Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

One-of-a-Kind 2BR Palm Springs Home w/Private Pool

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Palm Springs, California

Exquisite accommodations can be yours to experience when you stay at this exclusive, one-of-a-kind hillside gated home. The Hillside Oasis Retreat is perched atop Cahuilla Hills on a private road just 4 minutes from downtown Palm Springs, California. Situated on an acre of greenery and rockscape tucked into the San Jacinto Mountains, you can enjoy and be inspired by spectacular, panoramic views of the desert valley and surrounding mountains from the comfort and privacy of this colorful retreat.

THE PROPERTY

With 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and enough sleeping accommodations for up to 5 guests, this house is a fantastic size for a couple or small family seeking a truly rejuvenating Palm Springs getaway. This unique, contemporary residence offers a comfortable, airy, and bright vacation environment, boasting 2,400 square feet of living space and a semi-open floor plan with all sliding doors, spacious living areas, and incredible scenic views through a multitude of floor-to-ceiling windows, running for 160 feet with automatic window awnings for sun shade. These magnificent windows provide a seamless flow from the interior to the beautiful outdoors, as well as access to the patio, private swimming pool, and Jacuzzi. You and your travel companions will fall in love with the home's aesthetically pleasing interior decor and lush landscaping, both professionally designed for privacy, tranquility, and colorful living. Prepare a delicious home-cooked meal in the fully equipped modern kitchen with indoor and outdoor barbeque before gathering in the elegant dining area for a fun family dinner. After the sun goes down, the sky becomes a stargazer's delight with mesmerizing views of the San Jacinto Mountains down to the Salton Sea - Simply step outside to the patio or unwind in the Jacuzzi for sights that will absolutely take your breath away!

THE LOCATION

You will love this property's serene location, adjacent to several scenic acres with trails for walking, biking, hiking, or simply wandering and enjoying your gorgeous surroundings. The Hillside Oasis Retreat is situated at the southern end of Palm Springs, affording a break from the desert winds in the north and central parts of Palm Springs. Additionally, the hillside location on the south eastern slope of the San Jacinto Mountains offers hikers and wildlife enthusiasts a plentitude of desert and mountain wildlife, with over 32 species you can review on the provided California Wildlife & Nature chart. Wildlife that may be observed on the trails of the San Jacinto mountain hillside, our hillside acre and surrounding Cahuilla Hills Drive areas -Racoons, Quail, Dove, Fox, Rabbits, Bees, Rattlesnakes, Lizards, Coyotes, Hawks, Eagles, Hummingbirds & various additional birdlife, etc. The Lyken Trail, reachable from the home's driveway, provides immediate access to miles of trails and the nearby Trail Riders top hillside picnic view site, where you can relax and take in the endless views. Whether you're looking to escape the stresses of everyday life or only desire a bit of peace and solitude, this Palm Springs retreat will not disappoint. Here you can relax, read, write, or soak your cares away in the soothing waters of the pool and Jacuzzi, all while enjoying the solace of this quiet environment alongside desert creatures and a panorama of the starry night sky.

THE EVOLVE DIFFERENCE

Evolve Vacation Rental Network is on a mission to make vacation rental easy for guests. Every property in our network has been vetted and verified so you can book with confidence. If you have questions prior to your trip, we are happy to assist you 7 days a week. During your stay, your designated Guest Contact will be available 24/7 to help with any issues that may arise.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS

Key Residence Features:

- Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen with indoor and outdoor barbeques, private outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, patio, wireless internet access, cable TV, and much more

- Every window except 1 is floor-to-ceiling, boasting sweeping views of the desert valley and surrounding mountains!

- Amazing, tranquil setting with lots of privacy, yet only 4 miles away from downtown Palm Springs!

Bedroom Configuration:

- Master Bedroom: King-sized Bed with fireplace, lounge chair, full mirror wall, overhead lights, ample closets and drawers, TV with DVD player, floor-to-ceiling windows with full views, and direct access to the pool and patio area

- Bedroom 2: Queen-sized Bed with guest sitting area for 5, TV with DVD player, 2 closets, and floor-to-ceiling windows with full views of the patio and hillside

Additional Sleeping:

- A Rollaway Bed can accommodate 1 extra guest

Policies:

- No smoking

- Pets considered with fee

- Must be at least 25 years old to book

- Additional fees and taxes may apply

- Please note that an on-site caretaker lives in the guest house on the property, located at a different level than the main house

- For monthly rentals, a $1,200 utility deposit is collected at the time of booking, with the balance not used refunded after your stay. A $200 credit is deducted for standard utility use.

- The City of Palm Springs charges a Transient Occupancy Tax of 11.5% on all vacation rental stays under 28 days. Please call Evolve for a quote for stays more than 28 days.

- $47/Day Pool & Jacuzzi Heat Fee (Optional)

- Pet Fee: $50 Per Pet, Per Stay (Max of 2)

- Vacation rentals in the City of Palm Springs are regulated by Ordinance #1918, a 2016 revised Municipal Code. Vacation renters will be advised at check-in of the new ordinance and provided a copy of its "Good Neighbors theme."

- Permit Number 4963000-20016106

More Details

Property Manager
Evolve Vacation Rental Network
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

About Evolve Vacation Rental Network

Evolve Vacation Rental Network is on a mission to make vacation rental easy for travelers. Our dedicated Travel Advisor Team is available 7 days a week and our simple online reservation system allows you to book securely with a credit card! Please feel free to call us at 1.877.818.1013.

Amenities

Cahuilla Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Bedroom 2
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
One-of-a-Kind 2BR Palm Springs Home w/Private Pool
average rating of 4.0588236 based on 17 reviews
California
5

A 5 Star diamond rated home and location.

  • 5 of 5

"A 5 Star diamond rated home and location in the most delightful and comfortable stay at the Cahuilla Hillside Oasis Retreat this past week. Truly the description of the home and location by the owner is most apt and best describes our experience - it was a most enjoyable stay. Very quiet, lots of privacy and solitude and the seamless transistion of the homes feelings with the outside surrounding, with the many large floor to ceiling windows to the outside sweeping views of the surrounding acreage and scenic desert valley and mountains can rarely be found elsewhere. Large heated pool/Jacuzzi and the fireplaces during the winter was a plus along with the TV's in each room and the surrounding walking areas and local mountain trails.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Breckenridge, CO
5

Ideal Palm Springs Home

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this Palm Springs home in the quiet Cahuilla Hills neighborhood. The views of the Coachella Valley & Indian Canyon from the patio/pool deck are spectacular as well as from the Master Bedroom, Living Room & Dining room. Floor to ceiling glass windows and sliding doors run the length of the east side of the house. Very private location with gated access. Easy access to great hiking directly behind home to the South Lykken Trail. Very short drive to downtown Palm Springs and super quick access to golf at Indian Canyons Golf Resort. Home owner gives thorough overview of the home upon arrive. Definitely would return.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful Location & Views

  • 4 of 5

This was a fabulous home - the pictures really tell it all. I never got tired of staring off into the views. The quiet location and large kitchen were perfect for a getaway over the holidays with the in-laws and our dog. Hiking was right outside the front door. We really appreciated the walk through and dinner recommendations.

There were a few odds and ends that could have been fixed to keep things in better condition, but overall this was a great find!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, CA
3

Great location, but overall experience was disappointing

  • 3 of 5

Here are my thoughts on this rental. The house was fine. The location, view, pool and space were nice. However, for the price we ended up paying (after all the fees and taxes), I feel that I have to mention a few issues that really made me regret spending that much on this house. 1) The mattress in the master bedroom is SO OLD. Like, decades old. Uncomfortable, gross and totally unacceptable for a high-end rental. 2) The oven/microwave is way too outdated. The oven door handle actually came off several times while we were trying to cook. Annoying and dangerous. 3) Lighting system is way too complicated. I'm on vacation to relax, not spend 15 minutes trying to turn a light on.

I did not mention any of these complaints to the owner while we were there because they wasn't anything he could do about them quickly.

One thing we really liked about the house, was the fact that they have TWO hvac units, so the master bedroom and guest bedroom can be kept at two different temps. Very nice. Pool and hot tub were nice, but infested with bees and the rocks are slightly dangerous.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jefe, We appreciate the renters feedback. It is important for renters to to be aware that the owner has stated he provides a 20-30 minute check-in tour of the house and during the tour emphasize that should any problems occur during their stay they call and report them as soon as possible to the owner. In this regard we have contacted the owner to garner information about your stay. First, the owner stated that the mattress is only a couple of years old and is in good shape. No prior complaints have previously been stated by other travelers. The mattress is also the preferred firmness of the home owner as they use it frequently. Second, the homeowner has installed effortless hand held "on/off" remote controllers for each rooms lighting with concise room switch plates for easy use. Third, we checked and the owner has indicated there is no infestation of bees on the property. Your further positive comments do assist future renters to know that the home provides an enhanced HVAC system for cooling and heating. The owner wants to make it clear that should any problems arise during future stays to reach out immediately, so they can be rectified promptly. Best, The Evolve Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, California
1

lost one night, uncooperative homeowner, less than clean

  • 1 of 5

Wish we could say we had a smooth check in and relaxing time during our stay in Palm Springs but it didn't work out that way. Ten minutes before our 3 pm Friday check in we were informed by the homeowner that we'd be unable to do so because the prior tenants refused to leave and had to be evicted by the police. certainly not his fault, and we did our best to be understanding. This did mean we were stranded in Palm Springs with a dog after braving Memorial Day traffic. The homeowner booked us a hotel room for the night which turned out to be a fraction of the price and of significantly lower quality than what we expected from the rental house. We were dissatisfied and booked a room at the nearby Parker which luckily had availability and took dogs. The room rate was equivalent to what we paid per night for the property. We checked in to the property the following day unsettled by what had transpired there previously - cops came, unruly tenants who had left with the keys to the house. We were told to just lock the doors at night. The house wasn't spotless, despite the extra day for cleaning crews to come thru and the jacuzzi for which we'd paid an extra fee was broken.

Despite being told on the phone by evolve reps that we'd be issued a full refund, we received a cursory amount. It didn't even cover one night's rate, the jacuzzi fee or the cleaning fee. (A broken jacuzzi and poorly cleaned house should have entitled us to a full refund plus the lost night). This doesn't take into account the personal expenses incurred by booking a last minute dog friendly room, nor the groceries that spoiled in the heat and the meals we had to purchase instead.

The homeowner claimed we "didn't give him enough time" to book an adequate room as a stopgap measure once it became clear we wouldn't be able to check in on time. But we were able to easily book ourselves in a room of equal value, even on friday of memorial day weekend. We did appreciate the inconvenience of a situation out of his control, but we shouldn't have had to pay for issues caused by a prior tenant. We should have at least been refunded a full night's fare. The third party management company that initially promised a full refund over the phone instead favored the homeowner in the exchange. I would not recommend dealing with either this rental or the third party Evolve Vacation Rentals.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, It was an overall unfortunate situation in which a traveler would not leave the property and the cops had to be called to evict these travelers. According to the owner, you were made aware 4 hours prior to your check-in time and booked a hotel of equal value to the vacation rental for that night. The home owner paid for this hotel that was equal in value out of his own pocket. Evolve as a company also reimbursed a full one night stay and an additional amount of money for the inconvenience. The reason you were not issued a full refund was because you were able to check-in to the property the next day. The home owner and Evolve apologize for this mishap, but believe the money allocated to you more than compensated for the overall situation. Best, The Evolve Team
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Amazing Home with View and Pool/Spa

  • 4 of 5

Step into the eclectic 1980's with a home that has ALL of the amenities. The home is amazing, clean and the layout and location are unbeatable. We will be back!!! Our 2.5 year old daughter loved running from Kitchen to Master Bedroom, it could be the coolest hide and seek house in existence. Two Master Bedrooms, so great for two couples or a family with Grandparents (which we were). The traditional Master Bedroom has skyline views, a large comfortable bed with a bathroom that has a sunk down Onyx stone tub. The other master (more like traditional bedroom) has a queen sized sofa bed (we wish it was a little more comfortable) and a private patio. The owner left a cot for our daughter to use which was not expected and greatly appreciated. The kitchen was well stocked with useful cooking tools, spices - bring your own oil. The TV above the Fireplace was great - Time Warner Cable. This is clearly a second home - the owner leaves his clothes in drawers, food in refrigerator, so you'll be living out of your suitcase - however there is some space in the closets with some hangers. To Parents - the spa is wonderful, however, during the daytime bees come to drink the water, lots of bees. But they go away during the late afternoon and there is nothing the owner could do about this. The bees leave you alone, as long as you leave them alone. The owner does a very extensive walk through with you upon your arrival; it is a ton of information and we appreciated the tour but forgot a majority of the information due to it's extensiveness. We would suggest a well organized manual to be sent ahead of time so renters could be prepared. What you are getting is a great house with a view and pool. The room with the sofa bed's heater was not working and although we left the doors opened as instructed by the owner, it was not sufficient amount of heat for the room - but there are a ton blankets. We own a Vacation Rental Home as well and really loved the memories the home gave us. We can't wait to make more here!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • Additional fees and taxes may apply