check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.

55 Reviews
Bedrooms Studio
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights


Hilo Studio Rental Photos and Description

Large Studio; private bath & kitchenette, w/ covered lanai. NO TAXES ADDED


Our country estate is in Onomea, 6 miles north of Hilo, on 5 tropical acres with garden and ocean views. Onomea Guest Suite is a private cottage with garden views of flowering royal Poinciana trees, sweeping monkey pod trees, mango, lychee, mountain apple and coconut trees, and many other varieties of palms. The most repeated description by our guests is 'peaceful'. The suite has a studio layout... bedroom, living room and kitchenette all in one ample main space, and a lovely stone-tiled bath with very high ceilings and gorgeous light. The covered lanai is enjoyable rain or shine for dining or relaxing. Our road is one of the loveliest in all of Hawaii. Artists frequently come to paint it! Within walking distance is the old donkey trail to Onomea Bay, a breathtaking bay along the old Scenic Highway. You can also walk to the Hawaii Botanic Gardens, and by car, we are equi-distant from Volcano National Park to the south and Waipio Valley to the north.... Just 2 of many other attractions in the area.

Queen bed, plus a twin size day bed provides a comfortable accommodation for up to three. Kitchenette has enough cooking appliances that you won't miss the stovetop or oven. You'll find the barbecue on your lanai and many kitchen appliances on the countertop or in the cabinets.

A few notes about our guest suite....and us!

(Don't forget to READ OUR REVIEWS!!)

Our guest space was completed in March 2011, a project lovingly created over two years.

The bathroom and shower are wheelchair accessible and there are no steps between parking and entry to suite.

There are three separate buildings on the property (the main house and two cottages) all adjoined by covered breezeways. My wife and I occupy our own private cottage. We work from home and are usually available to help you with directions, dining suggestions or simply to come up with extra pillows!

The suite is the smaller of two guest accommodations on the property. If you need space for a larger group, the main house (HomeAway # 974771) sleeps 4.

Should you be interested in being married in Hawaii, our property is a beautiful setting for a ceremony. I am a lifelong photographer (formerly a film location scout) and can provide photos .... and my wife is certified to perform legal marriages!

By car, within 10 minutes, are the magnificent 419 foot high Akaka Falls, the charming village of Honomu; and the nearby city of Hilo, center of commerce on the east slope of Mauna Kea and home to the renowned Hilo Farmers Market.

Some other activities we recommend you think about during your stay, here on the east side of the Island of Hawaii......

Horseback riding in Kohala or Waipio Valley; a zipline adventure; several nearby beach parks, snorkeling, Champaign Ponds, photography, hiking; bird watching; a visit to the 13,980 foot summit of Mauna Kea where 7 international telescopes are redefining our understanding of the heavens (a visitor center is open daily at the 9,000 foot level); Alahanui Park - Hot Spring Pond; the Lyman Museum, the Tsunami Museum, the Hilo zoo, Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut farm and factory; and.... Volcano National Park. There is a clickable calendar at this site. Please check the calendar for availability and contact us about any questions. FOR INITIAL INQUIRIES, EMAIL IS GREATLY PREFERRED OVER TELEPHONE. Mahalo!

GE Tax Number: W00358152-01

More Details
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Randall Duryea - Reservations Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2016
Call Manager

About Randall Duryea - Reservations Manager

Together we have many stories to tell... about location scouting for film and Tv, performing in Tv and theater, photo assignments, llama farming, life in New York City, LA, Montana, growing up in the territory of Hawaii, the band, our kids. If you come and see us and care to share some we say in Hawaii... we can Talk Story together.

Randall Duryea - Reservations Manager purchased this studio in 2003

Why Randall Duryea - Reservations Manager chose Hilo District

This is one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in all of Hawaii. It is gorgeous here, and we'd love to share it with you.

What makes this studio unique

Our place is peaceful... We are on the green and lush side of the island. It's never hot here, never cold, though it might get chilly enough to grab a cotton sweater or flannel shirt early in the morning. The air is soft and full of the smell of flowers. The rivers and waterfalls speak to the rain, the rain responds and the birds and crickets and tree frogs provide the chorus of life all around.


based on 55 traveler reviews

Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
average rating of 4.836364 based on 55 reviews

Peaceful getaway with top notch hospitality

  • 5 of 5

Without exaggeration, this is an awesome place to stay! If you are looking for a peaceful, laid back environment that has all the comforts of home for a more than reasonable price, your search should stop right here.

Randall and Donna are exactly what you want in a property owner/manager. They are there when you need them with a vast knowledge of Island info, yet they are incredibly respectful of your privacy. Donna gave us a bunch of Apple Bananas that were just to die for and Randall was very patient in answering all of our questions and understanding our constant mispronounced Hawaiian names.

The suite was clean, sleek, homey and well stocked with everything we needed for our stay. The grounds are beautiful and very well manicured. My only regret is that I wish that I would've brought a frisbee!

We would not hesitate to come back and stay with Randall and Donna! Diane and I feel as though we made new friends while here! You will too!

Kevin and Diane

Springfield, MO

  • Submitted: May 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
Benicia, CA

Lush beauty and serenity

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is hands down, the most beautiful place we've ever stayed on the island...or anywhere else for that matter. It is perfectly located right outside of Hilo in one of the best areas...Pepeekeo. We were so thrilled as we drove down the driveway into a lush, tropical, garden setting on a large estate. It was beyond anything we imagined and the pictures don't do it justice. There are three structures on the property...the main house, a smaller house and carriage house/garage that was converted into a beautiful cottage. We stayed in the cottage which was completely renovated, very private and just lovely. The large, open, room with kitchen and bath has wonderful high ceilings and renovated with top quality materials which create an elegant yet functional living area. In addition, the decor is exquisite which makes one feel they are living in luxury. The french doors open to the large, botanical garden-like estate grounds, which provide a gorgeous and peaceful view. The cottage has all of the amenities one would need for a truly pleasant stay. They also provide snorkel gear if you feel so inclined to venture out to some of the wonderful snorkeling sights in the area like Richardson's Beach where we swam with sea turtles. Hilo also has some good restaurants right in the downtown area but our favorite for excellent, local food is the Hawaiian Style Cafe. We always go there a few times when we stay in Hilo. A really fun event that we always wanted to try out and finally did on this trip, is the Wednesday evening market with live music in Kalapana.

The music, food, wonderful vendors and people will provide you with a quintessential Hawaii/Big Island experience you will never forget! Also, in that area right now, is the lava flow viewing. We missed that one but if you visit soon enough, you may still catch a glimpse of Mother Nature and Pele "doing their thing." The owners, Randall and Donna were so nice to chat with and made us feel totally comfortable. They were charming and also down-to-earth. We highly recommend this accommodation and can't imagine ever staying anywhere else when we return to Hilo. You will not be disappointed and the value for what you get is just unbelievable!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This place was amazing.

We were there a few months ago and we had a really relaxing time. The place is very well decorated and clean. The owners are very nice people. If I ever go back to the big island I may have to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Naples, FL

Extremely clean and one with nature.

  • 4 of 5

Hilo, HI

My Husband and I booked this trip for our honeymoon. Upon arrival, it was dark but GPS took us to the exact location. The property is very close to the airport and easy to find.

When we pulled into the drive way Randall's dog began to bark. That's when Randall came out to "greet us" and I say that loosely. We felt as though we were inconveniencing him. He quickly briefed us on some "need to know" things for the unit and left.

We absolutely loved the unit. It was extremely clean and had everything we needed. There is no air conditioning in this unit but its not needed. If you're looking for total quiet at night this is not the place for you. Due to the fact there's no air conditioning the windows are left open and throughout the night you hear the rain and the songs of the frogs. You become one with nature, it's awesome! This was heaven for us. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower is amazing!!!

A few things we didn't care for were the tremendous amount of mosquitoes on the property. You cannot go outside without having bug spray on. This made it extremely difficult for us to have dinner at home because the only place to eat is outside. There is no place to eat inside the unit. Also, there is a lack of privacy with this rental. There is a window next to the main door that's approximately a foot wide by eight feet high that has no covering on it. This allows anyone to look into your unit. The bathroom door is all glass and has a sheer covering over it which offers little privacy. The toilet is next to the bathroom door which allows anyone to see the shadow of the individual using the restroom...not so romantic.

One last things that really impacted our trip was that Randall really didn't make us feel comfortable. He was nice but that genuine welcoming feeling was missing. Regardless, we enjoyed our trip and our stay.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nicely furnished and lovely estate but...

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I spent 4 nights here after staying in Kona. We enjoyed the small but tastefully furnished guest suite and the beauty of the surroundings. It is easy to get to and within walking distance to the wonderful botanic gardens which we loved. However, oddly starting on day 2, we did not have hot water in the mornings but it was working in the afternoons when we returned. The owner was away on vacation but left information to contact the repeat guests that were staying in the house next door who knew the property. They were very friendly and tried to help with the water problem but on day 4, they were gone and we had no hot water when we returned from snorkeling and really needed to shower. My husband tried for quite awhile to get it working to no avail and took a cold shower. Finally, I called another contact the owner had given me which turned out to be someone in the neighborhood. He was able to come by about an hour later and found that an electrical GFCI switch had shut off. Once that was on, we had hot water. It was disappointing that we had to spend part of our vacation dealing with this problem.

It is peaceful here during the day (if they are not trimming or mowing) but is astounding how noisy the frogs are all night. Be prepared to use the ear plugs that are furnished. Also, there is no TV or cable, just a DVD player with old movies. The shiny new outdoor grill was a nice touch.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your three stars joins a sea of 5 star reviews but it definitely keeps us on our toes. We are so sorry that you had difficulty due to a faulty electrical outlet. We wish for you more impeccable lodging for you in the future. For those readers who wonder just how big 'small' is, the suite is 530 square feet indoors with a 200 sf covered lanai... ample for most, small to others.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 16

Very nice

  • 5 of 5

Very nice place. Lovely decor and it has everything we needed. Only 10 min drive from Hilo. Host was very nice and quickly responded to my emails.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Akaka Falls State Park
"Akaka Falls is a 440 foot high waterfall and a 'must see' when you are on the east side of H..."
Rainbow Falls
"Close to Hilo town.... Its always beautiful, but after heavy rains it's especially impressive."
Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
"A 'must visit' when you are on the Big Island, the park is enormous. Hike all day, have din..."
Waipio Valley
"Inhabited for many centuries, Waipio Valley is a very special hidden valley. Lush and tropi..."
Wai'opae Marine Sanctuary
"Wonderful for snorkeling; protected reef area with tide pools, coral reefs and fish. Now rec..."
Hilo Coffee Mill
"Good Coffee; interesting tours. On your way from Hilo to or from Volcanoes National Park."
What's Shakin'
"What's Shakin Smoothie stand; (with a limited but great lunch menu!) On the beautiful Scen..."
Honoli'i Beach Park
"Best surf spot in Hilo!"
At Richardson's Beach Park - Best Location for Swimming and Snorkeling in Hilo.
"A family park with fresh water lagoons leading to the ocean, a small beach with lifeguard, G..."
Lava Tube Cave
Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Hilo International Airport
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Naniloa Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Mamalahoa Hwy and Old Onomea Road
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Top of Mauna Kea Mountain in winter. No lifts!
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Honolii Beach Park
Car: necessary

In all of Hawaii, there is no place quite like Onomea. Along the famed Hamakua coast, Old Onomea Road and the Old Mamalahoa Highway winding past Onomea Bay, are quiet treasures worth savoring. Take a walk down our little country lane. Too narrow for cars to pass, we stop and visit instead! When our home was part of a larger estate, it was planted with royal palms that now tower alongside the road nearly all the way to the ocean. Nearby, the old donkey trail leads downhill to Onomea Bay where a little river enters the sea. You can imagine the ships of old, anchored in the bay, receiving bales of cane sugar hoisted aloft on zip lines tethered ashore. Nearby, too, is the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden, a charming smoothie stand and the 100 year old Low's Store; nearby by car.... the 442 foot high Akaka Falls, the little village of Honomu, many beach parks and Hilo's renowned farmers market; We are about equi-distant from Volcano Park to the south and Waipio Valley to the north... Two day-trips you won't want to miss!


Rates & Availability

Hilo Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Fall Special
Aug 15 2016 - Nov 13 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Christmas-New Years
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
January - the best month!
Jan 1 2017 - Mar 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Merrie Monarch 2017
Apr 19 2017 - Apr 23 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

Two night stays are sometimes possible. Inquire for rate and availability.
Quoted Rates are for double occupancy. Third guest is additional $15/night. Cancellation Policy is for full refund if cancelled by 10 weeks prior to arrival date.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Hilo Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 570 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural
  • Activities Guide
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Stone-Tiled Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • Large bathroom with walk-in shower. Wheelchair accessible. Everyone comments how much they love the bathroom!
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Onomea Suite - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Primary bed is a queen size bed with a plush top. People describe it as very comfortable. The punee sleeps a third adult or a child.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Air conditioning is not needed on this, the windward side of the island. Not one of our many guests has suggested that air conditioning is needed. Temperatures vary year round from about 72 to 84 degrees. The kitchen has no oven or range top. There is, however, a hot plate, a microwave, barbecue, electric pan, crock pot and coffee maker. There is no broadcast or cable service available. We have many DVD's to play on Tv. And... we have broadband internet freely available.

Partner Offers