check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Dimitra Grous

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish, greek

Seafront cottage with orchard and garden

7 Reviews
Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Dirfies Messapies Cottage Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 12-13

Fully equipped, comfortable seafront cottage, 2 houses fully equipped in two levels, on 3 acres of land, planted with orchards, vines and flowers. A peaceful place in the countryside, ideal for families with children, groups of friends up to 13 guests in a comfortable way or anyone who wants a quiet base to explore Athens and Evia or just to relax. The main house is on a gentle rise, 50m from the sea, with panoramic views of the sea, the island opposite and the surrounding mountains. Just below ,almost at the grounds level the second house recently reconstructed with big windows around in each room. There are places to eat, swim, or go out at night nearby. The large cool & inviting verandas are an ideal place to spend time, watch the sunset, chat or play table tennis. In winter you can sit in front of a fire and watch the clouds over the water. On arrival you immediately feel a sense of relaxation, yet have easy access to any city activity or convenience. Just outside the garden gate is a rocky beach, ideal for private swimming in a clean environment, where the sun sets into the sea. Nearby is a sandy beach with umbrellas, volleyball, beach bars and a play area for children.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Dimitra Grous (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish, greek

About Dimitra Grous

My name is Dimitra Grous and I live in Athens. I work in a newspaper which is called Athens Voice and I am also a teacher of Argentinean Tango. I grew up in Chalkis and Alykes was our holiday house. I still like going there, as well as my parents, so that I can feel close to the sea and the nature and take care of the cottage.

Dimitra Grous purchased this cottage in 1980

Why Dimitra Grous chose Evia

The natural landscape with blue waters and the amazing sunset view. The garden area is the place to relax. fruits, vegetables, amacas, terraces, are there to make fill like holidays. 3000 square meters, a cozy house and our friendly smile will ensure a nice holiday for you

What makes this cottage unique

Our cottage can accommodate bigger groups up to 12-13 persons with many bedrooms and bathrooms. It will give you the opportunity to spend good time with your friends reserving though privacy and comfortableness in a cheaper for you way.

Reviews

5
based on 7 traveler reviews

Seafront cottage with orchard and garden
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
5

Unique place for vacations !

  • 5 of 5

We made the arrangements to rent the house a year in advance. We wanted to organize our stay for two different consecutive situations: two weeks for our family (a total of 15 people including parents, children and grandchildren) and one week with friends (two couples and two singles). The house thoroughly fulfilled our expectations for both purposes. The property is warm, spacious, country-style and very well equipped. It is a sea front house located relatively close to the airport, far enough from crowded touristic places (about 10 Km away from Chalkis and 5 minutes from Drosia, two charming little villages). From the grape wine-covered front veranda, the scenery is just superb: it is splendid to have breakfast looking to the deep blue Mediterranean sea. The pleasant owners are available to comply requirements 24 hours a day.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A beautiful estate!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this wonderful house for five weeks and loved it. The house and garden are spacious. The veranda just lovely. The garden offering lemons, lime, figs, almonds and different herbs. We invited friends from home to come stay with us which was accepted by the owners. Queries was handled fast and friendly. Easy to make contact by sms, facebook and email.

The location was just perfect! A privet beach by the house, perfect for snorkling, other secluded beaches nearby or sunbeds and restaurants just 5 minutes away. Only an hour drive to Athens or 15min to Chalkida. Drosia offers restaurants, foodmarkets,cafés, butchers and a fishmarket.

We also enjoyed taking trips across Evia and up in the mountains. Delphi was exceptionally beautiful.

It was hard leaving, especially the two wonderful dogs who everybody came to love. We know you´'ll enjoy your stay here!

The Swedes.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

spacious and cozy house right on the seashore

  • 5 of 5

My family enjoyed staying at this place very much. The house is spacious, well-equipped. There is a wonderful garden, barbecue area, children's playground in a large area around the house. It is very quiet around. We decided not to go to public beaches, we swam right in front of the house. The bottom is rocky, but that's not a problem if you use aqua shoes. The water in the bay is very clear. The owners provided us with detailed information about places of interest around, and were always in touch and very attentive to our needs.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So much more than just a holiday cottage

  • 5 of 5

If you want to spend your time far from the foreign crowds, this might be something for you. The moment you drive from the road along the rocky sea shore through the front gate, holiday feeling takes over. You will find yourself in a gorgeous garden with olive, palm and (delicious) fig trees, At the end of the lane, the lovely cottage (or rather two well equiped cottages) welcomes its guests.

We stayed for a week in august with the whole family (seven adults, four young children) and had a wonderful time. We just loved dining and relaxing on the shady terraces (what a beautiful sunset!) and swimming and snorkeling in the sea directly in front of the cottage (with swimming shoes). The kids enjoyed the brand new playground, the dogs stayed in their cages and were not a concern at all.

Far from the crowds does not mean in the middle of nowhere. Everything you might need you find in the village of Drosia (10 minutes driving distance). Some Greek highlights are within reach. Athens is one hour away, Delphi two (if you go, you should make a stop in the wonderful Hosios Loukas monastery). The isle of Evia is nearby, but bear in mind travelling the winding roads takes time.

We want to thank the hosts for their hospitality and help. You were lovely.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place to have a family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We visit this cottage second year in a row and we are planning to get there in 2016 as well. No matter do you want to spend some time with your friends or family, this is a great place to do that. The house is just great, it has all utilities that you need, location is fantastic, the beach is fabulous specially for small children. The price is right and Drosia is very nice location for quick one day trip to Athens, Delphi or to visit some islands. You can enjoy peace and quite of a village house and have some fun and see some new stuff at the same time.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Lovely cottage in a beautiful, convenient location

  • 5 of 5

The location of this cottage is perfect. Direct access to a lovely peaceful stretch of coast, a very short drive to a small town (Drosia) with all the facilities you could require, another 10 minutes and you are in Chalkida the principle city of the province of Evia with an array of beautiful shops and restaurants. There are very few foreign tourists in the area, and the local residents are exceptionally warm and friendly. From Chalkida you can catch the frequent rail service to Athens. Also within reasonable driving distance for a day trip are such delights as Delphi, Marathon, Agios Loukas and Thermopylae as well as the peaceful unspoilt island of Evia.

As well as sightseeing, you will want to budget some time for enjoying the cottage. Anyone who (like us) has a passion for sea swimming and snorkelling is in for a treat. The rocky coast outside the front gate offers safe access (with sea shoes) to the divinely clear, warm sea. Currents are gentle and sealife plentiful. There are also sandy bays within easy walking distance. The cottage is fantastically well equipped with everything you could need. There is plenty of opportunity for outdoor living with several beautiful shady terraces, an outdoor cooking area and hammocks. Lovely fresh fruit, vegetables and herbs abound in the garden and we enjoyed cooking with them. Three very friendly dogs live at the property, which was great though they are a little boisterous so if you have small kids you may want to speak to the owner about arrangements for the dogs.

Your hosts are a lovely family who are at pains to make your stay enjoyable. The owners drop in every other day to feed the dogs and water the garden, but will arrange a time with you and are very considerate of guests' privacy. Helpful information is provided regarding local restaurants and facilities.

Highlights of our visit (apart from the sea!) were Delphi, Ramnous (a beautiful unspoilt ancient acropolis by the sea - we were the only visitors at the huge and atmospheric site as it's a little off the beaten track) and a fabulous (and good value) spa day at Edipsos. And of course the wonderous city of Athens.

We would urge you to go and support tourism in Greece at present. The rumours you may have heard are nonsense. A great value holiday in Greece is still possible and you will be welcomed warmly by everyone you meet.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

eviatours.com
Nearest Airport
100 Kilometres
Athens, Elefthérios Venizélos
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Alykes
Nearest Golf
90 Kilometres
Athens
Nearest Train
8 Kilometres
Chalkida
Nearest Motorway
10 Kilometres
Athinon/Lamias
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Alykes
Nearest Ski
120 Kilometres
Parnasos ski resorts
Car: recommended

Located 80 km from Athens (one hour by car), and about 8 km from Chalkida, the capital of Evia Island. The nearest village with shops, Drosia, is 2 km away. Ideal for day trips to Athens, exploring Chalkida and Evia, nature walks, hiking Mount Dirfis, discovering delightful Aegean beaches or just staying put and relaxing. Chalkida is a friendly lively city with 80,000 inhabitants, a seafront promenade with cafes and restaurants, in a scenic location where the island of Evia is connected to the mainland by 2 bridges. Chalkida is well known for fresh seafood.

There are good public transport connections from Chalkida to Athens. Trains run hourly and buses every half an hour. A bus line passes the cottage every half an hour in the summer season, but a car is recommended for access to the house as it is in the countryside.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dirfies Messapies Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
low season
Sep 11 2016 - May 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,349
$5,619
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,910
$4,495
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $337
Cleaning $34

Rates may change according to the number of persons after communicating. For longer stays there are discounts. Winter rates do not include heating expenses.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dirfies Messapies Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 190 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Rural ...
  • Town ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , en suite bedroom 1
    Bathroom 3 2nd house - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Fully furnished bathrooms with sink, mirror, towel racks, hair drier, shower curtains and window. hot water all day long. Towels, soap, shampoo and toilet paper will be provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , living area
    Bedroom 5 2nd house - 1 double
    Bedroom 7 2nd house - 1 sleep sofa /futon , living room
    Bedroom 6 2nd house - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double , en suite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , TV
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , attic, twin beds
  • Acording to the number of quest we can open up the second house for you to fill comfortable. fully eqquiped almost at the level of the ground with bedroom bathroom living and windows around facing the cottages garden Each bedroom has closets and windows with nice views. Bedrooms 1 & 2 have ceiling fans, central heating. Bedroom 1 has air conditioning. Bed sheets and blankets will be provided.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 20 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There are veranda/porches surrounding the houses giving a large area for outdoor living in the summer. The front veranda is covered with vines and is leafty and cool nin the summer, and has tables and chairs and a porch swing. There is also another outdoor sitting area near the second house, which is shaded by mulberry trees. There is a freestanding a brick oven, which requires some special skill to cook with, but there is also a typical barbecue with a dedicated dining and cooking area with outdoor sink, table and chairs and even a toilet. There is a large fig tree near the house that provides large quantities of fresh figs in August. There are 2 friendly dogs are beeing kept at their place at the corner of the field.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties