Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

RIVER BEND LODGE (Au Sable River): Sleeps 6 -Pets are Welcomed!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom, sleeps 6 - Au Sable River-cable TV, pets welcome, washer & dryer

River Bend Lodge- Mio

SLEEPS: 6 comfortably  (with additional sleeping for 2,  if needed)

BEDROOMS: 3

BATHROOMS: 1

*RIVER FRONT (Au Sable River)

*SNOWMOBILE FROM PROPERTY

*SWIMMING ON PROPERTY

*PETS ARE WELCOMED

This is an ideal getaway to create your small family memories along the the famous Au Sable River in Michigan's lower peninsula. This 950 sq ft. classic cabin has been remodeled during 2014-2015. It's charm revolves around the classic log exterior mixed with the modern interior. You'll find the basic amenities from home in this classic year-round cabin. Outside fun, campfires around the fire pit and endless opportunities to explore the grand Au Sable River await. Let your ATV, mountain biking or snowmobile trip begin right outside the cabin door.

Location: The cottage is just past Commings Flat, on the opposite side of the landing, about 20 minutes past Commings Plat.

Bedrooms and Bathroom:

Bedroom #1: 1 Queen-size bed

Bedroom #2: 1 Full-size bed

Bedroom #3: 1 Full-size bed

Bathroom: Full bath with a washer and dryer in there as well.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

ATV/Quad use: Enjoy the Bull Gap trail head just 2 miles from the Lodge! Drive directly on the local/county road 608 trailhead. All county roads have a max speed of 20 mph for ATVs. Pick up a great trail map for $2 at the local hardware store in Mio.

Beach/Swimming: The closest swimming beaches are Loon Lake and Wagner Lake.

Boats: You will be able to keep your boat at the site, but to launch it would have to be in Mio or Cummings.

Cable: Yes, there is Direct TV.

Dining Area: There is a dining room table that sits 6 people.

Deck: There is no deck, but there are stairs that have a landing at the bottom to stand and get your tube or canoe in the water or to fish off of the property.

Dock: There is not a dock.

Fire pit/Firewood: Yes, there is a fire pit. Please provide your own wood!

Fishing: You can fish right off of the property.

Grill: Yes, there is a propane grill.

Internet: No we are sorry, there is not internet at this time.

Linens: Yes, we provide your sheets and linens.

Pets: *Pets are welcome! Freshwater Vacation Rentals currently charges $50/per pet. 

Swimming: I would advise not to swim off the dock. However, it is a great place for tubing so you can tube right off the back.

Towels: Yes, we provide towels. It's always good to bring extra though.

Washer and dryer: Yes, there is a washer and dryer.​

Canoeing/Tubing/Kayaking: The Au Sable is Michigan's most popular river for paddling! You can rent canoes from a variety of places. It is a little over 6 miles to canoe directly from the cabin to McKinley Landing. McKinley Landing is what we consider the easiest place to remove your canoe, tube or kayak.

Launch/Landing sites: Yes, you can launch or land your canoe/kayak or canoe directly off the River Bend Lodge dock!

Launching from the River Bend Lodge-

McKinley Landing: The easiest landing spot for your canoe trip LAUNCHING from the River Bend Lodge.

To get to the landing from the River Bend Lodge. It is a 2.5 hour ride (by canoe) from the cottage (a little over 6 miles)

1. Take Green Road back to the main road.

2. Turn Left onto the main road

3. Travel 5 miles on the main road

4. When the road ends, turn left.

5. The landing is on the Left hand side

Landing at the River Bend Lodge

If you want to LAND to the River Bend Lodge, you can launch from Mio at M33.

You will pass Comins Flats and get off at the steps for the River Bend Lodge in approximately 3 hours.

*****************************************************************************************************************

LOCAL ATTRACTIONS & STORES

Au Sable River- Voted Michigan's Most Popular River for Paddling!

Canoe Rentals: Hinchmans Acres, Gotts Landing - or launch yourself at Mio or Commings Landing/ Flat. We are about 20 minutes past the Commings Flat, on the opposite side of the landing, directly on the Au Sable River.

Grocery Store: Family Fare (On 33 just north of M72), Family Dollar, Rite Aid

Hinchman Acres: Located in Mio. Established in 1943 is one of the oldest and largest paddlesports opererations in Michigan. The current is gentle, no rapids or 'white water'. The river winds through mile after mile of unspoiled wilderness with deer, beaver, ducks, otter, wild mink, bald eagles and other wildlife.

Kayaks/Canoes: Yes-You can slow drift. The Au Sable is a Blue Ribbon river. Bring your own canoe or rent one (Hinchemans Acres or Gotts Landing are the closest to the cabin. Mio to McKinley Bridge- drift boats, regular canoes, kayaks, tubes.

Miscellaneous: Ace Hardware (M33 and M72), Mio Flea Market, Fairview Auction House, Ausable Valley Rail Road (In Fairview really fun for kids)

Recreational: Bull Gap (ATV Hill and main trail head), Snowmoblie Trails, ATV Trails, Sidewinders Golf Course, Fairview Golf Course, Federal Land - Grouse and Deer Hunting

Restaurants: Mio Saloon, Paddle Inn, Ausable River Restaurant, Scenic Riverwood (McKinley), Mio Pizza

Distances:

Houghton Lake: 1 hour and 15 minutes (56 miles)

Mackinac Bridge/ Mackinaw City: 2 hours and 15 minutes (127 mile)

More Details

Property Manager
Freshwater Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About Freshwater Vacation Rentals

Freshwater Vacation Rentals

• Established in 2005

• 734-284-5677

• reservations@freshwatervacationrentals.com

• http://www.freshwatervacationrentals.com

If you are looking for a vacation rental, you have come to the right spot! We specialize in vacation rentals throughout Michigan. From your own private island to a lodge big enough to host your family reunion or a relaxing getaway on one of the Great Lakes. If you feel like a social vacation where you have neighbors to enjoy the evening fires together, to remote places where you won't see another soul, give us a call and we'll find the right place for you.

Our philosophy

We work hard so you don't have to. Our goal is for guests have a wonderful vacation experience and assist our owners in maximizing their investment. We started this business 10 years ago, with the purchase of Republic Island, and added the Rapid River Lodge. We have a unique perspective, as we are both owners and property managers. We love the business and are enjoying it as it grows.

Why Freshwater Vacation Rentals chose Northern Michigan

All seasons cabin! Perfect for fishing/tubing down the river in the summer and snowmobiling down the trails in the winter.

What makes this cabin unique

Being able to step out of the cabin and your at the river's edge. Easy access to many ATV/snowmobile trails!

Guestbook comments from the manager

I have been going "up north" Michigan for years. We have had family property, cabins, motorhomes, and tents to help us enjoy our time. This weekends stay was at Rivers Bend Lodge in MIO, Michigan. It was by far the best time EVER in my life. Perfect location on the Au Sable river and the PLACE was better than I am able to put into words. Thank you!
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 3

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Grayling Army Airfield located in Grayling, 49739
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Big T's Roadhouse located in Mio, Mi 49647
Nearest Ferry
70.5 Miles
Ferry Port in Cheboygan, Mi 49721
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Fairview Hill located in Mio, Mi 48647
Nearest Train
69 Miles
Amtrak Station located in Mancelona, Mi 49659
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
I-75
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Ausable River Restaurant located in Mio, Mi 48647
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Rainbow Resort located in Mio, Mi 49647
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
AuSable River
Car: necessary

Take a inner tube (rentals available with pick-up and drop off options) and tube down the famous Au Sable River.

Canoe/Kayak/Tube Rentals: Hinchmans Acres~Established in 1943, one of the oldest and largest paddle sport operations in Michigan.

Location: The cottage is just past Commings Flat, on the opposite side of the landing, about 20 minutes past Commings Plat.

Amenities

Mio Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area ...
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Washer & Dryer are also located here.
  • Washer & Dryer are also located here.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • water tubing
Notes:
*Located directly on the Au Sable River in Mio, MI. East of I-75. *Canoeing/Tubing/Kayaking: The Au Sable is Michigan's most popular river for paddling! You can rent canoes from a variety of places. It is a little over 6 miles to canoe directly from the cabin to McKinley Landing. McKinley Landing is what we consider the easiest place to remove your canoe, tube or kayak. *ATV/Quad use: Enjoy the Bull Gap trail head just 2 miles from the Lodge! Drive directly on the local/county road 608 trailhead. All county roads have a max speed of 20 mph for ATVs. Pick up a great trail map for $2 at the local hardware store in Mio.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
RIVER BEND LODGE (Au Sable River): Sleeps 6 -Pets are Welcomed!
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 14 reviews
4

Peaceful serenity overlooking the mesmerizing Au Sable river

  • 4 of 5

Well equipped cabin with access to everything a nature lover needs. Two suggestions - replace the creaky queen sized bed and repair the back door knob, which sticks. My husband cut himself on it trying to open it. Otherwise a great rustic property!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK YOU for your 2 suggestions. We are definitely looking into them. We are happy you found the cabin to your liking. Please consider booking with Freshwater Vacation Rentals the next time you book a Michigan adventure. We have 54 properties to choose from! Freshwater Team.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

It's a nice cabin but it could use some work.

  • 3 of 5

I would love to give this place 5 stars like the other reviews but I cannot. For the price paid this place needs some work. The crazy thing is for about $100-$200 in repairs this cabin could be a 5 star recipient. First of all, the shower is TERRIBLE. I mean terrible. You have to experience it to understand. The water shoots out in about 5 or 6 little streams with no rhyme or reason - one goes up, one goes down, the others go sideways. My wife couldn't even take a shower. I don't think the shower spout has been replaced in 20 years. A simple trip to Home Depot and a new spout for $10 for fix this issue. The second most annoying thing is that several of windows and doors have DUCT TAPE holding on the screens and it doesn't do the job very well. This means that if you want to keep the windows and doors open to let in a breeze you are also letting in the bugs. This is another simple fix with a stapler and some new screen material for $10. The front screen door has no lock and our dog quickly figured that out. For that reason we had to keep the door shut. A simple screw in lock like the one on the back door would fix that issue - probably $2. Speaking of doors the door knobs and locks need to be replaced. They are at the end of their life. You will see what I mean if you rent this place. Another simple $20 fix. The cabin is overall very dark which is not a huge issues except for above the stove in the kitchen. Luckily there was a spare lamp in the bedroom we could plug in near the stove otherwise you cannot see what you are cooking at night. The propane grill is downright DANGEROUS. The ignitor didn't work so we had to use matches and there is no LOW heat option. Even at low the thing gets to like 500 degrees. The flames come up over the grates even on low. Be careful of that especially with children. We had to pay a mandatory cleaning fee of $80 I believe. Although the cabin was not dirty there were still cobwebs in a few places. If you are going to charge a mandatory cleaning fee (which a hotel would not charge) the cabin should be spotless. The cabin is pretty well stocked with things you will need but we were left only one roll of paper towel and one trash bag. We had to purchase our own at the store in Mio since one of each would not last the 4 nights we stayed. Again, for the price charged to stay here I would expect more. I have stayed at places on a lake for half the price that were in better shape.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, Thank you so much for the feedback. I have 4 maintenance orders out to fix all of the issues you suggested. Thank you again. We really wish you would have called us during your stay so we could have resolved these issues. We have extra supplies on site, and maintenance/cleaning people very close to the property that would have been happy to fix whatever you needed fixed. We had spoken to you before and after your stay, however none of the above issues were mentioned. Even in your email where you spoke of forgetting to turn off the well after your stay, we did not receive any of this feedback. We are a company that prides itself on giving great customer service and have people in place to do so. Please, next time you stay in any cabin rental, express your discomfort so it can be rectified immediately, to whichever company you rent from. This is your vacation and should be a wonderful one.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
bay city michigan
5

Very nice. Cozy and beautiful view. Would definitely rent this place again.

  • 5 of 5

The contact people were very helpful and accommodating. The place was nice and cozy the view was absolutely beautiful.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for you compliments. We love River Bend Lodge as well. The view is absolutely gorgeous. We hope you consider booking one of our other 54 waterfront properties next time you are scheduling your Michigan adventure!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful waterfront

  • 5 of 5

Well equipped cabin for our family of five. Perfect!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your review of "Riverbend Lodge" We are very happy to hear you had a nice time~ We hope to see you again in the future! Freshwater Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

This is a fantastic cabin at a beautiful location! The pics don't do the view justice. The cabin is well stocked with nice linens, not old towels and old sheets/comforters. It's clean. Nicely stocked with pots, pans, silverware etc. We visited in late March. It was chilly and rainy outside but the fireplace was toasty and cozy and we enjoyed every minute of it. The owners were absolutely fantastic to work with. I highly recommend this company and this cabin. The worst part was having to leave. I can't wait to book our next trip!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Karen, We are so happy that your vacation at the property was so fantastic! We loved hearing that you both had such a good time, and want to return. We would love to have back for your future trip. Sincerely, Joan Freshwater Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

We were up there the first of March and had a wonderful time. The view is just amazing I never got tired of looking at. Everything was cleaned and ready for us. Plan on going back during the summer so we can enjoy a nice fire outside and sitting on the swing they have up there.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for sharing your experience :) We look forward to helping you book your summer stay! Freshwater Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable