Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Brand New For 2014, In The Spruce Knob, Seneca Rocks National Recreation Area.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Best affordable access to Spruce Knob Seneca Rocks area.

Looking for a nice get away that won't break the bank, and that is close to some of the best of West Virginia?

We just created the perfect place for you! Brand new for spring 2014. Another clean, inexpensive place to call your home away from home.

We are on the road to Spruce Knob and just 15 minutes from Seneca Rocks.

The cabin has comfortable sleeping for up to 4 a small kitchenette with a hot plate, microwave, and refrigerator.

There is a full bath and a queen bed in the bedroom. For extra sleeping space there is a sleep sofa in the living area. Outside you will find a great country style front porch to enjoy nature from, and just relax and let the world go by. There is also a fire pit, and a picnic table because what vacation to the mountains is complete without a campfire, and some outside picnicking. The property borders the national forest so hiking and all the other things that you like to do in nature are right outside your door.

Reserve you next dose of stress relief now!

More Details

Owner
Kent & Cynthia
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About Kent & Cynthia

West Virginia Resident since 1986. We bought this land in 2004. We decided to use our construction experience to build nice cabins for you to stay in.

Kent & Cynthia purchased this cabin in 2004

Why Kent & Cynthia chose West Virginia

Great place close to the National forest to share with others.

What makes this cabin unique

Secluded, Quiet, Close to National forest. Front porch to relax on.

Comfortable and clean.

Map

Nearest Train
60 Miles
Cass Scenic Railway
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Gateway Restaurant
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Canaan Valley

Our property is located in the Spruce Knob Seneca Rocks recreation area. While you are here don't miss a hike to the top of Seneca Rocks, and the grand view of the valley below. A short scenic drive and a very short walk takes you to the observation tower on Spruce Knob. There are a couple caverns in the area open for tours. There is great trout fishing in the area and much more.

If you are up to the adventure Nelson Rocks area offers guided climbing for the inexperienced as well as the seasoned mountaineer. They also have Zip lines to add to the fun.

Within a one hour drive we also have access to several ski resorts including Canaan Valley and Timberline. Also within an hour is Cass Scenic Railway, Blackwater Falls and more.

Of course if you want to stay put and relax at the cabin we are back far enough in the woods for plenty of peace and quiet, and there is plenty of national forest to hike in right around the cabin.

So leave the stress at home and come enjoy real mountain relaxation.

Amenities

Riverton Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen bed and a rod to hang clothes in room.
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Brand New For 2014, In The Spruce Knob, Seneca Rocks National Recreation Area.
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
5

Perfect weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

At the last minute, my husband and I decided to plan a baby moon. We stumbled across this cabin and were not disappointed. Upon arrival, I could see the property was well cared for and maintained. The cabin itself was very clean and cozy! It was perfect for our weekend stay, we were close enough to a few attractions but still secluded off on the mountain side. We enjoyed the Seneca Caverns, rode an old steam train at Cass Railroad, and climbed to the top of Seneca Rocks. The Gateway Restaurant down the street was excellent as well. Even though we were there for a short time, it quickly become a memorable trip. I hope we can bring our son back here one day!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

cabin was too basic. no wifi or TV. OK for sleeping and getting a shower only. not what I expected

  • 2 of 5

Cabin was clean and cozy. I had planned family from WV coming to see us and cooking a meal for them. I waisted several hundred dollars in food as there was a mini frig and hot plate only. I had to go to Elkins and rented a larger place and buy the food again for the next day. Very disappointed. I had not seen my family in 10 years and this definitely was not the place I thought I was renting. If you're hiking and only need a bed and shower it's nice. I wasted about 300 dollars total in food and renting another place 20 miles away.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are terribly sorry that our accommodations were disappointing to this renter. We feel that our description, pictures and other reviews cover most of these issues if people are willing to take the time to look at our listing. We cater more to the unplugged vacation in the mountains.That is why we don't plan to offer WiFi or TV. It is definitely not a great place to have a bunch of friends/family over for a meal. We are more than happy to answer any questions any one would have by email or phone. We are happy to tell you what we do and don't have before you come. Just ask!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very clean, comfortable cabin.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay in this lovely cabin. It's very convenient to Spruce mountaintop as well as Nelson Rocks for great assisted rock climbing or ziplining.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great location

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay and get to some of the top places in the WV mountains. right below spruce knob which makes it prime location to try and get to the top for sunrise and sunset pictures. Close also to nelsons rocks, seneca rocks and a couple caverns to explore

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin; Loved it!!

  • 5 of 5

My son and I really enjoyed staying at this cabin. It's very comfortable and in great condition. The location is excellent for getting to all of the Spruce Mountain and Seneca area fun too! Plan to return.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice get away cabin

  • 5 of 5

Nice , clean cabin, stocked with all the towels, dishes, silverware, blankets and everything else to make your stay very pleasant. Nearby restaurant has excellent food at very reasonable prices. Enjoyed our visit very much.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We hope you can come again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $20 per person per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.