check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jen Humphreys

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Desert Dreaming–Stunning Luxury Home W/ Many Special Touches

48 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Rio Verde Foothills House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 4.5 bathrooms, Sleeps 8-10

This beautiful 4,000 sq ft custom luxury home is located on 2+ acres in the Verde Foothills of Northeast Scottsdale, ½ mile from Tonto National Forest. The serene setting is breathtaking and perfect for incredible biking, hiking and horseback riding trails. Enjoy a peaceful, private setting with incredible views and still maintain a close proximity to shopping and some of the best golfing Scottsdale has to offer.

Be inspired upon entering the spacious GREAT ROOM with natural stone fireplace and an impressive 14’ ceiling of western red cedar. Huge beams connect to the GOURMET KITCHEN, which boasts stainless steel appliances, wine cooler, a breakfast nook with views, and adjacent powder room.

Entertain in the FORMAL DINING ROOM opening onto 732 square foot enclosed entry courtyard with brilliant natural stone walls, wrought iron and rustic fired adobe pavers.

The LUXURY MASTER SUITE has a stone fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, natural stone shower and huge 190 square foot custom closet. Two additional bedrooms each with custom closet, bathroom and covered patio.

Bonus attached casita with private entry, kitchenette, bathroom and a covered patio provides additional space for guests or home office.

Automated 90 degree windows surrounding indoor-outdoor bar opens from the GAME ROOM onto 2,500 square foot of amazing outdoor living area. Complemented by negative edge heated custom pool & spa, fire features, built in gas BBQ, kiva fireplace and flagstone paving throughout allowing you to enjoy the beautiful Arizona weather year-round. Rooftop tiled deck offers dramatic 360 degree views.

Granite and travertine floors throughout, central vacuum, sound system, security system, large 3 car garage, RV space with full hookup, fully landscaped. Please note that this home is located just off of paved roads, 1.5 mile on an unpaved road.

Long-Term leases (those exceeding 3 months) are also available. Please inquire.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Jen Humphreys (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 48 traveler reviews

Desert Dreaming–Stunning Luxury Home W/ Many Special Touches
average rating of 4.9375 based on 48 reviews
Grayslake
5

Beautiful house with everything we needed and more!

  • 5 of 5

Lots of space for our family of eight. Nice amenities including a lovely outdoor space. We spent a lot of time in the pool, grilling and enjoying the view. There were lots of extras not in the listing: both drip and Keurig coffee machines, two pack and plays and two inflatable mattresses with linens for all, baby monitor, an extensive array of pots, pans and dishes, a pantry with spices and condiments.

The best part was I made all the arrangements for our family and I got all the credit for choosing this home! My family kept saying what a great choice I made! We hope to be back again!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nottingham
5

Secluded Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We've rented off of VRBO over the last several years at different locations around the country and this was our favorite property yet! The owner Carl, sparred no expense and was so detailed in his craftsmanship when building this property. It was absolutely beautiful. The property itself is off the main beat and path (it would be a good idea to have a truck or SUV) which was nice to be in a secluded private setting that backs up to Tonto National Forest. Once you get there you will find yourself in a private resort like setting with stunning views in every direction. We didn't need to go anywhere else once we were there. The property kept us more than busy between the pool, hot tub, BBQ, game room, surround sound throughout the house and scenic views from the rooftop deck. We also did some exploring towards the mountains (bring water) with our kids checking out the local wildlife and prickly vegetation. Carl was very informative upon arrival and his whole family is very accommodating. One of the days we were there, the receiver to the surround sound cut out and Carl's son Chad was there first thing the next morning with a brand new blue tooth receiver to make sure our experience wasn't interrupted. The entire trip was better than we imagined and would absolutely go back to this house, Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Flagstaff, Arizona
5

Peaceful easy feeling...

  • 5 of 5

One of favorite VRBO spots ever. House and casita flow easily. Step out the door to pool. Mountain view surrounding home. Sunset views outstanding. Everything you will need, but not too much excess stuff around. Extremely clean, easy to live in wonderful flowing home. Top quality appliances, fixtures, cabinets, hardware, turbo bbq, GE Monogram. Just a well done, but not overdone home. Peaceful easy feeling... Want to go back to this desert home.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect house for Perfect Trip

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I just returned from a 40th birthday trip to this property and couldn't be happier.

Carl, his son and daughter were all overly helpful and were quick in communications around any questions we may have had. They also offered up some good suggestions for things to do in the surrounding areas.

In terms of the property itself:

Pluses

- Remote (it's out there and very private. With that said we were easily able to golf 4 out of 7 days and go ATV'ing, hiking etc others - you just need to have a car)

- Fantastic outdoor area (This is what you're paying for and it was perfect. There wasn't a day/night where somebody wasn't in the pool or spa. I highly recommend you pay to heat it, we spent our whole deposit heating it extremely warm, but it allowed us to enjoy it the whole time. FYI - The outdoor temps were low 60's at night)

- Great kitchen and primary living area (The kitchen was so good it even impressed the private chefs we hired to come in and cook dinner. I highly recommend splurging on having a chef come in for a special meal. We left the contact info in the guestbook)

Negatives

- I have nothing really to add, except we didn't happen to see any rattle snakes or scorpions - maybe this is a good thing?!?

Thanks again - The group of us is already planning on a return trip to enjoy this beautiful property.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful home and location

  • 5 of 5

Just an outstanding place to spend a relaxing week on our annual ladies foursome golf trip. Carl was gracious, as was his son. The home is beautiful, as are the views. we spent a good amount of time enjoying the outdoor amenities. On our last night, we bought fresh steaks from our next door neighbor, who happens to be Carl's brother. Don't miss that, or the fresh eggs! This was the best house we have rented in our 14 years of tracks together. We would stay here again for sure!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent two night. The house is awesome. Lots of upgrades and amenities! It has privacy and a great outdoor living area. We will def be back! Thanks for accommodating us!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Fountain Hills Park
Fort McDowell Casino
Westworld of Scottsdale
Heard Museum
Rawhide Steakhouse & Saloon
Pioneer Arizona Living History Museum
Desert Caballeros Western Museum
San Tan Flat
Goldfield Ghost Town
Old Town Scottsdale
Alltel Ice Den
Desert Botanical Gardens
Casino Arizona
McDowell Mountain Regional Park
"McDowell Mountain Park is a great spot for mountain biking. "
Saguaro Lake
Salt River Tubing
Arizona State University
Downtown Phoenix
Taliesin West
"Frank Lloyd Wright began building this desert masterpiece in 1937 as his personal winter hom..."
Pinnacle Peak Park
Sedona
Four Peaks Brewing Company
Grand Canyon National park
Jerome
Superstition mountains
"Search for the Lost Dutchman's Gold Mine."
Salt River Fields at Talking Stick
"The Cactus League Home of the Arizona Diamondbacks and Colorado Rockies."
Scottsdale Stadium
"The Cactus League home of the 2010 & 2012 World Series Champion San Francisco Giants."
Phoenix Zoo Lights
Phoenix Municipal Stadium
"Phoenix Municipal Stadium is the home of Arizona State University Sun Devil baseball and the..."
Cholla Trail
Biosphere 2
Grand Canyon South Rim Visitor Center
O.K. Corral
Tempe Beach Park
Oak Creek Brewery & Grill
Caduceus Cellars and Merkin Vineyards Tasting Room
Tonto Natural Bridge State Park
Turf Paradise Race Course
Outlets at Anthem
In-N-Out Burger
Needle Rock
Bartlett Lake Marina
Petrified Forest National Park
Lake Powell
Tortilla Flat
Cave Creek Museum
Wells Fargo History Museum
Casa Grande Valley Historical Society
Canyon Creek Ranch
Ponderosa Stables Inc
Fort McDowell Adventures
Buffalo Chip Saloon
Tempe Diablo Stadium
"Tempe Diablo Stadium is the Cactus League home of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim. "
Verde Canyon Railroad
Grand Canyon Railway
Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX)
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Rare Earth
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Trilogy at Verde River
Nearest Train
65 Miles
Maricopa, AZ Amtrak (MRC)
Nearest Motorway
17 Miles
101 Loop
Nearest Restaurant
9 Miles
Rosati's Pizza
Nearest Ski
160 Miles
Arizona Snowbowl, Flagstaff, AZ
Nearest Beach
250 Miles
Rocky Point, Mexico
Car: necessary

1hr NE of Phoenix airport 0.5 mile from Tonto National Forest

Other Activities: Horseshoes, Boating, Wildlife Viewing, Rock Climbing

Golf: Close to some of the best golfing in Scottsdale. We are less than 10 miles from Troon North Golf Club and approx 20 miles from Kierland Golf Club

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rio Verde Foothills House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Sep 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$2,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
1Oct-18Nov 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 18 2016
4 night minimum stay
$475
From
$475
Fri,Sat
$3,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 27 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
28Nov-Dec
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 17 2016
5 night minimum stay
$500
From
$500
Fri,Sat
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Xmas
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Jan-Mar 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 31 2017
6 night minimum stay
$600
From
$600
Fri,Sat
$4,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Apr 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$525
From
$525
Fri,Sat
$3,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
May 2017
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$475
From
$475
Fri,Sat
$3,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$500
$3,400
$12,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $300 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

Year Round - Rates from $325/nt, $1960/wk, $6000/mo
Rates may vary for short stays
$20 pp/night charge applies to each guest over 8max

Additional fees:
$300 cleaning fee
$500 refundable security deposit

Credit Card payment accepted but incurs additional handling fee.

50% Deposit to reserve dates. Balance due 60 days prior to arrival, 60 day cancellation policy

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rio Verde Foothills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Alarm System
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Rumpus Room
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Also a double inflatable mattress
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
Notes:
wine cooler, granite and travertine floors throughout, central vacuum, security system, RV space with full hookup

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties