check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Mike & Adrienne

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english

5 Bedroom Heritage House West Side Vancouver

2 Reviews
Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

West Side House Rental Photos and Description

Beautifully updated home from 1912, unique rooms and living spaces

Welcome to House on the hill.

This beautifully unique home has 5 bedrooms and 2.5 bathrooms. Each of the bedrooms has a queen size bed, a desk and plenty of storage. Each room comes furnished with towels and linens. The kitchen has recently been updated and we just added a wonderful huge 200sqft deck off of it.

Guests can enjoy all the comforts of home while staying at this property. We have a fully equipped kitchen and a cozy living room with a large TV with Netflix for nights you may want to stay in.

We are able to accommodate 2 per room which is 10 people in the 5 rooms however we can accommodate up to 13 people.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Mike & Adrienne (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english

Reviews

2 traveler reviews

5 Bedroom Heritage House West Side Vancouver
average rating of 3.0 based on 2 reviews
1

Stay away from this house

  • 1 of 5

First of all, the house's pictures are misleading. The house is old and poorly kept. We checked into this property in the early afternoon and went out for dinner. When we got back, we found the owner was in the house working and having dinner. We paid him the rest of the rent as requested. To our surprise, he continued to stay for a long period of time. His working space was right next to the living room. I then came to tell him that he should leave because we wanted our privacy. He said that it is his right to stay there because this is his house and we were only guests there. We told him that this is not acceptable. We were not comfortable with having a strange man staying with us. He then told us to leave his house. This was already after 10 pm. We got into a heated argument. After a while, he left. However, we felt very unsafe with his demeaner and behavior. Fearing for our safety, we left the house and booked a local hotel to stay for the night. We can't believe that vrbo would allow such owner to rent property to other people. This is very unprofessional and unacceptable. Now, we have to figure out how to find a place to stay for the next 4 days. After talking to the first vrbo representative who was very helpful, the case specialist did not seem to be very helpful, i.e., we are on our own. This is the worst experience that I ever had with any rentals.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Future guests, My name is Michael and I am the proprietor of Carnarvon house. We always say one bad review is worth 20 good ones! Well we have lovely revues on our house and take great pride in it. People generally don't take the time to leave reviews if things are good but defiantly take the time if they feel mistreated or had a poor experience. I don't dispute these folks had a bad experience however it was they're own doing. Quite simply I was finishing the check in procedure for them in the evening as it hadn't been done or paid for as they rushed out after arriving earlier in the day. I don't mind this as I can understand the excitement of visiting this lovely city I call home. Was taken by surprise at the sudden aggression as I was filling out the registration form for these people. The female came towards me very close while I was sitting at the desk and demanded I leave in broken English I replied nicely that we hadn't finished the check in procedure and needed to get it done and signed the male immediately came up to me as well acting very aggressive I simply felt threatened and extremely uncomfortable. The children in the group ran away to their respective rooms. I was absolutely mortified by this completely irrational and unprovoked hostility. I stood up because of my discomfort and the husband immediately went berserk taking his shirt off and telling me I was going to fight him. At this point I was terrified for my safety and asked the folks to leave. I left the house at this point and returned later to find them gone. Very grateful that they left. Now I know that everybody has a side to their story but if you read our other 5 star reviews you will in fact see that for whatever reason these people felt slighted they have posted a story that isn't quite true in order to harm our small guest house venture. The truth lays in the fact they have stated that the photos are "mid leading" well they aren't quite simply. My niece Erin took them and is quite a talented photographer. They represent the character and spirit of this old house on the hill and we continue to strive to make every bodies stay exceptional. Thanks for reading and we hope you decide to stay, cheers, Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Loved it! Clean, and convenient location!

  • 5 of 5

The bed was comfortable, the house was clean and I had complete independence during my stay. I am very thankful for the helpfulness of the homeowners as I was a bit intimidated to travel thru the city by bus, but it was easy!

Would recommend and / or stay again if the opportunity arises. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Kilometres
YVR - Vancouver International Airport
Nearest Ferry
32 Kilometres
Tsawwassen Ferry Terminal
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
3 golf courses
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Tons
Nearest Beach
5 Kilometres
Wreck Beach and Spanish Banks
Car: not necessary

Beautiful and scenic west side of Vancouver. Located between the villages of Kerrisdale and Dunbar. UBC is a quick bus ride away, as is Kitsilano

Photos

Rates & Availability

Arbutus Ridge House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$285
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $379

Cancel up to 60 days before check-in for a full refund, less 100$ fee.
We accept visa, MC, American Express, Discover and JCB WITH A 4% service charge.

50% of stay due on reservation, balance due on check in date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

West Side House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Water Closet - toilet
    Bath/Shower/Sink/Toilet - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Large and bright era bathroom with big soaker tub and and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Main Floor - 1 queen
    Basement - 1 queen
    Upstairs 1 - 1 queen , Great view!
    Upstairs 2 - 1 queen , Great view, very spacious
    Upstairs 3 - 1 queen
  • Each room has a queen size bed, so ideally the maximum for each room is 2, upon special request a cots may be provided for additional guests up to 13.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties