Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Retreat Cottage On Whitewater Stream

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage

Overview

About the property

Retreat Cottage On Whitewater Stream

This two-bedroom cottage is a funky old country home; is not a lace-doily kind of place. Everything works, and everything is clean, but stylistically it is country hodgepodge. It is the kind of place you can be comfortable bringing your friends, kids, or dogs without walking on tiptoes so as not to disturb anything. If that fits your style, I think you would enjoy it, as well as the beautiful setting next to a whitewater stream. For people who delight in nature, it can be a deeply satisfying place to be.

The cottage is located at Abrams Creek Campground, 3 miles east of Mount Storm, WV. It sits near the entrance to the campground, and is just a few steps away from a wild whitewater stream, and has access to the swim holes at the end of the campground.

The cottage is a two story, two bedroom house with living room, kitchen, dining room, a full bathroom with tub, and washer/dryer. The upstairs bedroom has a queen bed for up to 2 people, a twin day bed, and a twin trundle bed. The main floor includes a bedroom with two sets of bunk beds (4 standard twin beds total). The living room has satellite TV service, high-speed DSL Internet WiFi, a telephone with free long distance calling, and a queen sleep sofa..

More Details

Owner
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

Amenities

Mount Storm Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 4 twin/ single , Two sets of bunk beds
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Day bed and trundle bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

2/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
75% Complete
Retreat Cottage On Whitewater Stream
average rating of 2.0 based on 4 reviews
5

Exactly what I expected and more

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation and enjoy nature this is definitely the place to stay. Beautiful veiws and lots of room for your kids/pets to run and explore. My family had an amazing time! We will definitely be staying at this cabin again. Just remember you are staying at a cabin this place is definitely a great place for any outdoors loving family

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

It is more of a camping cabin.

  • 1 of 5

The linens looked like they were thrown in the cabinets, the double bed was a box spring and mattress on the floor, and the cabin smelled musty and had water damage on the wall in the bathroom. It did not align with the other cabins advertised on this sight. There was an old plate of food in the refrigerator.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Cottage, or backwoods shack?

  • 1 of 5

Sign on the wall as soon as you walk in said "Please remove shoes at door" and of course everyone did but soon put them back on after we walked not even to the bathroom yet and our feet were covered in dirt. The TV didn't work and we had to completely unwire it from the dish box, and outlet and reset it and plug everything back up. Took 20mins of our first hour arrived to get it it work. The fridge smelled and was horribly dirty. The bathtub was so filthy and shower curtain is covered in mold we ended up not even showering while we stayed. Nothing much went on and stayed inside most of the stay. My disabled Mother on crutches fell when she came through door due to rug not having a no slip bottom and the tiny parking place that's available for the cottage is behind the house and makes unloading and loading difficult. 2nd story bedroom staircase has loose boad at the very top last step and bends in when stepped on, Definitely not safe. All together the house was filthy, and very poor looking. Black mold in many places and had many odd closed unaccessible doors locked from the inside that made us uncomfortable

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
1

Miserable!

  • 1 of 5

The property itself was inhabitable! The owners and staff very accommodating but the smells alone with the mildew and sewage made the stay miserable. We left one day early.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest did not make us aware of the problem until they were leaving. Once we knew about it, we took care of it immediately, and authorized a refund for the short stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Mailing address is Elk Garden, WV, but the actual location is 3 miles east of Mount Storm, WV, just off US 50.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties