Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Peaceful Stone Greek Village House - Family-Friendly Forest Getaway - Remodeled

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4 in bedrooms, 2 on queen sofa couch ( extra fee)

Relax and enjoy authentic Greek village life in our comfortable home on a hill. Modern open-plan kitchen dining/living room, high ceilings with exposed high wooden beams, front balcony, 2 bedrooms, plus a loft, foldout couch, and marble bathroom. Modern kitchen with garbage disposal, walnut kitchen cabinets with Electric stove and 4 burners. Exhaust fan, microwave, toaster, hot water pot for tea and instant coffee.

There is a large court yard with excess to the forest behind.

Ask for VIDEO of the inside and outside of the house.

Smell the fresh air from the pine forest trails.

Enjoy 180 degree views of Arcadian mountains and local Greek villages. A quiet setting on top of the hill of the village, Alepohori. This home is a full-functioning getaway with Italian floor tiles, walnut kitchen cabinets, and a marble shower/bathroom. Enjoy imported (American) Sealy mattresses in the main (King) and guest bedroom (two twins). Exterior stone walls from over 200 years ago (laid by ancestors), blends in with the charm of the traditional homes in the village. There is a queen bed pull-out couch in the living room and a small loft-ladder access with two camper mattresses. Perfect for kids, or young at heart to nestle up with a book. The perfect retreat to relax and unwind in fresh mountain air. No pollution. This home is complete with bedding, towels, flatware, pots & pans and a TV/DVD and Satellite . Cell Phone reception. No Wi-Fi. Only at Christenas restaurant and by the gas station by their gas shop.

Ideal setting for a retreat, reunion, or a celebration getaway.

The house's back property is surrounded by a private chestnut and pine tree forest with mountain hiking trails and jeep tracks that lead to various mountain tops, and small chapels. Fig trees and grapevines offer shade on the courtyard and balcony in the summer. Excellent drinking water comes from the village mountain spring.

At the bottom of the hill, (walking distance) are two restaurants that serve authentic Greek food, craft beer and local farm products such as oil, oregano, olives and cheese. Tripoli is 19 km away on the EO Tripolis Spartis 39/E961 highway. During a new moon, enjoy a blanket of stars above and view the Milky Way. Swing from the hammocks in the forest and watch the mountains (hammock in closet) turn pink during magic hour. (see pictures) The home faces Northeast for spectacular sunrises. There is car access from the home to the highway which is convenient for day trips to other nearby villages i.e. Ancient Sparta, Tegea, Karies villages. Astros is 45 minutes to the Aegean Sea for a swim and seafood tavernas.

Further specs:

Open floor plan. With complete modern kitchen (walnut cabinets, garbage disposal, cook top with conventional oven, microwave, hot water pot, etc). Sorry, no washer.

Bathroom is all marble, with marble large square tub and large shower head which converts to hand held shower. Excellent pressure. Hot water heater for shower, and a small separate heater next to sink for washing dishes.

House is on top of the hill overlooking the village and mountains. Back of the house is surrounded by fir trees and chestnut trees. No traffic since this is the last house on the hill.

Floors are italian tile.

The outside is all stone about a foot thick, keeps house cool in the summer. The inside is painted white with large windows.

It has a large courtyard with grape vines overhanging from a trellis and a large fig tree with fruit in the summer

The front has a veranda with 2 french doors leading into the living room/great room.

Parking is inside the court yard towards the back with a large aluminum door for privacy, park in front of the house or back of the house. The area is about an acre around the house, with a forest in the back that belongs to the house.

It is a very comfortable house with new american sofa bed (queen size new sealy beds (twins). Master bedroom is a king with two twins pushed together.

Coffee table with a wooden new dining table with 6 chairs (American bought).

Great place for hiking, collecting herbs and mountain tea, visiting near by villages, reading under the grape vine that is full of delicious grapes in the summer.

The village has two outstanding restaurants open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner (Christena's is closed after 5:00). Locals walk their goats, donkeys, in the little streets of the village. A stream runs further into the forest where the village gets its water from the mountains under water reservoir. Very safe water to drink, tested annually.

Ask for our Athens home in Central Athens for your stay there.

More Details

Property Manager
Maria or Anthony Lamberis
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, greek
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 30, 2017

About Maria or Anthony Lamberis

I was born in Greece, and have lived in the U.S. for over 50 years. I enjoy assisting visitors in their travel plans and supporting you for maximum enjoyment. This home is my husband's ancestral home, that we rebuilt the inside in 1999.

Maria or Anthony Lamberis purchased this house in 2005

Why Maria or Anthony Lamberis chose Tripoli

This is a property that has been in our family for generations. We have remodelled it for visiting comfort and peaceful serenity.

What makes this house unique

Authentic Greek culture on your doorstep and quiet surroundings for relaxation and pure enjoyment.

Amenities

Tripoli House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • All marble bathroom with an American style toilet, large square deep marble bathtub, shower. Cabinets with full necessary needs for you.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • The large bedroom has vaulted ceilings. Two twin beds (SEALY) pushed together to create a king size bed. 2 large mirrored closets with cabinets and open shelves. 2 side tables with reading lights. Lights switch on/off from bed. 2nd bedroom - two twin beds (SEALY) with closet and drawers. Night stand with reading light. Wooden ceiling.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
Notes:
A great place to hike, see other Greek villages, rest under the vines. A very peaceful area, away from car noise and city noise.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Peaceful Stone Greek Village House - Family-Friendly Forest Getaway - Remodeled
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
Lodi, California
5

True Greek Experience-Loved It!!!

  • 5 of 5

If you want a true Greek experience away from the very touristy locations but close enough to so many amazing ancient locations rent this house.

Before our vacation even started Maria was a plethora of information that made our vacation so much more enjoyable. She helped us with directions to wonderful places to see, cafes to eat authentic Greek food, markets to shop at, help with what to pack, recipes to cook etc., etc. We were confident that our stay would be amazing just by her emails.

When we first arrived at the village I called Thanasi and he met us within minutes. He was so kind and very helpful with all of the information and instructions on how to use every amenity that was in the house. He had great recommendations for day trips and was there every time we needed him. He even helped us to communicate with the wonderful village people we met at the cafe. He was an amazing asset to us during our 6 day stay at the house.

The house is very secure with a gate that makes you feel safe right away. The house was very clean and well supplied with toilet paper, paper towels, dishes, utensils and everything else needed to cook and keep everything clean and organized. It was very spacious and easy to settle into. I spent may mornings and evenings sipping my coffee and wine on the front porch just listening to the quaint village noises and the quiet of the night. It felt like a home away from home.

The house was located within minutes of ancient sites and we took many day trips that were 2-4 hours drive time round trip, which gave us plenty of time to explore some of the largest ancient sites.

The people of this small village were so kind and made us feel welcome from the start. Even with the language barrier we were able to get along so well with them that we feel like we have made life long friends.

The only issues we had was that the washing machine was not working so we had to use the laundry in Tripoli which was a little inconvenient and some of the windows did not work so we were afraid to open the other ones in fear of breaking any of them. These issues did not take away from our wonderful experience in this house and I would not hesitate to stay here again if I am lucky enough to ever visit Greece in the future.

I was pleasantly surprised that my expectations were not only met but far exceeded what I had imagined. I highly recommend this Stone Village House in Greece.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Rachel for your revier and staying at the Stone house. The washing machine was not plugged in properly which was a shame for your incovenience. The windows are unique to open. I will make sure that the agent shows the unique features to other guests. They are Italian with a unique style to either open or tilt to open at night for security. However, I am glad you enjoyed the quitness of the village and enjoyed the other places near by. Thank you again for staying in our summer home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL
5

AGreat Quiet Retreat to Nature

  • 5 of 5

A quiet retreat to enjoy nature at its fullest innocent past.

This is a quiet village, with the house on top of the serene life. You have 180 degrees of uninterrupted views of mountains, fresh air and the scent of herbs that surround you. There is 0 % pollution. A great forest behind you to explore and to find 3 little chapels. There are some dirt roads to take and explore the forest that goes on for miles and visiting other small villages forgotten by modern civilization. If you want more action, you are very close to other villages who are more populated.

This home is strictly to relax. Read, breath fresh air with an herb scent from the oregano, mint, rosemary and lavender that grows near by.

With a car you can explore Nafplion, Sparta, Astros for a swim in the summer, Olympia (2hours away hit a day trip), Tripoli 30 minutes away for a city experience.

My two children have asthma and they breathed freely there.

We will come back for a longer visit. The village has people that live over 100 years old.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Tired house. Needs attention.

  • 1 of 5

This was obviously was once a loved second home but sadly doesn't really work out as a holiday let. The village is dreary and nondescript and not very conveniently situated. The house itself is no longer very well cared for---the agent is friendly but the place needs a deep clean not just a superficial wipe over and sweep. The oven, cooker hood, all saucepans, handles were covered in accumulated grease and the lower kitchen cupboards smelled of damp and mould. The bathroom is not heated and the whole house was musty and cold when we went in. There are far too many personal items (e.g. photos on the fridge and hairbrushes in the bathroom). The info is out of date..for example there is no longer a mini market at the petrol station. There is just synthetic cheap bedding, nothing suitable for a double bed. There is very little proper crockery, only plastic picnic ware. We had to make the bed up ourselves when we arrived. The grounds are uncared for. The price made us expect the quality that we have usually found in Greece. Sadly we did not find it, and in fact for one night during our stay went to a hotel elsewhere which was cheaper and much much more comfortable.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a village home that has served many happy guests in the past perfectly. The sheets are all American bought, cotton. The twin beds in the large bedroom are pushed together to form a king. There are no king sheets available in the house. The dishes are Miromax from Bed Bath and Beyond since most people eat outside and they are not breakable. The house is cleaned by a professional couple just before arrivals. The mini market is PapaAndonis further down the street, whereas the gas station only carries sandwiches, yogurt, and ready made stuff. I am sorry that you did not find our house satisfactory to your standards. Everyone else did that has stayed there.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Park Ridge, Ill
5

R&R in a quiet village

  • 5 of 5

This a stone house was built for total relaxation. We were delighted that it was truly quiet without any city noise. The house is high up the hill without any people going through, or cars. The court yard is large and enclosed. Totally private. The house is exceptional in beauty and comfort. The location was great since we were close to the main vein to drive to our excursions. Coming home at night, to truly relax.

The fresh air helped with my asthma. I am planning to return for a longer stay.

Thank you for the Greek experience

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
St. Charles, IL
5

Piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

After our stay at Maria's apartment in Athens. She opened up her village house to us. A total different experience from a bustling city to a serene village life. A perfect place to relax and breath the mountainous country air. The house is located at 3,000 feet high with a forest behind the house. The fresh air, the village restaurants, the hikes, the visits to near by villages was so serial.

The house is amazing, more than what we expected. Prettier than the pictures. We hired our neighbor for some excursions who was from Canada. It is advisable to have a car, but we also had a taxi driver to take us to a near by village for food shopping. A place to totally RELAX and enjoy nature.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Ontario Canada
5

Heavenly vacation

  • 5 of 5

I never thought that the serene atmosphere of this Village home would be my inspiration to start my writing again. The sun and clean air is enough to start the writing juices flowing. Sitting at the courtyard and listening to the birds in the early hours as the sun rise from the East was so inspiring.

The house is extremely comfortable and very well designed and equipped for a very pleasant stay.

The pictures do not do it justice. It is a very well planned house built for comfort. We will be coming back here. The agent is extremely helpful and lives down the street.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy you found the solace and peace of our Stone House. Our family enjoys the wonders of hiking and exploring the surrounding forest. Please come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Down the hill
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Down the village about 200 meters
Car: necessary

Great hiking towards the chestnut. and fir tree forest, to discover hidden family churches and water sources. There are many antiquities in Tegea, and Sparta where Mystra is located. Karies village where the Kariodes ladies adoring the Parthenon came from with trees that are over 2,000 years old in a small center near a little church.

The village of Karries or (Arachova, as it was known before has wonderful restaurants and coffee shops in a very beautiful center surrounded by a church. You will feel like you have gone back hundreds of years ago.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $30
Cleaning $40

A family of 3 or 4 under 18 years old pays the daily rate. Additional adults are required to pay $10.00 per person per day. You can pay half to book the house, and half of rental upon arrival to my agent at Alephohori village.
Enjoy this stone home on the hill and venture to various villages and ancient sites - Including the Temple of Athena, Megalopoli, Temple of Apollo, Tegea, Tripoli, Sparta and much more. Bring sweaters , it gets cooler at night in the summer. Colder in the months of April, May, October, November. You are 1,000 above feet sea level.
If there are 4 people taking a shower, please wait about 30 minutes between the 2 showers. Hot water heater is in the master bedroom closet. Feeling the tub with hot water will deplete hot water. Allow the water in the tank to get hot again.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.