Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Craftsman Style Family Home Bus to DT or walk to shops and restaurants

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bed, 1-1/2 baths, sleeps 6

Charming Craftsman style house with cozy living room, fireplace, lots of natural light. Newly remodeled Kitchen and Bath. BBQ and patio table available for outdoor dining on large upper deck. Close to shopping and metro direct to Downtown Seattle. Walk to downtown Ballard shops and short distance to the Ballard Locks, Golden Gardens and marina for great picnics and sunset views.

Keyless entry for easy access

Full size washer/dryer on site

WiFi

BBQ

Dishwasher

Microwave

Coffee maker pot & single serve

Alarm clock in each bedroom with USB port

Cozy fireplace & lots of throw blankets

Ice and filtered water in fridge

Eco friendly cleaning service and products

High chair

Portable Crib

Office Printer

On street and driveway parking

More Details

Owner
Karen Wheeler
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 4, 2017

About Karen Wheeler

Raised our kids here for over 20 years. Now we are traveling and renting out our family home to guests who want to feel at home while visiting our beautiful city.

Karen Wheeler purchased this house in 1994

Why Karen Wheeler chose Ballard

Easy access to downtown and city sights and large space for the price

What makes this house unique

Large Master Suite with half bath for extra privacy. Doors on all entry ways to close off stairs both up and down for toddlers and pets.

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
SeaTac
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Downtown Ballard
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Main Ferry Seattle
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Innerbay
Nearest Train
10 Miles
King Street Seattle
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
I-5
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Several within a few blocks walking
Nearest Ski
45 Miles
Snoqualmie
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Golden Gardens
Car: recommended

Amenities

Ballard House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Main Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master Bath - toilet , Private upstairs 1/2 bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Front Bedroom - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , Day bed converts to a King or two twins
    Back Bedroom - 2 queen , Large room overlooking deck and yard
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Private upstairs with 1/2 bath and tons of open space
    Portable Crib - 1 baby crib , Please return to Hall Closet before checkout
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
Notes:
Private and hotel quality clean. No clutter or homeowner property on site. Strictly a vacation rental property.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Spacious Craftsman Style Family Home Bus to DT or walk to shops and restaurants
average rating of 4.642857 based on 28 reviews
5

Great Location, big house & fully stocked!

  • 5 of 5

The house is in a great neighbourhood (sorry about the spelling...I'm Canadian, eh.), had everything we needed and was bigger than it looks from the outside. The deck out back was huge. The kids loved having their own bedroom each and the kitchen was fully stocked with all the dishes you'd ever need, along with great appliances. Although the house was old, it didn't really show its age and was set up great. My only two comments would be that if it were much hotter out, small window air conditioners in the bedrooms would be nice, especially in the top floor where the heat accumulates; and given the heat and needing the windows open to sleep, the house is pretty close to a major roadway so you do get some road noise in the bedrooms a bit when you are sleeping (ONLY if the windows are open). If the windows are closed, you don't hear a peep. Parking is a little tight on the road, and the driveway can only accommodate a small car as long as all the passengers get out before you go into the driveway. That all being said, don't let these comments stop you from renting this place. The location as I said was terrific and the house was perfect for my family of 4. When we visit Seattle again, we'll definitely stay in this house. Thank you Karen for taking such pride in your house and making it available for the traveling public!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Really glad you enjoyed the house and hope you come back and visit again. We will consider getting that air conditioner for next Summer. Safe travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Horrible hospitality

  • 1 of 5

Home was charming but half bath unusable for getting ready as second bath has no outlet. Deal breaker was industrial construction 2 doors down. Started at 7 am with buzz saws, hammers and drills. We could not enjoy ourselves, miserable!! Owner uncooperative and totally unsympathetic!! She did not offer to find us other accommodations and refused refund. We traveled from east coast and it totally ruined our vacation. HomeAway has no control in aiding with refunds either. If you stay in a hotel, you can at least check out ad find suitable accommodations. If you don't mind renting from someone who only has their profit in mind but no concern for your comfort then this is the place for you. The worst vacation and hospitality ever!!!!!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sad that our house caused Kim and her family such a miserable experience. When I first got word about the noise from Kim I investigated because I hadn’t had any complaints prior. The site manager had a permits to start at 7am and I was informed they had a temporary push to get concrete poured. I communicated back with my guests and let them know what was going on. She was upset that I didn’t advertise this in my posting however, I have not had any noise complaints prior. I did not have any complaints from the guest immediately prior or after so I believe it was an isolated event. I was very responsive and if I could have done more I would have. I have only one rental house so accommodating them in more suitable location is not something I could reasonably do. After Kim checked out she requested a full refund. I thought that a bit extreme so I checked in with my neighbors to see what exactly happened. My neighbors didn’t remember anything out of the ordinary and they were closer to the job site as I am four doors/housing units away from the corner. Kim kept comparing us to a hotel and that we should have done more to accommodate her complaints. I feel bad that the noise at 7Am completely ruined their Seattle Vacation. If there was something with the house or property, I would have immediately corrected it but city noises on a rental house is something I could not resolve. That said, I do not think that my lack of ability to fix the noise problem should be a reflection of our being uncooperative or unsympathetic. If you look at previous reviews, I get good feedback on being very responsive. I have replaced broken appliances purchased additional household items including children’s cribs and even replaced a BBQ immediately when I found out it was broken so my guests could have a good experience. I am very responsive and will do my best to make my guests experience good. I am sorry I was not able to do that for Kim and her family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Ballard Location

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our Seattle/Ballard visit and the house was enough space for our group of 4 adults.

The location is good, but parking is a challenge every day. Rapid-line buses are right out the door - so that could work. Home owner is very responsive and accommodating, Thanks!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house with lots of space!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed with another couple in this home and it was amazing! The house is very spacious and has a great patio deck. We had a small issue with the hot water heater and Karen quickly responded and the problem was fixed. We were able to check in a little early when we arrived in Seattle as well. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone looking to travel to Seattle! There was parking in the driveway for one car and you are close to Pikes Place. Plenty of eating to walk to nearby. We would gladly stay here again!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A very warm comfortable home away from home!!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter's new in-laws appreciated a quiet retreat from all the festivities. The yard with the pear tree, the intriguing books available to read. And the opportunity for the mother in law to shop our great bakeries and make breakfast for her family.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house is comfortable & well stocked & furnished. Close to bus stop Nice back deck.

  • 5 of 5

Nicely furnished with all necessities. Nice deck in back. Good weather so we sat out there. Close to bus stop for downtown.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Standard Cleaning fee $180
Tax Rate 9.6%

Private, owner not on site

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties