Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy carriage house in the heart of Rosemary Beach: Big Thyme Carriage House

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

house, 600 sq. ft., 1 bedroom, Sleeps 4, 2 bathrooms

There is currently a large condo building construction project going on next door, which will likely be disruptive for your stay.

The Big Thyme Carriage House has everything you need for a perfect getaway. It’s a few blocks from the beach, has a small kitchen for simple meals, and it’s located right in the middle of the Rosemary Beach community with access to everything that makes it great: shops, restaurants, and more. Although it’s best suited to couples, it has a sofa sleeper for the little ones that might just need to tag along. It’s a great match for small groups that don’t mind giving up some space in exchange for an affordable stay in the heart of Rosemary Beach.


More Details

Property Manager
InvitedHome West Florida
Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018


Rosemary Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy carriage house in the heart of Rosemary Beach: Big Thyme Carriage House
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews

Beware: Photos Oversell the House

  • 2 of 5

I will offer a few positives; my wife has plenty of negatives below:

Price - very affordable. It is discounted because of nearby construction, which we knew.

Location - close to everything in Rosemary Beach.

Now the negatives:

The photos and description listed by the owner or property managers grossly misrepresent the carriage house. (We took accurate photos).

The space is extremely small. We were traveling with our two year old and there was not space to set up his very small travel pack n play. Not just in the bedroom; in the entire carriage house.

It states that there is an oven. There is not. It is a very small toaster oven. The kitchen is tiny and the stovetop is an old and worn electric coil stovetop. The counters and appliances are outdated and the cabinets are chipping paint. The shallow sink does not have a garbage disposal. The kitchen trash is a small plastic bin just pushed against the wall.

They state that it sleeps four. To sleep four you would need to open the sofa sleeper. The living room does not have room to do this without moving large furniture around or completely blocking off the kitchen and bath.

The only tiny closet for clothes is also the closet that stores the cleaning supplies, brooms and vacuum.

The bed is pushed up against the wall below the jutted out window frame. It does not have a headboard. Without using every pillow in the place it is impossible to even sit up in bed to read or watch the 16" tv.

The half bath is outdated and tiny. It does not have counters or storage.

The master bath is outdated and worn. And it only has a small shower. The description says the place is kid friendly. Toddlers and infants are not usually happy about showers. And the sinks are all too tiny to even bathe an infant.

The washer and dryer are in the garage below the carriage house. You can only access the garage from outside. So you have to haul your laundry outside and down and up steep stairs.

The property managers kinda-sorta tried to find us a solution. We offered to pay to upgrade to the main house. They agreed. We repacked and were ready to move. Then they said we still had to pay for the carriage house. So their solution was for us to rent both places, with no refund on the carriage house, at an additional $1,100. We declined. We wasted most packing and unpacking for nothing.

We have stayed along 30A since 2001. This was our first bad experience.

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Based on the feedback that you provided, our team has reviewed the home listing for accuracy and we hate that we weren't able to find a new housing option that worked for you during your stay. We hope that you'll give us another chance in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great location.

  • 5 of 5

Nice accommodations . Construction noise a little of a bother early morning but we were aware of this before renting

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review! We're glad the construction wasn't too disruptive for you. We would love to have you again the next time you're in town.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. It was absolutely perfect for the two of us with everything we needed. You're truly in the heart of Rosemary and within perfect walking distance to anything you need. Can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to have you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

wonderful getaway spot!

  • 5 of 5

wonderful, charming getaway spot in the heart of Rosemary Beach. My wife and I greatly enjoyed it!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would love to have you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect for us!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I loved this carriage house. It was perfect for our weekend getaway. Great location within Rosemary, right off the main square and very easy walking distance to Main St., the beach, and the pools. We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you again. It sounds like you had a great trip.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

26 New Providence

  • 5 of 5

26New Providence was delightful, very close to village and beach. Laura was very accommodating and switched us from an active construction area to this wonderful cottage. Thanks for a great visit.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review! We're very glad we were able to accommodate your reservation change and that you had a great stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

You might like these similar properties