Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Romantic Waterfront w/Hot Tub on Wine Trail Accepts Pets

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Delightful updated year around 2 bedroom cottage with lake frontage.

This is a delightful modern year around cottage - recently updated and redecorated. Large modern kitchen and bath with walk-in shower. Two spacious bedrooms each with queen beds. Large living room with dining area and great lake views through two sliding glass doors to the full width deck overlooking lake. There is a new queen sofa bed in living room, along with new large smart screen TV. Cable programming and high speed Roadrunner wireless. Very nice hot tub. Outdoor charcoal grill and fire pit. Very nice yard and beach frontage, along with dock. Delightfully decorated. Well maintained and exceptionally clean. Kayaks and bikes available to rent for $25/day/item - delivered to cottage. Rental includes our Wine Trail Card - good for free wine tastings and discounts on purchases.


Owner
Pat Hoke
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 31, 2017

About Pat Hoke

My family has been on Seneca Lake since 1930 and this is the first home I have owned. We have a large family and this is the 6th cottage that we own. I chose this cottage because my siblings and I have a very strong connection to the lake and the area (we all live out of state) and it is our favorite place to come and relax. We all became familiar with the water as babies, and it continues to draw us back. Some of my best memories (I'm 30 and single) have been at the lake. I've made quite an effort to modernize and update my cottage recently, so that I and my guests will thoroughly enjoy staying here. I love the location and the yard. It's very bright and peaceful, with expansive views of the lake and surrounding natural setting. I feel very much at home there and I hope you will too.

Pat Hoke purchased this cottage in 2014

What makes this cottage unique

I chose this cottage because it reminded me of my grandfather's cottage when I was growing up, and because it was very well maintained. I especially like the way it feels. Cheerful and homey.

Amenities

Penn Yan Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Modern bath with walk in shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Newly decorated
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Newly decorated
  • Bedrooms 1 and 2 each have a queen bed and are newly decorated
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
33% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Romantic Waterfront w/Hot Tub on Wine Trail Accepts Pets
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
5

Nice place as expected. We enjoyed everything and it was perfect for our visit

  • 5 of 5

It was nice as expected and exactly as described. We mainly slept and showered there as it's more of the off season but it would be great in the summer as well.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brendan we appreciate your wonderful comments and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our housekeeper does a great job and we will pass your review along to her. She will also be pleased. Thank you for taking the time to write and for staying at our cottage. We hope to see you again. Regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quant and clean quiet setting

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our fall stay in this quiet setting. The home was clean and decorated nicely. My only complaint is that the listing says it comes with wine cards. They are available if you travel I miles away to pick them up. This should have been mentioned prior to arrival so we could have stopped on our way in otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jamie your comments are very much appreciated, as is your suggestion for the wine cards. We will make that clearer to our guests in the future. FYI - the wine cards are complimentary for our guests. They are not included in your cost for the cottage. We buy them for our guests because we feel they offer great savings, and the only charge to you is if you lose a card. We do not leave them at the cottage because not everyone uses them, but they are available at our office if a guest requests it. Thank you. Glad you had a good time. Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wadsworth, Ohio
5

Nice cottage on the lake close to many wineries

  • 5 of 5

We had a very nice stay. The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed. The location is very convenient to access the wine trail and it's close to Geneva and WatkinsGlenn. We had a great weekend!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michelle you were a great guest and took good care of the cottage. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your comments and please come again. Regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Location

  • 4 of 5

Nice property near the vineyards and quiet. Good for kayaking and biking. House is charming and cozy. We had a few issues but the owners took care of them.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Barbara we appreciate your feedback very much, and having you as a guest. We would be pleased to have you stay with us again. Regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great view but needs some work

  • 3 of 5

We had a nice stay and found it to be suitable for our needs which were mostly sleeping, showering, and enjoying the hot tub at the end of a day.

That said, the interior is in need of some renovation. There is a lot of shoddy "craftsmanship" throughout. For the price paid you're getting a nice view and a hot tub. If you're not planning to use the hot tub it's definitely overpriced.

It's also located more toward the north end of the lake on the west side. About 20 minutes from Geneva and 30+ to Watkins Glen. This makes it somewhat inconvenient if you're leaving from the cottage to go to dinner or breakfast.

In short - I wouldn't be against staying again but I do think I'd look a little harder for a comparable place that's either less money, better located, or more recently updated.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our cottage has received consistently and universally high praise from reviewers, and from far more guests who do not write reviews but have sent us messages telling us about their excellent experiences. Two of the most frequent comments are that the cottage is exceptionally clean and well cared for, and that it is very convenient to wineries, micro breweries, restaurants, stores, etc and central to the places they wish to visit. The cottage is in the heart of the Wine Trail, 12 minutes from Geneva, 23 miles from Watkins Glen, and 6 miles from Penn Yan, where there is a 24-hour super market, several restaurants, stores, gas stations, and a movie theater. It is 1 mile from the 6-mile Outlet Trail for hiking between Seneca and Keuka Lakes, one of the best diners in the Finger Lakes for breakfast and lunch, and two excellent ice cream places. Nearly everything in the cottage is about 2 years old, the [point when we completely redid the cottage]. Last year the deck was pressure washed and restained. All the rooms are big, and the living room, with 2 sets of sliding glass doors, opens onto a full width deck facing the lake. The property is very quiet and peaceful with awesome views. It has a very nice dock, beach, and fire pit. We appreciate these guests staying with us, and they took good care of the cottage, but their observations are disappointing, given how hard we and our housekeepers work to provide a positive experience for our guests every time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful weekend

  • 5 of 5

Well maintained, sweet little house. Perfect for a weekend getaway

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kim it was very nice having you as a guest and we're pleased that you enjoyed our cottage. The housekeepers do an excellent job and they love to hear from our guests, as we share our reviews with them. You took very good care of the cottage and we thank you for that. We hope to see you any time you're in the mood for Seneca Lake and the Wine Trail. Regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Rochester
Nearest Golf
13 Miles
Seneca Lake Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Himrod Eagle
Car: necessary

Cottage located in center of Seneca Wine Trail. Within 7 minutes of 24-hour supermarket, gas stations, restaurants, shops, and movie theater. Within 5 minutes to Outlet Hiking and Biking Trail.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Wine Travel Card $0
Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning $75 + Tax
All linens and towels $0
Tax Rate 4.0%

Check in begins at 4pm on arrival day. Pet fee is $25/day - $150/week. Upon departure, please remove all food and trash. Thanks

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties