Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious 450' owned waterfront on Twitchell Pond - 5 mins to Abram 15 to Bethel

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,920 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Spacious and Bright 4+ Bedroom, 2 Ba w/ Water Views & Private Beach/dock

Enjoy year round fun at our tastefully updated yet rustic and comfortable ski and lake getaway! Take advantage of your own private waterfront beach and dock right across the street, and beautiful lake views from every room in this sunny spacious home. We are under 15 minutes to Bethel (and a bit further for Sunday River) and just 5 minutes to Mt. Abram. In winter, enjoy the lake for snowmobiling or ice fishing or skating. In summer, enjoy the crystal clear waters and private beach with sandy bottom, swim float and dock for your boat. Canoe and kayaks are available for your use!

Please note that we do charge a higher daily rate for large groups of more than 12 people.

More Details

Property Manager
Rob & Leisa DuPuy
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Rob & Leisa DuPuy

We have owned several vacation rentals and this is by far our favorite! Nestled in the mountains, beautiful water views and close enough to Sunday River and Mt. Abram for skiing enjoyment.

Rob & Leisa DuPuy purchased this house in 2014

Why Rob & Leisa DuPuy chose Greenwood

It's a very large house with sleeping for everyone. It's been updated and has lovely views of the water.

What makes this house unique

It's updated yet still cozy! Being up on a hill makes for nice views!

Guestbook comments from the manager

My family and I rented this wonderful home for a week to spend with our parents. Although there is no cable and the men were not happy at first they survived as it was a nice break from everything. It does have internet which made them happy.The house has everything you need to make it feel like a home away from home. The owner is great to communicate with and resolves any concerns you have immediately. Don't let the outside of the house fool you. It looks like an older home but the inside is very modern. It fit all our needs. The kitchen was different for me to cook in because I have electric and it was gas but it was perfect. The house has plenty of sleeping space . We had 12 people and everyone was very comfortable. The 2 bathrooms were more than sufficient for our group. I would recommend renting this home if you are looking for some place in a remote location . The view is beautiful. Down the road is a small beach which is very nice. We spent a lot of time down there. The kayak's and small boat were used almost daily. This made the week a lot of fun for the "adult children". The fire pit is a wonderful place to sit at night and catch up and relax. I will certainly look at renting again. There is a little restaurant/bar about 15 minutes from the house which has great food. It's called Boomers.. Walmart is about 20 minutes away so it's not far to travel to get what you need.
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 3


Greenwood House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1920 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Max. adults: 20
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Full Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Upstairs Full Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Yellow Twin Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Two Twin Beds
    Living Room - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Day Bed w/ trundle, plus sofa bed, with door and full bath
    Blue Master King Bedroom - 1 king , Beautiful Water Views - 1 King Bed
    Green Bunk Bedroom - 2 double , 3 twin/ single , Set of Bunks with Trundle, (3 twins) & 2 Double Beds
    Green Middle Bedroom - 2 queen , 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Large bedroom w/ 2 Queens and Bunk w/ Twin and Full Below
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Spacious 450' owned waterfront on Twitchell Pond - 5 mins to Abram 15 to Bethel
average rating of 3.8 based on 8 reviews

Great spot for a large group

  • 4 of 5

I would definitely recommend this property. The house was well equipped with everything we needed. Beautiful views of the pond across the street. The house was very warm and inviting with plenty of space for everyone. It's about a 5 minute ride to Mt. Abram and 20 minutes to Sunday River, easy drives to both mountains. The comfortable couches and fireplace made a wonderful spot to come back to after a fun day out exploring winter. Overall, a great family vacation.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cato, NY

Renter beware

  • 1 of 5

This was rented for a group family vacation including young & old. We traveled from out of state & one of our group flew with her children & rented a car from Portland airport to join. Upon our arrival we noticed a foul odor emanating from the garage as well as a note from the housekeeper inside stating she'd "be back Sunday for the garbage". We opened the garage to find foul smelling garbage bags heaped just inside the door. When preparing everyone to settle for the night, we pulled out the trundle in the downstairs "bedroom/living room" to find mouse droppings all over it. Immediately we noticed, during the unpacking process, that cars were speeding past the camp & at least 2 groups were drag racing by. Later, we learned from a source that that happens often & it is "locals". One should bear in mind that if you want to walk up the street or allow your children to ride bikes or go back/forth across the street to the dock, it could be dangerous. By day 2 we lost some of our food due to ants in the cupboards & we had to buy ant cups to combat them. Among the house amenities included in the listing and the email confirmation we received 2 days prior to arrival was a hot tub. Well, we attempted to fill the hot tub as: It was a listed amenity; No contact from the owner indicated we couldn't use it or that there were any issues with it; There was no "out of order sign on it; There was no note inside (like with the garbage) stating it was broken. It was clear upon the attempt to fill it that it had issues so contact was made to the owner who stated that it had broken in January (it was now August), yet had no explanation as to why it was still listed nor why she failed to notify her tenants of same. Late that evening, the house well ran dry and we had no water with which to flush toilets, take showers, do dishes or laundry. The following morning we spoke by phone with the owner who claimed that it was our own fault due to the attempt to fill the hot tub! Her options included waiting for the rain(per weather report) or leave & get a partial refund. Leaving would have been a costly option for those who had flown. We had to rent a hotel room clear across town to take showers, buy bottled water to drink, haul water to flush toilets & despite our contacts to obtain half of our rental back for the added costs & disminished quality of our vacation, it's been met with opposition & we are still being told the entire issue is our fault. Be advised, renter beware.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take pride in the properties we have owned and managed for 11 years (you can see from our other positive reviews), and we feel terrible that these renters had such a negative experience during their vacation. We always try to make sound business decisions to ensure a positive rental experience, however in this situation, even after providing what we thought was a generous partial refund (considering most issues were out of our control), our refund was still met with a very poor review, and a charge back request for the full amount paid plus the amount we have already refunded. This is very disappointing considering we opened our home for a very reasonable price, spoke to them before they booked to set expectations, allowed them to bring their 3 dogs, and yet they stayed for the full 6 nights. As stated in our manual, our town dump is only open select hours/days during the week so we have a garage that is only used for holding trash (about 100 feet detached from the house down a hill). Trash bins are outside of this garage by the road so renters don't need to go into the garage, and it was picked up as promised the next day. I spoke with the renters before they booked about the 35 MPH road between the pond and the house, and I gave my honest thoughts and explained that we are priced lower than others because of this and it may not suitable for their group if this is a concern. The hot tub was NOT advertised on any listing, as we do not operate it in the summer because of minimal use, so broken or not was irrelevant. It was empty, covered, and was unplugged and there were no instructions on starting the tub so we did not feel it was necessary to put a sign on it. In our check-in file, however, we asked renters to call us if anything was not operational, but no one contacted us before plugging the hot tub in, turning on the outside water, then filling it with hundreds of gallons of water from the well on a 98 degree day during a drought. This was also after our caretaker discussed the drought and tub not being used upon arrival. The well ran dry right after the tub was filled and we did not feel as though we should be held responsible for the lack of water the renters had for about 2 days, but still we offered solutions, payment for showers locally, or a full refund for remaining days. If they were staying in such poor conditions, I question why they stayed the full 6 nights with a hotel secured and other properties available nearby.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Vacation House near Sunday River Ski Resort

  • 5 of 5

A group of us stayed here for the Christmas and skied at Sunday River, the house is so attractive compare what we stayed previously near Sunday River. the bedroom are so spacious with plenty of room for the adults to hang out. it is waterfront location on Twitchell Pond. We loved enjoying a cup of coffee in the morning. it has the most fancy thermometer in the house. we enjoyed so much for our 4 nights staying, we will definitely come back again!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your great review, we look forward to you visiting us again soon!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy setting near Sunday River & Abram!

  • 5 of 5

This is a great property with perfect location for Sunday River, Mt. Abrams and western Maine. We stayed here and skied at Sunday River, it is a quick ride and you can't beat the cozy setting with fireplace, spacious rooms (compared to anything up at the mountain it huge!) and gorgeous waterfront location on Twitchell Pond. We loved getting up in the morning and watching the pond (which hadn't quick frozen over yet) and enjoying a cup of coffee. It has great bedding and updated bathrooms and kitchen and plenty of room for the adults to hang out while the kids played in a next door room. Easy to operate gas fireplace was a favorite of the living room too. Also close to downtown Bethel and all the restaurants and don't miss the restaurant at the end of the road which had awesome breakfast, lunch and dinner!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your glowing review! We love staying at the house ourselves and I'm glad to hear others do as well. Please stay with us again soon!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Off Mountain option for Sunday River

  • 4 of 5

We were two families, 7 kids ages 3-12 yrs old. We made a rather last minute decision to spend the holiday week in Maine, and found the Twitchell Pond house as one of the last options avail as we started late. We had a great post Christmas and New Years! We were a little worried not knowing anything about the location, but it turned out to be within 25 minutes to Sunday River and just minutes to Mt. Abram, which if the weather and snow conditions were better would likely be a great little reprieve from the larger resorts. Tickets were under $50!!! Even with frigid temps, the house is very cozy, large enough for our whole crew and room to relax. The kids can play games,watch movies or hang out in the warm living room with fireplace. Very clean and plenty of sleeping options. The lack of cable TV was a nice change of pace and none of us missed it at all. (The boys did get to watch football up the road a bit at MT Abram's little pub/eatery which was great).

Owners available if needed for feedback but everything was simple and easy to understand about the house. Great little place to eat breakfast up the road. Lastly- the views of the pond every morning was a real treat. The ice fisherman and skaters made it feel remarkably set back in time.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review, please come and visit us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Mt. Abram
Car: necessary

5 minutes from Mt. Abram, 15 minutes to Bethel, 20 minutes to Sunday River, seconds to a beautiful lake! House overlooks the water, it is across the street, but there is a nice waterfront area with a dock and swim float and sandy bottom.




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties