check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Scott Shackleton

Member since: 2005
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Pet friendly, Ocean-front, Stunning views and walkable location

26 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Coastal North Carolina Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom plus sofa bed and bunks - sleeps 6, plus bring Fido!

Oceanfront unit on a wide beach! Watch the sunrise over the water and feel the ocean breeze! Walk directly out on the beach with your own private access. This is a wonderful location for your next summer vacation, Fall or Spring getaway. You can swim in the ocean from April until November! The gorgeous wide beach is staffed from Memorial Day through Labor Day by life guards. We are located just two blocks from the boardwalk, beach shops, restaurants and banks. Our vacation rental is fully-equipped for your comfort, relaxation and enjoyment. Your private oceanfront deck is perfect for dining or watching the ocean. There is a queen bed in the master bedroom and a queen bed in the sleeper sofa. There is also a set of bunks in the hallway nook. The condominium will sleep six and is perfect for a romantic get-away or a small family. There is a full-size washer and dryer located in the garage. The unit is an elevated second level with two flights of stairs.

If you are looking for two, check out #61355 - the unit right below!

During the summer months, I try to book full week reservations (Saturday to Saturday), so I don't usually accept reservations for shorter stays more than 2-3 weeks out.

If this condo is not available check 368142, 974462 and 284297 - PLEASE CHECK THE AVAILABILITY CALENDAR PRIOR TO CONTACTING ME, I DO KEEP IT UPDATED. RATES ARE PROVIDED UNDER THE RATE TAB FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE

Parking: There is ample parking on site.

Pets up to 50 pounds.Pet fee required.: Email for more information.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Scott Shackleton (Property Manager)
Member since: 2005
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Scott Shackleton

I'm a travel addict and I know how important clean and convenient accomodations are to enjoying a vacation. I'm also love my pet, so I understand wanting to bring pets on vacation. As long as Fido is well behaved and doesn't bark excessively, he or she is welcome.

Scott Shackleton purchased this condo in 2014

Why Scott Shackleton chose Coastal North Carolina

This condo is one of 5 I own at Carolina Beach. Pleasure Island is small enough to provide a relaxed beach atmosphere without over-commercialization. At the same time there is a high enough population in the summer to attract top rate restaurants and entertainment. It is close to Wilmington NC and all that is offered there. I love spending time in Carolina Beach when my condo's are not rented. I like to hang out on the beach with friends, walk for miles, visit the Aquarium at Fort Fisher, ride my bike and relax with good books. Anytime of year is a great time to visit Carolina Beach. Spring and Fall are actually my favorite times.

Reviews

4.4
based on 26 traveler reviews

Pet friendly, Ocean-front, Stunning views and walkable location
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 26 reviews
5

Just what you needed

  • 5 of 5

We are the type of people who aren't focused on the inside of of the property but more so the view! It was a gorgeous view and location! Scott was very helpful and even allowed us to check in early! There is everything you could possibly need and more! The most convient thing we loved having was the beach chairs and umbrella! If your looking for an awesome beach front this place is where you should start looking!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome view

  • 5 of 5

Very nice place , very clean ,very comfortable, The view is awesome and short distance to beach right out back. Very inviting.so awesome we mainly went for fishing. So wasn't at the condo much but it was nice to come back to and only short distance to both piers. I would highly recommend. Thank u so much Scott for the wonderful condo u share for all to enjoy. Samantha Myers.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manhattan, Kansas
3

Ok condo in a great location

  • 3 of 5

Best part of our stay was the location, we were in walking distance of everything Carolina Beach has to offer. The condo is ok but left much to be desired. The AC was cold and kept us comfortable. The location was quiet and felt safe for my family. The kids made good use of the WiFi but I found the Internet to be slow. The TV's are very old and I was not even able to get the one on the master bedroom to work. I managed to get the tv in the living room to work but it took a while every time I turned it on. The cable was extremely limited. The kids liked the built in bunk beds but the pull out couch was a back breaker. The bed in the master bedroom was ok. The kitchen does have some utensils but most of what is there is pretty old, and the stuff I used, like the knives, we're not great. The place was clean but it seemed like it was not, mostly due to the outdated and poorly maintained furnishings. The dented up dish washer and the bent curtain rods kind of set the tone for the rest of the condo. The sliding door to the balcony was very hard to open and close. Over all we had a good time, and I especially loved the location but I will likely not stay at this location again. More suited for younger folks looking to party and not so concerned about the condition.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the place more. The location is wonderful, and I'm glad you enjoyed the AC and the kids enjoyed the Wifi. Perhaps the reason it was slow was the number of people on it at one time. I haven't had any problems with it. Just because I'm a stickler for details, the TV in the living room is actually 3 years old and the one in the bedroom was 1 year old in May. I'm sorry you had problems getting it to work, and wish you would have contacted me as the check in materials indicate. If a guest presses the wrong buttons on the remote, it can get confusing to get it back. I would have been happy to step you through it. I'm glad you recognized that the place was clean. It was also freshly painted (within 1 year, and touch ups done at the start of each season). The Curtains are 2 years old, and the bathroom was remodeled after a flood just 2 years ago. At the same time the carpet was replaced. The pull out couch is just that...a pull out couch. I don't recommend them if you are a sensitive sleeper. The kitchen items are updated each year, and replacements are made when necessary. Since there are no dates on them, I'm wondering how you determined they were old? The frying pans were actually bought in March. There is a dent at the top of the dishwasher color panel. Most people don't find that interferes with their enjoyment of the beach very much. Overall, I'm glad you had a good time. Of course, the location in town and the beach is what one goes to the Coast for, right? And, if you are reading this review and a "younger folk looking to party" please move along, we don't allow parties in this building! That's why we work hard to keep the condition nice by updating things regularly and keeping it nicely painted. Please note, I do have other places that are mentioned in my listing. I have two places that are two bedrooms (which might prevent you having to sleep on a pull out couch). Of course, you would have paid more. I get many nice comments about the value of this place considering the rates.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great location, convenient to all we needed.

  • 4 of 5

The place was a great size

We could not get the tv to work although it was not a priority so we didn't miss having it , it might be important to someone else. Also foam beds wrapped in plastic could be manageable if there was s bed pad not just a sheet to put over it. I understand the possible need for plastic but then include a bed pad or suggestion to bring them from home for the twin beds

The place was clean and much smaller than we normally get but it lived big so we would definitely come back

Thankyou for an overall great get away

  • Submitted: May 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry about the mattress pads...there were mattress pads there last time I checked! I will get them replaced. Please note, there are only waterproof covers on the twin beds...kids normally use that room.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property for location, price, and pet friendly

  • 5 of 5

What a quaint little place to stay. Just perfect for 2 adults and 2 dogs. Owner was very quick with response for booking and refunding deposit. Would work with them again!!!

Watch the sunrise over the ocean from the porch. Surfers catching waves. There was surf lessons just down the road at the Courtyard parking. They provided us with entertainment as they waves were not quite big enough during our stay. Dolphins frolicking through the ocean made sitting on the porch a fun relaxing time.

Easily could have 4 people comfortably, more might be a little crowded, but that's what beach time is for. Clean and maintained condo. Bed was comfortable. AC worked like a charm. Kitchen was well equipped for our needs. Refrigerator kept everything ice cold.

Walked to Michelangelo's Pizza and Subs for take out. They did have outdoor seating but we wanted to watch ocean activities from our room. Delicious pizza!!! McDonald's, shopping and the Boardwalk where all withing easy walking distance from the condo location. BRITSS DONUTS is a must!! Beats driving the traffic and looking for parking places.

Walking the ocean beach at Carolina Beach was out...Dogs are not allowed on the beach April 1st through September 30. Be sure and check if you plan on walking the beach with your dog.

Carolina Beach Lake Park - can be seen from the condo. Easy walking distance from the condo. This was an excellent place to take the dogs for their morning and evening walks. Blacktopped trail around the lake with strategically place "waste" bags and receptacles made it easy to clean up after the dogs. Public restrooms are located by the playground for humans :)

Carolina Beach State Park 1010 State Park Road - was another beautiful option that we took full advantage of with the dogs. Be sure and take your doggie waste bag. Remember to take plenty of drinking water for your pets - water around the park is either brackish or salt water. There are restrooms available that do have fresh water. Little fiddler crabs made for some interesting playtime with the dogs.

Freeman Park at the North end of the island. Dogs ON LEASH April 1st to September 30, OFF LEASH October 1 to March 31. Need to have at least 2 dog waste bags to clean up after your dog. Must be able to produce and show the official if asked. This park also allows 4x4 vehicles but you do need an access pass.

Great place to see the sights of Carolina Beach with walking.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Location is perfect! Condo is worn.

  • 3 of 5

The owner is extremely easy to work with and helpful. He answers emails and questions immediately. This condo is in a perfect spot near the boardwalk and steps to the beach. All beach supplies were amply provided. The rugs and couch in the condo are old and stained. The bed is VERY noisy (no box spring). There were no hangers and the cosmetic panel on the front of the working dishwasher fell off multiple times. This inexpensive rental does allow pets although we didn't bring them. If you're looking for a simple, convenient place to stay, this is it.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sooty the color panel fell off the Dishwasher. Actually, while I didn't pick the carpet so it isn't particularly up to date looking, it is 2 years old and cleaned regularly. There is a box spring under the mattress, and many people have commented that it's comfy...that's always a matter of personal opinion.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Wilmington
Nearest Barpub
Several bars within walking distance
Nearest Restaurant
Many restaurants within walking distance
Nearest Beach
Carolina Beach
Car: necessary

Enjoy coffee while watching the sunrise, or a quiet evening on the deck with a glass of wine. Lounge on the beach or ride a bike to nearby attractions. Visit the NC Aquarium at nearby Fort Fisher, or spend a day touring Historic Downtown Wilmington. During the off-season enjoy stunning ocean views from the living room and curl up with a good book. Whether you like lots of activity or lazing around, you'll find this a perfect vacation spot.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Carolina Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 27 2016 - Sep 6 2016
2 night minimum stay
$160
From
$185
Fri,Sat
$975
$3,200
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 7 2016 - Nov 2 2016
2 night minimum stay
$140
From
$165
Fri,Sat
$725
$1,800
 
 
Late Fall
Nov 3 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$75
From
$100
Fri,Sat
$500
$1,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$975
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Pet Fee $65 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.0%

Holiday nights are charged at the same rates as weekend rates.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Coastal North Carolina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Tub/shower, single vanity and, of course, toilet!
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen Bed, linens provided, 32" LED TV with DVD
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...