check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Amazing Sunsets Over the Sound And a Canal In The Backyard

4 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
7 nights


Southern Shores House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bathroom, Sleeps 6-8

Come recharge your batteries in this charming sound side home that sleeps 6-8 in this 2 bedroom (Jack and Jill bath connecting), loft with 2 double futons and 3/4 bath has all you need to relax and leave only if you want to -- soundside park across the quiet dead-end road, grilling, dining and relaxing on the incredibly large screened in deck overlooking the canal. Enjoy the sunsets from the sunroom or take a glass of wine across street while the kids play on the swings or in the water at the beach while you remember why OBX has your heart.

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Sean or Lish
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 7, 2016
Call Owner


based on 4 traveler reviews

Amazing Sunsets Over the Sound And a Canal In The Backyard
average rating of 4.25 based on 4 reviews

Perfect Beach Vacation

  • 5 of 5

The Blue Heron is the perfect place for an OBX vacation. This was our second summer renting this magical house. The location is ideal. The house is in a quiet neighborhood with amazing trees and sits across the street from a beautiful little park. The sunsets over the Sound are wonderful from a bench at the park or from the rocking chair in the front room of Blue Heron (my favorite last year as I was recovering from surgery).

The drive to the beach is along back roads without traffic and the parking passes allow you to park with easy access to the beach.

The house is fun and eclectic and has everything needed for a comfortable stay. My husband and I love the front sun room and my son likes to play his guitar in the loft.

The owners are friendly and helpful. The central location allows for exploring the island and the local restaurants are great!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Staunton, VA

outdoor areas not maintained

  • 2 of 5

Great location and the house has lots of potential to be a wonderful vacation rental, unfortunately the owner is not maintaining the outdoor areas and was not helpful during our stay. We chose this rental mainly for its outdoor spaces and were very disappointed to find the chiminea rusted out, all beach amenities unusable (chairs, umbrella, boogie board all broken), poison ivy covering walkways, debris covered porches, and lots of stagnant bowls of water breeding tons of mosquitoes. We contacted the owner on several occasions and she was not helpful and invited us to do the yardwork ourselves (not our idea of a vacation). The inside was clean but also starting to fall into disrepair (sticky notes throughout the house indicating which appliances did not work, multiple burnt out light bulbs, etc.). We have stayed in many vacation rentals and have never experienced this or an owner that stopped communicating when we requested help or reported deficiencies.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There's always one in every bunch. The complainer. The entitled one. The guests we knew we were bound to get eventually, offering our beloved blueheron to strangers. We, in the 3 years on homeaway, have been extremely fortunate in only having guests that understood the nature of our home -- an eclectic beach cottage in the woods. However, we knew from a month prior to arrival that our time for easy guests was up when I wrote to remind her that linens were not supplied. To which she expressed her disbelief. Within an hour of checking in, these guests called to say the garage door wasn't opening all the way and that they couldn't find wifi password (which was included in their welcome email). I immediately sent our elderly neighbor over to assist, but they had already "solved" the issue. Then the texts started at 6:20 a.m. about the wifi (it simply needed to be reset) and then the fountain, the chiminea and the walkway. The yard had just been mowed prior to this guest's arrival, and when they texted about the "poison ivy" I instructed them that they may use the poison ivy spray that was in the garage. They demanded a lawn service. The repeat guests who stayed just before experienced no problems and found no poison ivy, just wild vinca vines. After six text messages my cellphone died, so having heard nothing through homeaway or email, I guessed they had settled in. Nope. I discovered later that they had continued to send texts, but just to state their dissapointment. In over a decade of having guests, the only other text message we have received was from a five-star reviewer when part of the ceiling fell in due to an a/c leak. As for the beach gear, the umbrella is missing the spike on the bottom but still works, the chairs are not new (but not broken either, and the boogie board is missing its leash (per the prior guests). So while I am sorry that blueheron did not meet their expectations of perfection, I am not sorry that they won't be back. Not for all the gold in the world. And here's hoping that no other kind souls suffer you and your inane standards. You pay cottage prices for a cottage, not for a manicured mansion. Please do us all a favor and spend more to get more. And to think I bumped a 3peat guest back a week so you could have your usual week since your last rental sold. Sometimes kindness kicks you in the behind. But that's not going to stop me in believing and hoping that 99% of guests are wonderful and appreciative.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great week!

  • 5 of 5

Nice, comfy house; everything we needed to cook and be comfortable in general. GREAT location - right on the canal (behind the house) and across the street from a nice little sound-side park, that included a bocci court - cool!

Also, we did some wonderful bicycling - right from the house, we found wonderful cycling opportunities. The neighborhood is very bike-friendly - not much traffic, and just beautiful surroundings. We visited in early April, so the traffic is likely quite different other times of the year.

There are also dedicated bike lanes in nearby areas.

We had a great week!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location for beaches

  • 5 of 5

The house was in ready condition when we arrived. All dishes, silverware, pots and pans provided in addition to washer, dryer, 2 kayaks, beach chairs and the list is endless of all the items provided. Felt at home with all the Ementities. The owners were fantastic and flexible with arrival and departure times. We loved using the beach parking passes!!!! This was our first vacation and first time renting a house in the obx. The owners lived up to all our expectations with the house and made our first vacation an amazing experience! We can't wait to plan our next stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy that you chose blueheron for your first vacation, and we hope to see you again next summer! Lish & Sean
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
78 Miles
Norolk International Airport (ORF)
Nearest Barpub
3.3 Miles
Rundown Cafe, Kitty Hawk or Roadside Grill, Duck
Nearest Ferry
77 Miles
Hatteras - Ocracoke Ferry
Nearest Golf
11 Miles
Kilmarlic Golf Club, Powell's Point
Nearest Train
72 Miles
Amtrak - Norfolk, VA
Nearest Motorway
64 Miles
I-64 Chesapeake, VA
Nearest Restaurant
3.3 Miles
Rundown Cafe, Kitty Hawk or Roadside Grill, Duck
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Hillcrest Beach
Car: recommended

The Outer Banks of North Carolina provide miles of public beaches with as much or as little seclusion as you desire. From the less-populated northern Banks up in Carova requiring 4WD for access and wild horse watching to the popular activity of people-watching in Nags Head, there are sandy spots for everyone. While once considered a sleepy seasonal seaside area, the Outer Banks have matured into a year-round destination for people from around the world. Restaurants, once scarce in the off-season, are now often open year-round and with some of the best coastal cuisine you may ever eat! From the freshest in-season fish to local produce and meats, there is food to suit everyone's palate. Watersport activities range from swimming and surfing to kayaking, jet-skiing, and parasailing. Tanger Outlets offer some quality merchandise and convenience for low price name-brand shopping, and many antique and thrift stores dot the main North-South route from Kitty Hawk to Cape Hatteras. Some of the most amazing sunsets happen here, and one of the best places to see them is from the dunes at Jockey's Ridge State Park. Come in the morning or early afternoon and try your hand at hang-gliding with specially trained professional instructors. You may also want to take advantage of the proximity of OBX to the Gulf Stream for some of the most adrenaline-pumping deep sea fishing you will ever experience. There are many choices at every price range, so if you ever wanted to try it, this is the place to go. Surfing along the Banks is often challenging even for experienced surfers, although you probably won't encounter anything more than six to eight feet at the highest, these waves break closer to the shore than most places. Boogie and wake boarding is also a favorite activity for children and adults alike. Most beaches have lifeguards on duty during the majority of the day, and while some beaches allow pets year-round, Southern Shores is not one of them. There are signs posted at beach access points and pet owners are required to clean up after their pets.

Whatever you choose to do, you are here to relax. And you chose the right place to do it.


Rates & Availability

Southern Shores House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
2017 high
May 13 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Cancellation policy :100 % if cancelled more than thirty days prior to the Check-in Date and the
home is re-rented for that same period.
0 % if cancelled within thirty days prior to the Check-in Date

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Southern Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Powder Room - toilet
  • Master bathroom is shared with two twins bedroom. Shower bath is in loft; powder room is on first floor.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • Master bedroom with queen bed, second bedroom with two twin beds, loft with two full-size futon beds. Bed sheets and bath towels are not provided.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers