check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Keri Whitmore

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

OB Budget Beach House, 3.5 Blocks to Beach, Cozy and Contemporary

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Ocean Beach House Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom plus den, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4

The OB Budget Beach House is a great vacation home for families on a budget. The location is excellent, 3.5 blocks to the beach and 2 blocks to 'Main Street.' This beach bungalow is VERY nice and yet cozy. The bedroom has a Queen sized bed with memory foam mattress. The den has two built-in desks and twin Murphy bunk beds. Recent upgrades include new kitchen cabinets, granite counter tops and back splash, new tile flooring, contemporary furnishings, a deck with gas grill and plenty of seating as well as one off-street parking space.

Ocean Beach: Location, location, location! This bungalow is located in an ideal neighborhood which is a nice 5 minute walk to the beach, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle/congestion of the immediate beach area. Enjoy off-street parking along with ample additional street parking.

The sands of Ocean Beach (OB) are a pleasant 5 minute walk from your front door. At Ocean Beach you can enjoy an eclectic group of people, shops, restaurants, bars, antique stores, or just sit back and watch the surfers catch waves at the OB pier. Stroll down to Sunset Cliffs and enjoy enchanting views where you might even be lucky enough to see passing Whales!

Families can enjoy our close proximity to Sea World, which is only a 5 minute drive. If you want to catch some of the San Diego nightlife, the Gaslamp District in Downtown San Diego features hundreds of dining and entertainment options. The Gaslamp district is a 7-10 minute drive from Ocean Beach.

Activities: If you are looking for activities on your vacation, Ocean Beach is Conveniently located within 15 minutes of major attractions including the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Museums, Old Town, Sea World, Kayaking, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, La Jolla Cove, hiking, surfing,golfing, boating and miles of sandy beaches.

The Entire property (front and back houses) can accommodate 12people!: Call for information regarding accommodations for large parties (up to 12)

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Keri Whitmore (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We rented this beach bungalow for a last minute get-away, it was absolutely perfect! The entire place was freshly remodeled and decorated very well, you could tell that everything in the house is high-end. My kids loved the Murphy bunk beds and we appreciated having the desks as my Husband and I both had some work to do while we were down there. I think we found our new favorite get-away spot in San Diego!
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)
OB Budget Beach House, 3.5 Blocks to Beach, Cozy and Contemporary
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 21 reviews
Hemet, CA
5

Well thought out and self contained

  • 5 of 5

I don't want to write this because then other people will take up all the available dates. I needed a one plus bedroom situation for our stay. That is what I got. It was clean and modern even though you wouldn't guess that from an alley access former garage. Everything worked and was easy to use. They thought of all the little details. You are close to neighbors, so we shut the window when it was necessary. Ocean Beach is in a flight path so there is some noise throughout the day. That isn't the properties fault but it is a reality for ALL of Ocean Beach. There are good lighting options and the frig and stove and fans were all easy to use and functioned perfectly. Honestly my husband and I fantasized about how we could live there permanently. This was affordable and close to all our favorite shops and restaurants. My husband even walked down to the gym at the local park. My security deposit was returned quickly as we left the place undamaged. THANK YOU!

  • Submitted: May 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely but noisy

  • 3 of 5

The living space is very comfortable and well furnished. However, it is directly under the flight path to San Diego airport which made it hard to sleep and to watch a movie in the evening. It is close to the Dog Beach and Fiesta Island where you don't hear any noise disturbance. These two beaches are just fantastic spots for our dog and us to relax outdoors.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy, updated, small patio space...

  • 4 of 5

The OB budget beach house is exactly what it says, cozy, close to the beach and contemporary. The interior seems pretty updated with a nice kitchen, bedroom and sitting area. The bathroom is nice but the shower is a bit outdated. The location of this place is great! Several blocks from the beach, and close to many markets, shopping options, and eating or drinking establishments. OB is also close to some sightseeing options if you're interested in that such as Sea World, the Gas Lamp district, Balboa Park, the Point Loma tide pools, and Sunset Cliffs to name a few.

The patio area of the space is a bit crammed but it's secluded, giving you your own space which is nice. There is access to a BBQ and hose on the patio if you're in need of some washing down. There is no central AC in the space but fans throughout, moving air around. The weather in OB is usually quite nice and doesn't get too hot so the fans seems to suffice. There are great blinds throughout the space that work top down or bottom up, allowing for some light but privacy.

All in all, this place is a great deal and worth the money to stay here for all it's perks. A couple more things to note... if for some reason you're looking to get some work done while there like I was, there is a great desk space to set up a computer and do just that. And, FYI, no laundry but a laundry facility close by...

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Small well thought out space. Great location.

  • 5 of 5

The budget beach house - more like cottage is in a great location. Virtually everything is in walking distance. The space is a converted garage but you would never know it. The space might be a little tight for 4 people but if you are like us on vacation you are not sitting in your house all day. The pull out beds are great. My daughter said they were comfortable. The office space actually turned out to be handy as my husband was able to print documents. There is no air conditioning but it's not a problem. The ocean breeze moved through the unit well. Even on the hottest day we were comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed and the only thing I didn't have was a stock pot for pasta but I made due with the pans that were there. The kitchen has foil, cling wrap and gallon zip lock bags. I also found vinegar, cinnamon and cayenne. The unit has no dish washer but it was no big deal. There are plenty of towels in the unit for the kitchen and bathroom. I would recommend bringing your own beach blanket or beach towels. Also, I did wish we had brought or own beach chairs. There are chairs on the deck but they are the kind of chairs you take to watch your kids sports. I just prefer the ones that sit lower to the ground. The deck provides great extra space for the unit. The only dining table is the one one the deck but we prefer to eat al fresco so it worked great for us. The deck is also shaded for 1/2+ part of the day which is great. There is plenty of seating for 4+ of you utilize the dining chairs. We had 2 different groups of folks in the main front house while we were there. The one group was quiet the other one not so much. We learned to shut the windows in the back to keep the early morning noise down. The air traffic is just a part of OB. You get used to it. They fly from 6:30am to around 11:15pm. There is also a handy book left at the cottage with information, menus and maps. It came in really handy the first night when we ordered out. Wifi worked great too.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We actually live in that unit 6 months out of the year and just remodeled it from head to toe and we are so glad you enjoyed our little place. I apologize for the 'beach chairs' no matter how well we try to stock these sort of things they seem to grow legs and disappear throughout the season. I recently (the day you checked out actually) bought four of the very low sitting beach chairs for the unit , they are located on the deck outside on the plastic rack for any future guest reading this. We take great pride in our rental units and hope all of our guests have similar experiences, thank you for respecting our home and our little community, we appreciate you. Jason & Keri Whitmore
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Basics met

  • 3 of 5

The location of the small house is great and it is very budget conscious compared to many others in the area. It met our needs for the 3 days we stayed in Ocean Beach. If you are looking for quiet beach tranquility - this is not your place. Many of the reviews mention the property is in a flight path, that didn't bother us, to me all of SD is in a flight path. :) The houses are so very close together here that you can't help over hear people in the yards talking or children playing even with the doors closed. It was cooler than expected when we stayed but if it was much hotter the house would not seem comfortable since there is no AC. I know you can open a window but then if the neighbors are out you will definitely be able to hear them. I would suggest buying new beach chairs and maybe an umbrella or little tent the ones provided are pretty rusted out and we were embarrassed to take them with us to the beach, in addition they did not seem very sturdy. I know you can rent things like that but so many of the properties we have stayed at on Home Away offer these extra little touches and that makes them so much more memorable and some place you want to come back and visit again. The house served it's purpose and for the price it was okay. The neighborhood seemed relatively safe, however one of the nights we were there, there was a home invasion up the street from this house. A police helicopter and lots of patrol cars could be heard for maybe an hour. The helicopter was super loud and low looking for the person who had broken into the home. Shortly after we saw the report on the news . Crime can happen anywhere - we personally did not have any problems during our stay. It is within walking distance to the beach and very close to Newport Ave. which has a lot of restaurants and shops. If you are there on Wednesday night check out the Farmers Market it was pretty awesome.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying in our Budget Beach House. Houses by the beach in San Diego are close together as it is a very popular place to live. Unfortunately, you will not find rentals by the beach where the houses are far apart. We apologize that our beach chairs embarrassed you. We recently spent over $25,000 renovating the house and feel that we offer incredible amenities (especially at the budget prices that we charge). However, it appears we missed one small detail and should have replaced all of our beach chairs when we remodeled the house. We will take a look at the embarrassing chairs the next time we are there and replace them if necessary. I am sorry that you feel that you could not open the windows or you would risk hearing children playing, I suppose the house would be hot inside if you did not open the windows. Coastal temperatures by the beach in San Diego are pretty moderate so we have never had the need to install a/c in any of our Ocean Beach properties. As far as helicopters flying overhead, I can see where that would be alarming. Ocean Beach is not a cozy and eclectic beach town and I have to say that I appreciate that the police would take such efforts to catch the person who is trying to disturb the peace in our little beach town.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable beach cottage

  • 5 of 5

We had a great visit to OB. The cottage was beautifully decorated, and our teenagers loved the bunk beds. Most things are within walking distance. The owners responded to emails quickly and gave us some great recommendations. We'd love to come back soon.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Lindgergh Field
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Riverwalk
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Santa Fe Depot
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Interstate 8
Nearest Ski
150 Miles
Big Bear
Car: not necessary

3.5 blocks to sandy beach, dog beach, antique stores bars and restaurants within 3-5 blocks of house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocean Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Summer
Aug 16 2016 - Sep 6 2016
3 night minimum stay
$149
From
$179
Thu,Fri,Sat
$950
$3,500
 
 
Fall
Sep 7 2016 - Nov 23 2016
3 night minimum stay
$149
From
$169
Thu,Fri,Sat
$999
$3,500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 28 2016
3 night minimum stay
$219
From
$249
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,550
$4,000
 
 
Late Nov/Early Dec
Nov 29 2016 - Dec 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$99
From
$129
Thu,Fri,Sat
$750
$2,995
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$219
From
$249
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,550
$4,000
 
 
2017
Jan 3 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$199
From
$239
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,495
$5,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$199
From
$239
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,495
$5,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 11.4%

$100.00 Non-Refundable Cleaning Fee, cleaning fee $175 for Sunday or Holiday departures
$75 Non-Refundable Pet fee (1 pet max)
3% convenience fee for card for domestic credit card transactions, 3.5% for international. No charge for E-Checks.
Thanksgiving, July 4th, Labor Day, Memorial Day holidays extra

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ocean Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom features a large tiled shower, tile floors and a granite counter top. Bath towels and Beach towels are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Master - 1 queen , Queen bed with Memory Foam Mattress
    Den - 2 twin/ single , The Den features a Twin Bunk Beds (Murphy Bunk Beds)
  • Master bedroom is cozy and features a Queen bed with Memory Foam mattress, tile floors, LCD TV with cable, a closet, large window and ceiling fan.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
High end finishes adorn this quaint beach house, 3.5 blocks to the sand and walking distance to antique stores, bars, restaurants and nightlife. This bungalow is the back house on a lot with 2 houses. The front house is also a vacation rental and can be rented in conjunction to rear unit to sleep 12 people! Please note, we do NOT provide Beach Cruisers or any other Bicycles. Bicycles can be rented from a bike rental shop about 3 blocks away.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties