check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ann McLean

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Beautiful 3 Bedroom/Loft, 2.5 BA Bayfront with AC, Sleeps 10, Quiet Beach, Relax

8 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Slaughter Beach House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms w/Loft/2.5 baths/Outdoor Shower/Sleeps 10/Steps to Bay/Views/New Home

This new home was featured on DIY program 'Raising House'. Designed for families/reunions/getaways with over-sized kitchen, dining for +10, great room and large screened porch. Cross bay/marsh breezes/fresh air/ bay/marsh views. Morning sunrise on the oversized front porch/lazy days of reading/naps/games/jigsaws/cards. Enjoy blazing orange/pink sunsets on the marsh.

Three new pillow top king beds/+ two twin beds in the loft +futon in MBR. Two full bathrooms + half bath + outdoor shower. First floor MBR suite has adjoining bath with large shower dressing area. MBR suite is tucked-off the kitchen area and provides secluded sleep, with first floor access to kitchen and great room. Large shower with bench seat. Two large upstairs bedrooms with king "pillow top" beds. Great reviews for sleeping/spooning/napping/cuddling/views of bay and marsh. Loft has two twin beds and is separated from activites by curtains making it ideal for children and spill-over guests. Bathroom upstairs has separate shower/toilet with door and adjacent large double sink. Arrangement is great for friends and family sharing. Each bedroom offers water views--bay and marsh. Linens/sheets/towels are NOT provided. New kitchen appliances/flatware/plates/glasses/wine glasses/utensils/pots/pan & pans/cooking&prep knives. First quality utensils. GasStove/Disposal/Microwave/Coffee Maker/French Door Refridgerator/Freezer/Waffle Maker-- Chefs Dream! Kitchen linens, cloth napkins, placemats are provided. Please wash/dry after use.

House is fully stocked with beach chairs/beach toys/umbrella/coolers/beach games/inflatables. Please use them and RETURN them to the property. They are located under the house-- easily accessible.

There is a charcoal grill w/chimney/charcoal starter. Bring your own lighter/fuel and briquets.

Home has new Washer/Dryer unit in kitchen. It is ample for daily use/requirements. Please do not put oversized loads in Washer/Dryer and advise cleaning crew of any oversized loads in need of cleaning. Please launder kitchen towels and napkins. Please clean lint trap daily from sand and lint.

This quiet and comfortable house is surrounded by nature preserves, marshes and the Delaware Bay, making it a unique place for a family visit. Stroll out the front door and down to a quiet uncrowded beach. Shopping, arts, antiques and restaurants are close, and a large porch for napping and reading. Great water views from every room.

This is a relaxing, quiet community, which is great for families, getaway weekends and reunions. You can enjoy sunrise on the bay in the morning and brilliant sunsets on the marsh at night. Fishing and crabbing in the bay, nature center nearby, plus Cedar Creek Boat Launch nearby. All porches are screened for maximum enjoyment. Clear evening star gazing at night.

My favorite Saturday activity is visiting the Milford Farmers Market in the morning, coffee and shopping in town. Lunch and then curling up on the porch in a chaise lounge to read or take a nap while the gulls call and the waves lap in the distance!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Ann McLean (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About Ann McLean

I am recently retired and have completed a cross country trip in a renovated 1963 Fleeting Trailer. From DC to California and back, I have only 8 more states to finish my US tour. Slaughter Beach is a short hop from my home in Arlington, VA (WDC suburbs) I fell in love with the area and purchased the lot and built the home in 2010. During the building phase I was featured on DIY channel program Raising House. It was much fun and seeing the house from conception to completion is interesting.

I have seen a lot of sights, and hope to see more before my legs and my wallet give up. And, I love to come back to Slaughter Beach. Home/neighborhood/community are quiet, peaceful, full of nature and my get-away from the world. Visitors comment on the relaxed retreat that the home and environment provides.

Ann McLean purchased this house in 2010

Why Ann McLean chose Delaware

Slaughter Beach felt like home the first time I visited. I love being on the water and enjoy seeing the seasons come and go from my little perch on the porch. Opening all the doors and having the breeze move through the house just cleans out the soul and the warm sunshine is very restorative.

What makes this house unique

Slaughter Beach and surrounding preserves/marshes are amazing venues for seeing nature in a comfortable setting. The annual migration/matting of the Horseshoe crabs, Red Knot, turtles and butterflies in the spring and summer remind us how unique and fragile our relationship to nature is. These creatures have overcome great odds to return here every year. The bay offers endless miles of beaches to walk and enjoy the surf, sand, and sun. You will witness the circle-of-life in this unique, comfortable environment.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our stay in this lovely two-story beach house located right at

Slaughter Beach, Delaware completely exceeded our expectations! This

house literally has all the comforts of home and more, such as

state-of-the-art appliances, a spacious kitchen, ample dining area,

and a large, comfy living room to relax in. Upstairs, you wake up to

the sight of the sunrise over the ocean, or you can sit on the large

screened porch downstairs and take in the beautiful view and the fresh

air with your morning coffee. Best of all, you're just steps away from

beautiful, pristine beach, and you've practically got it all to

yourself in this quiet, low-key community. This is the perfect house

for getting away from it all at the beach!
Mar 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.6
based on 8 traveler reviews

Beautiful 3 Bedroom/Loft, 2.5 BA Bayfront with AC, Sleeps 10, Quiet Beach, Relax
average rating of 4.625 based on 9 reviews
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

This house is nicely decorated, comfortable and well-equipped and enjoys spectacular views of both the Prime Hook reserve and the Delaware Bay. The bay-side screened porch is great! A direct path from the house brings you to a lovely beach that is great for long walks (often all alone). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We also appreciated the owner's flexibility allowing us to stay an extra day. The location is remote and very peaceful but within easy driving distance to Milford for groceries etc. as well as to the ocean beaches (and dining/shopping) in Lewes and Rehoboth. I highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous home on quiet beachfront property!

  • 5 of 5

This home was terrific! Gorgeously decorated and very well equiped with all the amenitites we needed. Beautiful view of the water and easy access to the beach. We will definitely return as soon as possible.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5

For the past two years in May, I have been bringing a small group of students to Slaughter Beach to observe and study the Horseshoe Crabs and Red Knots as well as the surrounding area. The experience was great each time. The house is cozy, open and spacious enough to comfortably accommodate all of us, and it is right on the beach. It is also nicely appointed. The owner was very helpful from the start of the process about the details and our responsibilities as well as making us feel at home, right down to the personalized welcome message on the table. Instructions for everything are posted and easy to follow. The local folk are friendly and helpful. While not within walking distance to things like restaurants, there are several to choose from in nearby Milford and Lewes. If you prefer to stay in, the kitchen is well furnished and there is a nice screened in porch for dining “outside.” A number of local sites and activities are available, including the visitor center at the nature preserve. The birding possibilities abound during the spring and summer and then there’s always beach combing. Can’t say enough positive things about our stay and we look forward to it again. It’s a great working weekend get-away!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Loved my stay, I highly recommend this rental

  • 5 of 5

the house is immaculate, lots of personality, and the owner is such a sweet lady and her customer service skills are impeccable. I highly recommend this house to everyone!! Loved going to the town to eat and just walk around. Property was very clean!

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hidden Gem in Slaughter Beach

  • 5 of 5

This home is the perfect spot for a quick or long getaway. It's right along the beach where you can walk for miles, flip horseshoe crabs and watch the big ships at night. The home itself is adorable and easily accommodates a good size crowd. The beds are incredibly comfortable, there's a fully stocked kitchen, and it's decorated just perfect - an eclectic, interesting mix of things to look at! We enjoyed quick trips into the local towns, especially Lewis. Would come back in a hearbeat!

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Over priced for the location-Uncommunicative owner

  • 2 of 5

We stayed with grandparents and another relative and kids at this vacation house for the 4th of July week. The house is beautifully decorated. It was clean. So, you may wonder why I am giving it two star.

When we booked the house we had two major concerns: The beach and the bugs.

We wanted a house on a beach, so the kids could easily go out and play in the water. The owner assured us that the beach is fine for swimming. When we got there, we found out that the water is mud for hundreds feet and not swimmable.

We were concerned with mosquitoes at the house, because from the map, it looks like there is a swamp across the street from it. The owner assured us that mosquitoes would not be a problem. She said there would be a few, but the wind keeps them away. In fact, not only does the swamp contribute mosquitoes, but the front yard of the house is just standing water. When we went to our cars or to the beach, we were inundated with mosquitoes. On the plus side, the owner did leave us lots of mosquito repellent.

Other issues we had with this rental:

One day, we had issues with the downstairs bathroom, and needed a plunger. There was none, so we called the owner. It was a day and a half before she got back to us. We already bought one by then.

We called the owner the day before we took off to ask where we should put the recycling, and what other chores she required before we left, such as trash and laundry. There were no instructions in the house and she never returned our call. So, we ran 2 or three loads of laundry of the sheets and towels but there were a couple loads left. We also left the recycling in a large box in the corner of the kitchen. We made sure the rest of the house was clean before we took off. Later in the afternoon the owner called me that she will charge us for the load of laundry and for the trash in the trash bin of the bathrooms. She ended up charging us very too much for the cleaning and never showed us any receipt for the cost of cleaning.We left feeling that her charge was spiteful and unfair.

In general, this owner is uncommunicative. All correspondence was through regular mail, and she was lax in her business dealings. We had to call her to see if she got any of our checks or verify deadlines, or even to know if she really did mark us in for that week. Considering the dishonest information about the beach and mosquitoes, and uncommunicative owner, we do not recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Slaughter Beach is located in a nature preserve, surrounded by protected marsh lands ( Prime Hook and Marvel Tract) NOT A SWAMP. Homeowners value the natural environment that provides nesting grounds for endangered species incliding the horseshoe crabs, red knot, tarripin turtles, native foxes and other wild life. The Delaware Bay is less congested than other resort communities because it offers a more relaxed shore experience, while giving access to other beach communities such as Lewes and Delaware. It is EXTREMELY difficult to avoid bugs on the Delaware Shore during the Summer. Spraying is the only alternative, and it is discouraged because of the damage it does to the environment. As a landlord , I attempt to make your stay as comfortable as possible by providing sheets, towels and all the linens. Further, I include in your rental package, a lease AND information about the property and the area. When you return your signed lease --- I assume you read it and understand it. Trash, recycling, and laundry are covered in the rental agreement. PER THE SIGNED agreement, trash/recycling and laundry are the responsibility of the tenant. Perhaps this is an cultural misunderstanding but trash and recycling go in large containers marked TRASH and RECYCLING. When renting a private home please treat it like it is your own. I have had very no problems in the past. Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
BWI, Baltimore; Philadlphia, PA and Newark, NJ;
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
15 minutes to bars/dining/Dog Fish Ale Brewery
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Cape May Lewes Ferry
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
The Rookery, North and South
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Dupont Highway ( RT 1)
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
15 mins to Grottos/Capriottis/Abbotts/Arenas/Bars
Car: necessary

REGIONAL ATTRACTIONS:

SOUTH - Rehobeth Beach, (30 mins/Park & Ride) Ocean beaches/boardwalk/games/rides/amusements/waterpark/outlet shopping/restaurants/french-fries/taffy. Tanger Outlets and Midway Movie Theater. Use the Park&Ride option while visiting Rehoboth. Lewes(20 mins): Historic small town/good restaurants/shopping/ice cream/book store/toy store/candy store/antiquing. Take the left at the Nassau exit and avoid the traffic. Dogfish Ale Brewery/Milton (20 Mins) tours/tastings.

Visit SOUTH venues on Mon-Thurs. Rt 1 on weekends is congested. NORTH - Dover AFB, Dover Downs (30 Minutes) and NASCAR. WEST-Harrington Raceway/Casino (30 Minutes).

GOLF: The Rookery Golf Course -- North and South. Set between swelling mounds to the west and a heron rookery to the east lies a new championship 18-hole layout offering a wonderful playing experience for golfers of all abilities. 1999 PGA Senior Club Pro Champ Pete Oakley and course visionary and superintendent Chris Adkins have teamed up in designing a water laden, golfer friendly challenge just off the picturesque Broadkill River in Milton, DE. Course features include a state-of-the-art practice facility with natural teeing areas, practice bunkers and chipping/putting areas. There is also a complete golf shop and food service available.

ATTRACTIONS WITH CLOSE PROXIMITY TO ROUTE 1 (Coastal Highway):

Dover Downs (NASCAR)

Harrington Casino

Rehobeth Beach Outlet Centers

Midway Movie Theater

Historic Downtown Dover

Historic Downtown Lewes

Rehobeth Beach Boardwalk and Amusements

Delaware Parks and Recreation

LOCAL ATTRACTIONS:

Old Town Milford (10 mins) Farmers Market (Sats 8-12 AM) with fresh vegetables and homemade items for sale. Missipillion Art Center with local art studios, gallery, and classes. Milford Bowling Lane/Roller Rink/Missipillion Brewery w/music on weekends.

Good eats at Georgia House, Abbotts, Arenas, Park Place, Grottos, Cappriotis. Food Lion and Wal-Mart for grocery shopping. Meding's Seafood (15 mins north on Rt 1 #302-335-3944) will steam blue crabs "for here, or to go". Fresh/local catch is also available for purchase and large deck for "eat-in" crab picking. Worth the trip!

SLAUGHTER BEACH: Certified Wildlife Habitat Community, and Horseshoe Crab Sanctuary. Nature lovers can witness the Diamondback Terrapin Turtles emerge from the beach and make their way to the marsh to lay their eggs, the annual Horseshoe Crab/Red Knot drama, also Monarch Butterflies migrate across the bay in the fall. Winter brings snow geese, occasional tundra swans/snowy owls. Osprey nests on the marsh. Enjoy birdwatching, fishing, crabbing, biking and kayaking. Kayak/Canoe the adjacent nature preserve -- Primehook Nature Preserve. The marsh is popular stop for ducks, geese and hunters.

Birders, naturalists, hunters/fishers enjoy the Dupont Nature Center and Cedar Creek Boat Launch. In the spring, the influx of thousand spawning American Horseshoe Crabs, draws famished migrating birds, who blanket the beach in search of tapioca sized horseshoe crab eggs.

Nature lovers also enjoy witnessing the annual Diamondback Terrapin Turtle nesting in the spring/summer. Monarch Butterflies migrate across the bay in the fall. Enjoy fishing, crabbing, boating, biking and kayaking from this ideal setting. Kayak/canoe the adjacent nature preserve -- Primehook Nature Preserve. A national wildlife refuge, the marsh is popular stop for ducks, geese and hunters. Birders, naturalists, hunters/fishers enjoy the Dupont Nature Center and Cedar Creek Boat Launch.

Slaughter Beach is a relaxed, uncrowded, safe beach community. Older children can safely bike/roller blade/scooter/skate board on Bay Ave (25 MPH), and run free on miles of beach. Community offers tennis courts, basketball court, playground, sandy town beach, restrooms, and parking.

Delaware is a sales-tax-free-state on purchases. Stock up on back-to-school, baby clothes, luxury items, shoes, hand bags, QVC, LL Bean at the Outlet Centers in Rehoboth.

Liquor/Beer/Wine: Only retail stores sell alcohol. They are typically open from 9 a.m. to 1 a.m. Monday through Saturday, and are open from noon to 8 p.m. on Sunday. Restaurants serving alcohol and bars serve from 9 a.m. to 1 a.m. seven days of the week.

Plan accordingly.

Antiquing, Delaware Brewery tours, Delaware Wine tours, Delaware Parks/Rec, NASCAR, Casinos, Farm Markets are yours to explore.

Enjoy the visit ,and let us know what you find.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Slaughter Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
2016-2017 Fall/Winter/Spring
Nov 1 2016 - May 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$500
$1,400
$4,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $150

TURN OVER DATE IS SUNDAY. CLEANING SERVICE PROVIDED ON SUNDAY. TENANT CAN TAKE POSSESSION DURING THE WEEK BY LOCKED KEY ACCESS DURING RENTAL WEEK. SUNDAY TO SUNDAY RENTAL.
Security deposit will be returned within 30 days of departure. Deductions to security deposit will be made for unusual
dirt/damage to property and large amounts of laundry. NO BONFIRES ARE ALLOWED. Setting a fire, other than in the charcoal grill, will result in loss of deposit.


To Reserve call ASHLEY IRVING 571-643-5943 OR EMAIL (preferred) irvingashley11@gmail.com

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Slaughter Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • MBR Suite Bathroom - toilet , shower , Walk/In Shower w/seat. Great for limited mobility/kids/Zen!
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shower/toilet w/door for privacy. Double sink w/vanity
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , Enjoy the breeze/ sun/ moon while showering outdoors.Treat!
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 1/2 bath in Great Room w toilet/sink for convenience
  • Main level provides a full bath/walk in shower in MBR + 1/2 bath in great room. 2nd floor has a full bath w/ double sink and separate shower/toilet. Outdoor shower is AMAZING with access from front porch. Cool-off from a hot day with bay breezes/sunshine or shower under the stars in warm, delicious water stream. Clean off/Cool Down/Experience the Zen of showering in nature.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , New Pillow Top King Bed with view of bay and morning sun
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , New Twin Bed with Mattress Covers. Privacy curtains
    Master Bedroom/Suite with full bath - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1st floor w/King Pillow-Top Mattress + futon Private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , New Pillow Top King Bed with views of marsh/afternoon sun
  • All Bedrooms have New Pillow-Top King Beds. Loft has two twin beds. Master bedroom also has Futon. House sleeps 10 MAX occupancy. There are two full bathrooms, one half bath, and one outdoor shower. Owner does NOT provide sheets, towels, beach towels. Owner provides dish towels, napkins, place-mats, and table linens. Please wash dish towels, table linens prior to departure. Pay it forward! Please plan to bring the following for Max 10 occupancy: * 3 sets of King Bed sheets--- deep pockets best for pillow-top * 1 set of full sheets for futon * 2 sets of twin sheets Pillows, blankets, duvets, comforters are provided. Please BRING bath towels, beach towels, and other linens. Washer and Dryer is very efficient for daily use. Please no overside loads or sandy loads. If the comforters need to be laundered--do not use the Washer/Dryer. (Laundromat in Milford has large load unit). Please clean lint screen/dryer w/every load -- sand/lint build up quickly. Detergent provided
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties