check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Kent (Property Manager)

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Villa Zen -- Fabulous Private Home in Indian Canyon

19 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

California Desert House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8) ONE WEEK MINIMUM

Villa Zen -- A Zen inspired, impeccably decorated, 3 plus bedrooms/3 bath home that sleeps 8 in beds (not including the convertible twin day bed which is best for kids/teens) and is located in one of the most desirable neighborhoods in Palm Springs (Indian Canyons/Canyon Country Club), only one mile south of the downtown area. It is on the Indian Canyons Golf Course (now public) and has its own private pool and spa. Relax, enjoy and take in the spectacular views and some sunshine!

BEWARE: Someone is advertising our house for rental on Craigslist and defrauding people out of money. He asks you to wire the money. He is not related to us. Do not wire money!!! We do payments through VRBO.

With over 3000 square feet, this home boasts high ceilings, walls of glass and an open layout, and spectacular views of both the San Jacinto and Santa Rosa mountains.

Beds

* Master bedroom suite: (1) King bed

* 2nd bedroom: (1) Queen bed & Day Bed in Den of Room (perfect for a family -- a 1/2 wall divides the room with the day bed on the other side which is best for kids/teens and would not be ideal for an adult for a week)

* 3rd bedroom: (2) Full Size Beds

Entertainment

Media Room:

* 46' LCD TV with Surround Sound

* Blueray DVD player

* Ipod Docking Station

* High Speed wireless internet throughout the house

* Expanded Cable TV

* Wii

* Netflix

Bedrooms:

* 42' LCD TV in Master bedroom

* 42' LCD TVs in both the second and third bedrooms.

Baths:

All three baths were completely remodeled in 2013.

Wired for Sound:

* Living in and out equipped with high definition speakers

Pool/Spa:

* Heated Spa available to all rentals at no charge

* Pool can be heated by request for an additional fee.

Kitchen

* Full Kitchen

* Dishwasher

* Microwave

* All Cooking Utensils Provided

Outdoor Features

* Pool & Spa

* Natural Gas grill

* Deck/Patio

View/Location

* This luxury home sits perfectly on the 14th green with a southern exposure to the backyard pool area and a 180 degree mountain view.

Communications

* Telephone

* Free Long Distance to North America

* Broadband Internet

* WiFi (Wireless Internet — password protected)

* Wireless printer

Amenities

* Central air conditioning and heating system

* Ceiling fans

* Washer and dryer

* Linens provided

* Gas Fireplace

Other Great Features

* You can play a round of championship golf on the public course or at the public sister course across the street.

* The home can easily seat 8 at dining room table.

We have a ONE WEEK MINIMUM RENTAL period. Please do not ask for less than a week.

PLEASE NOTE. This is not a party house. We are in a quiet residential area which strictly observes the Palm Springs noise ordinances. Any excess noise or outside music will result in police visits and fines which are the renter's responsibility.

Keywords: South Palm Springs, Canyon Country Club, Mid-Century Modern, Golf Course, Indian Canyons

** ONE WEEK MINIMUM RESERVATION REQUIRED **

We do not rent for less than one week.

The reservation calendar is kept up to date so please check it before inquiring about availability.

[TOT Permit # 48800000 20015507]

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kent (Property Manager) (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kent (Property Manager)

We live in Oregon and love Palm Springs. One of us is a lawyer and one is an artist -- the youngest is a student. Our son is in grade school so our trips have to work around the school schedule :)

Kent (Property Manager) purchased this house in 2011

Why Kent (Property Manager) chose California Desert

This home was always our dream home as we drove by it and were lucky enough to get it when it came for sale again. Our friends live just down the way and help us keep an eye on the property along with our property manager, Kent. It is a fabulous mid-century style home on a corner lot with privacy and amazing mountain views.

What makes this house unique

Classic Modern Mid-Century Palm Springs Home

Reviews

5
based on 19 traveler reviews

Villa Zen -- Fabulous Private Home in Indian Canyon
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
5

Villa Zen - ahhhh!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Palm Springs and we picked the perfect house with the perfect location! The home's décor is perfect 'California Modern' not only with fun mid-century finds but functionality is spot-on. The master suite is on one wing of the home with the other two bedrooms opposite lending much privacy. I brought my daughter with her family and there was plenty of room for 2 children and the adults to enjoy the home. The enclosed pool area with hot tub is very large with room to play not only in the pool but the yard as well. The view from the pool area is spectacular! All you see is palm trees and mountains in all directions plus the added bonus of the golfers on the adjacent green. The kitchen amenities for preparing meals was very well appointed in which we did spend more Villa Zen dining than restaurant dining. Besides a restaurant can't beat grilling poolside with these views. Proximity to the grocery store (2 minutes), downtown (5 minutes) and the airport (10 minutes) has been understated. It is SO easy to drive around Palm Springs with very little traffic and basic needs so close. If the number of bedrooms fits your needs, you absolutely will not be disappointed with Villa Zen!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great time and thanks so much for the review! Since you like to BBQ, we wanted to let you know we went down after you and bought a new BBQ cover -- so it is much fresher looking than the one that was there.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful family vacation house. Very clean.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay here. We have three small children and they loved the pool and their own TV's to watch cartoons in each room. The house is reasonably modern and kept very clean. We particularly liked how crisp and clean the bedding was prepared before our arrival.

There really isn't much if anything I have to say negative about the Villa Zen. If we come to Palm Springs again, we would absolutely consider staying here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sounds like you had a great stay! Thanks for the review. We too like having the kids be able to recover from the pool and sun with a little R&R in their own area!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautifully appointed and furnished home with gorgeous views of the mountains. The beds are very comfortable. The kitchen is stocked with all the utensils and about every gadget you would need for cooking, barbecuing and drink mixing. The yard has very comfortable furniture around the pool.

We have to commend Kent, the house manager, for all his help making our stay more comfortable. He is prompt to answer any questions and resolve any problems.

Suggestions: A hair dryer in the second bathroom. Contact your cable provider and have them straighten out the problem with the tv in the den.

Looking forward to our next stay in your fabulous home.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Isn't Kent great?! Thank you for taking the time to let us know you appreciate him too! Seems like the 2nd hair dryer melted or something so we replaced it when we were there last week and got a tv tech to repair the weird remote issue (someone had altered the remote on their computer) and hopefully that is fixed too! Thanks for letting us know. We like to keep our house in great shape!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
East Coast
5

Beautiful mid-century. Great Palm Springs location.

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed in Villa Zen for the second time. We liked the house the first time, and the owners have made 2 improvements that made us like it even more this time: (1) there's now a king bed in the master bedroom, and (2) the TV/media are new. The house is very bright, with ceiling to floor windows in the living room and dining room, and sliding glass doors in many of the other rooms. It's well decorated inside and out (does not look like a rental in any way), mid-century, clean and well stocked (even has many nice bicycles), and has some beautiful views. The master bathroom is spa-like, large and new. The house is within walking distance (about 15 min. of easy walking) of a Ralph's grocery store, Native Food restaurant, a popular Italian restaurant, and several other small stores. The neighborhood is very nice, there are lots of friendly walkers and runners, and it's great for bicycling. The backyard, which is on a golf course, has several areas to sit and soak up the sun, a beautiful pool and spa, a large grill, and a heat lamp. Kent, who takes care of the house for the owners, is great! He's responsive, helpful and a delightful person.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Welcome back! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you like our changes to the house! Hopefully you had sunshine too!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

To good!

  • 5 of 5

Seriously this place is so tasteful and well set ,it makes you feel like you never want to leave again!

It is close to downtown, the pool is lovely , and it just feels like home away from home!!!! Highly recommended for estheticly aware people!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review! Sounds like you had a great vacation and we were just happy we could help that happen!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

First time renting this house in Palm Springs and truly enjoyed it. Great layout. Spacious with the master separate from the two spare bedrooms. Plenty of room. The media room was great for the children in our group to separate while the adults enjoyed the sunken bar and living room/dining room. House had everything you needed, from towels to pool toys/inflatables. Kitchen was fully equipped. No complaints. Ken was very accommodating. We were worried the location on the golf course would equal loss of privacy, but during our 10 day stay we never saw anyone on the course. Must have been the heat. We didn't mind the heat, that is what the pool was for! Great location too, close to restaurants and grocery stores. Bikes in the garage were a nice touch. We will be back...

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Palm Springs International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
'El Jefe' at The Saguaro Hotel
Nearest Golf
0.01 Miles
Indian Canyon Golf Course
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
US 10
Nearest Restaurant
0.7 Miles
The King's Highway
Nearest Ski
82 Miles
Big Bear
Nearest Beach
90 Miles
Santa Monica
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Palm Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
June 01 thru September 30
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,275
$8,000
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 26 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,625
 
 
Winter Holidays
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,625
 
 
Coachella
Apr 7 2017 - Apr 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,625
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,625
 
 
Winter Holidays 2017
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,625
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
$9,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $200 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 11.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Pool/Spa heating is optional, and is $50 per day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

California Desert House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • All bathrooms were completely remodeled in 2013.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeper sofa converts to a twin is not ideal for adult
  • King bed in Master, Queen size Beds (1) Queen size bed in second bedroom, Double Beds (2) Two double beds in 3rd bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) This is a Design Within Reach day bed that looks like a sofa and pulls out to sleep one (it is best for a kid/teen, not an adult for a week). It is behind a 1/2 wall in the 2nd bedroom and is a great room for a family.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers