Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Retreat Cottage On Whitewater Stream

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage

Overview

About the property

Retreat Cottage On Whitewater Stream

The Retreat Cottage at Abrams Creek, 3 miles east of Mount Storm, WV, is a private two bedroom cottage on one acre of land and 300 feet of stream front. It sits near the entrance to the campground. It is hidden from the highway and has trails to the water and swim holes.

The Cottage is a two story, two bedroom house with living room, fully-equipped kitchen, spacious dining room, a full bathroom and tub, and washer/dryer. The upstairs bedroom has a queen bed for up to 2 people, a twin day bed, and a twin trundle bed. There is also a large unfinished attic room that can be used for storage. The main floor includes a bedroom with two sets of bunk beds (4 standard twin beds total). The living room has satellite TV service, high-speed DSL Internet WiFi, a telephone with free long distance calling, and a queen sleep sofa..


Owner
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 10, 2017

Amenities

Mount Storm Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 4 twin/ single , Two sets of bunk beds
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Day bed and trundle bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

1/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
100% Complete
Retreat Cottage On Whitewater Stream
average rating of 1.0 based on 2 reviews
1

Cottage, or backwoods shack?

  • 1 of 5

Sign on the wall as soon as you walk in said "Please remove shoes at door" and of course everyone did but soon put them back on after we walked not even to the bathroom yet and our feet were covered in dirt. The TV didn't work and we had to completely unwire it from the dish box, and outlet and reset it and plug everything back up. Took 20mins of our first hour arrived to get it it work. The fridge smelled and was horribly dirty. The bathtub was so filthy and shower curtain is covered in mold we ended up not even showering while we stayed. Nothing much went on and stayed inside most of the stay. My disabled Mother on crutches fell when she came through door due to rug not having a no slip bottom and the tiny parking place that's available for the cottage is behind the house and makes unloading and loading difficult. 2nd story bedroom staircase has loose boad at the very top last step and bends in when stepped on, Definitely not safe. All together the house was filthy, and very poor looking. Black mold in many places and had many odd closed unaccessible doors locked from the inside that made us uncomfortable

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
1

Miserable!

  • 1 of 5

The property itself was inhabitable! The owners and staff very accommodating but the smells alone with the mildew and sewage made the stay miserable. We left one day early.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest did not make us aware of the problem until they were leaving. Once we knew about it, we took care of it immediately, and authorized a refund for the short stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.0%

Mailing address is Elk Garden, WV, but the actual location is 3 miles east of Mount Storm, WV, just off US 50.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties