check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

5 bedrooms- 3 levels. POOL TABLE! BIG house! WIFI! Near it all!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

McGaheysville House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms. 3 full bathrooms.

This home, Melrose Place, is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

Reservations must be made on our website. We'll email the link to you when we receive your email inquiry. We do not have reservations enabled on HomeAway.

2 king beds. 1 queen bed. 4 double beds. 1 queen sleep sofa.

POOL TABLE! WIFI! 5 BEDROOMS! Cable, Netflix and Apple TV!

This beautiful Cape Cod style house, on Melrose Court, is our newest vacation house! Professionally decorated, this colorful home will delight your eyes. Each room is it's own work of art.

Watch shows and movies on the Netflix account in the master bedroom & the top floor turquoise bedroom, or on the Apple TV in the master bedroom.

Melrose Place is located near the arboretum path, Hopkins Park (playground, picnic areas and fishing pond), and the gated entrance to Massanutten. The water park is a couple minutes away!

Bring your family to this quiet home located on a small cul-de-sac, and reconnect & make memories. Grill and eat dinner on the big back deck, relax with a book, or do a bit of bird watching.

FAMILY REUNION PLANNERS! This home is a 2 minute drive to our Trail's End house, and a 5 minute drive to our Above the Trees, Among Friends, and Nutt House homes.

PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED.

SMOKING IS ALLOWED OUTDOORS ONLY.

LINENS FOR ALL BEDS INCLUDED. GUESTS MUST BRING TOWELS.

MAXIMUM CAPACITY: 14

Just 3 steps up and- Enter the house and step into the pretty turquoise-themed living room. The sofa seats are recliners, so you can kick back & relax while watching shows & movies on the wall-mounted flat screen cable TV. A flight of stairs, just inside the front door takes you upstairs, but first...let's tour the rest of this entry level.

Through the living room toward the back of the house is the eat-in kitchen. The kitchen has a breakfast bar and a dining area. There is a door off the side of the kitchen that goes to a landing with a short flight of stairs to the side yard, and patio doors off the dining area that take you to the deck.

The deck has a table & chairs, and a big charcoal grill. Back here it is so quiet. The trees give some dappled shade during the Summer, so you can enjoy being outside.

Back inside, down the hall is a full bathroom with a tub/shower. This bathroom is so vibrant with it's sunny decor!

The master bedroom is at the end of the hall, to the front of the house. The master bedroom has a King ergo bed, Apple TV & Netflix. Adjust the mattress to suit your comfort level. Another bedroom, at the back of the house, has 2 double beds.

UPSTAIRS: A full bathroom is in the hallway, with a bedroom on either side. The bedroom with the turquoise and floral quilt has a king ergo (adjustable) bed and a TV with a DVD player and Netflix. The bedroom with the green quilt has a queen ergo (adjustable)bed and a cable TV.

Back downstairs, there is a door from the dining area that takes you to the stairway to the walk-out basement level. A very large family room has a pool table, gas log fireplace and Comcast TV!

The laundry room and a screened porch are off the family room.

Also downstairs is a bedroom with 2 double beds on one side of the room, and on the other side of this bedroom is a queen sleep sofa. This bedroom has it's own en-suite bathroom, with a step-up shower.

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 2600 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Linens for all beds

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable or satellite TVs

* Dishwasher

* Books, Family Board Games & Puzzles

* Gas grill

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Dishwasher detergent & dish soap

* Laundry detergent

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries

***10% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!

Stipulations:

1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID card must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.

ALL DISCOUNTS & SPECIALS:

1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 800-644-1355 for more info.

CENTRALLY LOCATED IN MASSANUTTEN!

5 minute drive to the slopes, 2 golf courses, mini-golf & go-karts! 5 minutes to the water park!

Area Information:

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are within a 10 minute drive from this home!

Outdoor Swimming Pool, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed

Property Manager
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

4.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

5 bedrooms- 3 levels. POOL TABLE! BIG house! WIFI! Near it all!
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
Great Mills
5

Weekend Get-A-Way

  • 5 of 5

When you look at pictures of a hotel or house for rent most of the time, they are photo shopped.

When I got to our house we rented for the weekend, this was not the case. It far exceeded our expectations. Very accommodating for all of us. The only thing that I would complain about is, we didn't have more time to stay longer.

Definitely coming back.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review! We really appreciate it. We are so pleased you had such a wonderful time and we hope you'll come stay with us, again! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very nice home!!!

  • 5 of 5

Brought my family for my 3 boys February Birthdays to celebrate at Massanutten. The house was everything we needed. Located close to everything. The basement rec room and pool table was a huge hit with the family. Thanks for sharing your home with us!!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review of this home. We are so pleased you had such a great time. Please come back to stay with us, again! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

nice escape

  • 5 of 5

It was for the second time when we renting same house and very satisfied with it . We are coming back for Memorial day weekend and for sure we will enjoy it again .

  • Submitted: May 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your fabulous review! We're so pleased you like this house so much, and we'll see you Memorial Day weekend! Sincerely, the Massanutten vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Nice house, but read the fine print

  • 3 of 5

The house was nice enough. But beware...there is nothing in this house when you arrive. Make sure you have toilet paper and paper towels in hand. Yes, it's in the fine print of the lease when you sign it. But I sure didn't see it (luckily a family traveling with us did). And they want you to take the trash out, but don't provide a single trash bag. I own a ski resort VRBO house myself, and cannot imagine leaving it without what I would consider necessities. And they also have in the lease that VA allows them to keep the security deposit for an extended period...and they do. It'll be a month until they process it, so a solid 5 weeks before you see a credit.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our goal is to provide our guests with beautiful, clean houses to spend their vacations in. We have guests who return time after time, even a couple weeks after their previous stay. This beautiful and colorful home, Melrose Place, is one of our newest homes, renovated and furnished less than a year ago, and is fast becoming one of our most popular vacation houses. We make sure to put on every listing on our website for guests to bring paper goods and trash bags, as these are some of the things that wound up disappearing in bulk when we stocked them in our homes. It is also mentioned in our lease to bring these items, not in fine print but in the same size print as the rest of the terms of the lease. That being said, we start each guest with a roll of toilet paper and a trash bag in the kitchen can, to name a few things we do to get the houses ready for guests. Virginia real estate law allows for security deposits to be held for 45 days (to collect interest) before being refunded. We prefer to refund them much sooner, and do not keep that money in an interest-bearing account. As soon as we know there were no Pay-Per-View charges on the cable or satellite bill we make the refund. Sometimes we are able to refund security deposits as soon as 2 weeks after check-out, sometimes it takes a week or two longer. This guest's security deposit was refunded 26 days after the check-out day (not 5 weeks) according to the receipt our credit card terminal printed. We are all sorry your experience was not the typical, wonderful experience our guests have. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Great, but a couple of small issues.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed this house very much! Great communication from the managers, good quiet spot, close to a ton of things. So many good things that it was nearly perfect, but for space I'll point out a few things I'd change or recommend paying attention to:

-The house needs to have several things added to it, or adjusted. The kitchen needs to be gone through and have things added in. On the large end, the fridge is way, way too small for the amount of people that a house this size is designed for. On the small end, there needs to be more dishes and utensils. We found 1 sharp knife, 1 vegetable knife, and barely any pan style cooking sheets, and not enough plates/etc. I'm sure this is due to vacationers ruining them, but it's an oversight in a rental this pricey. Late at night our first night we had to go out and try to track down knives and plates. We left behind a meat thermometer as well for the future renters to use, something like that is important!

-On the same topic as adding to the house, please make sure to bring a plunger! When we arrived the middle floor bathroom was simply flushed to make sure everything was in working condition, and it clogged. Rather then bother or wait for maintennence, we went and got a plunger. A 5$ item, but incredibly strange to not already have one there.

-The TVs need to be upsized. The one in the ground floor living room is strangely positioned and wasn't overly comfortable to watch from the distance or viewing angles. The one in the game room, same thing. Too small, too quiet to be of any use while anyone is playing pool. I'd almost recommend weather proofing the pool table and placing it outside on the covered in porch.

-A lot of the outlets need to be looked at. In the Master's bedroom we had a majority of the outlets not functional, in the ground floor living room, the overhead light didn't work. Was very annoying trying to find a working plug to charge phones.

As for other things, the ground floor couches are amazing comfortable, the dining room is nice, the outside chairs are great! I couldn't tell you about the grill as we didn't use it.

For food shopping there's a grocery store within 8 minutes of the house, which is something many vacation sites neglect to have nearby. I recommend the ziplining and pool, but the gokarts (electric, SLOW) and minigolf aren't worth the trip.

Overall a nice property, will potentially be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're pleased you enjoyed the house, overall. It is a beautiful house with comfortable furnishings, in a peaceful setting...just like the photos show! We apologise for the issues you had. The kitchen will be gone through, earlier than scheduled, to see what needs to be replaced and restocked. There are 2 plungers in the house, and a 3rd will be put in this week. I will follow-up with the maintenance department to see if you contacted them about the outlets. It could be something as simple as turning on a breaker that flipped off during a power flicker. We strive to have all our vacation houses in top shape, and perfect for our guests. Your appreciated feedback helps us to improve. We hope you will return to stay with us! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
9 2

Map

Car: necessary

CENTRALLY LOCATED IN MASSANUTTEN!

5 minute drive to the outdoor swimming pool, slopes, 2 golf courses, mini-golf & go-karts! 5 minutes to the water park!

Area Information:

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are a 10 minutes or less drive from this home!

Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

Rates & Availability

McGaheysville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Fall
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 8 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Christmas wk - New Years' wknd
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
MLK Jr wknd
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
Presidents' Day wknd
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
Early Spring
Mar 19 2017 - Apr 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Easter
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
Spring
Apr 17 2017 - May 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
JMU Graduation weekend
May 4 2017 - May 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
Spring
May 8 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Memorial Day wknd
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
Labor Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Fall
Oct 30 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
Late Fall
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,650
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $300

If you are arriving in fewer than 1 month, the entire amount is to be paid. If you are arriving more than one month away $200 down payment is due, and one month prior to your arrival date the balance is due.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

McGaheysville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Ground floor.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Top floor.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Basement level.
  • Guests- bring your own bath towels, hand towels & wash cloths.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Bring your linens for the queen sleep sofa.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , ergo (adjustable) mattress. Apple TV with Netflix.
    Bedroom 3-Green room - 1 queen , ergo (adjustable) mattress. Comcast cable TV.
    Bedroom 4-Turquoise room. - 1 king , ergo (adjustable) mattress. TV with DVD & Netflix.
  • All linens, from the mattress pads up, are included for the beds. Guests must bring linens for the queen sleep sofa.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties