Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Peaceful Finger Lakes Cottage w/ Stream, Woods, and Level Beach

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, BRAND NEW KITCHEN & BATH, SUMMER 2016!!


This waterfront cottage has the perfect surroundings for a family getaway! Because it is the last cottage on a dead end, nature is all around you here! There are woods to walk through with a small waterfall and babbling brook that runs alongside the cottage. A long grassy front lawn can be used for all kinds of outdoor activities, and best of all the beach is level with no steps! There is a dock and rowboat you can use and also a boat hoist if you bring a motorboat or rent one. The walk out into the water is a very gradual one with no big drop offs, which is great for small children. The best thing about this beach is not only is it level, but there are no weeds growing here in the water so a pleasurable swim is in store. The beach consists of small flat rounded rocks. We also have a rowboat with life jackets you can use if you want to venture out in the lake a bit more!

A short walking distance away (approx. 200 yards) is a a large green space (about 6 acres) with a small playground and room for all kinds of outdoor lawn activities that require a large space.

The approximately 1000 square foot cottage has a wonderful open floor plan and boasts a very spacious living and dining area great for conversation or relaxation with nice views of the lake and stream. The living room leads out to a deck on the lake side which has a grill, lounge furniture and dining with all the sounds of nature.

The brand new kitchen is full stocked with plenty of cookware/utensils and is just off the dining room, which also has views of the lake through the living area.

There are three small cottage sized bedrooms, one with a queen, another with two twins another with a double, and there is a queen sofa bed in the living room. We also have a rollaway bed' (like a cot w/mattress- good for teens or kids) and you can place that where you like. The shade from the large old trees around the cottage and the lake breeze keep it nice and cool so there is really no need for air conditioning. We do have a couple of ceiling fans and portable oscillating fans you can place in the bedrooms or wherever you like.

More Details

Property Manager
Christine Izzo
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

About Christine Izzo

We are both high school teachers at local schools and live closeby. We can quickly attend to any needs you may have during your stay since this is our 'summer job'! We actually purchased the cottage when our children were toddlers so they would have a place to enjoy nature and be able to navigate gradally into the water easily at the is nice level beach.

Christine Izzo purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Christine Izzo chose Moravia

We love the quiet secluded atmosphere that this old fashioned style summer cottage community has. The lot and beach are the most important features of this cottage!

What makes this cottage unique

The nice level weed-free beach, and quiet setting are definitely the best attributes of this cottage. Great sunsets and views as well!


Moravia Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , has sink/vanity and mirror
  • All bath towels, hand towels and washcloths provided
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen sofabed in living room and also a portable 'rollaway' bed (like a cot w/mattress good for a child or adolescent)
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Cleaning before and after your stay included in price!! No fees for linens or cleaning.


3.6/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Peaceful Finger Lakes Cottage w/ Stream, Woods, and Level Beach
average rating of 3.6 based on 5 reviews

Very peaceful and enjoyable

  • 4 of 5

The property was lovely and the water was so relaxing. The only thing we had a bit of trouble with was only 1 bathroom. It did not help that 2 of us are over 65. I would maybe suggest putting in another 1/2 bath maybe? All in all we had a lovely experience, lots of laughs and of course we loved Willow, our neighbor! Thank you Chris

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing vacation rental

  • 5 of 5

The house was very cute and well furnished. The remodeled kitchen was well done with new stove, dishwasher and washer and dryer. There were 6 of us, 4 adults and 2 toddlers. This house was very comfortable!

There was a flash flood the day we arrived. The creek overflowed removing the lower lawn, beach and damaging the dock. The creek was still over its bank when we arrived with our boat and jet ski. Christine called and assured us that as soon as the water receded the trees would be removed and the dock would be repaired and useable by Tuesday. True to her word everything was cleared and the dock fixed so that we could use it the rest of the week. We are definitely looking forward to renting from her in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our favorite place in the Finger Lakes!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVE LOVE LOVE the Brook House! Quiet, serene, and the most gorgeous sunsets around! The cottage is cute, clean and has everything you'll ever need in the kitchen. We've been here when the creek is flowing right next to the cottage and also we've been here when it's dry. What a beautiful, tranquil sound the babbling creek has! But when it's dry, it's fun to walk up and explore some of the woods behind the cottage. The owners are friendly, prompt and provide everything you need to know to have an awesome, relaxing vacation on Owasco Lake!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Quaint ,cozy Brook House

  • 3 of 5

If you're looking for a quaint cottage experience then Brook House is the place for you. It's not fancy but it is cute,clean and quiet. The beds are comfortable, there's lots of towels and extra bedding if you need it. The deck, yard and beach are very private and in great condition. The neighbors are friendly but not intrusive. My kids especially loved Willow the dog, who seems to be the ambassador of Indian Cove.We were very comfortable at Brook House. It felt like a home away from home.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

This is a horrible house and not worth the money!

  • 1 of 5

The house has a horrible smell of mold/sewage in a horrible location. The dock was broken and unsafe for our kids. We needed up renting another house and the owner refused to refund us our money. Also be aware that the owner does not accept credit cards, so you have no recourse to be refunded. This house should be removed from the listing.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a very unfortunate situation. Somehow this group rented our cottage instead of a larger home with more baths that they thought they had booked. They got confused looking at so many that they made a mistake and then when they arrived, tried to make up excuses to get their money back. If it was my mistake I would have given them a full refund, but after looking back at the emails it was all there. They definitely said they wanted to book this cottage. I did try to re-rent it last minute but had no luck. Our cottage has absolutely no sewage smell. We get the septic tested every spring by law and have never had ANY issues with it. The cleaning lady is also a nurse and would have called me right away if she smelled sewage. We checked ourselves as soon as we could get there and nothing. My husband did adjust a dock piece which had shifted a little (as these types of docks on the finger lakes do sometimes) which took all of about 30 seconds or so to fix. Everyone should know however, that this is an early 1900's cottage- nothing fancy, but it has a great open floor plan and is updated nicely with new linens, rugs, and decor. This place is really about spending quality time with family or friends at the lake. We do live within a 10 minute drive to the cottage, so if there is anything that needs attention, we are right here. We definitely want happy campers :)
Did you find this review helpful?
16 1


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Syracuse or Ithaca
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Betty Blue
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Song Mountain
Nearest Beach
Right here! Small flat rocks.
Car: necessary

This cottage is only 25 minutes to Ithaca, 15 minutes to Auburn, 40 minutes to Syracuse, and 20 minutes to Skaneateles. Besides all the water activities to enjoy, you can go by boat to dine at the restaurant directly across the lake (one mile), take a wine tour, enjoy a live performance at the Merry Go Round Theater in Auburn, attend a performace at the Musical Theater Festival in Auburn, hike the many nearby waterfalls, visit Filmore Glen State Park on a few miles away, do some shopping in Auburn at the Bass Pro Shops or Fingerlakes Mall, or even the Waterloo Premium Oultlet Mall. You can visit the quaint historic village of Skaneateles with plenty of shops and restaurants or take a dinner cruise while there. If you like to golf, you are in luck because there are golf courses everywhere! The fishing is great for walleye, perch, bass, trout and northern pike. Smelt also run up the stream on the property in the spring. Don't forget, there is a large green space for games such as soccer, baseball, football, etc with swings also only 200 yards away. Nice private road that kids can ride bikes on. The lake is great for tubing, boating, swimming, and all kinds of water activities!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties