check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Tom and Maureen Hopkins

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Large Lakefront Home on Moosehead Lake with Spectacular Beach and Dock

14 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Beaver Cove House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 8

Possibly the best location on Moosehead Lake. Tucked in a protected cove on a small point on the end of a dead end private road, this property with a large yard offers its own private beach as well as an association beach on the other side of the point with a playground, horseshoe pit, barbeque and picnic tables No matter what the wind direction or the time of day, you can find a sunny spot to enjoy the water out of the wind. Bring your boat or seaplane! This home has its own dock. If you prefer, enjoy the tandem kayak complete with a third seat for a small child which is available for your use.

On the inside enjoy granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, and 3 large bedrooms, in a tastefully decorated home with plenty of windows overlooking the lake 90 feet away where you are apt to see moose and deer enjoying a drink. Be sure to leave the windows open at night to hear the loons!

All this beauty and only 10 minutes from the shops and restaurants of Greenville

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Tom and Maureen Hopkins (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for opening up your home last minute for our winter vacation. The snowmobiling and ice fishing were fantastic. It was especially nice to have a heated garage for the snowmobiles at night. The house was very clean and well taken care of. A previous review had indicated that the property was not well maintained. No sign of that from us. I would definitely recommend staying here. Looking forward to coming back in the summer.
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.4
based on 14 traveler reviews

Large Lakefront Home on Moosehead Lake with Spectacular Beach and Dock
average rating of 4.428571 based on 15 reviews
1

Good Location for kayaking and near private beach.

  • 1 of 5

As for the rental home, there were many problems. The biggest one was the buckle in the wood flooring. It was raised at least 4 inches and ran approximately 15 feet long. We tripped over it many times. This problem obviously has existed the entire rental season and is a major hazard for everyone who rents this place. The mattresses were very hard, some of the bath towels and wash clothes smelled moldy, there were no sheets for the sofa bed which we needed to use, and the screen on the sliding door was pulled away from the frame allowing bugs to get in. We have stayed at many rental properties in the area over the years. Never have I felt like the owner cared more about the "bottom line" than the comfort of their renters than I did with this place. I would not recommend this rental property.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Home, Delightful vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time in Beaver Cove. Their home is beautiful and well-kept. The location is EXCELLENT. We enjoyed being able to take our boat from our own dock from the property. The dog run in the front and back of the property were VERY convenient! My whole family and I had a great time on our vacation and we couldn't have made the memories we did without all the accessories in this property (dock, beach, games, kayak, lawn)! I could write so much more but I'll just say- We hope to come back next year!!! Thank you so much Hopkins family!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was beautiful and clean. The stay was awesome.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much for letting my family use your property on Beaver Cove. The master bedroom was way more spacious than the pictures show.

The beds were comfortable. Having a washer and dryer was very nice with everyone we had. The beach for Moosehead Lake was incredible. We saw

while there about 7 moose and 4 deer. Will come back again.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Total relaxation

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a week up at Beaver Cove--it was a true vacation!!! The cove, the beautiful scenery and the gorgeous house

left nothing to be desired except to RELAX. There were only two drawbacks--the dock was difficult to walk on--could be a bit more

secure and the upstairs sofa bed was very uncomfortable. But they are our only complaints. The house was pristine and very well taken

care of. Love how it was decorated and had every amenity. The water was so clear--you could see right down to the bottom of the lake. This was our first time to the Moosehead lake area and we are hooked! It is just breathtaking! Greenville, a short drive away, was so quaint and the people unbelievably friendly. The grocery store there was affordable and convenient. As for the moose, we saw four!!! Went to the areas that were recommended and saw our first moose--it was very exciting! The owners were very accommodating and pleasant--this was definitely a win-win situation.

Highly recommend this house--you will not regret it. You can't help but return home totally refreshed!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent Moosehead vacation home

  • 5 of 5

The Hopkin's vacation home in Beaver Cove on Moosehead Lake met all of our expectations. The home is roomy and comfortable, and the location on the lake is outstanding. The Cove is well protected from the often windy lake, and while there are some other homes nearby, there is adequate wooded buffer to give a secluded feel. The kitchen was very nice and well equipped. The only negative is lack of cable TV, but there is a DVD player for movies, and the home has wifi. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Overall wonderful experience in the house/area

  • 5 of 5

We want to thank the Hopkins family for allowing us to stay in their home located in Beaver Cove, Maine. The home was exactly as described. The home was well appointed and comfortable. We had four adults, a six year old, and a 9 month old border collie. The home fit our needs and we did not lack for anything. The home was right on the lake which made for a beautiful view. Mr. Hopkins was very responsive to our emails regarding things to do in the area and what the hot spots are in the area. The area we were in had a very nice, safe beach area for those who own/stay in the property.

The area was very nice and we loved it up there. There was plenty of outdoor activities to do and the home is conveniently located to many of the areas attractions. We went a half day fishing with Stephen Cole on Moosehead Lake and had a successful outing, three lake-locked Salmon and two Lake trout. One of each did not make it back to the wilds :) We saw the moose, deer, and loons while we were there. We also were able to get some hiking in in the area.

Overall, we had a great time in a wonderful area with a very helpful owner. I would recommend this house and this area to anyone who wants to be outdoors during the day and be in a comfortable home at night. Now I have to go back and get my picture of the elusive bull moose.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

lake, waterfront, beach, wildlife, boating, hiking, ATVs, snowmobiles, fishing, hunting, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, moose watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Beaver Cove House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 10 2016 - Nov 6 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
$900
 
 
Spring 2017
May 6 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$950
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,700
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 9 2017 - Nov 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 8.0%

Currently not available for winter rental

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Beaver Cove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , master suite with queen bed and sleep sofa
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dock Boat ramp and boat fuel available nearby Seaplane friendly

Partner Offers