check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Here Comes the Sun: Sandy Beach, Paddle Boat, Fenced in Yard, Pet Friendly

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

Huddleston House Rental Photos and Description

Here Comes the Sun - 3 Bedrooms, 2.0 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This home is adorable! The lot is nearly flat plus there is a sandy beach. There is another 800 sq ft of game room (pool table, ping pong darts) in the detatched garage and a playhouse for the kids. The roadfront side has a screened in porch for morning coffee. The waterfront side has a spacious deck with room for everyone and a killer view. Once inside the home, you will love the decorations and furnishings. A mix of contemporary art meets relaxed lake style make this one of the most comfortable homes on our rental program. The bedrooms are spacious and the living rooms are open and inviting There is a quaint fenced garden party outdoor area for entertaining or so fido can get some exercise without mom and dad having to worry about him running off. The sandy beach area is great for the small kids too. There is a gazebo at the water. The garage has a pool table that converts into a ping pong table, darts too! There is a treehouse and paddle boat (rebuilt and completely functional 12/1/2017) as well for the kids. There is a firepit for roasting marshmallows or sharing drinks with friends.

On the entry level, you will find the kitchen, a small breakfast nook, the larger dining area that is open to the living room, a bedroom and a full bath. The laundry room is also on the main level. The living room and dining area have sliding glass doors that open up to an impressive deck overlooking the lake. With seating for 8, table with umbrella, and a gas grill, this is the perfect entertaining spot for any group. Upstairs, there is a rec room and 2 additional bedrooms that share a full bath in the hall. The rec room has a tv and game system for the kids. There is a small deck off the rec room too. With all the extras in this house, you will want to make this your vacation home for years to come. BEDDING INFO: |Main Level: #1 QueenUpper Level: #2 Queen, #3 Twin bunk beds|

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Jessica Bailey or Shannon Jenkins
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2016
Call Manager

Guestbook comments from the manager

We loved your home. Thanks for sharing. Hope to come back soon.
May 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Here Comes the Sun: Sandy Beach, Paddle Boat, Fenced in Yard, Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 10 reviews
Southern Indiana
4

Comfortable and casual weekend

  • 4 of 5

This weekend was our first visit to Smith Mountain Lake, and we had a wonderful time. The house was roomy and comfortable for our family with 2 teenagers and pets. We enjoyed the fire pit in the evenings, and the game room with ping pong, darts, foosball, and a pool table made for a lot of family fun. The pier right on the lake was great for early morning fishing. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots, and pans. The broken paddleboat was a disappointment. Otherwise, we had a great time and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are glad you had a good time with your family. We are working on the paddleboat. We had repaired it about a month ago, but it seems that it will need to be replaced. Let us know if we can help you with any future SML stay needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Virginia
4

Peaceful and relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful and cute cottage. Perfect little weekend getaway. Paddleboat was broken when we got there, but still enjoyed the lake beauty.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive words. I'm sorry about the paddle boat. We are removing it from the listing and the property at the end of the month. I'm glad you had a nice stay! Let us know if we can help you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alexandria, VA
5

Amazing house, great location

  • 5 of 5

My sister and I decided to change up our normal international summer vacation to stay stateside and just relax this year. This house, SML and the community were just want we needed. The house was super clean, had everything we could ever need and was perfect for the two of us and our dog. The neighborhood is 5 mins from the State Park that offers trails, bike rides, a beach and boat rentals. It was the perfect location. The water was so clean and clear that many days we just jumped in off the dock and floated around. As did the neighbors who were so nice and friendly. Its about a 15 min drive to Moneta which offers lots of restaurants and grocery options. I can't wait to come back and have told all my friends about this hidden gem. Thank you for providing the most relaxing week in a long time.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We would love to have you back anytime. Make sure to contact us offseason for discounted rates for our previous renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable cottage on the lake

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had never been to SML and decided to go there this year to see what it's all about. We found out that the lake is just so beautiful and clear, it is a wonderful place for relaxation and to de-stress. Our cottage was perfect. It had 3 clean bedrooms and 2 clean baths, which is all we needed. We brought our two dogs and the fenced in area provided for them was just perfect. The owner surely had dogs on her mind when she built the fence. It was great. The pier and the gazebo was so nice to sit in and relax in the evenings. The firepit was a hit as well. The owner has done a great job making sure everything was there for us. We definitely would like to return here. Perfect locations; perfect experience. We highly recommend this cottage (just don't book it when we want to visit again!).

The cottage is near the state park, which has a wonderful beach area for the family. We want to rent a pontoon boat the next time we visit. So many things to do at SML. Kids will love this place! Great first visit.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

We just wrapped up a one week stay, and we loved every second of our trip! The home is beautiful and decorated perfectly, with great views of the lake. The weather was perfect for the week, and we spent hours relaxing on the water. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Here Comes the Sun. We appreciate your business and would love to have you back next time you vacation at SML!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful Lake

  • 4 of 5

I stayed with my family for Memorial Day weekend. The property was true to the description -- sunny, good for families, and dog friendly. The house was clean and the water near the dock was clear. However, when we arrived at the check-in time they couple (and their young daughter) was still working on the house. In the downstairs bedroom the ceiling fan stopped working and they were replacing it. The couple was very nice but we found it hard to relax while they were there. Finally after more then three hours my husband offered to help and the fan was installed within ten minutes. Additionally, it would have been nice if the outside patio and paddle boat was clean. We clean the paddle boat but it smelled horrible. Despite the few hiccups we would recommend this property to others.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I apologize that the maintenance on the ceiling fan took longer than expected. The cleaners weren't expecting to come into it not being functional so they did the best they could to get things in working order in the time they had. We appreciate your husband lending a hand, too. Thank you for letting us know about the paddle boat. Honestly, this is the first I'm hearing about it. I wish you would have called the emergency number to let me know so we could have sent someone out to clean it up for you. If you ever have any issues like that in the future, make sure to give us a call. The emergency number that's in your check in package and on our voicemail at the office is my direct 24/7 cell phone number. We want to make sure you enjoy every part of your stay, so don't hesitate to contact us.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Here Comes the Sun

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Huddleston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , Bathroom 1
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , Bathroom 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - Bedroom 1
    Bedroom 2 - Bedroom 2
    Bedroom 3 - Bedroom 3
Entertainment:
  • Foosball
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe
Suitability:
  • pets considered

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties