check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Peaceful 1-Bd Garden Apt w/Parking in Gorgeous Central Marin, 30 Min from SF

13 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Kentfield Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Comfortable apt. surrounded by nature, totally private but close to everything

This garden apartment is clean, spacious and extremely private. It is on the bottom floor of our private family home, on two acres of gardens, woodlands and redwood groves. The apartment comfortably sleeps 3 and comes with a queen bed and a twin. It has woodland views from every window, and includes a peaceful outdoor seating area.

The location of this apartment couldn't be more ideal. It is 2 minutes from charming downtown Kentfield, a minute from Sir Francis Drake (a main thoroughfare), 5 minutes from highway 101, 20-25 minutes from the Golden Gate Bridge, 30 minutes from San Francisco and 40 minutes from wine country. It is in the prettiest part of one of the most beautiful counties in the country - Marin - and close to everything. But here's the kicker: it feels totally removed, at the end of a road, with no traffic noise and total privacy. A secret oasis!

Overall the apartment is pretty basic, maybe a little dated, but spacious and comfortable, and in an incredible location. The kitchen is very 1970's, with solid oak cabinets and tile floors and counters, and fully equipped for cooking. The dining area seats 4, and the living area has a flat screen TV with premium cable package. The twin bed is in a nook off the living area. The living/ dining area has sliding glass doors that open onto a small patio with grill and seating looking over the woods.The unit doesn't get lots of direct sunlight but has a nice open feel due to all the glass amd woodland views. The enclosed bedroom has a very good queen bed and another sliding glass door, giving it lots of light. The bathroom is older and is definitely in need of renovating (particularly the shower), but is clean. It features a smallish shower but no tub.Please note that some footstep noise is to be expected from the family living upstairs.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Jenny Israel
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 13, 2016

About Jenny Israel

I am a native of Marin, and love everything about it! Hiking, beach barbecues on Muir Beach, Mountain Home Theater, burritos in the Mission, Fairfax Scoop, wine tasting in Napa... the list goes on and on.

I love Marin even more as I took a long detour from it. Our three children were born and raised in NYC, and I persuaded the family to move back here just last August. Quite the change, brownstone Brooklyn to nature-filled Marin! We love both but are so happy to have landed here.

I am an architect, an artist, and a stay-at-home Mom. I love yoga, hiking, hanging with the family, reading on the porch, and dinner with friends. My husband Sandy is a professional musician and teacher. We are a relaxed, creative family.

My motto? I guess it would be: 'Don't sweat the small stuff.'

Jenny Israel purchased this apartment in 2013

Why Jenny Israel chose The Bay Area

A huge attraction of this property is Marin County itself, one of the most magical places on earth. Marin is famous worldwide for it's astounding natural beauty and the huge amount of land protected for public enjoyment. There are few places on the planet where you can hike, mountain bike, surf, sail, horseback ride and camp on thousands of acres of untouched wilderness, all within an hour of a major city. The variety of fun to be had in the area is unmatched: all the restaurants, museums and shopping of SF, the stunning beauty and outdoorsy lifestyle of Marin, plus wine country just 40 minutes north. Can you tell I love this place?

Kentfield is in central Marin, the sunniest and mildest part of Marin. It is one of a string of charming small towns along the Ross Valley. I grew up one town over, in Ross, and have always loved this area, with it's nearby hikes, schools, bikes paths, restaurants, shops, and small-town feel.

What makes this apartment unique

Beautiful, serene property; total privacy, including private entry; designated parking space; incredible location convenient to everything.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Jennifer is a friendly host that provides a warm welcome to the well-decorated apartment in her beautiful home. We enjoyed the secluded location of the property that was still so convenient for quick travel by car to many destinations. The apartment was very comfortable for 3 guests with new linens, towels, and furnishings and a full kitchen and dining area for meals. My sons and I enjoyed the relaxing sylvan view of the mature landscaping and the color and aroma of the well-maintained garden entrance with jasmine and roses. Overall, a very pleasant visit for the week that we were sorry to see come to an end.
May 2014
  • 1 of 1


based on 13 traveler reviews

Peaceful 1-Bd Garden Apt w/Parking in Gorgeous Central Marin, 30 Min from SF
average rating of 3.6923077 based on 14 reviews

great owners; great location

  • 5 of 5

The property on which apt was located was extremely peaceful Jenny and Sandi are great hosts. Will plan to stay here again. Well furnished apt. Thanks, Jenny for an easy and wonderful stay

  • Submitted: May 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not Suitable For Seniors or Persons Physically Challenged

  • 1 of 5

The mostly gravel path from parking area to this basement leads to 20 irregular height gravel surface steps of varying width. These steps are hazardous at night due to the poor lighting.

The very small stall shower lacks a safety bar or safety handles.

Heavy footed walking and running and ball bouncing from directly above, especially in the evenings (up to 11:30 p.m. and later was more than mildly annoying! When we complained we were told by the owner that we "needed to understand that it is a family residence " above us and that they "would try" to minimized it......The noise continued through the end of our 3-week residence.

When the sink disposal jammed after I Inserted some leaves from a single artichoke the owner asked me to share the plumbing bill. When I reminded her that we had purchased her mandatory damage insurance she responded that she had forgotten that.

I cannot recommend the "Stetson Suite" to anyone looking forward to a problem-free getaway vacation.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Back again for another stay - Still great for me

  • 4 of 5

Stayed here again (third time) and again, Jenny shines as a great host. So easy to work with. The apartment has everything I need and the bed is very comfortable. So peaceful too. Like being away in the mountains. I'll be back for sure.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The ideal location

  • 5 of 5

The apartment could not have been better in any way. My husband and I were very busy visiting friends all over the bay area - the location is ideal and the apartment is very near to the highway, a shopping area where the best food could be bought and lot's more to tell. The apartment is close to anything you wish to see in the greater bay area but provides you with complete privacy and a feeling of being in another world. The owner Jennifer was very flexible - unexpectedly we picked up my god child and he could sleep in a bunker bed and it was not a big deal in having one additional guest for the stay.

I love to cook my own meals and fortunately the apartment provides everything that is required to freshly cook any meal you can dream of. It’s a pleasure to prepare meals and to sit at the table and enjoy the tranquility.

Should we ever plan to be in the same area we definitely will book the same apartment and then hopefully have more time to enjoy the wonderful nature around the apartment.


  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

This booking cancelled on me 1 week before arrival date.

  • 1 of 5

This booking cancelled on me 1 week before arrival date. And while all payments were refunded, it was very difficult finding an equivalent on such short notice.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was very regrettable, but we had a serious maintenance issue crop up unexpectedly and had to cancel for reasons of safety. This has never happened before or since, and we refunded the guest fully.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

It wasn't ready for us!!

  • 1 of 5

Even though we had booked several days in advance, we arrived to check-in and the long-term occupant, who apparently lives there most of the time, had not moved his stuff out and it had not been prepared for us. We were told we could wait several hours for the stuff to be moved and the housekeeper to make it ready. The host had not checked to make sure the place was ready for us. We had booked the place for five nights, so we suddenly had to make other arrangements because we didn't feel welcome or comfortable at this property. We had to find another place to stay on short notice over the Labor Day weekend when most places were booked and prices were high. Also, before arrival, we were told the gate would open automatically and there would be a parking spot to the right just inside the gate. However, the gate did not open and the parking spot was occupied. All of this was a huge inconvenience and I would NOT recommend this place as the host is not very diligent or responsible.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, we blew it on this one, and our most profound apologies. It was a perfect storm of wrong. We were trying to help out another guest by subletting his place while he was gone, but never received the email saying he never had time to clear it out and clean it before he left. We never double-checked the place (our bad) because he is the most reliable guest on the planet. On top of this, the gate glitched that day etc. Our poor guests, to our mortification, arrived to all of this. All we can say is that nothing like this has ever happened before, in any of our hundreds of bookings. Check the reviews on this and our other properties. We take great care to make sure our units are clean and ready. The failed experiment in subletting is over as too much is out of our control. Moreover, if the guests hadn't stormed out so abruptly we'd have been more than willing to make it right as far as possible: offer a couple of their nights free in exhange for waiting two hours for cleaning, etc. That said, we're very sorry that we let them down on this one.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1.3 Miles
Wipeour Bar and Grill
Nearest Ferry
2.3 Miles
Larkspur - SF Ferry
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 101
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Ambrosia Pizza, Pasta and Wine
Nearest Ski
180 Miles
Bear Valley Ski Resort, Bear Valley
Nearest Beach
13 Miles
Muir Beach
Car: recommended

Property is centrally located in the charming town of Kentfield, in gorgeous Marin County. Convenient to restaurants and shops, 30 min from San Francisco and 40 min from wine country. The house is walking distance from Kentfield town center, with Ambrosia Restaurant, Half-Day Cafe and Woodland Market. We are two minutes from bike paths and a 10 min drive to gorgeous hiking trails.

So much to do here! Check out the restaurants, museums and shopping in SF, only a half-hour drive away. Rent mountain bikes in the next town and explore Marin the high-adreneline way! Take an all day hike on Mount Tamalpias or Point Reyes, through redwood groves and chaparral and huge ocean vistas. See the sea lions, red-tailed hawks, maybe a bobcat if you get lucky! Kayak or stand-up paddleboard on the Bay. Stroll to downtown Kentfield and have one of the best brunches ever at Half-Day Cafe. Take leisurely walk in the lovely hills behind Kentfield. Take a wine-country tour and ship some of your favorites home. Grab dinner and a show at nearby Terrapin Crossroads, and get your Dead on. Or have an elegant dinner at Insalatas, 10 min away. Truly, this property, in this part of Marin County, is just wonderful.


Rates & Availability

Kentfield Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping fee $80 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Guests should note that this is a ground floor unit in a family house. As such, some footstep noise from above is to be expected. Most guests seem fine with this (only one complaint in at least 50 bookings), but guests should be aware of this in advance.

Guests agree to report any damage to the rental during their stay, and are responsible for cost of repair/ replacement. Most repair/ replacement will be covered by property damage insurance (this is why we require it!); costs that are not covered (plumber fees for disposals clogged by improper use, for example) will be taken from deposit. Renters agree to cooperate with insurance process in a timely fashion or costs will be taken directly out of deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kentfield Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Older bathroom, needs updating. Small shower, no tub.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Queen bed in bedroom. Twin bed in nook next to living room.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Mid-stay housekeeping available at an extra charge of $80 per cleaning. Please note that this unit is on the ground floor of our family home. Guests should expect to hear some footstep noise from above.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties