Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming, spacious beach front home in the private community of Treasure Island.

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 9

If seclusion and privacy are what you are looking for, this house is perfect. It sits at the end of the street overlooking a field of dunes and the ocean.

Upon checkout, please discard all trash in the dumpsters provided at the corner of San Luis Blvd. and Jean Lafitte. Also, please be aware that even though this is a resort community, there are many permanent home owners who occupy these houses on a full-time basis. Move your party indoors and turn the music down by 10:00 p.m. as a courtesy to these homeowners. We do have security patrolling the subdivision on a regular basis. Thank you so much for choosing this home as your vacation rental and enjoy yourself!!

Our dunes are protected by county ordinance. Fines include up to $1000.00 Please use the walk-over at the end of Jolly Roger. A spacious parking lot is provided for your convenience.

You are required to bring your own paper products such as toilet paper, paper towels, etc. are NOT supplied. If you have any questions, please call me at 979-235-0140.

**This house is open to our furry friends with proof of flea control, one week from check-in.

More Details

Owner
Dawn Stoner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 13, 2017

About Dawn Stoner

I'm the property manager and have lived here at Treasure Island for the last 18 years. The first time I drove over the intercoastal bridge in Surfside, my stomach fluttered at the sight of the ocean. I turned left and drove down Bluewater Highway and saw this desolate community on the right and turned in (Treasure Island). I saw this small house in need of lots of repairs and called the agent on the For Sale sign in the yard. She opened the front door and the smell of old, musty cedar paneling hit me. An old wooden screened door slammed behind us. (The sound of the old wooden door slamming reminded me of a penny-candy, mom and pop store up the street when I was about 8 years old.) Immediately I wanted this little 2 bedroom, 1 bath house. Once inside, the house was dark because the bamboo blinds were rolled down to keeps the heat out, and by the way i was hot! Once my eyes focused, I instinctively took my sandal off and was crawling on the floor swatting, under the breakfast bar I crawled and still swatting as I chased the biggest spider I have ever seen into one of the open cupboards on the bottom row. "I got it!" I told Bonnie Wells from Coastal Properties. "I will not have spiders in my house," I told her and the next day the purchase papers were completed and the rest is history.

Why Dawn Stoner chose Texas Gulf Coast

As I mentioned above, I have lived here for 18 years. We take pride in our community and are proud to say we live in Treasure Island at San Luis Pass. When I tell people that, they shake their heads in approval and say, "Wow, that's a really nice area." You will love it here. Everyone does and they keep coming back. You will too, so put me in your address book. Thanks so much!!

What makes this house unique

Picture this.. you walk in the front door and you are in the living room. On the far side of the living room to the right is the kitchen, to the left is the dining room. It's all open so no one feels left out of the conversation. Now go back to the front door. Looking at the living room, take the stairs to the right. You are in Loft#1 (queen size bed) which has a little balcony over looking the kitchen, living room and dining room. If you would have taken the spiral stairs on the left, it would have taken you to the kids bedroom with 2 singles and a love seat. Off the dining room is the screened porch, which leads to the sun porch. From the front door to the right the hallway splits. To the right is 1 single and 1 daybed. To the left is the Master bedroom with a single and a queen and a private bathroom. In between the two downstairs bedrooms is the main bathroom. The house is decorated in beach decor and has charm and comfort waiting for you.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Love the beach decor and openness. The view of the beach from inside the house is awesome! The kids loved the loft. Thanks for having some kid friendly DVD to occupy them while the adults played poker in the evenings. Cool set up. Like we mentioned, don't forget to book us for the same week next year.
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 8

Amenities

Freeport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • There is also an outside shower. After a day at the beach, please bath the dog in the outside shower. We appreciate it.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • Bedrooms 3 and 4 are lofts.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Sand Box
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
Charming, spacious beach front home in the private community of Treasure Island.
average rating of 3.0 based on 14 reviews
5

We had a wonderful time.

  • 5 of 5

We normally go to the hill country for the 4th but wanted to go to the coast for a change. Dawn's house was perfect. It was steps from a private beach that was clean and not crowded. The house was clean, had space for our whole family and was well supplied. We made a great holiday memory. We would definitely rent the house again.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Debbie. We loved having you. Keep us in mind for next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonder beach house

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here. Had more beds than we needed. Wonderful view of the ocean from the inside and outside of the house on the wonderful wraparound porch. We loved sitting late at night on the porch just listening to the ocean sounds. Got to watch lots of fireworks on the beach since it was the July 4th week. Beach access was so easy. Loved the view since it was the last house with no other house next to it.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not Good

  • 1 of 5

They say it has wifi and it does not. In addition to very dirty, including torn and dirty chair covers, rusty fans, disgustingly dirty appliances such as coffee maker and blender, torn screens in porch, rusty doors and hinges, the A/C did not work in one of the upstairs bedrooms. TV's very outdated and gnats in the house. The worst was the sewage problems we had from day one. When we called they were asking us to try to fix the problem. Plumber came out to try to fix the toilet and redirected it to the showers. Sewage came up through the shower so we couldn't take showers and left early - missed two days on that beach. They only refunded $200 for the inconvenience and asked us not to report it. Very disappointed. The house is beautiful and is in a great location, it could be such a great experience if they cleaned it and fixed all the problems.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Not what we had hoped.

  • 1 of 5

My family has stayed in many vrbo rentals and they have all been wonderful experiences. I hate that this is the first negative feedback I have to report... We looked forward to a nice stay at this house during spring break. Even more so we got a really good rate on the house. It was a late booking so we figured the owner wanted to get it rented out. Unfortunately it still was not worth the money. The house was not in good shape. Just generally rundown. We noticed pipes leaking under the house the first and second day. Then the second night, the septic system backed up and sewage came up into the shower and toilets overflowed. The propert manager was not effective in handling the situation and made it clear that she was put out that she was having to deal with the problem. Yes there were giant mesquites, but that was the least of our concerns. Ultimately we ended up leaving a day early because we wanted to get back home and better enjoy our time off.

The Pierce Family

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Pierce Family, There was no misrepresentation. You booked the house based on the pictures on the website and the price. The pictures are true and accurate. It was not a last minute deal, you booked the house 6 weeks in advance. You were looking for a cheap house. In 18 year's managing this house, we have never had a septic problem to that extreme. The plumber could not find the cause, nor could 2 other plumbers. The company that pumped the tanks found a broken line to the tank and repaired it. In my defense, after you notified me of the problem, I brought a snake over and was there with your father trying to unclog the toilets and showers for well over an hour right after I got home from work. I apologized several times and got the first available plumber to come out after being on the phone for over an hour. Problems arise with any house, no matter the age, even your own house. All we can do is deal with the best we can.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home away from home with a great beach acces

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd year and we loved it as usual. Everything we needed was there. It could use a few updates but it feels very homey. We will definitely be back. It overlooks the beach. And mosquito were in full force but we just used spray but that's Texas and the rainy season. We still had a wonderful time. Not sure what previous review was talking about as there has always been plenty of dishes, pots and pans and utensils.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not a Good

  • 1 of 5

When first arriving to the house it was not what we expected, the pictures do not show everything that is falling apart in the house. The main concern was the mosquitos that would eat you up every time you walked out of the house we could not sit outside the whole time we were there because they were so bad even in the screened in area they found their way through we would have to run to the car and there was no walking to be done. Also there was a sewage leak outside that I am sure did not help. The cabinets were full old food so when we bought food there was no were to put it and not much cookware to be found, I would think the people who live there would clean up their stuff and make it more suitable for those staying. Needless to say me and my family were very disappointed but made the best out of our stay and will not be returning to this area.

Thanks,

Misti Jackson & Dana Ho

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Misti, As for the mosquitos, there is nothing I can about that, you need to contact the higher authority (GOD). The pantry still has some food in there that the owners keep because one of the owners is a diabetic and needs special food. After all it is his house. As for the septic, it was working fine, until I had it pumped two weeks ago and the truck parked on the lines while it drained the 300 gal. and 500 gal. tanks, thereby crushing the lines. Was waiting until the house is vacant to have someone come in and tear up the back yard to replace the lines. As you know, it has rained down here every day for weeks and there is standing water in all the yards, which does not help with the septic drainage nor the mosquitos. Clearly this was your first time in Brazoria. Don't go to the Texas Mosquito festival, you will be VERY disappointed!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 6

Map

Moody Gardens
"Moody Garden Pyramids have plenty of activities for all ages. Each pyramid has a different t..."
The Strand Historic District
"The Historic Strand is a great place to visit. Spend the day learning about historic Galves..."
Galveston Segway
"Experience Galveston via a segway tour around the historic districts. Not only will you hav..."
Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark
"One of the best water parks in Texas! Lots of water rides and slides and lazy rivers. If y..."
Moody Mansion
"Moody Mansion is just one of the mansions on tour in Galveston. There is also Sealy Mansion,..."
1877 tall ship Elissa
"Experience a real (but smaller version of a) pirate ship. Elissa has tours daily that take y..."
Kempner Park
"This is a gorgeous place to take the family for a picnic. Tucked in the middle of Galveston,..."
Mardi Gras Galveston
"Galveston has the 2nd largest Mardi Gras. During the day it's family friendly, but at night ..."
Seawolf Park
"Come tour the USS Seawolf from WWII. Here's an impressive fact: In WWII, submarines comprise..."
Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier
"Great place to spend the day with the family. Ride all day passes are available. Great rest..."
Kemah Boardwalk
"Kemah has bars, restaurants, shops, art galleries, bays, and an amusement park. This is a g..."
Lone Star Flight Museum
"Experience of a lifetime!! Not just view this World War II beauties and bombers, but take a..."
Haunted Mayfield Manor
"Spooktacular tour of the house that Dr. Horace Mayfield once resided and some say, still doe..."
Grand 1894 Opera House
"Bring the family to see one or many attractions in this beautiful 1894 Opera House. Coming ..."
Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Hobby Airport
Nearest Barpub
14 Miles
Hammerhead
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Waterman's Country Club
Nearest Motorway
14 Miles
C.R. 257 and Highway 332
Nearest Restaurant
14 Miles
Red Snapper Inn
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Gulf of Mexico
Car: necessary

In Galveston, which is 20 miles away, there is Moody Gardens attractions, Segway Tours, The Seawall with shops, restaurants, bike rentals and other activities. Also, the Strand which is on the bay has historical buildings, "The Old Train Station," shops and galleries, restaurants, bars, nightclubs, antique stores, fish markets on the Wharf and many other activities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Freeport House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak
Mar 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
From
$500
Fri,Sat
$1,700
 
 
Off Peak
Sep 1 2017 - Feb 28 2018
5 night minimum stay
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties