Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Only Thing We Overlook is Intermediate Lake! Only A Few Weeks Remain for '18

Sleeps25
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms4
Space 2,760 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 8 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 25)

Imagine drinking your morning coffee on a deck overlooking a beautiful all-sports lake while watching the hummingbirds feed on the nectar of the brilliant-orange trumpet vine next to the deck. The house is quiet. The lake is still. Soon the pitter patter of your family's feet will begin as they rise for another glorious day at The Lake House. You smile thinking about what lies ahead...a day filled with sun, swimming, games, and laughter and finished off around the bonfire roasting marshmallows and staring at the stars. This vacation can be yours when you stay at The Lake House.

The property consists of two homes: the 'Lake House' is a six-bedroom, three-bathroom, fully-furnished home; the 'Road House' sits behind the Lake House and is a completely renovated, two bedroom, one-bathroom cottage. Located on beautiful Intermediate Lake, The Lake House has 130 feet of lakefront and includes a dock, firepit, and huge custom grill. The water is shallow and sandy close to shore making it perfect for families with small children or adults who like to tie their rafts to the dock and soak in the sun.

The home is surrounded with decking in the front and backyards and has two picnic tables and lots of tables and chairs. Inside, you’ll find three fully stocked kitchens (including a dishwasher), four full bathrooms, eight bedrooms, two fireplaces (gas and natural), and a laundry room. The family room in the lower level has two pull-out sofa beds. In all, The Lake House has sleeping accommodations for 25 (four queens, four full, 3 bunks with full size lower bed, and three sofa beds). You supply the towels, bed linens and your toiletries.

The Lake House is located in Central Lake, Michigan which is just minutes from Bellaire, home of Short's Brewing. It is close to several championship golf courses, skiing, restaurants, shopping, casinos, wineries, and several northern 'hot spots': ten minutes from Shanty Creek and Schuss Mountain, ten minutes from Torch Lake and Lake Michigan, 30 minutes from Charlevoix, and 40 minutes from Traverse City, Boyne City and Petoskey.

The Lake House is available year round for all of your recreation activities: swimming, boating, fishing, water-sports, skiing, snowmobiling, golfing, hiking, hunting, fall color tours, etc. Whether you like to be on the go or prefer to sit and relax, The Lake House offers you all the choices.

Keywords: Home, Short's Brewing, Central Lake, Intermediate Lake

More Details

Owner
Siobhan Gannon & Sheila Gannon
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Siobhan Gannon & Sheila Gannon

We are two sisters following our life long dream of owning a piece of heavenly Northern Michigan!

Siobhan Gannon & Sheila Gannon purchased this house in 2004

Why Siobhan Gannon & Sheila Gannon chose Central Lake

We spent our family vacations renting cottages on Intermediate Lake. It didn't take long to fall madly in love with Intermediate Lake and its beautiful surroundings.

What makes this house unique

As long-time renters, we know what you're looking for in a vacation home. We're proud of the fact that we manage to provide the little things you're looking for...whether it's plenty of mirrors and lamps, blankets and pillows, wine openers and wine glasses, plastic storage containers and tin foil, or even a rolling pin...we've got it all covered. Outside, we've got the all sports lake, lots of decks, gas and bbq grills, tables and chairs, and, of course, a firepit. All you need is the ability to relax.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Great Vacation!

We stayed at this lovely house right on Intermediate Lake and loved it. The twins were very accommodating. They gave us all kinds of tips on places to go, things to do - they were so helpful!! The decks on the lake side are perfect for that morning coffee and the back deck is great for watching sunsets. The kitchen in the main house is not large but there are 2 others to use, so plenty of areas to cook in. There were 14 of us and it was ideal. The place was very clean and well maintained. We loved the location. It’s a great spot for exploring Central Lake, Bellaire, Alden and the Torch Lake area. You can walk to Central Lake and sample the goods at the distillery - what’s better! You won’t be disappointed !!
Aug 2017
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Central Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2760 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 25
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No Smoking. No Pets.
  • In the event of a cancellation, a refund will be issued if the property is re-booked for the same time frame.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • First Floor Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Main Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Duck Bathroom - toilet , shower , Located off the apartment and green bedroom
    Road House Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 25
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Balcony off this bedroom overlooks the lake
    Blue Bedroom - 1 queen
    Green Bedroom - 1 double , Connected to 'Duck' bathroom which connects to the apartment
    Road House Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Located in the Road House
    Road House Bedroom #2 - 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed has a full size bed on the bottom and twin on top
    Road House Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Full size sofa bed
    Apartment Bedroom - 1 queen , Located off the apartment. Most private bedroom.
    1st Floor Bedroom - 1 double , Next to the bathroom. Great for people with mobility issues.
    Lower Level Bedroom - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 2 bunk bed , 2 Bunk beds have a full size bed on the bottom, twin on top
  • Complete bed configurations: Queen-Size Beds (4), Full-Size Beds (4), Full-Size Sofa Beds (3), Bunk Beds (3) Lower bunk is a Full-Size Bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
You supply the linens (sheets and towels) & your toiletries.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
The Only Thing We Overlook is Intermediate Lake! Only A Few Weeks Remain for '18
average rating of 3.857143 based on 8 reviews
5

Truly A Gem!

  • 5 of 5

The Lake House offered our large family an opportunity to get-away all-together! From the moment we arrived into this clean, spacious home, we were able to launch into our vacation. The Irish Twins made sure we had everything we needed. They weren't kidding when they said "fully stocked" kitchens. Before our arrival, The Irish Twins were very kind and patient answering, all of our questions and providing all kinds of information before we left home. They also provided plenty of local information so we could get to know the area. The community is warm and welcoming! We're looking forward to returning this summer!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love the Big Blue House!!!

  • 5 of 5

What’s not to love about the BIG BLUE House on Central Lake! I have had the pleasure of staying at the lake house all four seasons of Michigan. Each time our families have had a wonderful experience. The home is well maintained and constantly being updated. It is always fun to return to see what’s new. The homeowners take great pride in their establishment and it shows. Our parties have included every age bracket and we all keep coming back for more. Whether it is a sunny day or a snowy day the view is spectacular. Then main house has five bedrooms and the lower level had been updated when we were last there. An additional six people can sleep there comfortably. In our group the teens/young adults gravitate there. When we are not on the water and enjoying the great outdoors, our group’s favorite gathering area is in the kitchen/dining/living area. We love to play games while we sit by the fire enjoying a beverage or two.

If you are looking to explore during your stay, we have found that there are numerous quaint cities nearby for shopping, the local pubs are always a hit, great local restaurants, and in the winter we love to hit the slopes.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

My favorite up north getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful huge home perfect for memorable family vacations located on Central Lake! I have stayed at the Irish Twins' lake house many times and look forward to it yearly . My family fits perfectly with all of the numerous bedrooms for adults, teens and kids. Each bedroom is decorated differently with cozy beds and plenty of space to relax. We all hang out in the kitchen and dining room, make plans for the day, eat a great breakfast (usually made by my brother) and enjoy everything that Central Lake has to offer! The older adults love going into town to shop and walk around while the younger ones step right outside the house to swim, use our boat and play on the lake all day long. Every night, we all gather around the fire pit to relax lakeside and listen to the crickets' concert and survey the vast up-north skyscape of stars. We are always impressed at how the Irish Twins truly care about us and make sure we have everything we need for a fun vacation. I treasure my beloved time with my family at this place and would definitely recommend this home. A GEM!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
-
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

The Irish Twins think of everything! Our vacation is so relaxing and since the Lake House has everything we need, we only have to decide "should we swim or read a book or play a game or what we want to eat, or...".

The house is always immaculate and spacious (we've been coming up for years). Rooms are fresh and nicely decorated. Every year they update something so it's always a nice to look forward to returning. The lake is shallow and sandy until the end of the dock. The little ones play in the water while we sit in the water on floats and soak up the sun. We cannot wait until we return and see the latest improvements the Irish Twins have made this year.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Due to a technical glitch, this review appears as if it was written by the owners rather than our satisfied guest. It was emailed to us by a frequent guest who asked us to post it on the VRBO review page. We erred by entering it in the incorrect location on the review page. We should have posted it in the field where owners post guest reviews. VRBO does not provide a means to remove or edit posted reviews. We are very sorry for any confusion it may have caused.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Michigan
2

Very disappointing

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at the Lake House for a week in August 2016; it was a disappointment. They say that it’s “perfect for large families” and sleeps 25 but that’s deceiving. The house is strangely broken up with the Lake House, the apartment and the Road House. The Lake House kitchen and living space is quite small and the kitchen was very hot to cook in. It was very inconvenient to cook in either the apartment or the road house because their kitchens weren’t fully stocked and we had to keep running back and forth. It was awkward the way you had to get into the apartment; either go up to the second floor in the Lake House and walk through a bedroom & a bathroom or leave the Lake House’s front door, walk past the driveway and up a flight of outdoor stairs. Most of the sleeping areas were fine except for the lower level walk-out in the Lake House. Yes, there were enough beds to sleep 7 but, it smelled very musty and two of the beds were in a “cave-like” area. There were other issues like torn screens that let the flies in, the grill caught on fire the first time that we used it because it was so dirty, no bathroom in the lower level so, if you were outside by the lake, you had to walk through a pathway, up the stairs through the Lake House to the bathroom. The main bathroom in the Lake House (on the second floor) bathtub drain was so clogged with hair; disgusting. Luckily, we had good weather and spent much of the time outdoors and the outdoor area was fine. Our large family always has a good time together and we tried not to let the problems in the home affect our week. We have spent a week together in the summer at various northern Michigan locations for the past 15 years and were never as disappointed with a place or the customer service of the owners as we were this year.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: During the past thirteen rental seasons, we have welcomed more than 100 groups of families vacationing at the Lake House. The group that wrote the two previous reviews were very unhappy because they were not refunded their entire damage deposit, due to the poor condition the property was left in, upon their departure. This is only the third time in thirteen seasons that we retained a portion of a damage deposit from our guests. We do not believe in using social media as a means to air grievances however, we feel we must address the inaccuracies in their reviews. During their stay, we were in communication with the renters and asked about any concerns or questions they may have regarding the property. With the exception of two concerns, they had no complaints. Both issues were quickly addressed and resolved. Because we retained a portion of the damage deposit, the renters filed a complaint with VRBO. VRBO investigated their claims and agreed with how we handled this unfortunate situation. We continue to be in good standing with VRBO. If you rent the Lake House, we have no doubt you will enjoy your stay at our property and all it has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
St Clair Shores, mi
1

Not a Good Place to Rent very disappointed!!

  • 1 of 5

We rented this house in early August 2016 and would not recommend renting from these owners.

When we arrived the rental was not cleaned well and after the grill caught on fire we called the owners. It took them a day to call back . I could list plenty of things wrong with this rental but here are a few: the ground level spelled like mold, the bathtub drain was clogged with hair, garbage cans had not been emptied etc. Then a couple of weeks after we were home - the owners cashed the deposit check with out our knowledge.

We have tried to contact them multiple times regarding cashing the deposit check and they have not returned calls, emails or text messages. We have been renting for over 15 years without any problems until we rented this place.

This rental does not deserve even 1 star!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: During the past thirteen rental seasons, we have welcomed more than 100 groups of families vacationing at the Lake House. The group that wrote the two previous reviews were very unhappy because they were not refunded their entire damage deposit, due to the poor condition the property was left in, upon their departure. This is only the third time in thirteen seasons that we retained a portion of a damage deposit from our guests. We do not believe in using social media as a means to air grievances however, we feel we must address the inaccuracies in their reviews. During their stay, we were in communication with the renters and asked about any concerns or questions they may have regarding the property. With the exception of two concerns, they had no complaints. Both issues were quickly addressed and resolved. Because we retained a portion of the damage deposit, the renters filed a complaint with VRBO. VRBO investigated their claims and agreed with how we handled this unfortunate situation. We continue to be in good standing with VRBO. If you rent the Lake House, we have no doubt you will enjoy your stay at our property and all it has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Map

Boat rentals available nearby.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 6.0%

Saturday to Saturday Rentals Only!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties