check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautifully Renovated Waterfront Cottage!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
nights

Description

Penn Yan House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath & Amazing Setting Right on the Lake! Pet Friendly.

Welcome to Water's Edge!

Water's Edge is a beautifully renovated cottage set right on Seneca Lake. It's just minutes from dozens of wineries, breweries and the quaint town of Penn Yan. With more than 90' of beachfront, a lush and level yard, a covered porch, picnic table, plus a 30 foot dock -- it is the perfect spot for you Finger Lakes vacation.

****Discounted Mid-Week Rates Now Available****

The main level features a fully renovated 'great' room with the kitchen, dining area, and family room - all surrounded by 3 walls of windows offering a panoramic view of one of the widest sections of Seneca Lake. The picturesque fireplace made of local river stone and new tongue & groove pine ceiling bring the natural beauty indoors. The side door leads to a private covered outdoor patio for another spot to relax in the shade or away from the rain (should Mother Nature send some your way.)

At Water's Edge you can get away from it all, yet still have the comforts of home:

The new kitchen features granite counters, all-new stainless steel appliances, new cabinets, a built-in microwave, full-sized refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, coffee grinder, blender, baking sheets, mixing bowls, utensils, grill tools and more.

Settle into the cushy leather sofa and love seat to enjoy the view, play a game, read a book, or - if you just can't leave technology behind - watch one of the hundreds of channels on the Satellite TV or use you own devices with the complimentary WiFi.

As you head upstairs you will pass the brand new bathroom which is now one of the most luxurious rooms in the house. In 2016, we greatly expanded the shower and finished the whole room with high end ceramic tile, lighting and fixtures.

Upstairs you have a sitting area with a queen size futon sofa/bed. Each of the 3 bedrooms have comfortable queen beds. We've decorated each room with beautiful prints taken by a local, professional photographer - and furnishings you will enjoy. Dressers, mirrors, side tables and lamps make each room both comfortable and functional.

And the views, oh the views! Leave the drapes open a bit and you might just catch the sunrise over the lake.

Aside from all of the cottage renovations, the best feature may very well be the lot. Water's Edge is located on a private lot at the end of a private road with only 4 other homes. The flat, level yard is perfect for games of badminton, whiffle ball, corn-hole, frisbee - or for just lounging around a campfire.

You get more than amazing lake views -- you get direct, easy access to the lake! The private beachfront is great for wading and swimming or launching a kayak or canoe. And the dock gives you a spot to secure and launch larger boats or jet skis. Whether you bring your own boat or rent one, there is a boat launch just a few minutes down the road.

There is truly nothing like spending quality time at the lake with family and friends!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Todd Cerino
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2016
Call Owner

About Todd Cerino

I was first introduced to Seneca Lake by my wife in 1994. She 'convinced' me to visit the lake with her family because she was from Rochester and her family had been going to Seneca Lake since the 1930s. So, I reluctantly went along. When I got there I was absolutely floored by the beauty of the region and by the vast scale and size of the lake. From the first day I arrived in 1994, I knew I wanted to spend as much time in the Finger Lakes Region as humanly possible.

Todd Cerino purchased this house in 2014

Why Todd Cerino chose Keuka Lake

Our home truly has a unique combination of accessibility, privacy, level yard, lots of beach frontage, and ZERO steps to the beach. It absolutely is the perfect property where you can gather with friends & family - and has the perfect location for you to unwind, relax and become clear-minded.

What makes this house unique

Our home offers incredible views of the lake from every room. You are intimately close to the 'Waters Edge' - so much so that the gentle lapping of the waves at the shoreline from your bedroom window will undoubtedly lull you to sleep each night. Last, the level yard allows you to spread out and enjoy family games of badminton, corn-hole, frisbee, etc. As soon as you step foot onto Waters Edge you'll immediately immerse yourself in "The Lake Life" at Seneca Lake.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Beautifully Renovated Waterfront Cottage!
average rating of 3.9333334 based on 15 reviews
5

A Hideaway Gem

  • 5 of 5

Snuggled in the the corner of Lake Seneca, this was a beautiful waterfront getaway. We listened to the sounds of autumn and watched a rainstorm over the lake.

Being in the heart of Finger Lakes wine country only adds to its charm.

The place is beautiful and well maintained.

We would recommend this lakefront hideaway to all of our friends.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! We've always felt that the lot & location of this cottage was very unique and very peaceful. It really is perfect for a group of 4-6 that want to be on the water and in the middle of the wine trail. We'd love to have you back as our guests at "Waters Edge"!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scranton, PA
1

A Lot of Potential but a Big Disappointment

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I booked this cabin for our honeymoon (October 9-12), and ended up leaving to stay somewhere else the morning of the 11th. When we arrived we were a little disappointed at the tiny bathroom and the extremely uncomfortable mattresses, but the overall coziness of the place and the beauty of the view were more important to us at that point. We realized quickly that the water from the tap was not safe to drink, and that the water pressure was inconsistent--also annoying, but still not enough to truly upset us. Since we love to sit by campfires we tried building one on a nice night but the setup of the firepit was almost unworkable, another big disappointment.

Then we saw at least once mouse in the bedroom we were sleeping in, and decided we would leave in the morning. As I got ready to leave the next day, I had barely stepped into the shower when the water turned ice cold, sputtered, and then cut out completely, leaving me shivering and only half-soaked. We were lucky enough to find a room at a b-and-b not far away called The Pearl of Seneca Lake, and wish we'd spent the entire trip there.

The best of say of this property is that we got a full refund.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Meg, Thank you for your feedback. As I mentioned on our call, we take guest feedback very seriously and act quickly to resolve issues when brought to our attention. Since your visit, we've had the house inspected by a local contractor (Bakers) and no evidence of mice were found. However, as a preventative measure, we hired Baker's to treat and monitor the entire property to eliminate the possibility of mice at the house in the future. Also, we replaced the water pump to ensure the house has consistent, uninterrupted water pressure. Since your visit, and after the items above were handled, we've had several other guests stay at the cottage. They all told us there have been no signs of mice and the water pressure works great. It’s unfortunate that you didn’t have a great stay at Waters Edge. For us, this cottage isn’t just a rental. It’s a place where my business partners and I take our families and friends to enjoy Seneca Lake. We hope the next time you plan to visit the Finger Lakes you’ll give us a second chance. Best Regards, Todd
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

beautiful get away

  • 5 of 5

We have been back a few weeks now and I have been meaning to write. This place was PERFECT !!! Peaceful enjoyable relaxing time. and of course had wished we had another day... and then after that another. And loved just hanging @ the house. We have a boat and the waters were a little rougher than what we are used to but totally enjoyed morning coffee and rides. Felt that was the calmest time of the waters. (Was when the hurricane was up the coast so not sure if the winds had anything to do with that.) Sunrises were gorgeous(didn't mind getting up for that) and even the sky @ night you saw the different colors in the clouds. hearing the water...sitting on the porch... and Todd was the best. He gave great advise. and was very helpful and PATIENT !!! Tom also. A pleasure to deal with them. Hope to be back. I had wanted to write in the book @ the house but thought I would when hubby left for the launch with boat but I had saw someone by house when I was helping him. assumed the cleaners so didn't go back in the house. I had brought a hummingbird feeder. the spot it was @ was not a clear spot for them to see but the day we were leaving sitting looking out @ that beautiful view room , a hummingbird came to the window just hung for a second and then took off. If hubby had not seen it also I bet he would of said YEAH RIGHT !!!! Perfect way to end our time... Todd I left the feeder so make sure you find a good spot for it. (your advise for the boat trailer..... THANK YOU.... I would of not been able to do that. Understandable once I saw what you were talking about) Enjoy Oct. bet it is gorgeous then with the leaves. Thanks for sharing your house. We also noticed this was the first time away we did not listen to music. just enjoyed the peacefulness..............

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Nice but there were some issues with AC Units and Water Went Away

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the Waters Edge for a week in August but unfortunately there were record high temperatures and humidity during that time period. This resulted in the portable AC units really struggling during the day and most of the night. I had to empty the drain on the downstairs one numerous times so that it would not shut-down. Upstairs was hot at night but the unit never shutdown. On Friday and Saturday the water started acting up, low flow and spitting. Due to the drought, we used bottled water for cooking and drinking but even then we lost the water and had to shut off the water pump so it didn't burn up. Good news was that it worked after not running for 8 hours, but with 5 people no water for showers and toilets is not a good situation.

Now for the positive comments-

Great location! Very close to Geneva and Watkins Glen and activities. We hit several wineries and a distillery. State Park is awesome.

Lake was great, didn't catch any fish but still caught a good time! Nice to walk right out and jump in or launch the kayaks!

Our 2 dogs loved it too!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is great feedback about the AC unit. While this guest stayed at the house for a week during an extremely long and hot/humid stretch this summer, the AC unit should not require this much maintenance - even if it is working as designed. It is designed to shut off automatically when the internal condensate tank fills up. This happens fairly frequently when it is very hot and humid outside. We will either replace the lower level AC unit, or find a way to allow the one we have to drain continuously. Also, we have fully addressed the water issue. Like most homes along Seneca Lake, our home draws water directly from the lake. The issue was the ceramic filter at the end of the water line at the intake point. We sent a diver out from Procter Enterprises and the ceramic filter has been replaced. We apologize for the inconvenience on your last day. The issue is fully resolved.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
3

Wire transfer

  • 3 of 5

Has anyone else been asked to do a bank wire transfer? And a $500 deposit? Just trying to make sure there isn't a scam. Owner claims to be in the UK? And can only transfer miner to that bank? Just doesn't seem legitimate. Thanks!

Thanks!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have no idea what this review is about. We are not in the UK, we do not require a bank wire transfer, and we actually don't even have a security deposit. I will take this up directly with HomeAway/VRBO. This person either has our property confused with another, or they were part of some kind of phishing scam - as the contents of this review has nothing to do with our property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

waters edge

  • 5 of 5

Our time at “Waters Edge” was very peaceful and relaxing. The reservation process was simple, and the house was exactly as we expected - not a new home, but very clean and true to the photos. We have two small children, so we had 4 at the house. My wife and I took advantage of the quiet time before the kids woke up each morning to make coffee & watch the sunrise. All I can say is WOW! Incredible views across the water every day. Really relaxing - especially while sitting & listening to the gentle lapping of the waves on the beach. The entire time we were there the kids alternated between swimming and playing in the yard. The house is located right in the middle of the western side of the lake, so it was ideally situated along the wine trail. Penn Yan is a 10 minute drive from the house. We also took the owner up on several suggestions for dinner spots. The Himrod Eagle was great, and Seneca Farms fried chicken in Penn Yan was phenomenal. We made two quick trips to Watkins Glen State Park to hike the Gorge Trail and also did the Outlet Trail starting in Dresden. The house is centrally located to everything. We ended up visiting 10 wineries total. Be sure to note that most of them close at 5pm. A few are open until 6. Fire pits by the water each night with S’mores was a great way to end each day. Great weather capped off a great week!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Penn Yan
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Penn Yan
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 14
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Bristol
Car: recommended

We are located in the heart of the Seneca Lake Wine Trail and are ideally located in the middle of the lake on the western shore. We are within 5 minutes of several world renowned wineries, and are within a 10-15 minute drive of all of the wineries along the western shore of Seneca Lake. We are also very close to Watkins Glen State Park, the towns of Watkins Glen & Geneva, and the villages of Penn Yan, Hammondsport, Dresden and Dundee.

Rates & Availability

Penn Yan House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $35 + Tax
Cleaning fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 4.0%

Nightly fee is for a 3 night rental. When we do a 2 night rental, the nightly rate is $350/night.

We accept VISA, MC, AMEX and Discover. We process our payments through a secure platform with our PayPal merchant account. We do not do partial payments or deposits. We consider the property reserved once we receive a signed/initialed/dated rental agreement back from our guests and verify that payment has been made in full. We have a generous refund policy that is spelled out in our agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Penn Yan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Full bath with shower, toilet and vanity.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • All 3 bedrooms feature queen beds, bed linens & antique chest of drawers.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • forests
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties