check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mark Spidell

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

The Alpen Den Condo on Four Mile Creek W/ Views of Mt. Sopris

43 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Glenwood Springs Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Check availability by clicking on the 'Calendar' tab.

This two bedroom and full bath residence provides you with ample space for relaxation after a long day of activities. The Alpen Den is located in the walk out lower level of the Alpen Haus (also on VRBO), has private access and offers a master bedroom with a king bed, walk in closet and separate outdoor access; plus a second bedroom with a king bed which converts to 2 twins if desired. There is a fully equipped kitchen which provides you the freedom of eating in if you’re unable to muster the strength to try one of the many fabulous restaurants in the area. Relax in the living room and enjoy cable TV, wireless internet, or simply unwind with a good book. A private patio along Four Mile Creek is the perfect place to view Mt. Sopris during the day or star gaze at night.

***Note - due to our location outside of town, we are only subject to 3.9% state and county sales tax vs. the 11% tax required at in town properties.***

This cozy apartment is the perfect home away from home for your Glenwood Springs vacation. The Alpen Den is a short drive to Glenwood Springs and many of the attractions the Roaring Fork Valley has to offer. Plus it is only about 10 minutes down the road from Sunlight Mountain Resort. Located in the serene hills just outside town, The Alpen Den is the perfect spot for wildlife viewing and stargazing. Why stay in town when you can enjoy this relaxing retreat which shares nearly 6 acres of wooded private property along Four Mile Creek. Accessible year round, The Alpen Den has it all.

Glenwood Springs is truly a wonderful vacation spot with all its available activities. We are clost to alpine and crosscountry skiing, hiking, snowshoeing, biking, rafting, fishing, shopping, or just soaking in the world famous hot springs... you’ll never run out of things to do! We are a pet friendly property and welcome both short and long terms stays.

We also own The Alpen Haus, The Bear's Den, and Casa Del Sol. They are all on the same property. Rent multiple unites to accommodate larger parties.

Approximate Distances to Local Attractions:

Sunlight Ski Area & Nordic Trails 6 miles / 12 minutes

Glenwood Hot Springs Resort 6.5 miles / 12 minutes

Spring Gulch Nordic Area 10 miles / 20 minutes

Downtown Glenwood Springs 6 miles / 12 minutes

Carbondale 10 miles / 20 minutes

Snowmass 30 miles / 40 minutes

Aspen 40 miles / 1 hour

Eagle County Airport 34 miles / 50 minutes

Vail 65 miles / 1 hour 15 minutes

Rifle / Rifle Falls 33 miles / 40 minutes

Palisade (Colorado’s Wine Country) 80 miles / 1 hour 30 minutes

Here are the links to the other listings if you are interested in having a larger group:

Alpen Haus - Sleeps 8 to 10

https://www.vrbo.com/699284

Bear's Den - Sleeps 4

https://www.vrbo.com/328501

Casa Del Sol - Great for couples, but can accommodate up to 4

https://www.vrbo.com/174015ha

***Special Note for winter guests - All wheel drive or four wheel drive autos are required when staying in December, January, and February. Difficult conditions may also exist in November and March. We have the driveway professionally plowed and generally do not have problems. However, inappropriate cars can and do get stuck as elevation changes exist on the driveway as well as the possibility of slick ice and deep snow. Stuck cars do cause problems as the driveway services three separate properties. You are required to provide information about the cars that will be driven during the winter. Guests that become stuck are responsible for all associated costs.***

Keywords: Condo

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Mark Spidell (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Mark Spidell

Mark and his family are experienced VRBO hosts with multiple properties in the area. Providing a great guest experience is something we take very seriously.

We respond to guest inquiries 7 days a week. Please feel free to contact us for information by phone, 970-948-9474, or email.

Mark Spidell purchased this condo in 2010

Why Mark Spidell chose Northwest Colorado

This house is just a short walk from our home. This allows us to be nearby if the need arises, but far enough away to provide privacy. With great views, the peaceful sound of the creek and the proximity to the great outdoor adventure, this property is truly special.

What makes this condo unique

This property is special because of its location and unique design. It is close to town but also feels rural. You can adjust your plans easily as it is near many different activities. Awesome snow at Sunlight...10 minutes away. Want to go river rafting...10 minutes away. Awesome snow in Aspen...45 minutes away. Want to going for a bike ride...leave from the house or drive a short distance to some awesome trails and paths.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The Alpen Den was very cozy, quiet and peaceful! Coffee with the sunrise was breathtaking. We enjoyed a wonderful visit and plan to bring our families next time. Thank you for a wonderful experience and opening your beautiful paradise to us!
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

4.8
based on 43 traveler reviews

The Alpen Den Condo on Four Mile Creek W/ Views of Mt. Sopris
average rating of 4.7674417 based on 49 reviews
5

Quiet, Clean, nice location

  • 5 of 5

The place was clean and well stocked. We enjoyed our stay as the location is private and quiet. Mark is very accommodating to his guests.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great dog friendly home! Close to Aspen, glenwood!

  • 5 of 5

Lovely home! Owner very quick at responding to questions! Great backyard and dog friendly!!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great

  • 4 of 5

The den was like being at home. Everything you needed but not just full of stuff. Mark was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Seeing the deer up close was an added joy.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Mountain vacation

  • 5 of 5

The place was very clean and had everything we needed. We cooked there most of the time but went out a couple times. Mark's recommendations for dinner were spot on. We enjoyed the horseshoes, badminton, volleyball and croquet that was available. We will be back!!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place!

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was great, out of town a little ways, but not too far. Even tho there were other guests upstairs from us, it was still very private. We used the grill and sat outside in the evenings. Everything was clean and the kitchen well stocked. I highly recommend this place and I would go back.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great getaway from the city. Has everything you need.

  • 5 of 5

Nice place that worked out very well for my wife and I and our dog. Good place to relax and stay while we planned hikes and day trips. Nice yard/game area in the shade by a creek. Grill/deck area was perfect for grilling steaks and burgers. Kitchen worked well for us to make meals. Could hear the upstairs guests walk around at times, but not too bad. Overall very nicely appointed with all the amenities you need.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Glenwood Hot Springs
Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
Glenwood Canyon Brewing Co
Doc Holliday's Grave
River's Restaurant
The Pullman
Riviera Supper Club & Wine Bar
Zheng Asian Bistro
Jimmy Johns
Nearest Airport
33 Miles
Eagle County Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Kanpai Sushi
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Glenwwood Springs Amtrak Station
Nearest Motorway
4.75 Miles
Highway 82
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Kanpai Sushi
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Sunlight Mountain Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Sunlight Ski Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Glenwood Hot Springs & Spa of the Rockies
Nearest Point of Interest
Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Excellent Restaurants!
Nearest Point of Interest
Glenwood Springs Community Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Yampah Hot Springs Vapor Caves
Car: necessary

During the summer we provide a dedicated area for badminton, horseshoes and other outdoor games!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Glenwood Springs Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Summer
Sep 7 2016 - Oct 3 2016
2 night minimum stay
$165
$900
$2,350
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Oct 4 2016 - Nov 21 2016
2 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$170
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Winter
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$145
$725
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday Season
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$170
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Ski Season
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
$825
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Break
Mar 3 2017 - Apr 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$159
$900
$2,220
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Springs
Apr 3 2017 - May 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
$825
$2,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Summer 2017
May 19 2017 - Sep 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$171
$979
$3,275
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$169
$975
$3,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 3.9%

Discount available for extended stays.

Pet fee is $15/night. Pet fee discounted for stays of 1 week or longer.

Our Cancellation Policy: If you cancel your reservation prior to 30 days before your check in date you will receive a full refund. Cancellations made after that time will result in non-refund of deposit unless we are able to rent the unit to another tenant.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Glenwood Springs Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2nd Bedroom can be configured as 1 king bed or 2 twin beds
  • (2) Twin air mattresses can be provided for up to 2 additional guests, preferably children. Portable Crib Available Upon Request.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties