check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Debbie Gaudin

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Aspen Lake House (in Victor, Co)

35 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Penrose House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Aspen Lake House is a stunning custom built Colorado home. Skagway Reservoir is walking distance from the house and is a great trout fishing lake and excellent for canoeing or small boats. Aspen Lake House is the perfect place to relax or if you prefer there are a multitude of activities in the area from scenic byways such as Phantom Canyon Road (old tram railroad for gold miners), Shelf Road (old stagecoach route), Gold Camp Road and High Park Road, to area hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding, white water rafting, gold mine tours, golf, Cripple Creek and Victor Narrow Gauge Railroad, Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument, Mueller State Park, Pikes Peak and Pikes Peak Cog Railroad, Cave of the Winds and much more. There is convenient shopping at Woodland Park, Colorado which is approximately 30 miles away and quaint nearby gold mining towns of Victor and Cripple Creek to explore.

Built in 2002 the house has recently been updated with custom features. The house contains 5 bedrooms including 2 master bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, a large gourmet kitchen with new appliances, spacious living room with a fireplace, new TV and DVD player and oversized laundry room with new washer and dryer. Many windows throughout the house and an eight to ten foot wide wrap-around porch provide for the enjoyment of total privacy, tranquility and phenomenal views of the mountains and lake. At 9,100’ elevation on 40 peaceful acres surrounded by aspen trees, it overlooks beautiful Skagway Reservoir located 12 miles from Cripple Creek, approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes from western Colorado Springs. The house overlooks beautiful Skagway Reservoir and is conveniently located 12 miles from Cripple Creek, and approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes from western Colorado Springs.

There is a 6 mile, county maintained gravel road from Victor, CO (CR 86 and a quick left onto CR 861) which takes you to Skagway Reservoir. Prior to the reservoir parking lot you take a dirt road to your right and proceed up steep hill to the property. The road up to the lake house is a gravel/rock road. A 4WD vehicle is required for snowy seasons. .

Keywords: Lake View, Mountain View, Beautiful, Quiet, Aspens, Spacious, Deck, Balcony

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Debbie Gaudin (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Why Debbie Gaudin chose Colorado

We fell in love with this place when we saw the beautiful house tucked away in a valley with over 40 acres of aspen, blue spruce and open meadows. We enjoy the majestic views of the mountains, the serenity of overlooking Skaguay Reservoir and hiking in one of the prettiest valleys along Beaver Creek. The many custom features of the house were another attraction from the gourmet kitchen, to the spacious living areas, the huge windows and wide wrap around deck for relaxing outdoors.

What makes this house unique

The large wrap around deck affords expansive views of the mountains and lake. At 9,100’ elevation the house is wonderfully comfortable with gentle breezes and low humidity. The house is situated among the aspens with no other houses in view from the front deck which gives the place of sense of calm and serene seclusion. In the mood for a peaceful and quiet place to stay? Then this is the setting. Within walking distance of the house is Skaguay Reservoir and Beaver Creek, which are excellent for fly fishing for trout. There is canoeing and boating on Skaguay Reservoir and hiking, backpacking and camping in one of the prettiest valleys along Beaver Creek. Nearby are lots of activities from gold mine tours, hiking and mountain biking at Mueller State Park (over 5,000 acres of parkland) and horseback riding, exploring scenic byways and historic gold mine towns, white water rafting the Arkansas River, antiquing, shopping and more. The property is only about an hour and fifteen minutes southwest of Colorado Springs.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Aspen Lakehouse in Victor, Colorado (west of Colorado Springs) is the most beautiful "home away from home" you can find! The peaceful, serene surroundings of the evergreens, aspens, pine trees, numerous flowers soothes the senses. And then there are those adorable hummingbirds. You have the gorgeous views of the mountains surrounding this area and the refreshing & colorful Skaguay Reservoir. Get ready to wrap yourself with peace, quiet, beauty, R & R, fishing, hiking, exploring...
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.8
based on 35 traveler reviews

Aspen Lake House (in Victor, Co)
average rating of 4.7714286 based on 36 reviews
5

Perfect secluded mountain getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time. Then home was fantastic.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful, Immaculate Home Away from Home!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the Aspen Lake House for 5 nights in July. It was a very beautiful, clean cabin with a gorgeous view from the wrap around porch. It was peaceful and relaxing. The cabin was VERY clean, fully stocked, and an overall great place to vacation. We enjoyed the cool mornings on the porch watching the occasional wildlife walk by. The only reason we gave it a 4 instead of 5 stars is because of the drive to get to the cabin. It is a bumpy dirt road that is about 20 minutes from the main road. That was our only problem with the rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Porter, Texas
5

Dave

  • 5 of 5

Best summer vacation destination for those who live in hot weather seeking a cool weather experience. I loved the hiking, exploring, learning the history of gold mining in the area, and then returning to all the comforts of home. We went grocery shopping on the way and had home cooked meals which made it easy to budget our trip. This is a great place for a home school family vacation and field trip, with enough room to make it a romantic getaway or for any group seeking a quiet place to enjoy nature, beautiful scenery, and room to spread out and relax.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review. We are happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your mountain lake house vacation get-away! Please come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Humble, Texas
5

SERENITY!

  • 5 of 5

Book it! You will not be disappointed! Serene beauty outside and all the comforts of home inside. If you love the great outdoors during the day but prefer to return to the comforts of home by evening, this beautiful house provides you the option of soaking in the tub or taking a hot shower to help you settle in for the night in your home away from home. I like to cook and with a fully furnished kitchen, I was able to do so, just like I was at home. I hated to leave, but I will definitely be back! Thank you Aspen Lake House Owners for providing the perfect home away from home!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joy shared is joy doubled! It delights us that you enjoyed our mountain lake house. Please come back when you need some peaceful surroundings with beauty.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Humble, TX, USA
5

The Perfect Lake House Experience!!!

  • 5 of 5

Oh my goodness! I was told it was going to be nice, but that would be an understatement! This was the best experience of my life in a lake house. I could not ask for anything better but to stay at such a wonderful place! The house is kept up, the rooms were great, and the scenery was amazing! As a city boy, I did not want to leave! I will definitely be going back to this house and I highly recommend anyone going to Vicor, CO to stay at the Aspen Lake House!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It makes us very happy that you were delighted in this beautiful, peaceful and lovely mountain lake house! Come back when you can. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hawk Point
1

House was dirty and we were interrupted twice

  • 1 of 5

First of all the ad mislead us to think we were staying on 80 acres up in the mountains well that is not true there is a house right next door and a state Park Reservoir in front of the property which is open to the public for camping.

When we checked in we noticed fingerprints on both the kitchen and dining room tables and the fireplace glass doors kitchen counters were dirty the fridge have what it look like dried blood in the top drawer the hall bath head spiders webs and 6 black spiders we checked in and cleaned it was late Thursday night Friday late morning around noon a knock on the door I guess it was the cleaning lady she seemed surprised we were there she asked for trash we told her we had none because we just checked in but there was trash there that was from tenants before us so we opened up the garage door and she came in and got the trash then on Monday an older lady came up got stuck coming up the road toward the road went in the ditch there's only two houses up that driveway and you have to go through a private gate and you have to have the combination she came up to the house my husband and son helped her get her car out and she was very unhappy did not say why she was up there turned around and left we were worried about leaving the house the whole week we were there because of our personal belongings if two different people could show up while we were there what's the chances of people coming in when we were not there people camping at the reservoir there was a lot over 30 people we counted 10 tents in 1 area they drink and partied all night we heard gunfire go off every single night people fighting dog fights horns honking one guy even after dark did not realize that the house was right there and brought up his yellow tent and set it up in the yard in the front down by the trees the next morning when we walk down to him to talk to him he apologized and said he did not know the house was there that he was trying to get away from the drunks to there's no air-conditioning and it was over 4th of July weekend it was warm we were there a week we had to open the windows to get air and all we heard was the campers and people partying we talked to locals they said there's always people there camping at that Reservoir that is extremely popular.

As a vacation home owner I have been told never interrupt my guests unless they contact me this was a horrible stay I never write bad reviews

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are the first guests to give a negative review of our home. From our website you can see the numerous positive reviews made by the guests who stayed at our house. We understand that you are upset since your deposit was not returned because you violated the house rules posted on our website by allowing a pet into the house which urinated on our rug and allowing one of your guests to smoke marijuana in the house. This is specifically forbidden. If you stayed in a hotel and violated their smoking or no pet policy, there would be a fine. Contrary to your assertion, the other house is not right next door. It is over 100 yards up the mountain from Aspen Lake House and both houses are on 80 acres. The house is secluded. It is several hundred yards from the lake. The house cannot be seen from the lake. Skagway Reservoir is a public lake. You can find ample evidence of this on any website. Most campers are there over the weekend and not during the week. The owners, who have stayed at the house multiple times, nor any of our guests have ever expressed any issues with the campers being drunken and discourteous. You are the first to do so. We purposely keep the gate locked at the road to keep anyone from inadvertently entering the property. The owners nor any of their guests have ever expressed any concerns for their personal safety or the safety of their belongings because of the campers at the lake. Most of the campers are there with their families to enjoy a time of fishing. The lake is stocked by the Wildlife and Fisheries Department with trout. It is a great trout fishing lake. Most campers at the lake would not even be aware that there is a house because it cannot be seen. Our housekeepers do their best to keep the house clean and maintained. You are the first guests to complain about its cleanliness. We checked with the housekeepers and all the trash from the previous guests had been removed from the house. The housekeeper stopped by to see if you had any trash so that she could handle it for you, doing this merely as an accommodation. As to the spiders in the house, this property is in the country and there is the possibility an occasional spider may enter the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Having a family reunion? We also have the spectacular Upper Lake House (sleeps 8) just walking distance up the hill from Aspen Lake House!

Scenic Byways, Gold mine tours, Eagle Outlook, Picnicing, Pikes Peak, Mueller State Park, Cripple Creek/Victor Narrow Gage Railroad, Phantom Canyon Road, Shelf Road, High Park Road, Gold Camp Road

Photos

Rates & Availability

Penrose House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$305
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 3.9%

If using Aspen Lake House (vrbo.com/372446) and Upper Lake House (vrbo.com/610408) you may have 10% off both properties.
Weekly rates are for 7 days/6 nights.
Additional 2.9% fee for credit card payments.
Off season weekly rates - $1,200.
We will offer 2 nights' minimum stay during spring and fall (off peak season) at $315 per night.


We will offer 2 night minimum stays during off peak season. Indicate dates flexible and send an email to the owner!
This is a non-smoking property.
For groups with more than 8 adults there is an additional $100 charge to rental rate.
Rates are subject to change unless your reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Penrose House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Main Level: Master suite bathroom & full bath Lower level: Master suite bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Main Level: King size bed (1), Queen size Bed (1), Set of Twins Lower Level: King size bed (1), Set of Twins (via trundle bed)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
Notes:
No fire arms or fireworks allowed on property! If smoking is discovered in the home or on the premises the security deposit will be forfeited.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties