check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Newly Remodeled/2016 DOWNTOWN AUSTIN SLEEPS 4-WALK TO 6TH ST- SXSW, ACL, FORM.1

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1

Description

Clarksville Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Charming, cozy remodeled one bedroom apartment in the heart of Downtown Austin!

**Remodeled June 2016**Charming one bedroom apartment located within walking distance from the flagship and largest Whole Foods Market. Cozy coffee shop, bars and numerous restaurants are just a 5 minute walk from the house. 20 minute drive to the airport.

Best place to stay for SXSW, ACL, Formula 1, XGAME and many more Austin events!

One bedroom with Queen bed and one bathroom with hard wood floor. Queen Sofa sleeper in living room. Enjoy a glass of wine or your coffee in your private backyard.

Bus stop blocks away. Few minutes walk to Downtown, 5 minute walk to grocery store and restaurants. $5 Uber ride downtown. 15 minute drive to the airport (8 miles).

1 mile walk from shuttle to ACL or simply 1.3 mile walk to entry door at Zilker Park for ACL!

Biking is a very popular way to get around within Clarksville and the nearby areas. There are so many restaurants and attractions nearby, that for some Clarksville residents, walking is an easy way to get the area.

If you prefer to ride the bus, Capital Metro Route 9 passes through Clarksville.

The location of this vacation rental gets the best of both worlds -- a taste of urban living in a quiet, quaint and old neighborhood. Located in the center of the city and only a stone’s throw from downtown’s many attractions. The neighborhood is hip and is the home base for much of the city’s creative crowd (there are many art galleries in Clarksville), and it’s a very fun place for singles, couples and family.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Eve
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 30, 2016
Call Manager

About Eve

I am French Canadian, I traveled the world and love to make people feel like home! I moved to the Austin area in 2012 from Seattle and I absolutely love the Texas sunshine. My favorite travel destination was Anguilla for the beaches, the people and how relax life was out there! I am a big fan of healthy food and having a healthy lifestyle for myself and my family.

As a host, I will always do my best to respond to your request and make you the happiest guest! I do not live on premise, I am on a ranch North of the city, but you can reach me anytime.

Bon Voyage!

Eve purchased this apartment in 2012

Why Eve chose Austin

Fantastic location and it has a lot of character.

What makes this apartment unique

Swing on the front porch and the large fenced backyard is great! Enjoy Austin weather with a glass of wine in your backyard. Able to walk to some of Austin biggest events, ACL, SXSW, Formula 1 or walk to 6th Street!

Guestbook comments from the manager

Mireille made sure that I had everything I needed. The house was great! I felt very safe with the keypad lock system that is used for the house. The bed was so comfortable and the shower/bathroom was very clean. Great location and walking distance to 6th st. and whole foods! I will stay here again when we visit to Austin.
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Newly Remodeled/2016 DOWNTOWN AUSTIN SLEEPS 4-WALK TO 6TH ST- SXSW, ACL, FORM.1
average rating of 3.7272727 based on 15 reviews
Austin, Texas
3

Decent for the price and location

  • 3 of 5

For the price and location the rental is a no-frills, as-advertised, decent alternative.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

location is the only real positive

  • 2 of 5

I'll start with the positive and that's that this unit put me within walking distance to where I wanted to be. Easy walking access to Whole Foods Market, Book People, and Ladybird Lake.

That being said, the street was poorly lit, if at all, so I didn't feel safe walking alone at night. The picture of the unit misrepresents the age and condition of it. I didn't recognize it when I pulled up.

When I walked in, I was hit with a terrible musty / moldy odor that was partially due to the fact that the a/c unit had been turned off (in August in Austin.) The smell was marginally better once I turned it on for a few hours but the a/c return vent was so utterly covered in dust that I probably did myself a disservice by using the unit. Anyone with allergies or asthma should definitely steer clear of this unit.

The property, despite being old, was clean.

Every step and creak that anyone makes in the unit above this floor unit can be heard, so I was awakened in the middle of the night when the upstairs tenants returned home.

For the amount I paid, I could have stayed in a very nice room in a hotel in Austin.

I only used the microwave, but from what I could tell, the kitchen was only minimally stocked.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectation. Yes, it is hot in Austin in August and the AC was set for 85 degrees between guest arrival. Our air conditioning bill is extremely high during the hot months of Austin. I will make sure that we keep the house much cooler before our next guest arrive for their stay. Regarding the street having poor lighting, this is out of my control, but I had young female professionals stay at this house for years and they always walked around town and they were safe. Clarksville is one of the best residential neighborhood of Austin. The houses in located in Clarksville can be older and have an historical flair to them. Yes, old houses can creak a little. Sorry to hear that you would have preferred a more modern house. We have a professional crew that keeps the house clean and ready for our next guest at all time and they do a great job. The kitchen is fully stocked and we also provide a bottle of wine, chocolate, coffee and tea. We have had many guests stayed with us in the past and they were all very satisfied with their stay and we also had people coming back when they returned to Austin. It is sad to hear that this person was not happy, but it is hard to please 100% of the world out there :) Cheers Mireille
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dublin, Ohio
4

Great location in older home

  • 4 of 5

The home is an older home and the floors do creak in spots. The place was very clean The lighting in the kitchen is on the dim side. The bathroom is small, but the shower is large. There is no dresser, but there is a closet with hangers. Due to the daily rain the backyard was muddy do we did not use the covered patio. We would rent again.

The 24 Diner nearby was fantastic! Whole Foods mothership is also close and is an experience. Love going there

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Bungalow getaway

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place! Very close to everything and reasonably priced.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Tyler, TX
1

This place is misleading

  • 1 of 5

Not only is much of the information in the ad inaccurate, they have never responded to us after the first night about the dog. There is no private backyard. You share the backyard with two other tenants and their dog, which barks regularly and has many playtoys. The tenants upstairs have two kids. You will hear them walking, running, talking, and turning in their bed. The place is very old and squeaks everywhere. I see a previous reviewer mentioned this as well and was very kind to mention this as reminiscent of older home charm, but we can't agree. Doorknobs came off and doors don't shut correctly or won't stay open. The floors are so uneven that most of the chairs and table wobble. You can't eat at the table comfortably. The lighting is extremely dim in the bedroom and kitchen, and there is only bright fluorescent in the living/dining room. The bathroom has extremely limited space. They tried to tell us no dogs live there when we called about the noise. They said they called the other tenants, but nothing happened in terms of trying to get the noise to stop. We contacted them afterward to discuss our stay and they have yet to respond, after nearly a month. The location is decent, but this is one of the worst places we've ever stayed. Worst VRBO ever, worse than a $35 hotel. It has potential, and the owner does offer a bottle of wine and has a few nice touches in the place, but we feel they think location is worth a horrible visit that they claim is to be relaxing. And if they would have just taken the time to discuss this matter with us afterward, perhaps we could recommend this place, but they apparently don't care. Put your money and time anywhere else.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I always respond to my guest within 30-60 minutes. Our vacation rental has a fenced backyard that is shared with 2 other units. I guess when you go to a hotel you also share the hotel yard with many more guests. There is no kids living upstairs. Clarksville is a charming and older neighborhood and the houses are remodeled and they do have older character. All the furnishing in our vacation rental is new and I am sorry to hear that our kitchen table was not comfortable for this specific guest. The door knob situation was addressed and fixed immediately by our contractor. Our light bulbs were changed and we also added extra light fixtures for reading in bed or reading in the couch. I have never seen a hotel for $35 in the area. I have nearly over 85 very positive reviews on other sites and our guest are always happy and pleased with their stay and we even have guest come back. Our priority is the happiness of our guest and we do care about your experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

I had read the positive reviews before renting and am surprised what I experienced was so different. There were issues with noise, plumbing and bugs. We stayed in the downstairs unit and you could hear the upstairs renters as they walked across the room. The renter next door has a dog and there is evidence of the fact in the backyard. Someone upstairs took a bath and water was pouring out of our kitchen ceiling. Found a large bug (cockroach) laying dead next to the bed. The sheets are very worn. The location was excellent and very walkable but I would not recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry about your experience. We ALWAYS make sure our guest are happy and comfortable at our vacation rental. The plumbing issue was addressed by a professional already. It was one of Austin's coldest day and it created plumbing issues, which is very difficult to avoid due to weather condition. Again, because of the cold weather, bugs do come out sometimes. I have the property on a regular schedule for treatments to avoid such thing..the place is very clean and treated, but sometimes a bug could find their way in somehow. We have luxury linen that are clean and also provide clean towels for our guest. I have over 75 positive reviews about this property on another site. I will make sure our future guests are not disappointed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
15 min from airport
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Car: not necessary

Located 1 mile walk from shuttle to ACL or 1.5 mile walk to the door of the ACL festival at Zilker Park!

At Cafe Josie the atmosphere is gorgeous, food is good and it is also only a 2 min walk from the house and many more fun places to discover!

I have to say that Clark's Oyster Bar is top notch when it comes to seafood. Just a short 2 min walk from the house.

Clarksville is full of cafes, coffee shops, and restaurants, especially along West Lynn.

Café Medici, an espresso bar and coffee house, at West Lynn and 11th, is filled with coffee-drinking laptop users. There are many other popular places to dine and drink, such as Cosmic Café (previously the West Lynn Café).

1. Jeffrey's

1204 West Lynn Street

Jeffrey’s is a high-end restaurant that serves eclectic cuisine. It opened in 1975 and is known for serving some of the best upscale food in town and having some of the best chefs in the industry. Jeffrey’s serves new American cuisine and has an extensive wine list to match with the meals. The menu changes often and is seasonally-influenced. In addition to regular entrees, they have a small plates menu and a multi-course menu.

2. Cipollina West Austin Bistro

1213 West Lynn Street

Cipollina partners with local sustainable growers and artisans, and they purchase organic food when possible. They purchase their food straight from the farmer’s markets, so the food is often seasonal and creative. Most of the cuisine is Italian based, with pizzas and pastas. But the dishes are certainly not traditional, with dishes such as chicken & pecan ravioli and rabbit pot pie.

3. Galaxy Café

1000 West Lynn Street

Galaxy Café prides itself on serving quality, homemade food at moderate prices and in a fast-casual environment (i.e. you order at a counter). It is locally owned and operated, and has a hip feel. They serve gourmet wraps, sandwiches, burgers, salads, soups, vegetarian dishes, and kid-friendly items. In addition to lunch and dinner, Galaxy Café serves breakfast.

4. Zocalo Taqueria Fresca Café

1110 West Lynn Street

This modern Mexican restaurant serves homemade tortillas and salsas. They serve tacos, salads, enchiladas, flautas, and other modern versions of interior Mexican cuisine. Zocalo also serves frozen margaritas and frozen sangria and has a garden patio with native succulents.

5. Nau’s Enfield Drug Store

1115 West Lynn Street

Nau’s has been an Austin institution since 1951. It is the only original full-service drug store soda fountain and grill in the city. You can shop in the drug store, or just come up to the counter and enjoy an old-fashioned burger and soda.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Clarksville Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 25 2016
1 night minimum stay
$140
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $9 per night, per additional guest
 
New year
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$145
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $9 per night, per additional guest
 
feb
Feb 3 2017 - Feb 4 2017
1 night minimum stay
$156
 
 
tcea
Feb 6 2017 - Feb 11 2017
1 night minimum stay
$156
 
 
marathon
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 19 2017
1 night minimum stay
$156
 
 
pre sxsw
Mar 9 2017 - Mar 9 2017
1 night minimum stay
$179
 
 
SXSW 2017
Mar 10 2017 - Mar 19 2017
1 night minimum stay
$459
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $9 per night, per additional guest
 
post sxsw
Mar 20 2017 - Mar 20 2017
1 night minimum stay
$179
 
 
easter
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$145
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $9 per night, per additional guest
 
psych fest
Apr 28 2017 - May 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
paleo fest
May 19 2017 - May 21 2017
1 night minimum stay
$156
 
 
memorial
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
1 night minimum stay
$190
 
 
july 4th
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
1 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$93
From
$134
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $104
Cosand Austin Admin. fee $9
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 9.0%

NO-SMOKING ON THE PROPERTY-OUTSIDE OR INSIDE——$250 FINE IF RULE NOT RESPECTED
NO PARTYING OR LOUD NOISE PAST 10PM———$250 FINE IF WE RECEIVE A COMPLAINT AND RULE NOT RESPECTED

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Clarksville Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen bed Crib mattress available Futon in the living room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
NO-SMOKING ON THE PROPERTY-OUTSIDE OR INSIDE——$250 FINE IF RULE NOT RESPECTED NO PARTYING OR LOUD NOISE PAST 10PM———$250 FINE IF WE RECEIVE A COMPLAINT AND RULE NOT RESPECTED

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties