Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family/ PET Friendly Home on Beautiful Mount Desert Island

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

A comfortable home 1.5 miles from the town of Southwest Harbor. Perfect home for a family looking to hike, bike, whale watch, or sail. Close to Acadia National Park. Bring your kayak or borrow our single kayak and head to Long pond, only 7 minutes from the house. The upstairs has 2 bedrooms (one king size bed, one queen size bed) and 2 full size baths. Downstairs open basement with pool table, air hockey, large couch, and twin size bed.

The home is available Saturday to Saturday for weekly rentals.

More Details

James Norwood and Melanie Clauson
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 28, 2017


Southwest Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , private in masterbedroom suite
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3/basement - 1 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 1 with king bed and private full bathroom, bedroom 2 with queen, bedroom 3/basement twin
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
Family/ PET Friendly Home on Beautiful Mount Desert Island
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
Nashville, TN

Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We were debating on staying in Bar Harbor or Southwest Harbor. We are very happy with our choice. The house was perfect, extremely clean, which is very important to me. I usually spend my first few hours cleaning the kitchen and bathrooms. Not so here, no need, the house was immaculate! The house had plenty of room for the 4 of us, even without the basement. But the best feature is the deck!!! I spent every morning there with my coffee, and the evenings with a glass of wine. I never saw deer but the backyard trails into Acadia NP and the view is peaceful.

Southwest Harbor has a lot of restaurants and shops to spend a day exploring. We enjoyed Red Sky immensely! Best meal of our vacation. A little pricey but worth every penny. Beal's Lobster Pier wasn't worth the price or wait. Eat a Pita was good for lunch and dinner. We spent 2 days on Long Pond. One day just hiking, the other kayaking. Also spent a morning hiking up Beech Cliff to the Fire Tower. These trips are all 15min or less from the house.

We could have spent the whole week on this side of the island there is so much to do. But this house is close enough to Bar Harbor that we spent 3days on that side of the island. We did one day in Bar Harbor eating and shopping and playing the tourist, and the other two hiking the Park.

Maine is beautiful! And this house was perfect for our family to enjoy Maine's beauty. Thank you Melanie.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

I was so surprised when Melanie was willing to rent to me and my four dogs and thought that the house must be pretty run down. I was so very wrong. It's absolutely lovely and immaculately clean. We had a fabulous time. We were out every day from morning to dark most days, so we didn't have much time to enjoy the large and attractive deck and yard, but it was great to have the dogs out there when we were home. The house is a bit out of town, but after busy days, it was wonderful to come home to perfect peace and quiet and to be able to shower and put my jammies on and be able to take the dogs out in a private area. It is completely dark at night, but there was a flashlight provided. The whole house is very well supplied. It would be a great place to rent for a family with children or couples or, well, just anyone! I highly recommend it. And if you go, be sure to make your way to the Quietside Cafe in Southwest Harbor for the best blueberry pie in the world!

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Home in Every Way!

  • 5 of 5

This home is wonderful! The pictures don't do it justice! The home is built on a hill, so the image from the front makes it look like a small home/cabin. However, out back, it is a 2 story house. The 'basement' is actually a walk-out with high ceilings. It's the perfect place to send the kids - pool table, giant electric hockey table, satellite tv with videos, all with a walkout to the yard.

From the first floor, the deck is amazing. It is huge and the 'yard' is gorgeous. It abuts Acadia National Park, and one early morning, while I sat on the deck drinking coffee, a deer wondered in the yard and just hung out. My old dog just sat and watched. I would say that while the house is really nice, it is the huge deck overlooking the gorgeous yard, surrounded by giant trees, that really makes it exceptional.

As for the house, we were amazed at how well stocked it was. We've rented many homes and usually we are disappointed - few towels, or few dishes, or no bedding, etc. But everything we could possibly want was here. The second day we were here, after a hot day of hiking, we returned to the home and were discussing how great this place was - how we felt we totally lucked out, and I said, 'ya know the only thing that would make this place perfect was if they had an icemaker'. Sure enough, they do. It's just a little hidden, with a pull out drawer in the freezer.

As for location, its the perfect location! We come to Bar Harbor every year and we're tired of the tourist craziness, but Southwest Harbor gives you the benefits of Bar Harbor (in a 20 minute drive) and the solitude when you want to get away from it all. Not just that, but the best Lobster Shacks are on the Quietside. We went to Beal's - not much of a fan, Charlotte's - which was decent food but by far the best blueberry pie on the island, bar none, and Thurston's. We had to eat there twice, it was so good.

Just down the road is a sweet coffee shop - Milagro, open 7am-1pm.

The house has 3 bedrooms/2 baths on the first floor. I probably wouldnt have anyone sleep in the basement - a slight mildew smell but there's plenty of room down there. One caveat. It is on a slightly industrial road. At one end of the road is a building company,with dozens of heavy machinery/trucks, and a moving company. Truly not a big deal and you won't be aware of it when you're on the property. But something to be aware of. All in all, can't wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lehman Pa

House amazing- disappointed in security deposit withheld

  • 2 of 5

House is everything every review says it is; and we were excited to recommend this place to everyone who was visiting ME, however a portion of the Deposit was withheld claiming that the heat was turned on during the summer, when in fact it was not. Sent several emails to the owner regarding the situation, without resolution. Disappointed to not be able to give this place a better rating.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These renters checked out at 530am. The cleaning staff did not arrive till 10am. I personally was there at 9:45am. I opened a bedroom that was closed off and it was unbearably hot. I touched the register and it was very hot to touch. I checked the living room thermostat and it said 74 degrees. I charged a $20.00 fee. Most renters treat our home as their own and would not leave the heat so high upon check out. I have since posted a sign near all thermostats to remind renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A disappointment

  • 2 of 5

Not what we expected from the pictures or description. Further out of town than we knew and across the road from a septic tank cleaning company. "Finished basement" was only partially finished and hardly another bedroom. Would not recommend or stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We never heard a complaint from these renters until last week. A long time to wait (almost a year). I emailed them and they never responded. We ask renters to let us know right away if they are unhappy. We would have been happy to refund money or help them find another hotel,etc. We have since added a third bedroom upstairs with a twin bed. The pictures clearly show a spare bed downstairs within the open basement. Ideal for older children. We can't help what other businesses reside on our road. But a septic business so close is handy if we had septic problems. there is no dumping of septic anywhere near the property. The trucks park there that is all. As for distance from town, anyone can google this. We charge less then other properties to accomodate the distance.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Super in every way!!! Great memories were made here and it was well worth it. I highly recommend.

  • 5 of 5

I selected this property and feel I that I hit the jackpot for a great place to stay while seeing Acadia/Maine. Everything was provided for. Even a toothbrush for someone who forgot to pack one! The property is VERY well maintained and VERY well decorated/furnished. We really enjoyed the larger then it looks space, fully equipped kitchen, big bedrooms, great bathrooms, game room downstairs with pool table and air hockey plus multiple TV's with well stocked videos. Loved making smores and roasting hot dogs or lobsters out at the fire ring! Saw many deer in the back yard in the morning while having coffee on the huge deck. Lots of room to park and turn a RV or large vehicle around with ease. It may me somewhat off the beaten path but it's private and we beat ALL the traffic when we were headed someplace or coming back. Owners are super nice and really thoughtful. We celebrated my daughters 21st birthday (UMaine student) and my friend's daughter's high school graduation with this as our base-camp and Acadia in our backyard. We made memories that will last a lifetime. I really wish we could have stayed longer! I highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Bangor International Airport
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Echo Lake Beach


Rates & Availability

Southwest Harbor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
September 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
October 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Damage Deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties