Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Soak In The Hot Tub, Fish Off The Dock Or Hike The Trails, This Cabin Has It All

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Fish, Hike or just soak in the hot tub at this cute little cabin on Cherry Lake

Morning Star on the Lake is a 2 bedroom "real log" cabin with 1 bath. This open floor plan has a beautifully decorated living room, kitchen and dining room. Rock Fireplace, cathedral ceilings & lots of glass adds to the warmth of the great room which opens to screened in porch which overlooks the lake. Beautifully decorated in cabin decor you will enjoy sitting in front of the fireplace or enjoy a nice cup of coffee or tea on the screened porch over-looking the lake. Steps lead down to Cherry Lake where you can enjoy activities such as swimming, canoeing and fishing in your own back yard. Access to the Benton MacKaye hiking trail ( next to the cabin), convenient to downtown Blue Ridge and Ellijay & more.


Property Manager
Mary Spencer
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

About Mary Spencer

Being a huge outdoor enthusiast, I have been visiting the North Georgia Mountains for years. The hiking is incredible, with marked and unmarked trails everywhere. The lakes are beautiful and so serene, plus the fishing is great. The towns of Ellijay and Blue Ridge are adorable and both have tons of great shops and restaurants. Makes it easy to enjoy all that nature has to offer and then be able to sit down at a nice "Mom and Pop" restaurant for some local trout and veggies. I bought my first little log cabin in 2000, which I thoroughly enjoyed with family and friends, so much so that I decided to buy my second one a few years later. Both of my girls grew up playing in the dirt, riding 4 -wheeler, picking blackberries and fishing in the creek. I now bring my 4 year old grand-daughter to the "cabin" so she can also have an opportunity to enjoy this amazing place and make some great memories.

I currently own 4 cabins ( all are listed on Homeaway/VRBO) and opened a company in 2010 called Morning Breeze Cabin Rentals, which manages a total of 60 log cabins throughout the Blue Ridge and Ellijay area. I would love for each and every one of you to come on up and experience all that the mountains of Blue Ridge have to offer. A lot has changed since the year 2000, we now have wineries, ziplines, fishing and hiking guides plus fine dining to add to the list of things to do and enjoy while visiting the beautiful mountains of North Georgia.

Why Mary Spencer chose Blue Ridge

This is a very special property to me as it was bought in remembrance of my dad. He also enjoyed the outdoors and was the one who first introduced me to fishing. When he passed in 2010, he left me half of a small insurance policy, which I decided to use as a down payment on an investment property that I could also enjoy. He loved the stock market and spent hours in front of his computer buying and selling stocks, so I chose the name "Morningstar" since that was a popular brokerage firm. He would have loved the cabin with it's little dock for fishing, hiking right out the door, huge hot tub and the lovely screened porch for enjoying a nice glass of wine at the end of the day. I hope anyone who decides to rent my special little cabin enjoys it as much as I do :)

What makes this cabin unique

This cabin is truly idea for a couple who just wants to get away from it all yet still have access to our quaint little mountain towns of Ellijay and Blue Ridge. The extra large hot tub lets you melt all your troubles away or maybe sit in one of the rockers and enjoy the view of the lake from the screened porch. Being pet friendly you can bring along your extended family and take nice leisurely walks on the Benton MacKaye trail which is adjacent to the cabin. With paved roads all the way and easy access into the cabin anyone can enjoy staying at the Morningstar on the Lake.

Amenities

Blue Ridge Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Floor
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , TV in bedroom main floor
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main floor
  • One bedroom has a King and one has a Queen, both have dressers and nightstands with lamps plus closets.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Notes:
MorningStar on the Lake also has a fire-pit and dock for fishing plus a canoe comes with the rental

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Soak In The Hot Tub, Fish Off The Dock Or Hike The Trails, This Cabin Has It All
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews
5

Wonderful Home!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed ourselves!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ernestine, Thank you for letting me know about your stay at my cabin, the Morningstar on the Lake. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves and please feel free to come back and visit any time ~ Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cabin in beautiful setting!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our 2 weeks we spent at this beautiful cabin in the woods! So peaceful, a beautiful setting, the weather was great. We didn't want to leave!!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Linda, thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay at the Morningstar on the Lake. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, Georgia
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

1. Management should have told us that there is/was going to be a construction site right next door. They started the banging at 😬� @ 6:15am-6:00pm

2. Dirty blankets.

3. Property is on a pond not a lake

4. No ice maker kitchen

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: SO sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Unfortunately management didn't know about the banging and building that was going on until about 2 weeks ago. We wish we could control when people decide to build their homes but we have no say over that. The Morningstar is a real gem and all the other reviews state that, it doesn't have an ice maker but we have trays in the freeze. Cherry Lake is a designated Lake, we did not make that up and just call a pond a lake. The pictures on the website are 100% accurate and you can fish, swim and canoe around it. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your vacation but the cabin itself and the setting are very inviting and most everyone who stays there gives us positive feedback. Once the construction is finished ( about 3 weeks...we hope), everything will be back to normal, with the usual peace and quiet the mountain of North Georgia offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful place and very cozy.

  • 5 of 5

Loved our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lou Ann, thank you for letting me know about your recent stay at my cabin, the Morningstar on the Lake. It sounds like you truly enjoyed your visit and I look forward to hosting you again in the future. ~ Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bowman, Georgia
5

Serenity and peace

  • 5 of 5

Our family truly enjoyed our time in this beautiful cabin. I loved the attention to detail, decor, and being in the woods. The kitchen was well stocked and very well thought out. The beds were very comfortable. Everything was super clean. Being able to bring our dog without additional pet fees is a huge plus! I loved how they laid out a doggie bed and feeding bowl for her. The firepit and hot tub just add to the cozy, comfort and allure. Having a private fishing dock and canoe on such a beautiful serene little lake is just heaven. We look forward to coming back very soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sherri, thank you so much for letting me know about your recent stay at the Morningstar on the Lake. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities it has to offer. You were a wonderful guest and I would be more then happy to rent to you again in the future ~ Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Exactly what we needed for our 10-year anniversary. Thank you!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

There's tons to do in the North Georgia Mountain from Apple Farms to Zip lines and everything in-between. Don't miss out on tubing down the rivers, minature golf, wineries, great shopping, fine dining plus mom and pop stores everywhere.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional