check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

4 Bedrooms - Large Deck With Sun And Shade - Great Ocean View!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Surfside Beach House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10


Mermaid's Tale has 4 separate bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a washer/dryer on site. There is a nice large area for sunning on the upstairs deck as well as a large area covered for shade. There is also an additional cement area downstairs perfect for an afternoon BBQ. The property is just a few steps from the sand and surf with a great view of the Ocean. There is also an outside shower - great for rinsing off from a day at the beach before going upstairs.

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 31, 2016
Call Owner


4 Bedrooms - Large Deck With Sun And Shade - Great Ocean View!
average rating of 3.5 based on 2 reviews
Sugar Land, TX.

Great house at a great price!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this property for our annual family vacation in Surfside Beach. We loved the fact that the deck had a sun area and a shade area. The addition of the swing on the deck was very nice, we enjoyed swinging in the evening. The outdoor shower was also nice. Four bedrooms was ver nice so each couple had their own space. Thanks for sharing your lovely home! Great rental from start to finish :)

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Classic beach rental, you get what you pay for

  • 2 of 5

We made last minute plans for this rental and had limited options but figured this house would be sufficient for a weekend away which, it was. I would describe this beach house as a classic rental, meaning the house was a little older, some wear and tear (e.g., stained bathtubs), with minimal extra features. The house did the job and we had a good weekend but we would not return for a few reasons. First, we paid for the linen rental but when the linens arrived the towels and linens smelled like smoke, I informed the property managers so hopefully this won't happen to future renters. Second, after reading the rental agreement, I called one of the managers to confirm cleaning expectations and was told that rarely are guests charged and to leave the property as we found it. Unfortunately that was not the case. The property manager charged us for excessive cleaning and a broken chair, which was broken when we arrived. Although I did not notify the mangers immediatley, I did send an email letting them know about the chair and few things that were broken or needed attention which, I thought was sufficient.

Be advised, you are expected to clean this beach house thoroughly. We did basic cleaning as per the contract but apparently full cleaning is required. Items were were charged for include a dirty trash can, freezer rack covered with ice, spills in fridge/freezer, dirty floors (which we swept and vacuumed), sandy tub, and a dirty toilet. The contract did not stipulate the excessive cleaning that was required. Moral of the story, you get what you pay for.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As the renter has stated, this is a basic rental with an awesome view of the water at a GREAT rental rate. The property was available last minute due to a cancellation. The linens having an odor of smoke was reported by the renter on their way home, if this had been reported upon check-in we would have been happy to replace the linens or offer a full refund. As for the cleaning charge, we do not charge a cleaning fee to help keep the cost of the rental to a minimum. The renter did ask what the expectations were, we indicated that we expected the renter to leave the unit as close to the way they found it as possible, we would come in between renter's and sanitize, check furnishings, etc. When the renter called after the $50 excess clean charge was deducted from the deposit, she indicated that would take her hours to get back to the original state. She also indicated if she did not receive a refund she would be "writing a review." We do not appreciate being "threatened" with a bad review if money is not refunded. The floors were not swept and vacuumed, and the mop was dry. We do not charge for minimal cleaning, but if we have to take a fridge apart because there is a red substance all over the walls, and ice is frozen on the bottom of the freezer that we have to chip out, and feces is splattered on the toilet that we have to scrub extra and the trash can is filthy at the bottom (under the bag) which takes hot water to remove all, then yes - that takes extra time and that cleaning charge must be passed on to the renter. The broken chair was also reported upon CHECK OUT after the renter was on their way home. The cleaning crew indicated the chair was not broken after the prior rental. The contract does state minimum charge for excess cleaning will be $50 - this is noted right after it says "leave the property the way you found it or better!"
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Surfside Beach, voted Best Gulf Coast Town by Gulfscapes Magazine, has miles of beautiful beaches most of which you can drive on, take long walks, and enjoy kiting. There are numerous canals, bays and popular fishing spots all located 58 miles south of Houston, TX. Surfside is where you will find a community of people who love the area and welcome visitors. A family oriented community far enough away from the hustle of a commercial beach town to enjoy the relaxation of a beach vacation but close enough to the hot spot of the Galveston boardwalk.


Rates & Availability

Surfside Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%

$200 due within 7 days of booking, balance is due at least 2 weeks prior to arrival. Damage/excessive cleaning deposit of $200 required.

Payments must be cashiers check or money order only. We will accept a personal check if your stay is 30 days or more away. We do not take credit cards.
Off-peak (Oct. 01 - April 30) 3 night weekend is $650.00 Peak (May 01 - Sept. 30) is $950.00. Monday - Friday Peak Special (4 nights) is $950.00

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Surfside Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1291 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing

Partner Offers