself is made out of wood and beautiful as well. Unfortunately when we showed up, the 2nd floor bathroom flooded and it SOAKED the 1st floor. The person that let us in obviously didn't know and he didn't speak English anyway.

Also, the air conditioning leaks A LOT of water. Luckily we only used it at night so it wasn't a huge inconvenience.

On a plus- there is WIFI!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: All of those issues have been dealt with. Also, so the public knows, we have an English speaking property manager there who deals with our customers and she lives nearby. The person who does our lawn and maintenance does not. Our property manager usually is there to welcome people but she must have had him there on the day you arrived. I am sorry that happened while you were there.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Experience Island Life

  • 5 of 5

We experienced an amazing week at this remote location. We were able to relax, be away from all of the touristy areas but still close enough that we traveled to them for day visits and had all the privacy and fresh food we wanted. Neisy and Regino were awesome on directing and helping us if we had any issues or questions. Regino brought us fresh fish, lobster, mangos and other things and really helped us live out the experience. We made friends with the neighbor, and he allowed us to use his kayak to go out in the ocean and explore the empty mountain/beach right around the point. We snorkeled out there and absolutely loved it. We will definitely be back in the future!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

This was an excellent place!! Quiet and right near the water.

  • 5 of 5

Linda, Michelle, and Josh This was the last vacation I was able to take with my daughter Michelle for she passed away shortly after. I will always hold fond memories of this trip in my memory.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

The REAL Pura Vida!

  • 5 of 5

I rented this house at the end of November with 5 other of my college girlfriends. We were looking for an exotic get-a-way with lots of adventure, a relaxing and secluded beach, and an opportunity to get to know the culture of this country.

On our way to Pachote, we quickly realized from the reactions of locals that we were headed somewhere most tourist don't go, so we knew we were in for a treat. When we arrived we realized that the village of Pachote is a small, very nestled community, away from most tourism, filled with friendly locals. We really got to experience the "Pura Vida" while at this village.

The house was perfect for us with just the bare minimums. We bought fresh mahi mahi and shrimp from men who just rode by the house. Incredible! The only 2 negatives about the house itself, which aren't really negatives, just something to be aware of, is that the neighbor has about 8-10 dogs that feel right at home in the yard and on the porch of the rental. They are very friendly, and gave a sense of security (they barked when people walked by at night), but I don't think they are treated for fleas, and we were all bitten up! The other let down was the beach itself. The views and surrounding were wonderful, but there was trash ALL OVER the beach, even broken bottles and such. Kinda made us nervous about going barefoot, and swimming.

Other than that, not a single complaint!!! I highly recommend Zuma tours for your excursions. Incredible customer service, very friendly, and gave us genuine care. In fact, if you care to do the sail to Tortuga Island, they can pick you up at the end of the beach that the house is on!!!

We went end of October and into November. All our research told us this is the "tail-end" of the rainy season, but we had plenty of sun!! Also, we went to visit Playa Hermosa and Quepos the last two days of our trip, with are much more touristic destinations, and we didn't have to deal with all the crowds and traffic like you might in the high season. It was a good time to go.

Finally, I have to tell you about the bioluminescence! Because of the "red tide" as the locals call it, the ocean was filled with plankton that glows with movement in the water. While it made visibility for snorkeling almost impossible, it was an incredible experience to swim in at night!!!


  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Becca for your two reviews. I just wanted to let you and readers know that this past week we put up a fence around the deck so no dogs can lounge on the deck. I have also asked our property manager to have our property staff to clean up any debris if there is any on the beach right outside of our house when people are checking in. This should help deal with the issues you had while you were there. Thank you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
18 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Nearest Beach
Right in front of the house
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Paquera Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $30
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

We do not rent for more that 1 week at a time. 3-7 day stays are available.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Paquera Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1)
  • Deck / Patio
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties