check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Prime Location, Walking Distance to Beach & Town

6 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

New Shoreham Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

PLEASE NOTE: Our 2016 calendar will open around Nov 1. We give our current renters first option to keep their week. Once we hear from them we open the calendar up for the next year.

Block Island has for the vacationer what doesn't seem possible anymore - utter, complete, kicked-back relaxation. Those who cross the twelve miles from what islanders call 'America,' shed more than their neckties and high heels; they shed schedules and agendas. They find a place where they can drift through the days without pressure, without pretense - a place where getting dressed -up means getting out of a swimsuit and into shorts, where going to the post office is a big event. Bring your family, your bikes and your adventure and sample this way of life for a week this summer!

Our clean, cute 2 bedroom apartment is walking distance to town and the beaches. The apartment is attached to the main house but has its own access with a front and back door. We have installed hardwoods throughout and we pride ourselves on the cleanliness. Each week we turn over the unit personally and make sure it's just the way WE would want to rent it. Every year items are replaced and maintained and updated as needed.

Each bedroom has a bureau and a closet. Ceiling fans are in each room (bedrooms and living room). There are also window fans for your use as well. The couch in the living room pulls out to a double. There is also a roll away twin bed in the bedroom closet. We do limit the number of occupants to 5. Water and electricity usage is costly to say the least!

The kitchen is outfitted with pots, pans, bowls, etc. There is a coffee maker, toaster and microwave. There are also extra items like wine openers, measuring cups etc.

There is a great front porch w/rockers and a large back yard with a play structure. Our property fronts Harbor Pond where you can launch kayaks or canoes. Gas grill and outdoor shower are available as well. There is plenty of room for bikes and other toys.

We are located steps from the grocery store (we call it our pantry!), the Bagel Shop, the bank and several restaurants. A car is not necessary with our location but should you choose to bring one, there is off street parking.

We realize you are on vacation. There may be some things you do not want to hassle with so we have offered to provide a few extra services. The apartment does not come with linens (sheets, bath towels or beach towels) but for an additional fee of $100 we will have that in the apartment for your arrival. Also, Block Island does not offer garbage pick up. Each tenant is responsible for taking their garbage to the transfer station at the end of their stay. However, for an additional $25 we will do that for you.

Our apartment has been available for rental for the past 17 years. Each year we have multiple return renters. Some have even been coming for the entire 17 years! Our season usually is completely booked by March 1 so if you are considering a stay with us don't wait!

Keywords: apartment, summer rental

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

Our home has been in our family for 4 generations. Needless to say, Block Island is a special place for us. We maintain our property ourselves and live in the main house all summer. We travel extensively ourselves and know what people expect on vacation.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1956

Why The Owner chose Rhode Island

This property has been in our family for 4 generations. Block Island is in our blood!

What makes this apartment unique

Our property is very centrally located. We are steps away from the movies, ice cream, shopping or a day at the beach.

Reviews

4.3
based on 6 traveler reviews

Prime Location, Walking Distance to Beach & Town
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
1

Unimpressed

  • 1 of 5

First, the picture is deceiving. This is a live in apartment and there is no privacy. You share the backyard with the owners. Upon checkout the owner made us do a "walk through" and said she was upset that the sheets were dirty and that she had to clean them. She yelled at us like two year olds.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: William I'm sorry you were "unimpressed" with your stay...I guess the feeling is mutual. We clearly state in our description, we have a family home with an attached apartment. Yes, the back yard is shared, (also clearly stated). We attract families with children or couples looking for a nice, clean place close to town and the beaches. You were NEITHER of those groups. First you mislead us by signing the contract with only two people listed, when, in fact, you had up to 6 staying over at night. I could have made an issue of that but didn't. Then, you drank and partied until 2am most of the week. Again, I could have made an issue of that but didn't. You had more alcohol and profanity coming out of that apartment than I could believe. Again, I could have made an issue of that but didn't. And lastly, your friends were throwing your garbage in the brush next to our house. THAT I had to make an issue of. You need to think twice when you chose to rent someone's home. At 20-something, you clearly don't have the consideration and respect for the space around you. I clean that apartment myself. (I stuck to the floor and yes, the new, white bed linens were filthy.) Your group (many who were, again, not on the lease) treated the apartment as a fraternity house. This was not acceptable and YES, we did want a personal walk through before you left (the first we've ever requested). We have rented our apartment for 15 years now. You are the first group I have EVER had a problem with. You are also the first group who has EVER complained.
Did you find this review helpful?
15 2
5

2 couples from long island

  • 5 of 5

From the first day I email the owner of this property, to our last day of vacation there, the owner was very helpful and by being helpful she made our stay there GREAT. She email me about the PeaPod food delivery to the island, left a book with activities to do on the island. And most of all made her home feel welcome to us. The photos of the inside of the cottage was accurate and very clean, as well as the outside. Yard was well maintained. We BBQ outside in the yard, stayed out at night and watch the stars. Everything you would want outside was at your finger tips right there. We even had dinner on the front porch. Location of this property was more than what you would ask for. You could walk anywhere with in 5 to 15 mins to get to a beach, restaurant or store. I would recommend this place to everyone I know that would like to stay on Block Island. We are looking forward to going back to the same location next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

A+ Vacation

  • 5 of 5

It was our first time to Block Island and we will definitely return! The property was close to everything and perfect for our family vacation. We especially enjoyed the swing set and grill - we hung out and cooked in most nights at the house since it was so inviting.

The island is amazing. We enjoyed visiting different beaches and nature trails each day. They were each uniquely different. We were very active throughout the week and there is still so much more for us to see. We can't wait to return.

The owners were extremely responsive and accommodating. The house was very well maintained and everything was perfect!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Westchester County, NY
5

Excellent location!

  • 5 of 5

We love Block Island and vacation every summer there typically at an inn in Old Harbor, but when we found this great rental so close to Old Harbor and all it has to offer, we had to stay there! We are so glad we did! The apartment was perfect for our family of 4 (two adults and two toddlers), loved the backyard area and the front porch was great for relaxing after a day at the beach. The house is walking distance to terrific restaurants, beautiful beaches, the fun pubs, grocery store, and all of the shops! We do bring our car over (for packing purposes, we need it), but only drove it 3 or 4 times all week - mostly to head over to New Harbor to eat at The Oar and out to see the sights for a drive. The house is very clean and the owners are more than accommodating - lovely family, we are happy to have met them! We are already counting down the days until our return to this rental next summer - can't beat it! We had a wonderful family vacation there!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you and the kids next summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
Plantsville Ct
5

Great Week Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This will be our 6th year returning to this apartment. There are many reasons we keep coming back.

The 1st is the cleanliness of the apartment. We feel so comfortable and enjoy it inside and out.

The outdoor shower is absolutely lovely with the sun shining down on you it is perfect.The shops and restaurants are so close you can walk and don't need to hassle with a car in the crowded streets. Walking to the beach is great! The grocery store has pre-made food or you can buy and cook your own. Can't wait till July to return to a week on "paradise Island".

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Aldie, VA
5

Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with my husband and parents in August 2011. It is a lovely apartment, clean and fresh! There is a double bed in one room and twins in the other, which was perfect for us. The backyard is huge! Wild blackberries everywhere to pick. It even backs up to water, which will take you to Great Salt Pond. There is a nice porch to hang out on out front, and it's great for people watching. Our favorite thing: you can walk to almost every store and restaurant on the island (and even the beach)! The owners are friendly and helpful. Kitchen is well stocked. Excellent outdoor shower, too! Perfect home base. Relax and enjoy!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

New Shoreham Apartment Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250

Please mail security deposit check ($250) separately.

Linens (sheet, bath & beach towels) can be rented for $100/week
Trash can be left at the end of your vacation for $25/week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

New Shoreham Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen Bed (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There is a pullout queen bed in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties