Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Peaceful Waterfront, Kayaks/Paddleboards/canoe WiFi, Family Gathering perfection

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5BR, 3.5 Bath, 3400 sq ft, updated, 2 masters, quiet part of Lake LBJ

The calm, cool, waters at Legacy Lakehouse are very inviting; a long canoe ride, kayaking through the rocks, a 15 foot high cannonball off our deck, fishing, and other activities await you. Or you may choose to simply read a novel while floating your day away on a raft. It is possible here due to the lack of boat traffic you get with many of the properties downstream. Enjoy the sunset from the deck, as well as an abundance of birds at the water. We have plenty of space for a family get-together and games for a memorable stay; however we do not want large gatherings of 20 people or more, even if they leave at night.

This is a family owned residence and entering our fourth season in the rental market. We are pleased that several of the renters have returned several times! We predict that if the house feels like home and not a rental, people will treat it as their own.

The house is a roomy 5 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, 2 indoor and 1 outdoor dining areas, 1.5 kitchens, and 3 living areas. We have a few TVs including a 61 inch LED in the main living area which also has a fabulous water view. Our WiFi will keep you connected. The half kitchen is in a living area that has a second refrigerator. The main master bedroom is adjacent, as is a smaller bedroom with a trundle bed. There is a second downstairs master bedroom with a bath. Upstairs are 2 bedrooms with a shared bath. Outside is an expansive patio with another dining table, rockers, nice gas grill, and a ping pong table. At the lower part of the yard is a very nice horseshoe pit with our dad's original set of horseshoes - our tournaments are a lot of fun. At the water's edge, there is easy access to the water with a platform attached to the boat dock and sidewalk. There are two elevated decks for relaxation, sunsets, s'mores and a pretty scary cannonball. The dock has the owner's boat in the slip (not for use). INCLUDED in the rental is the use of 4 kayaks, a canoe, and two standup paddleboards - a great value! Don't forget your fishing gear as the fishing can be excellent in this part of the lake.

We have been asked about bringing boats. You are welcome to bring a boat. A private community launch is about a mile away, and it can be parked at the house. However, it is difficult to drive an i/o and impossible to drive an inboard boat to our dock from the close ramp. If you are looking for a house with a dock as a base for daily wake boarding, there are better choices downstream. If you prefer the safety, peace and quiet away from constant boat activity, our house is hard to beat. Fishing boats are no problem.

We are located on Shoals Parkway, in Hoovers Valley, very near Inks Lake State Park and Longhorn Caverns. There is a great little corner store and cafe nearby. Also very close is highly rated Perissos Vineyard. Kingsland is 12 minutes away for HEB, golf, boat rentals, etc. The area is full of friendly people and great times are assured! Read our reviews and call if you have questions.

Spend a week or longer at Legacy Lakehouse for a true vacation. You will feel as if you are in a faraway place, yet only 75 minutes from downtown Austin. For longer rentals, feel free to contact us for pricing.

Rosie, Bruce, and Brian

Brian's cell - 512-750-0799 - call or text.

More Details

Owner
Brian, Rosie, or Bruce
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 7, 2017

About Brian, Rosie, or Bruce

The owners of this property want to provide an inviting location to keep the families together. Our parents used to live just down the street and we have had many wonderful memories of the area. We want to do the same for our children and hopefully theirs as well.

Brian, Rosie, or Bruce purchased this house in 2013

Why Brian, Rosie, or Bruce chose Burnet

We know how special this part of the lake is - the rocks cut down the boat traffic and creates a wonderful environment. Ducks outnumber jetskis. We are able to kayak and paddleboard like it is our private lake. Plus, my dad gave the previous owner some iris bulbs 30 years ago and they are still growing. Couldn't pass that up.

What makes this house unique

The water is the focal point of this house, inside and out. It is hard to get the feeling from the photos but I suspect after a couple days you will start to understand why we love it.

Map

Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Legends
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Hoover Valley Cafe
Car: necessary

Be sure to visit Longhorn Caverns State Park while you stay. Also Perissos Winery is very close and a fun time.

Amenities

Burnet House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , tub , shower
    Master #2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , Downstairs by kitchen
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master #2 - 1 queen , Downstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , Upstairs, shares bathroom with BR #3
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Upstairs, also has sitting area
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Downstairs
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Trundle bed, downstairs, sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Attractions:
  • caves
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Peaceful Waterfront, Kayaks/Paddleboards/canoe WiFi, Family Gathering perfection
average rating of 5.0 based on 31 reviews
5

Relax and Enjoy

  • 5 of 5

House was in very good shape, lots of room in house, very quite and view was wonderful. Kitchen fully stocked with dishes and pans. Wonderful dock to swim and fish off from, fishing a bit slow except for turtles but this time of year is not always great for fishing. Lots of things to do in the water with the equipment and the water was great, cool and lots of fun. Our family loved the weekend there.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed over Memorial Day weekend and this house is perfect. It was out of way of the very congested boat traffic on the main part of LBJ. The kayaks and fishing were great on this part of the lake. We enjoyed the nearby state park and everyone loved the vineyard. The house and property were much larger and nicer than we anticipated. We will definitely return in the future!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Matt for your review! Our part of the lake is a lot quieter than downstream, no doubt. I am glad you caught some fish.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely gorgeous

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful and the outdoor property was gorgeous. It was so relaxing and serene. We are a group of athletes who came down to come to compete in a race and this was perfect. We were able to rest before and after the race and really enjoyed staying at the house. It was so much nicer than staying in a hotel. We will definitely stay again next year when we return. It exceeded our expectations.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I looked up the race you attended and I would definitely need some R&R after completing that race! I am glad it was a good fit for your group. I agree - much better than a hotel as you have a great space to meet and enjoy the company.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful and amazing.

  • 5 of 5

Property better than the pics, no complaints or issues. I only wished we could stay longer. Loved the kyacks, paddle boards, fire pit, fishing, plenty of nice life jackets for everyone.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We hope to see you for a longer stay next time! We think the area is perfect for paddle boards and kayaks. I hope you made an attempt through the rocks in a kayak with the water generating (always go with friends in case you flip over). We are glad you had a good time. Brian, Bruce, and Rosie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX
5

Awesome, Beautiful property with Great Owners

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this property. It was really nice to have the boat dock to fish off of. The house was very comfortable and quite. Just what we were looking for. The owners had great communication as well and were very nice folks. I would absolutely highly recommend.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We want all of our visitors to have a good time and be comfortable in the property. It really can be quiet and peaceful. My favorite times are sunrise and sunset and I'm not sure which I like most. Brian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Gathering-Beyond our dreams!

  • 5 of 5

We planned this Easter weekend for our large family of 12 with a small gathering during the day on Saturday to celebrate our newlywed kids. And we had an exciting Easter Egg hunt on Sunday. This home was so perfect for all of us. The grandkids had their own bedroom and several living areas with TV's to watch movies or hook up their video games. We played several of the games that are kept there. We fished (too many perch to count, couple crappie & a few bass), jumped off the top deck (15 ft. up) into the cool waters below, used the kayaks and the fire pit on our last night. The extra little kitchen sure came in handy for keeping our drinks in the extra refrigerator and food trays for the Saturday gathering. There is really 3 living areas - which is perfect when you have this large of a family together that may not all want to do the same thing - at the same time. The back porch could probably tell lots of stories if it could talk. We spent a lot of time out there telling stories and remembering good times along with making new ones. The large dining room table inside easily fit our 8 adults and the kitchen table seated 5, so the 3 grandkids loved their own table for meals. We used it to play card games and also the large table & chairs on the back porch was perfect for nighttime games. I highly recommend this lake house. The Wifi was sketchy pretty much our entire stay - but the kids easily just found something to do outside and THAT was fine by us. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Charlene, Thank yo so much for the really nice review! It sounds very much like some of the times we have spend at the house. The space really does fit a few generations, each with their own space and meeting area. The WiFi is a bit sketchy but from what I have heard we are "lucky" to have the better company in the lake area! We hope to see you back. Brian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $180
Damage Deposit $650

Interested? We will send you a rental agreement that spells out the cancellation and other policies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.