check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Betsy Panagot

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hours NYC

43 Reviews
Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Eldred Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, sleeps 9

As featured in Dwell Magazine: a mix of modern architecture and old-world charm makes this 1820 manor home an inspired destination. Sited at the edge of a pristine Catskills creek, which laps against the farmhouse like an ancient moat, the home’s grand spaces, dramatic details, and expansive aura are as enchanting as the landscape surrounding it. An enormous kitchen features polished concrete floors, a wood-fired pizza oven, and a two-story wall of glass framing views of the brook, gazebo, apple trees, and barn. French doors lead to an expansive covered porch, suspended over the water’s edge, and the waterfall’s cascading rhythms fill the great room and master suite. Original cast-iron beds and wavy glass windows adorn all sleeping quarters, and vintage farmhouse furnishings abound throughout. Restaurants, farmers markets, river rafting, and concerts are all a country mile away. But the Floating Farmhouse is likely where you'll want to be. To learn more about our 5-star Catskills vacation rental, as well as hosting weddings, special events, and film/photo location shoots at the Floating Farmhouse, please visit floatingfarmhouse.com.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
Betsy Panagot (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 43 traveler reviews

Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hours NYC
average rating of 4.9534883 based on 43 reviews
5

A Piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This trip to the Floating Farmhouse was a homecoming to a very special piece of paradise for our family. You see, we were once the proud owners of this home. While my parents lovingly cared for the home and the property, we did not have the resources to breathe life into this aging beauty. Unfortunately, it did not pass directly into Tom Givone’s hands from ours so it was years before the home received the attention it deserved. The week was everything we could have hoped for. We were in awe of how Tom has mixed old and new to modernize and provide all the comforts you could wish for while keeping the soul of the home, and the surrounding property, intact. We spent five glorious nights enjoying the floating deck over the pond, having cocktails in the gazebo, playing croquette, BBQing, creating pizzas in the amazing kitchen, playing board games and listening to some great vinyl records! We reminisced about the wonderful times we had in this house in the past and are so grateful that we had the opportunity to make new memories. It was a homecoming we will treasure.

On the business end of things, our booking process with Betsy at Home Away was seamless. She was simply a delight to work with, was quick to provide availability and answer any questions we had right up until it was time for us to arrive. She even emailed us while we were there to check-in.

If you are reading this review and are undecided, look no further. This is a special place and it is heartwarming for us to know that others will also have the opportunity to make memories here.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We hosted our wedding here and it was magical!

  • 5 of 5

Everything about the Floating Farmhouse is just special. From the moment you walk in, you know you'll enjoy your visit and build memories there that will stay with you forever. We were fortunate enough to host our wedding here and let's just say, we couldn't have picked a better location. The house is special of course, but the property itself is so freeing and joyous. Our guests were beyond impressed, as were we. Tom & Betsy (the owner and the property manager) were very helpful and attentive to our needs. We can't come back for our anniversary! Huge fan!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We can't wait to have you back for your anniversary as well. Thank you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Magical weekend at a dream location

  • 5 of 5

The farmhouse exceeded absolutely all of our expectations - it is even more beautiful and impeccably designed than any of the photos you may have seen. We had eight girls stay up for a birthday reunion weekend and it was the most magical weekend! . There was more than enough space for eight to stay and relax - games are provided in the living room and the grassy backyard is the perfect place for a picnic. We went for runs, did yoga in the backyard, played cards and enjoyed the beautiful weather. The supermarket five minutes away in town had everything we needed for brunch and dinner feasts. The kitchen is as beautiful and functional as it looks - it is the perfect place to spend time cooking and catching up with friends or family. The whitewashed bedrooms are beautiful and the master bedroom is quite simply a dream room to wake up in.

Betsy was also the kindest and easiest host to work with. We are already hoping to plan our next weekend to the Farmhouse and take advantage of the nearby lake and activities in the summer months. That said, I don't know if it could be any more perfect!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

KITCHEN KITCHEN KITCHEN

  • 5 of 5

It is our 2nd stay to the home.

The kitchen is definitely the place where we spent most of our time and had a great time. And we all agreed that it is the most beautiful kitchen any of us has ever seen.

The weather as bright and cold.

The only downside: there is not so much to do in the area in winter.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Skiing at Black Bear mountain is about 20 minutes away, as well as hiking trails, and a couple of local towns offer great restaurants, galleries, and shops. But most guests spend winter weekends making pizzas in the wood-fired oven, listening to records, cozying up to the roaring fireplaces, and staring out the great walls of glass as wild turkeys, deer, and the occasional bear meander across the creek and through the meadow. Snow angels have also been spotted from time to time as well. Thank you again for the lovely review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5

When the Valentina Kova team walked into the Floating Farmhouse we couldn't believe how beautiful it was. Breath taking. Every single corner, nook, and cranny was thoughtfully designed and had a warm/calming atmosphere.

Each room was very clean, cozy beds, plenty of blankets & pillows, and temperate control. Bathrooms were very clean and beautifully designed. We would highly recommend taking a long hot bath.. Oh! and the two sets of washer/dryers were a plus!

Walking into the kitchen (with heated floors!) every morning after a sound night sleep, was one of the highlights of our trip. We sat in front of the windows with our coffee cups, and watched the snow come down outside. So peaceful. So pleasant.

Our team loved our stay and plan on coming back very soon! Definitely bring friends and family to enjoy this space with! Thank you for an incredible week Floating Farmhouse. xoxo.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful, secluded house perfect for entertaining

  • 5 of 5

Overall the floating farmhouse met my very high expectations! Was perfect for a surprise 30th birthday party weekend with a group of 11. Only 1 person has to sleep on the couch. We had amazing cooks in our group so the large format kitchen was perfect. The Sonos sound system was great for entertaining as well! Thank you Betsy!

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12.5 Miles
Sullivan County International Airport
Nearest Train
23 Miles
Port Jervis
Car: necessary

The Floating Farmhouse, located in the heart of the Catskills, is just outside the historic hamlet of Narrowsburg, NY. This postcard-perfect little town, perched high on the cliffs overlooking the Delaware River, offers antique shops, art galleries, SOHO-style stores, a coffee house, and elegant Al fresco dining along the banks of the river. Also nearby is Skinner’s Falls, where you can swim, canoe, go inner tubing, or just sun on the rocks and read the Sunday Times as the pristine waters gurgle all around you. Closer to home is Lake Superior State Park, which features a swimming area, sand beach, picnic areas with grills, and rowboat and paddle boat rentals. Henning's Local, a group-friendly restaurant close to home as well, emphasizes locally grown ingredients and bold flavors, served in a grand, rustic space overlooking a small lake. The Bethel Woods Center for the Performing Arts, a 15-minute drive, features artists like Dave Matthews and The Moody Blues. Golf and horseback riding are both within 20 minutes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Eldred Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $150 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas to New Year's
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $150 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter Holiday
Apr 13 2017 - Apr 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$900
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$900
 
 
July 4th Weekend
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $125 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Cleaning $200 + Tax
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

$750 per night for up to six guests, and an additional $125 per night for each guest thereafter.

$900 per night for up to six guests holidays, and an additional $150 per night for each guest thereafter.

Security deposit amount based on size of party/duration of stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Eldred Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • master bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Master suite - 1 king , includes en suite bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single
  • The master suite is very large, encompassing 500 square feet, and includes an en suite bathroom. The other four bedrooms, identical in size, are 12 ft. by 12 ft. A pull-out couch is offered in the great room, and a queen-sized inflatable bed is available as well.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties